Highway drama: drift car versus 3 police cars

I saw this Youtube link posted on Twitter this morning. It’s basically two police Wajas and a police Evo X trying to stop a blue and bright drift car. Anyone know what this is about? Is it some kind of movie shoot? There definitely seems to be some hints of it being staged as there were a few people there including those with cameras that looked like they were ready for it to happen. Could it be some teaser shot for a new local drift movie? Anyway the fun starts at the 23 second mark in the video, enjoy your Sunday!

UPDATE: Reader Kevin Lee mentions in the comments that this clip is related to a movie titled Kongsi.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Kevin Lee on Feb 27, 2011 at 12:57 pm

Paul

It’s called Kongsi

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zC2PL-Rv0gA

• Kevin Lee on Feb 27, 2011 at 12:57 pm

Paul its called Kongsi

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zC2PL-Rv0gA

• my name on Feb 27, 2011 at 1:05 pm

Why malaysian directors keep making drift movies only? Everytime drift drift drift, where is the creativeness?

• hayden on Feb 27, 2011 at 1:20 pm

aiyo, this is not a drift movie lah brother…this one is about the triad society in Malaysia lah.. now I should ask you a question ” Why lah Malaysian People always assume something without checking it first???!”

• It’s a movie trailer la…( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zC2PL-Rv0gA )

• my name on Mar 01, 2011 at 6:20 pm

You didn’t get what i mean? well it’s nothing wrong if they include drift scene into this movie, but there’s so many movies in malaysia about drifting. Later love story also got drifting scene la, that movie la this movie la, and again i want to ask, where is the creativeness? See the movies from overseas, does all the triad movies include drift scenes?? NO.

• sagatron on Feb 27, 2011 at 7:08 pm

my name : why don’t u go and ask david teo…

• trav_da_man on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:29 am

I not sure but i felt putting drifting scenes in action crime movies in malaysia where the bad guys are drifters is seriously putting drifting into a bad limelight. Not a good way to promote drifting to the public as parents might worry kids into drifting are on their way towards crime!

• civicEK on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:32 pm

why malaysian like u like to complain before checking it out first? itu salah ini salah tapi tak mau check dulu? drifting just part of d scene in d movie la bodoh hahaha! u guys memang suka hentam blindly kan u donkey~

• jsooz on Feb 27, 2011 at 1:05 pm

te drift car is not a nissan…its a mazda rx-7 i think…

• jsooz on Feb 27, 2011 at 1:06 pm

its not a nissan…its a mazda rx-7

• Brill on Feb 27, 2011 at 1:10 pm

I think the police evo should been hit also…why? :)

• tetek on Feb 27, 2011 at 1:10 pm

yes it’s Kongsi… comedy action movie… cant wait to watch it

• Kevin Lee on Feb 27, 2011 at 1:12 pm

it is not a mazda rx-7

it is a silvia s15 front with a 180sx from the silvia s13 generations

its a popular mod as the s13, s14 and s15 largely remained unchanged over the years.

• pacifictuna on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:34 am

it’s a 180sx whole. silvia doesn’t feature folding headlamps, not at least for s13 – 15. folding headlamps are of sx series ie 180 and 240….

• Kevin Lee on Feb 27, 2011 at 1:15 pm

sorry it is a nissan 180sx, front and back, seen properly in the kongsi trailer i posted

• noname on Feb 27, 2011 at 1:18 pm

aiyoo… waja jugak jadi mangsa… if that evo main langgar2 lagi real.. hahahaha

• skiborne on Feb 27, 2011 at 1:35 pm

ye lah, kejap lagi malaysians cakap habis duit rakyat plak, biasa ah, orang kita

• ttooyoot on Feb 27, 2011 at 3:35 pm

apa kena mengena ni?

• skiborne on Feb 27, 2011 at 9:50 pm

i said, if the lancer were to be crashed, malaysians particularly in this blog would say its gonna waste tax payers money, thats what i meant!

• tul2. rasanye sbb sykn evo..waja murah sket nk repair

• qozh moreno on Feb 28, 2011 at 1:39 am

if the Evo was put as a prop to destroy…
        “koyak la” the producer’s pocket…
        aiyo!!! next time ask the actual ppl in this industry…
        don’t simply put your own words…
        liao…

lg satu, claim alway browse paultan’s web & blog…
        still cannot recognize 180SX to RX7 FC…
        aiyo… some liao….

• hantupensil on Feb 27, 2011 at 1:23 pm

kongsi muvie la paul…
    “Lu lang si lu mati”

• fafau80 on Feb 27, 2011 at 1:24 pm

Yes, this film also shoot in front of my offce couple month ago..and caused massive jam along jlm ampang near AIA..but no sports car, only old saga & nissan sunny (AWAS bumper)..lol

• Malcolm Lim on Feb 27, 2011 at 1:36 pm

The scene is a bit lame cos if the drifter really wanted to run away he/she could have easily done so. Totally not realistic at all..oh well, malaysia’s “car” movies are never good.

• Kambing Gurun on Feb 27, 2011 at 4:02 pm

So you’re going to say that Fast & Furious 1, 2 & 4 are darn good? With the exception of Fast & Furious 3, KL Drift is a lot more enjoyable.

• Anyway if it is real…
      The drifter already been shot dead already on the spot…
      coz mengancam polis…
      like that news of the kid been shot dead while try run from the police

• theanswer on Feb 27, 2011 at 6:41 pm

u never seen the real shot in the movie. u jyst saw ‘behind the scene’. any movie..even Avatar also look ridiculous behind the scene..look unrealistic..trust me.

• GreenFuel on Feb 28, 2011 at 8:56 am

Agree with you. The drift action is ridiculous. Why the Waja want to turn back and hit the blue car, no point la. It can just surround the blue car. And then the other waja keep reversing. Low quality stunt. The action is not logic at all

• civicEK on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:35 pm

u memang suka komplen saja keje, if real time sudah lama mati la itu olang kena tembak! just to put some spice in d scene la u donkey~

• If the x got hit….everybody will go demo one…heheheh…

• kurang ajar punya drifter…xtau LAW!!pi mati la!!

• huiyoo on Feb 27, 2011 at 2:06 pm

why drift movie in malaysia like to do donut? just run la

• RadzLee on Feb 27, 2011 at 5:01 pm

they like to show off b4 they hit the pedal real hard i guess

• Limp Kopi on Feb 27, 2011 at 2:07 pm

It is definitely staged …. otherwise PRDM would have pulled out their GUNS N SHOOT him dead by now …..

• sudah langgar kereta polis, kasi tembak saja la. padan muka itu drifter.

• Chyan on Feb 27, 2011 at 2:33 pm

Come on, it’s life. Pointing and shooting guns isn’t going to solve the problem.

That needs to chance.

• solve wat..if they shoot the driver the car will stop..problem solve wat

• Emmert on Feb 27, 2011 at 10:11 pm

haiyoo~! another happy trigger syndrome type of ppl…..
            its just a movie…
            shoot there, shoot here,
            is that what kids nowdays learn at school huh?

Teacher : if u want to shoot ppl happily go join the forces?
            Student : Yiay~!

pening melayan org typical mcm ni…
            tul tak geng~!

• civicEK on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:37 pm

standard movie duration is around 1 hour 3 mins, kalau awal sudah tembak macam mana mau bikin cukup movie duration? aiyaa another donkey here~

• sir zoula on Feb 27, 2011 at 2:25 pm

stupid drifter…
    hit the evo first la wei…
    waja oni a crap cars! not worth it!!!

• aduss on Feb 27, 2011 at 2:33 pm

haloo ti just movie shoot lol.. but good point.. hehehehe

• _xXx_ on Feb 27, 2011 at 2:44 pm

u think tats a real evo? evo wannabe aka insPeera lolxx

• if hit evo x movie producer have to pay repair cost more than hitting a waja police car right?? xD

• ttooyoot on Feb 27, 2011 at 3:38 pm

So,, support the director la,, bring all your family to cinema,, kalau director untung,, ferrari pun boleh buat action! jgn tgk hollywood je!

• mystvearn on Feb 27, 2011 at 6:01 pm

Need to re-shoot scene? Forgot to on police lights and siren:P?

• evo saver on Feb 27, 2011 at 2:33 pm

hahahaha…pdrm cannot dare to let evo langgar that rx-7.. got no money to repair it..

• Wat RX-7?….

• 1malaysia2020 on Feb 27, 2011 at 3:19 pm

Not that pdrm got no money to repair…probably metrowealth pay ciput to pdrm for the chasing scene… if pay a lot they can simply trash the car and buy a new one…

• learner on Feb 27, 2011 at 3:23 pm

my best guess is, everything is paid by the movie maker, either the movie maker cannot afford buying the police evo x or police is not ready to sell the evo. i think the two wajas are bought by the movie makers for stunt and crash lah, nothing to do with real police, maybe the waja are designed to look a like police cars, if you got one waja, silver in color, you can send to acc shop to makes it police look a like patrol car also lah.

• Kannan on Feb 27, 2011 at 3:11 pm

I think most probably this could be the DON 2 (Shah Rukh Khan) movie shooting ? The did something similar during DON AND Billa..

• learner on Feb 27, 2011 at 3:17 pm

aiyo, why that drifter making donuts only not run away? where got fun, in reality sure the drifter will either hit the evo x once and run away or simply run against the traffic flow.

the director of this movie should ‘cut’ and do it again lah.

• geckoandfly on Feb 27, 2011 at 6:51 pm

yeah, should drive against the traffic flow. drive into motor lane, drive on those super elevated highway, then onto the lrt track, then off the track, into a petrol tanker – explosion.

wait, drifter is still alive. he managed to escape from the explosion. continue drifting…. caught in traffic jam – the end.

• those crashing and donut spin look like mis-controlled remote car.

• Whatever on Feb 27, 2011 at 4:16 pm

Again a Hollywood movie wannabe. What a joke

• aduss on Feb 27, 2011 at 4:58 pm

can you be a normal human being.. what so ever Malaysian doing is wrong? What a joke… come on.. support ours industry..

• what-have-u-done-urself on Feb 27, 2011 at 5:51 pm

what have u done yourself that is commendable? all u know is to criticize. i say good effort!! keep it up…

• the driving sequence is so messy, it looks like what would happen in GTA when you pass the controller to someone who doesnt know how to play…

• 6n24ino6tx on Feb 27, 2011 at 5:11 pm

soars & roared road going vehicles and being scuffles with police ain’t no ordinary..

• mystvearn on Feb 27, 2011 at 5:12 pm

Is that a Nissan sylvia?

Funny looking the police cars look slow against an agile drift car

• 2fast on Feb 27, 2011 at 5:17 pm

The scene should be re-shoot. I think the second waja made a mistake by not leaving enough space for the drifter to escape. Funny to see the waja trying to fix the situation.

• At 0:23 , you can see from the top right corner , a traffic police goes out to stop the traffic just after the Police MPV’s pass thru…..

• Stiff on Feb 27, 2011 at 5:43 pm

They have to spare the Evo from being damaged. So obvious a movie plot.

• Pug 408 Euro Version on Feb 27, 2011 at 5:58 pm

Will Peugeot 408 made for European market?

• Malaysia freelance on Feb 27, 2011 at 6:01 pm

Cool! Can’t wait to see this stunt in the movie.

• joe jambul on Feb 27, 2011 at 6:26 pm

Why they’re not using inspira and make it up like evo 10.so,that s15 can easily hit it and make this scene real.

• Tezza on Feb 27, 2011 at 9:41 pm

The inspira doesnt like the lancer in many aspects,so there is no way to do it..lol…

• just add the evo 10 bodykits and spoiler and police stripes. Tadaa! you got a fake evo 10! and also rims!

• tranformer on Feb 27, 2011 at 6:35 pm

that EVO Helang just enjoy the whole scenario and do nothing…..
    just how EVO Helang many left on the road besides those crashed or totalled lossed…?

• zaff1984 on Feb 27, 2011 at 6:44 pm

langsi gila…

• Maserati on Feb 27, 2011 at 7:17 pm

lol,its obviously a movie shoot.everybody already prepared with cameras and all..

• Its a S13, not S15!

• TEAM LOTUS on Feb 27, 2011 at 8:44 pm

this movie is call ” lu langsi lu mati “. only available in trailer at the moments.

• CA18DET???

• is it a silvia or a 180SX
    i think its the latter la

• dun silly lah, malaysia cop no need to race with you what… what they going to do is just shoot shoot shoot… bullets is cheap here; life is even cheaper!!! ;p

• shawal on Feb 27, 2011 at 10:30 pm

It is a movie shoot , but im wondering if the cars that passed the road before are actors too and the road was closed OR it was an open road and that is just how they shot the scene spontaneously….

• lifesun on Feb 27, 2011 at 11:03 pm

Konvokesyen ke-8, OUM .Good Ads la :P

• ketelaju on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:05 am

evo 10 takut he parking jauh2…hahahaha

• sean ZX10 on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:42 am

shitty director..if that they way a malaysian triad run away from police..might as well give your head to the gun la..there’s this one comment from fellow reader…behind scene will look ridiculous..I see..u just hit the car with no obvious logical reasons and tup…that would be the best scene once in the movie..crap!! if this real..dah lama polis tembak..polis malaysia= gangster berlesen

• jollly_idiot on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:47 am

The 180sx look stupid. Many chances he can run away quick but end up showing off his drifting skills.

• Road User on Feb 28, 2011 at 6:09 am

haih!! lu bikin jam lu mati laaa!!

• most likely a movie else the fella holding camera won’t be prepared to shoot the earlier 25 seconds at the correct direction where the cars coming

• GreenFuel on Feb 28, 2011 at 10:13 am

Totally sucks. Low quality production. Bing bing bang bang for nothing. Why the waja need to make the turn to hit the back of the blue car? To add more sound of bing bang? Then the stupid blue car just making donut spin spin and spin, then crash crash and crash. The drift are stupid la, and very messy. He is adjusting his car so he can hit those 2 police car, and the two police car keep adjusting their position to be hit by the blue car. Maybe you will say the view in the movie will look different (I believe they will shoot inside the blue car to show how they escape), but is still sucks. So many chance to escape and he end up hitting the police car, lousy driver

• funny to see that even after Paul updated it’s a confirmed movie shoot in progress, and comments saying it’s movie shoot, too many people are being too ignorant to read it and keep on saying this and that…

• rossi46 on Feb 28, 2011 at 10:38 am

guys….every actions inside the video that you guys thinks it is ‘silly’ will be remove thru video editting…
    that’s why we got editor…
    to EDIT anything that looks stupid

Maybe in the film it will look something else…

Like those Depceticons and Autobots in the Transformers…in movie set…they do look stupid doing non-reliable drfit and so on…but when edited & put extra CGI…tadaa…u got an awesome battle between robots in disguise!

• Beardesign on Feb 28, 2011 at 10:42 am

you can preview the trailer here…
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iK-hZcC2CBo

• Jack Jackal on Feb 28, 2011 at 10:43 am

Kena tonton filem Kongsi ni… bila keluar yo?

• hehehe this vid prove tt proton car is batter than other…kuat maa…main langar pon rlex..

• no need to put evo..
    use inspira with evo badge lo….

much-much cheaper.

• fadzil on Mar 13, 2011 at 5:16 pm

yes, this were taken before inspira come out to market la…

• Annoy-nimal on Feb 28, 2011 at 8:07 pm

Loks lketey spared the Evo… :)

• many clever peoples here…
    yo clever,
    1. read before comments…
    it is a movie shoot…
    2. of course the director will edit the scene…
    cut some silly part…
    change camera angle…
    u think they only using 1 camera?
    and
    u think they only shoot this scene once?
    kih kih kih…
    clever malaysian…

• thats no 180sx. that rx7 fc3s like in initial d.

• that no 180sx. that rx7 fc3s like in initial d.

• wawan on Mar 01, 2011 at 12:34 am

BUKAN LU LANGSI LU MATI, INI FILEM TITLE “KONGSI”

• Scott on Mar 01, 2011 at 12:41 am

if i were the blue car… i confirm will BANG the EVO X as well.. den ciao..

• speedster on Mar 01, 2011 at 7:48 pm

if this is real..there is enough ground for the police to open fire wooo…mesti mau pg tgk ini movie la..

• Mauchai on Mar 02, 2011 at 11:55 am

imagine there is a robbery or crimes going on and these three police cars are here drifting. Malaysia boleh!!

• Mun Yip on Mar 02, 2011 at 2:50 pm

duh!! if it was real, the polis already shoot the driver de…..

• aiyo………….
    ppl! it is a 180SX and not s13,s14,s15 or fc3s…..
    its Nissan 180SX…………..

• aiyo………….
    ppl! it is a 180SX and not s13,s14,s15 or fc3s…..
    its Nissan 180SX…………..
    and the engine sound is a SR20DET

• chill bro, you taking it too seriously..
      its fc3s and not 180sx..
      here i have clear version of the video..
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dQw4w9WgXcQ