Chevrolet Captiva to be used by cops for GPEC Asia 2011 – Naza keen to explore SUV as possible police choice

Sixty Chevrolet Captiva SUVs have been presented by Naza Quest to the Royal Malaysian Police for use as the official vehicle for the upcoming 2nd General Police & Special Equipment Exhibition and Conference (GPEC ASIA 2011). Apart from the 60 Captivas, which will be used to ferry the guests, Chevrolet will also be displaying a Cruze sedan and two Captivas decked out in full police livery at the GPEC.

The mock keys to the vehicles were presented by Naza Quest COO Datuk Maruan Mohd Said to the Acting KL Police Chief Datuk Amar Singh at a simple ceremony at the Chevrolet 3S Centre in Jalan Ampang today.

“Naza Quest is proud to be associated with GPEC Asia 2011. We are more than happy to present the Captiva to the Royal Malaysian Police to be used during the event. It serves as an important vote of confidence for Chevrolet brand and the reputation of the cars as a safe, reliable and premium choice for the discerning individual,” said Maruan.

“Chevrolet is also a preferred vehicle for United States police forces, as the high performance and versatility of the cars make them an ideal choice to carry out law enforcement duties. We are very keen to explore any such opportunities in Malaysia,” he added.

The GPEC Asia 2011 – a closed specialised trade show exclusively for members of authorities for the business with police equipment, security technology and services – will be held at the Putrajaya International Convention Centre from June 27-29. Ministers, Chiefs of Police, members of Parliament and other related law enforcement officers from 14 countries are expected to attend the trade show, with exhibitors from 11 countries displaying their wares and services.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• redboy on Jun 23, 2011 at 9:10 pm

This is how the Msian Gov channel out the $$ to their cronies…still support AP king?

• cops, kastam, kementerian kesihatan, all using big UV like xtrail, fortuner.

while we rakyat biasa all driving funny saga and myvi.

what is this country turns to?????????

how many can afford those cars that they are driving?????????????

gomen and rakyat are getting further and further apart.

gomen, big pejabat,

rakyat, cheap flat. wth??????????

• Lim Kopi on Jun 25, 2011 at 3:02 am

Oh theres apparently a “minister” who lives near my place ….

Has a Cayenne, BMW, Merc , Alphard, u name it … all trendy and black colour with nice no plates … and keeps having kenduris and gatherings …. very happening.

Yes Rakyat is getting oppressed, when Gomen is supposed to be serving us ….

Boleh land is turning upside down …. its crazy !

• Where is Proton???

• exentric on Jun 24, 2011 at 1:44 am

Driven a Captiva before. Can’t exactly be enthusiastic about it. VERY light on steering.

• quote “Chevrolet is also a preferred vehicle for United States police forces”
    omg thats for supercars like camaro, caprice, impala, and tahoe…
    ~~those are pure muscle breed!
    not captiva which made from korean!!
    i still prefer they use volvo instead of Chevrolet.. this just help naza group to boost their “cold” car sales to show good report for end year bonuses..

• The common item here with the US police forces is the Chevy badge. Since the Impala went to FWD, the preferred choice is the Ford Victoria as it is the last RWD sedan. Now Holden via its parent company is offering its Holden Caprice badged as Chevy Monte Carlo, possibly as the replacement police car of choice when Ford retired its last RWD sedan this year.

A Captiva as a police car is laughable due to inadequate handling, speed and safety. Quote “It serves as an important vote of confidence for Chevrolet brand and the reputation of the cars as a safe, reliable and premium choice for the discerning individual,” this sounds more like marketing to individual and not the police force which needs to use the vehicle in pursuit mode often. Imagine a Captiva taking a corner at high speed with a chassis that is not as good compared to CR-V let alone the X-Trail. I did a corner in my previous X-Trail and the CR-V in front has to brake in order not to understeer whilst I just plowed on. This is probably due to my X-Trail’s chassis being based upon the Primera.

• Ash Menon on Jun 24, 2011 at 3:27 am

Hawaii 5-0 not enough, now they want KL 5-0 ? Let some other car company get the publicity la.

• I own a diesel full spec Captiva. Not bad of a ride if look at all the safety features that comes with it. My boss drives a Lexus, and even his is missing some of the features that I have. Branding and tech support need improving.

• Don’t you think US police support chevvy cars because its supporting their country brands too.. SO what the heck Msian Police oso want to support this? just wanna helping Naza get rid of their cold stock eh?

• I think this captiva stock is the one they used at F1 Sepang last time.

• Schneider on Jul 03, 2011 at 1:04 pm

is this the original Chevroletfrom US or from korea??