SIC kicks off carnival to promote Formula 1 Malaysian GP, a different kind of Rain will visit Sepang this year!

Sepang International Circuit, promoter and host of the Formula 1 Malaysian Grand Prix, kick started a month long carnival to promote the F1 race at Pavilion KL this afternoon. Malaysia was originally scheduled as the third race of the year, but after F1 decided to skip the Bahrain GP due to political unrest, we will now host the second round of the 2011 season after Melbourne. The Malaysian GP weekend will be from 8 to 10 April.

To make this 13th edition a lucky one, SIC has adopted a different strategy to promote the race. “We have adopted a different strategy this year. Unlike previously, when we have our road shows and on-field promotions as early as January, this year we are going for a solid and aggressive campaign for one month,” said SIC Chairman Dato’ Mokhzani Mahathir.

They’ve probably realised that it’s pointless to start promotions so early when Malaysians prefer the last minute rush, as witnessed recently in the police summons discount issue.

Mokhzani also named Pavilion KL and Fahrenheit (just across the street) as key venue partners. Both shopping malls will have F1 cars on display as well as a mini podium. Shopping promos at these malls will offer great “money can’t buy” prizes such as starting grid passes, pit garage tours, safety car rides and pit walkabout passes. In addition, from 15 March, the month-long GP Sale will kick off across the country. More ways to spend your cash!

SIC is planning for street demos too. Team Lotus will draw some tyre marks in Putrajaya on April 2 and SIC is working on getting champions Red Bull to have one in KL city, Mokhzani said.

Last year’s race saw an attendance of 96,984 spectators, and SIC is targeting 100k this year. It should be possible, since this season will see three teams – Mercedes GP Petronas, Team Lotus and Lotus Renault GP – calling Malaysia “home”. Organisers also pointed out that the Virgin team will have Malaysian based direct selling company Q-Net as a sponsor.

Ticket prices have been lowered to start from RM60 for the whole race weekend, but that’s still not the biggest news – SIC has confirmed that the race will see Rain. Not the usual rain from the sky, but Korean superstar Rain who will be the closing act at the helipad after the race.

Do check out the displays at the malls and see you at the race!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• ray_jay on Mar 08, 2011 at 7:28 pm

it puzzled me why team Tony Fernandes still uses the 1Malaysia on the their car since he back stab another Malaysian team… where’s the 1Malaysia spirit??

• ignoramus on Mar 08, 2011 at 9:38 pm

Are you absolutely sure he is the backstabber and not the other way around? Hard to see it that way when you weigh all the facts.

• because 1Malaysia Racing Team Sdn. Bhd. have some connection with them…

• ray_jay on Mar 09, 2011 at 12:50 am

Then just use as it is… 1Malaysia Racing Team. It’s not like it’s 1Malaysia Racing Team Lotus Sdn Bhd… not to mention Lotus is not even sponsoring them now!

• SidewaysSyndrome on Mar 08, 2011 at 10:34 pm

What’s 1Malaysia about the team anyway besides putting some Malaysian faces on the management? Its based in the UK, no Malaysian driver & impersonating a British sports car maker.

What happened to all the promises of setting up HQ in Sepang complete with wind tunnel?

All just empty promises!!!

• SeriuosSAM on Mar 08, 2011 at 11:31 pm

again…. please lah search for harvinder interview with mike gascoyne last year regarding setup an HQ in sepang…

• ignoramus on Mar 09, 2011 at 12:31 pm

Something for Sideways to read

http://paultan.org/2011/02/08/qa-with-team-lotus-malaysian-engineering-personnel/

• well, at least under Lotus Racing in 2010 our Fairuz Fauzy involve in the testing and qualified for his own license…

and malaysian engineers…

• VoidDance on Mar 09, 2011 at 8:07 am

Last I check, it is still a Malaysian team, owned by Malaysian. They proudly show it on their car with a big Malaysia wording, same like Mercedes GP Petronas even if Petronas is just a title sponsor. Same thing cannot be said with LRGP. There is no Proton logo (at very least), let alone a Malaysia wording/logo on it yet the money come to sponsor this team come from out from our taxpayer money. Don’t tell me GL have all the moolah to splash around. They are not that profitable.

But really, let racing to the talking. All this whacking on each other really does not mean anything to them. Look at Tun Dr. Mahathir. He did not support Team Lotus yet he was visiting TF’s AirAsia a few days ago. We create our own animosity by hating each other yet the man at the top having fun with it.

• My View on Mar 09, 2011 at 3:43 pm

If you look at the car, you will find a Proton logo at the side fo the nose cone.
        Tun Mahathir visiting Air Asia cannot be used as evidence that he supports Team Lotus la

• but i see japan wording at the back wing

• voiddance on Mar 09, 2011 at 8:24 pm

Haiya. I’m not saying Mahathir supporting TL. I said Mahathir have no problem with TF and his activities. Baca la dulu. Malaysia on side of nose cone? Wow. That is some place…

• rembau on Mar 08, 2011 at 9:51 pm

Bring the girls in (using Rain), hella lotsa boys will come.

• Black Dog on Mar 08, 2011 at 10:41 pm

They should offer deep discounts more than 50% for early birds. Ppl don’t bat an eyeylid for just 10% – 20% discounts.

They got to learn a thing or two from Fernandes.

They have huge capacity yet prefer to leave them empty.

• Annihilated on Mar 08, 2011 at 11:54 pm

So agreed on the discounts.

So NOT agreed on learning things from the cheating Fernandes.
      “I’ve made u pay for the airport TAX whether u’ll be onboard or not..
      ..and I won’t pay the TAX to the MAHB and let them sit in my FD for years”

also, u may try to claim your airport tax back via — [email protected] — IF the recipient’s mailbox is not full and is able accept messages.

otherwise, u may call them and talk to robot OR pay RM1.++ per minute to talk to a real human. Good luck! ;)

• dunnolah on Mar 09, 2011 at 11:55 am

Buddy, show your displeasure by flying with MAS. I’m sure they’re a lot better. They even serve delicious satay that cost the airline RM8 per stick.

• if they bring super junior, sic can easily reach their target