Karamjit’s CUSCO Proton Satria Neo is the fastest 2WD car in Rally of Queensland

Karamjit Singh shows that he might be considered a veteran in the rally scene but he still has what it takes. Piloting a CUSCO-tuned Proton Satria Neo 2WD, he crossed the line to finish first in the overall 2011 APRC 2WD category at this weekend’s Rally of Queensland as well as 1st in the N2 category.

This is one of the fastest and most technical rallies on the APRC calendar. Our main goal was to bring the car home safely and score maximum points. I dedicate this win to all my friends and family who believed in me and assisted me without hesitation”, said Karamjit Singh after the rally.

The closest rival to Karamjit and his co-driver Vivek Ponnusamy was Akira Bamba of Japan, who was 4.5 minutes behind the Flying Sikh. Karamjit placed 9th in the overall race, ahead of some more powerful cars like the Lancer Evo X.

He now has his sights set on the other APRC rounds, with the next race being the Rallye de Nouvelle Caledonie in New Caledonia which will take part from the 17th to 19th June 2011.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2246]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nice!! flying singh make us proud

• wah got plat number? is it a road legal car? wondering what engine inside… i bet it is a bolt on turbocharged campro ^^

• Paul Tan on May 16, 2011 at 12:49 am

1.6 campro, LSD gearbox, MOTEC engine management, 145hp, 170Nm torque.

• seriously only n/a engine paul?? now thats impressive
        170Nm torque is a nice figure also,loving MOTEC
        all of it comes with cusco package?i know the LSD are cusco’s right?

• MisterBenjo on May 16, 2011 at 1:34 am

Hi Paul, is it Campro CPS or kosong?it looks like horsepower is not everything in rally huh?

• confused on May 16, 2011 at 8:18 am

ZOMFG Campro!!!!111one!!11!

• Just_Once on May 16, 2011 at 8:26 am

The power almost like R3 neo, wahhhh…

• racefans on May 16, 2011 at 9:06 am

first time seeing rally car or first time visit paultan.org eh?

• Rallyfan on May 16, 2011 at 12:46 am

With his achievement I would consider Karamjit to be our best motorsports driver in our country. But I still don’t understand why he doesn’t get more local sponsor support for his activity especially when we have so-called 1Malaysia teams involved in motorsports.

Is he plain looking? Is he too old? Any bad manners? Cannot talk to sponsors? Why?

• bcoz he old already, if he still young I think he will get tons of sponsorship for sure…

• rally on May 16, 2011 at 1:04 am

bcoz rally is not lucrative enough to attract sponsors?

• samyyd on May 16, 2011 at 1:08 am

coz he still can race and win without big sponsor… y he need sponsor or personal coach when he can win by just being himself.

(not like some sport which the only metal use in it is only the racket frame, but got sponsor from a car manufacturer – owner of sport car brand some more, player made up of dato’, coach also dato’, association made up of dato’s and dato’ seri and the ultimate patronage is the datin seri some more)

• tokmoh on May 16, 2011 at 11:04 am

Then perhaps you suggest Kia should pull out their sponsorship in tennis? Mercedes in fashion? Hyundai in World Cup? VW in superbowl? Perodua in squash (particularly Nicol David?)

And come on, our badminton squad do perform. Sure, there’s ups and down moments, but all sports have that.

Understand marketing strategy can ya? It’s CSR too.

• LatukBandar on May 16, 2011 at 3:47 am

he’ll have to convert first, then he’ll get a datukship, then the fame and fortune. :)

Okay, joking.

I thought I read somewhere he wanted the private sector to sponsor him, he doesn’t want to use/waste any of the public’s fund. Is it true?

• if we don’t know the real answer…. don’t speculate!

• YopDkota on May 16, 2011 at 8:21 am

yeah..err if maybe Mr.Tony Fernandes can consider him as new tag for air asia as ‘every body can Fly like Flying Singh..if he sponsor this guy…heh heh

• But then he’s using Proton. Unless he’s using Caterham for rallying that would be another story.

• I also want to know why.. And Proton’s silence doesn’t help to make us think that there’s conspiracy… Just give him the goddamn S2000 Neo and see how he match up to those paid drivers!

• autojohndoe on May 16, 2011 at 10:07 am

surely you did not read previous post of karamjit driving neo s2000…

its a lhd and not suited him…

• littlefire on May 16, 2011 at 10:40 am

I tot LHD & RHD can be modified or it is already retricted that only LHD can join the S2000 category?

• to convert LHD to RHD need money bro. It’s not as easy inverting everything, so RnD needs money too

• tiadaid on May 16, 2011 at 10:10 am

He already had his chance with the S2000 Neo but couldn’t manage to get the hang of it.

http://paultan.org/2009/08/13/proton-r3-malaysia-rally-team-with-neo-s2000-and-karamjitjagdev-officially-launched/

• Raggy on May 16, 2011 at 10:45 am

Karamjit is a true gentleman, very good personality and true class person..very humble and gets along with everybody. I remember some years ago he was at a local rally in Kedah and since I’m his fan I invited him for a makan, along with his other driver/navigator friends. At the end of the dinner I was going to pay the bill but Karamjit insisted everyone share the bill, he did not want to take advantage of anybody…. see how simple and humble he is? According to the foreign drivers I met at the rally, he is a real superstar…they cannot understand why Malaysia doesn’t fully support him.

• Dicker on May 16, 2011 at 12:48 pm

If at all he’s holding a different PR, i’m sure that many sponsors would have come pouring without any expectation……!

• al-loooooong on May 16, 2011 at 12:55 am

this proof that proton lotus satria neo fail to pin karamjit singh even thought they has the most expensive driver. Proton-Lotus wake up !!!! Karamjit is the legend in rally.

• Dicker on May 16, 2011 at 12:44 pm

Well, no point that you’re shouting to the DEAF ears, they would rather prefer to waste more money on kwai lo rather than spending the money on their own malaysian……!

• Eyesore on May 16, 2011 at 3:08 pm

I pity you…. look at the actual overall result and then come back and comments again… The Singh compete is a totally different categories than the Neo S2000…. McRae finished 4th whilst the singh finished 9th… and McRae was way ahead of the Singh….. so what is the base of your claim that the proton team fail to pin him???

• Debonair on May 18, 2011 at 9:57 pm

FYI, the S2000 is a 4WD, 285 bhp, 6 speed sequential gearbox ride as compared to Karam’s standard, factory rolled out 2WD, 125 bhp, standard ECU ride. So, obviuoulsly they’re not in the same category. As an example, you can’t expect a GP2 car to beat a Formula 1 car. It’s as simple as that.

• shawal on May 16, 2011 at 12:56 am

Whoah! The man still got it! !

• sagaforlife on May 16, 2011 at 12:59 am

Once a LEGEND always a LEGEND-wait for it-DARY!!!
    Flying Sikh is flying with SatNeo…

Salud senior….

• Speed Racer on May 16, 2011 at 1:00 am

karamjit singh. better than tommi makinen.

• good job
    I wonder why no company want to sponsor him. He is an excellence driver. He made Malaysia proud, he should get recognized

• apart from his achievement, Satria Neo proves its potential. Proton really needs to push its capabilities to the max. The supercharged thingy is very cool. If Proton didn’t make a move, it’ll be a huge waste!

• captain_gaban on May 16, 2011 at 1:39 am

This guy deserves datuk seri+tan seri+what ever title available there is to compensate all his effort+hardwork..he’ll be 50 next year!!! Don’t let him be like P.Ramlee…grant him something..land+palm oil+lamborghini+hot latina chicas..for god sake!! What ever man!! He deserves it!!! My thumbs+toes are all yours, Mr Flying Sikh!!!!

Nota kaki: I won’t bother to show Malaysia flag if I was him…the country didn’t deserve him..

• fazron80 on May 17, 2011 at 7:51 am

That’s why he’s not you. You never turn your back on your country. Never ever. Karamjit will never be like you. He’ll be proud of his country and he’ll show that Malaysian flag. If you want to show other country’s flag then go ahead go there. WE ALL LOVE MALAYSIA. If you don’t like it leave it. See where you can find a perfect place. I tell you where. In your dream only.

• Jason on May 16, 2011 at 1:57 am

make me so proud to be a satria neo owner!

• Definitely one of the highest achieving sportsman in the country but very underappreciated and not recognized by our people and the government. Its sad, really.

• droll on May 16, 2011 at 6:26 am

wow, 1.6NA power and fastest fwd – damn, this guy is good!!!!! this is what i call truly malaysia boleh!!! go go go karamjit.

maybe should ask folks in pert why they dont sign him up anymore. shucks.

• Kimberly on May 16, 2011 at 7:22 am

Got eclipsed by F1

• alxand@ttdi_peugeot on May 16, 2011 at 7:36 am

just wish he would gather more long term sponsorship n partnership n he will fly Jalur Gemilang more… as he yet again, show he can perform better than alot other…

all the best!

• MouMouRen on May 16, 2011 at 8:03 am

Karamjit Singh!! U are the Malaysia Hero in MOTORSPORT!!!!
    Salute!!!!

• littlefire on May 16, 2011 at 8:04 am

I supported this driver quite some time & i still confuse why P1 never choose this guy to represent us for the S2000 rally?

• Eyesore on May 16, 2011 at 3:11 pm

read the news… they did give him the s2000 to drive before this and he couldn’t get use to it… if he cannot drive the car to its potential why stick with him? just for the nationality reason? next if he drove it and the s2000 keeps losing you will still blame proton too… sigh…

• maabas on May 16, 2011 at 8:33 am

Superb !!!!!!!

• Dr. M on May 16, 2011 at 8:46 am

This is a proof of solid skills with less emphasis on engine performance!!

• Congratulation to our rally sifu. Any news on the two yellow S2000?

• racefans on May 16, 2011 at 9:07 am

way to go mr. karam! i know that you can make it. all the best for next round

• 98tecknik89 on May 16, 2011 at 9:12 am

hope karamjit will get a 4wd version soon

• Jianchung on May 16, 2011 at 9:33 am

Now if Karamjit Singh was given a Datuk title…..that would be most befitting!

• SpeakUp on May 16, 2011 at 9:43 am

This man has proven himself BUT no sponsors back him. This is sad la, all these years he has no strong sponsor backing. Well, at least he has the determination to excel in what he likes. Hope he does well at the end of the season.

All the best Karamjit!!!!

• SpeakUp,

Dont be shy
      Reveal to us how much U sponsor for Karamjit
      Hope some of us will follow your step

• autojohndoe on May 16, 2011 at 9:46 am

eh… haters silence la…

• Proton where are you ? We have someone here who still has what it gots to win …. rather than sponsoring some 3 local dumb ass local DJs … for the personas

• Dicker on May 16, 2011 at 12:53 pm

yea….i totally agree, why dont they just sponsor karamjit…! He can be a good mentor for those who are seeking motivation despite at this old age he still has the courage to participate in race and prove that he is still determinant…!

• Kumar san on May 16, 2011 at 10:04 am

Congratulations Karam!!As i have commented in the previous writeup about him with regard to his rally,Karam indeed did kick everyone’s asses in his category and emerged fastest too.I’m not surprised at all by this,it’s typical Karam.

And he acheived this on his own hard earned funding and help from close friends and family to get his ride set up.I guess the hugely sponsored drivers with their best and most costly set up rally cars who were beaten by Karam in a much lesser car have got a lot of answering to do..then again,this is also one of the key strengths of Karam.

It’s high time this veteran Malaysian rallying champion and undisputed jewel of the local/international motorsports scene be given the sponsorship and the best recognition and sponsorship he duly deserves.Proton should and must sponsor him.Without their sponsorship currently he’s already winning.I reckon with a proper rally car in his hands there just will be no contest.

Karam is an old friend of mine,i knew for a fact that he would win,and continue to win he will.Legends like this don’t fade away easily.

Congratulations Karam!! Keep it up bhai.

Cheers.

• Critique on May 16, 2011 at 11:34 am

Couldn’t agree more Kumar san.

This is a classic Karamjit performance !

• Cucukman on May 16, 2011 at 10:09 am

Wow!!!

Speechless… GOOD JOB KARAMJIT!!!

A very very experience’s man in RALLY… last time use LANCER EVO… but now with Standard Neo engine can get fastest 2WD car…

WOW…

• Cucukman on May 16, 2011 at 10:10 am

One more thing..

SELAMAT HARI GURU to KARAMJIT… he is real GURU for RALLY…hehe..

• omanjedi on May 16, 2011 at 10:40 am

It seems Cusco is better in extracting the potential of both of Malaysian Car and Driver

• ericten on May 16, 2011 at 11:37 am

He is a legend

• the car got big Proton logo on the hood… Most surely Proton do sponsor the team, even though might not be as much as the factory team..

• BadBET on May 16, 2011 at 1:51 pm

I feel sad and wonder why such a champion had a hard time to gain sponsor. If achievement is the guideline, then for me he had done more than enough.

• dickybird on May 16, 2011 at 2:36 pm

well done to our flying Singh!

• teamsleepnine on May 16, 2011 at 2:49 pm

dude….karamjit is awesome….wish he got a another shot at the s2000….too bad as we can see,the s2000 still need more development and karamjit have no experience at top tier regulation car(s2000/wrc spec,karam only in group n and not forgeting the group b iswara pert,remember?when was that?,and how many round did that iswara compete until fia drop the banned hammer?)…alistair mcae and chris atkinson obviously have tons of experience competing in wrc regulation car…
    and for those who simply jump into conclusion chill guys….all karamjit success was funded by proton/eon/petronas after all….

as karamjit once say back in 2002 or 2003 in malaymail….why only gov via its glc the only one that sponsor the sports man in malaysia?(at that time)how about the other corporation???

btw air asia sponsor the other proton satria neo ie gunasegalan rajoo car…you can see spanking red/white air asia logo on his car….

• sranua on May 16, 2011 at 5:08 pm

Actually more could be done by private sector and this burden must not on the shoulder of Proton or Petronas alone..remember last time Magnum sponsor F1, Genting sponsor LTDL….
    Cusco just invest their money to the right person and at the right time. Perhaps the Japs are more apreciating the local talents than the local company itself.

• makeitmine on May 16, 2011 at 8:18 pm

Actually, the car is the real winner. Kudos to the designer of Satria Neo. 2WD or 4WD can still win.

Proton should know by now, that a winning car attracts any sort of drivers. Proton, you got the formula of making a good rally car. Now prove to the world that the same can be done to road cars!

• Actually the drivability of proton cars are quite good but just not the interior. I always go omfg when i see the neos plastic steering wheel, but hey, the newest I heard is that it’s not totally their fault, it’s the crownie that supplies this cheapplug parts. But so, do you make the change or keep using the same crownie supplier? Hope to see better in the Persona R (Tuah)

• makeitmine on May 17, 2011 at 12:02 pm

If supposed that main Proton’s suppliers are mainly Chinese towkays.. take them out of Proton may swing more Chinese votes to the opposition as people seeing Proton linked to BN Government. Keeping them is killing Proton silently.

If the car cannot perform, do you think Karamjit will waste time and money to compete in Proton car? Patriotism or Parrot-ism? Meritocracy or Merry talk-talk only.

Kudos to the designer of the car, which I think has the touch of Lotus.

• WOW! 4.5 minutes ahead of 2nd place! Now that is a master vs everyone else!
    Congrats! Flying Singh!

• stoned by the truth on May 16, 2011 at 8:46 pm

all hail for the old man..he is the malaysian “ryan giggs” of the ARC world!

• It shows how good Proton Satria Neo is.

• Yeah, now we have to pay nifty price for 2nd hand Neo.

• steven on May 21, 2011 at 10:45 am

well done karam…show them who’s the best rally driver we have period!!!