VIDEO: Douglas Lim’s hilarious ad for Honda Authorised Service Centres

Funnyman Douglas Lim and his crew produced this brilliant video to promote Honda Authorised Service Centres. It attempts to show you what you might have to go through if you send your car to a random mechanic instead of a Honda service center, all extremely exaggerated of course. I’ll let the video do the talking!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Kevin on May 18, 2011 at 10:53 pm

not that funny…douglas thinks he is funny but his jokes are recycled many times over…he better consider a new career.

• xearsol on May 18, 2011 at 10:58 pm

why would people consider to go to random mechanics if got problem? that is a turd.

• only people from proton would do such things because the ori parts are far superior than the so-called ori parts ;)

• Can’t believe that Honda actually came up with this advertisement. Look at the language, expression, and the whole concept.

Bad publicity. Why can’t these people speak proper English? They don’t seem to understand many things in the current K-Economic world.

• Azam Lee on May 19, 2011 at 6:44 pm

It’s rather unique for me. That Manglish used shows the culture here. Might be bad for you, but I’ve worked in tourism, and for foreigners, they find our Manglish awesome and hilarious.

• Mienzz on May 18, 2011 at 11:20 pm

Very funny and interesting !

• mystvearn on May 18, 2011 at 11:34 pm

I know few merc owners can’t afford to service their car exactly in this kind of situation. Car for show-off purposes only. Service belakang kira to the point need to berjimat cermat or can’t afford basic human needs, what we see as normal cause all income focused on getting the car.

• MyCarMyLife on May 19, 2011 at 8:29 am

right, I know of a chap who seldom repair or maintains his new car since they day it came out of the showroom and the car was used until it is sold in about 3 years ( after warranty) time . I quite agree though becos cars are much reliable now and must be some thing they teach in LSE UK. you figure out.

• LatukBandar on May 18, 2011 at 11:39 pm

Best Marketing/Advertising Strategy – save the money on advertising and pass the saving to the end user.

• Paul Tan for Prime Minister on May 18, 2011 at 11:39 pm

Trust me hondi definitely is better than honda service center – blood sucker

• Keluangman on May 19, 2011 at 12:55 am

Gotta to agree w u bro. Honda authorised service centre bloody expensive and their technician knows peanuts!

They cant even solve my friend’s honda city EPS problem….and its only like a week old car. And even after changing so many parts still cannot solved, yet they refuse to replace his car. WTF?

• lan87 on May 19, 2011 at 10:36 am

honda mechanics in malaysia are very useless… they can’t even fix a single problem after trying to repair it for 3-4 times… worst is that Honda doesn’t even let u replace ur problematic new car with a different one…

IMHO, toyota service centre is better in terms of service and price… just look at the toyota service centre in PJ section 14…

• ericten on May 19, 2011 at 12:15 am

When would someone do ” Toyoti Service Centre” ?

• teelim on May 19, 2011 at 12:16 am

lol

• Machi on May 19, 2011 at 12:22 am

Very lame!! Dont like it at all !!

• Audi+Merc=Real Euro on May 19, 2011 at 12:44 am

well done

• tokmoh on May 19, 2011 at 1:04 am

Walau, I haven’t seen that dude much since kopitiam series at ntv7 many years ago… he’s gained weight.

• Non Honda service centers and local mechanic shop were made to look like a bunch of motley crew and unscrupulous crooks.

Not exactly true isn’t? For changing engine oil, brake fluids etc I found that local service centers are more “price competitive” compared to Honda authorised service centers.

Then again, if you want to replace Honda parts, i will definitely go to Honda service centers.

• Carfan on May 19, 2011 at 6:58 am

This is so “old school” and lame. Better tell Honda to use ORI media company.

• Astronauts on May 19, 2011 at 2:18 am

i Seriously prefer service my toyota at my local workshop much more than umw authorized dealer

• omanjedi on May 19, 2011 at 8:11 am

Bad advert…..another proof of Malaysian critical brain drain

• MyCarMyLife on May 19, 2011 at 8:23 am

Very good one , at least to cheer us up with all the bad news flying around in MY , more please .

• trav_da_man on May 19, 2011 at 9:03 am

Found the video is lame actually, despite Douglas Lim is a cracking stand up comedian in the local standup scene. Prefer his song parody of Justin Bieber’s Baby song than this crap.

• maserati on May 19, 2011 at 9:07 am

Yea honda service centres , in fact any authorized sc always overcharge . Thats y people still prefer to service them outside.

Look at how many bmw and merc are servicing their cars outside at bmw n merc specialists service centres.rather than the bloodsucking authorized sc?

First of all the technicians at authorized sc know nuts about cars. Most of the staff there are newly graduated students from TOC .

I service my merc outside , and it was almost half the price cheaper and they used exactly the same thing.

• KL Stray Cat on May 19, 2011 at 9:59 am

Hahahaa. Funny indeed…

…but I guess that Honda owners who actually send their cars to “Hondi” will not find it funny but painful to their ego – worship the Honda brand by saying great things but service somewhere else (when warranty expires, I guess).

:-)

• honda hampeh on May 19, 2011 at 1:33 pm

i send my honda to HONDI after my warranty expired it its got nothng to d with ego….worship honda? common la these only apply to wannabe ricer who thinks vtec is a version of cheaper Ferrari engine…well they even have a temple for it …..from my experience sending my car to handa service cetre to either in alor setar or kb is just suicidal and irritative. on lots of occasion i went for service and telling them all the thing need to be check cos i felt something wrong about it it just fall on deaf ears. sometimes i even force my self to go far away to honda kulim or kah penang if anything wrong bcos i know they do better job….if nothing wrong i just send it to my hondi, their mechanics got proper ears to listen, proper eyes to check and proper brain to diagnose potential prob. choose a good hondi and u are in good hand compare to some of the so called ‘authorized honda service my a$$ centre’….

• Adrian on May 19, 2011 at 10:33 am

Instilling fear in peoples minds is a very bad form of advertising…

• I think not to blame the out side workshop…. but is the SC r the 1 giving them the chance to service the hondi cars mah….

• klaka seram on May 19, 2011 at 12:01 pm

all authorized SC are blood sucker. You get better deal from local and more capable worksop

• afeef on May 19, 2011 at 1:52 pm

lol the dude literally bathe the engine with engine oil
    damn i love the makeshift jack stands LOL

• CiViC_7900 on May 19, 2011 at 2:28 pm

Changed my brake pads – depan blkg – u wanna know how much it cost me?rm700.tp ada diskaun,tp still mahal like 600rm,n x tmsuk labour charges.
    nissin pads.wow..honda sa…kdg2 u really take people for a ride…most of the time….

• Joanneshu on May 19, 2011 at 5:04 pm

ugly ads.. typical ahbeng honda

• tokey insuran on May 19, 2011 at 5:04 pm

IMHO honda authorized sc take huge profit from customer due to the ‘authorized’ brand. There are many outside sc that can do jobs as well as this authorized sc or even better. Just compare item per item from authorized sc to regular sc, the price sometimes is three fold in authorized sc compare to regular sc, ex for the same spark plug cost rm500 in authorized sc whereas outside you can get for rm300. i sent my car to honda authorized sc just to keep my warranty, not due to their services. and i buy honda car because i like the car, not the H badge…

• David Chu on May 19, 2011 at 6:17 pm

Should’ve called it Hondah instead haha… more Malaysian~
    Sudah Hon belum? Hon-dah!

• artworkz on May 19, 2011 at 8:56 pm

i have 3 yrs free service from Ford. after that, i will go fordi for service

• Jason on May 19, 2011 at 9:56 pm

Love the humor of this ad! Not that I can’t take a joke or whatsoever, but I think that this advertisement is a bit on the anti-competitive side. They should never attack the small bengkels which also need to survive! Instead of saying how bad the services you would get in those small workshops, they should have just say something positive about their own service… We the consumer still have the choice in the end though!

• firefox on May 20, 2011 at 9:34 am

em..i like this video, not only for hondi, for local, japanese/korean/europian brand’s service centers are the same, technical issue, services issue..blar blar blar,

it can be better, earn a lot of profit from 3,4S, should improve the services, sometime, WE as a consumer, we can spend, but want a efficient, quality after sales services.

• they want u to go there..so that they can do 5000km services and earn more money!! probably now very little people service there anymore. ….even a proton does 10000km service nowadays… n heck europeans cars does 25000kms…

• The quality of the advertisement reflects the mentality, attitude and class of people who own Hondis and Toyotis.

• squawk on May 20, 2011 at 8:07 pm

Hondi or Hon-die? :-)