Perodua Myvi Jet and Perodua Myvi Sport Silver special editions launched for the UK market

Thought you saw the last of the last generation Myvi on this blog? Nope! It’s still on sale in the UK, and in fact from the image above you can see that the UK market Myvi is still the first generation pre-facelift model, the design that the compact had before it was facelifted in 2008.

Perodua UK has launched two Myvi special editions for the UK market called the Myvi Jet and the Myvi Sport Silver. The Myvi Jet is the black car you see here, equipped with chrome door handles, side moldings, remote central locking, and a new 10 spoke 14″ silver alloy wheel design.

The other car is of course the Myvi Sport Silver which adds the same side moldings and chrome door handles, but also has a carbon fiber lookalike finish for the interior and 10 spoke 15″ alloy wheels.

Both are only available in manual transmission. The Myvi Jet goes for £7,499 while the Sport Silver goes for £7,999*.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• JasJos on Jul 09, 2011 at 2:03 am

The quad exhaust are a bit too much don't u think?

• septzz on Jul 09, 2011 at 2:21 am

it's a fake one installed i think…but yeah, thought so too.

• theanswer on Jul 09, 2011 at 11:22 am

for extra 4hp..why not? ;p nway..stock myvi still looks better. no s.e..no bodykit whatsoever.

• nebula87 on Jul 10, 2011 at 12:26 am

i personally think that all of the exhaust are dummy 1…none of these is real, the real exhaust hidden behind the bumper like they used to be similar to our malaysian version myvi…

• KSPhang on Jul 09, 2011 at 2:12 am

…………………………….. The sales gona be real bad.

• Wisdom on Jul 09, 2011 at 2:15 am

Hmm… now treat UK as the place to dump all remaining inventory. P2 u make us proud (but u stupid)…

• hahahahaah WTF? trying to rip off in UK?

• donadoni on Jul 09, 2011 at 2:19 am

get rid of the faux quadruple exhaust tips you scammers! you can't fooled uk buyers.

• actually even tho we all know it's fake, these still sell, even in the UK. case in point; Lexus IS-F, quad pipes are fake as well…

• Zaffirin Helmi on Jul 10, 2011 at 12:43 am

but quadruple exhaust for 1.3 Myvi… euuwww.
        I hate fake exhaust… at least IS-F its deserved a quadruple exhaust, even it a faux.

• Have u taken off the rear bumper of IS-F? U might be surprised, haha!!

• Soon Chia on Jul 09, 2011 at 2:33 am

so lame la the quadruple tips. give 'em the facelifted version la.

• ko malu saje... on Jul 09, 2011 at 2:45 am

Myvi Jet? That’s one hell of a lousiest con-job ever! Try harder next time losers!

• Carl Wong on Jul 09, 2011 at 2:56 am

Are the exported ones still better than our own local ones in terms of quality?? If so I still don't understand why. Why can't we improve our own quality???

• U think Proton meh?

• u think Perodua so god meh?? PROTON at least develop own cars…rather than being slut to ToYOdda and declare have a world class engineering…

• What the big fuss..?? Some japanese car companies also selling outdated models in other countries and no one says about dumping inventory about then.. come on la wei.. its perfectly normal for a company to sell remaining stocks in other market to make a new capacity for the new model to go into the market….

• Rockz on Jul 09, 2011 at 3:07 am

Wondering when this two myvi gonna appear in TOP GEAR..lolz..

• Steve Barker on Jul 09, 2011 at 4:45 am

As a UK Myvi driver I would say that the quality is good. Our Myvi has done 23,000 miles in just over a year without any faults. We would recommend the Myvi on much more than just its price.
    http://myvi-magic.blogspot.com/

• Evoque on Jul 09, 2011 at 9:40 pm

I do agreed with u. I m ex-myvi owner too. No problems, no faults & reasonable fuel consumption too. I changed the car as I need bigger boot trunk for my family.

• steven on Jul 12, 2011 at 2:34 pm

the brakes get warped after 1 hard brakeing incident….its the same poor qaulity discs on the viva too….ive gota few frenswif the same problem so its not an isolated issues..

Replaced twice under warranty still the same, in fact i took the car out of the SC with the SA in the car and just took hard braking stop and the problem re-appeared…he just shacked his head and said im sory this is a common problem..poor quality material used by the vendor!!

• such a nice blog! awww….

• yeah thankz to daihatsu/toyota..not P2…..k

• Conti Owner on Nov 03, 2011 at 8:31 pm

what a loser comment, whatever it is the car still made by P2, they have MOU together to produce, design and engineer the car. you need to be more patriotic bro!

• Leseid Obrut on Jul 09, 2011 at 7:25 am

this is a frikkin joke…

• stock clearing…aiyOh

• Ganesh on Jul 09, 2011 at 8:45 am

Such a disgrace. The average British dude earns about 1200 to 1500 pounds per rmonth, more of less the same as the average Malaysian, which is about RM1500 per month. So, you could say, we can compare on a one to one basis sterling and ringgit earned.

And yet, the car is only 7999 pounds. Here, it is RM40,000. And this is a Malaysian car, made for the Malaysian public to be cheaper and affordable. The Mat Salleh can afford this car easily despite not having to save for healthcare and education.

How stupid we Malaysians.

• yamsim on Jul 09, 2011 at 1:41 pm

yesss its sure..bro ..support..

• GreenLantern on Jul 09, 2011 at 2:22 pm

woooo.. it means, they can buy this P2 for cash lor if they save their money for 6 months i guess.. pity us as malaysian… needs to get loan up to 9 years to settle up the payment..

• Mask Ryder on Jul 09, 2011 at 4:40 pm

Please note that one need to pay 17.5% VAT for car in UK, not forgeting super expensive insurance, co2 emission tax pay annually.

• Moira on Jul 09, 2011 at 10:33 pm

No VAT on cars lah. Just like when GST is implemented in msia, cars will be exempted.

Just because you watch BBC on Astro you think you know UK well kah?

• tak suka dAP on Jul 10, 2011 at 1:26 pm

true, most people wouldn't know this, but in UK items are cheap but the tax are outrageous even parking is expensive..

• But in return the medical bills are £5.99 every time u visit the doctor, and u can ask for baby sitting service from the government for a very little money!!!

• Ahbeng version is coming to UK.

• tak suka BN on Jul 09, 2011 at 10:11 am

What Jeremy Clarkson will commnent???

• P2 vs P1 on Jul 09, 2011 at 10:18 am

Waa…cheaper than Me'sia. How come?

• tneckman on Jul 09, 2011 at 8:21 pm

its 32000

• Murga on Jul 13, 2011 at 12:45 am

Cause MYR increased in value against GBP. Few years ago the price converted to about same as Malaysian prices. But now cannot raise uk price to match, they already not easy to sell

• freeze on Jul 09, 2011 at 10:24 am

UK version gets thicker brake discs.

• Expatriate VN on Jul 09, 2011 at 11:01 am

Selling at less than RM 40K, must be clear old stock lor………

• is it me, or does the new myvi looks so much smaller on the outside than the old one.. i seen one a few times at the shopping mall and dealers, and they look so dainty…

• patron on Jul 09, 2011 at 11:54 am

FYI ALL malaysian car dat is meant for export to the UK has a lot of diff in terms of quality. they have to cope with UK's standard if u didnt believe me, go ahead and open ur rear myvi's bumper and check that theres no rubber damper for additional protection, but the UK's has it. even the window rubber has diff grade

• Danny Tan on Jul 09, 2011 at 12:03 pm

Here are the previous Myvi variants launched in UK:
    http://paultan.org/2010/10/12/euro-5-compliant-pe…

• ismazri on Jul 09, 2011 at 12:04 pm

pier-row-doo-war

• wolfsburg on Jul 09, 2011 at 12:08 pm

Can’t understand why people want to buy Perodua and Proton in UK when they can get a lot of much better car at similar price… Perodua and Proton are too expensive to own in UK as they have no diesel… They really should learn from Hyundai-Kia and see how they outsell the Japanese…

• Jun Hong Ooi on Jul 09, 2011 at 12:19 pm

I think Jeremy Clarkson going to piss off..lolz

• RedBeanBun on Jul 09, 2011 at 12:19 pm

launched does not mean can sell. My friend from UK just told me P1 or P2 is never appear on the road before..

• your friend live in u.k prison?

• wateva on Jul 09, 2011 at 9:55 pm

LOL. I saw more protons than mitsubishi when i was in UK in april/may.

• i saw a proton satria in germany autobahn. no joke, but it was on the slow lanes.

• I tot German ppl only go for ‘ people car ‘ VW Hatchback lolx

• cakoi panas on Jul 09, 2011 at 12:23 pm

myvi – never ending story… YAWNNN……

• hooooyeah on Jul 09, 2011 at 12:27 pm

quat exhaust pipe hahahaha

That going be the first 1300cc 85bhp car with quat exhaust in UK!

• Hey, being the first is the most important thing u know? Hehehe…

• look at the price…as compare to malaysia standard model

• ciku manis on Jul 09, 2011 at 2:28 pm

hahahaha….quad pipe for Myvi, of such a small capacity car.
    All show, no go…..

Steel pipes must be extremely cheap in UK…

• yong9988 on Jul 09, 2011 at 2:48 pm

myvi jet?? thought the car can fly….

• PutraRocker on Jul 09, 2011 at 3:04 pm

thisisbestbro

• treblecase on Jul 09, 2011 at 3:31 pm

P2 sold a total of 761 cars in the UK last year. P1 sold 767. Of coz you cant compare to Ford (280,364), Vauxhall (247,265) or VW (174,655) but compare with Hyundai (61,752), Kia (56,114) or even Saab (5,898). A grand total of 1,582 for both P1 & P2!! Wow…it's a shame.

• RedBeanBun on Jul 10, 2011 at 10:49 am

hahahahahaha….so how many human power or money they spent in 1 year to sell less than 2000 unit of P1+P2. That is what burning money for the sick of doing it means, and those supporter always die die support to do it, and that is why..the petrol price, sugar price, tol rice all raise LOCALLY for all those foreign non-profitable business under the name of nation spent. Its a chain cycle.

• Can you post the link to the the source, I would like to read it, really!

• Peter on Jul 09, 2011 at 3:35 pm

Damm fxxking cheap … here U'll get the same car without this & that … and a free Astro installation !

• kitman on Jul 09, 2011 at 4:43 pm

i dont know how myvi pass the ncap crash test???

• Jimmy on Jul 09, 2011 at 5:16 pm

Who stupid idiots said Maivee is superexpensive in Malaysia?
    It is HYPERexpensive in both UK and Malaysia!!!
    Sorree, I don't have any nasional cars. Do I ride a bicycle or what?

• P1 and P2 really projects the image of how bad the inflation in our country in terms of car quality. I own a Waja, which chasis is derived from a first generation Volvo S40/ Mitsubishi Charisma, which is continued to be used in Gen-2 and Persona. Want me to say more?

• Sickos. on Jul 09, 2011 at 5:53 pm

Thou Myvi is a local car, even after converting the exchange rate, it's still cheaper there.

• ANiKiRoL on Jul 09, 2011 at 6:14 pm

May-Vee… (pronounced from Jeremy) lol

• greasemonkey on Jul 09, 2011 at 6:47 pm

wow! such a car also can be sold in uk? remember they reject cars that dont meet their critieria.

• put a spoiler also la

• Al Adlie on Jul 09, 2011 at 9:41 pm

got lagi best commercial???

• Iylia H on Jul 10, 2011 at 12:21 am

Wait till someone from Malaysia import the M5 bodykit for myvi… then can go with the faux quad pipe hahahahahaha. Sure sale naik in UK! Like how proton did when they launch Savvy “My first Lotus”. Now perodua buyer in UK can say “My first BMY M5”

• Mohd Ej on Jul 10, 2011 at 11:14 am

why price at UK cheaper from here.

The Myvi Jet goes for £7,499 (7,499.00 GBP = 36,051.19 MYR) while the Sport Silver goes for £7,999* (7,999.00 GBP = 38,454.92 MYR.)

answer please….that way we need BERSIH

• Murga on Jul 13, 2011 at 1:20 am

Myvi used to sell same price in uk and msia but since 2008 uk financial crisis MYR has increased like 20% versus GBP. So now same uk price converts to cheaper already. stronger ringgit is good for our buying power but bad for export business.

• Zaffirin Helmi on Jul 10, 2011 at 12:02 pm

off topic: guys, is that true that new Myvi "Lagi Best" is hold for delivery to customer due to ECU or starter problem…? But I never heard from news or even Paultan.org.
    Because I order in end of May and still dont have any news… my dealer told me that Perodua recall new myvi until further notice…. I need a confirmation here… I dont trust my dealer.

• Paul Tan on Jul 10, 2011 at 1:59 pm

I have yet to see it on the road.

• Zaffirin Helmi on Jul 10, 2011 at 3:02 pm

Yes Paul, i also see quite few on the road… That makes me questioning te recall thing is real or not… I booked b4 the official booking launch, but I still can't get the car even any news… Haishhh…

• Batman on Jul 11, 2011 at 5:31 pm

Yes, it’s true. But they refuse to tell you what’s the problem….not very transparent. At least Proton tells you exactly what the recall is for. Perodua only claim it is non-serious issue….(but if not serious, why don’t just say it out loud?).

• i hope 30 years from now when my grandchildren are born they don't have to see this ugly junk still selling here or UK etc.

• Ah F00k on Jul 10, 2011 at 4:13 pm

Yea!!
    Good news for the Ah Beng's in UK!!

• Ordinary Joe on Jul 11, 2011 at 10:31 am

Unlike here in Malaysia where cars also serve as a status symbol, most people in the UK use cars just to get from point A to B. So the Myvi does that well enough. Rock solid reliability, relatively good quality and its frugal. So its good enough.

• If u say so, Why didn’t Queen Elizabeth used BMW 530d as her official ride?

• I believe these are the stock that are still laying there in UK showrooms for years now.

Perodua will just keep adding bodykit and keep changing the rims till they get to sell all and only then launch the new model there. Sigh…even so, the price is so much cheaper there.

• jtiongwl78 on Jul 12, 2011 at 10:27 am

Dear Jeremy from Topgear UK,

I am asking when are you going to do your work? I mean a preview as what you did normally on these cars! If can, please dont let me wait too long..

• azrai on Jul 12, 2011 at 1:39 pm

So British get the Myvi Tak Best?

• Myvi 1st version is still selling well in the UK because of the different outlooks introduced by the distributors. Kuddos to the new sports versions and they look really nice! I reckon the 1st version of Myvi is still selling in the UK due to Euro 5 compliance. This means Myvi met with UK higher regulation standard proven P2 quality is as good as other european/japanese manufatcurers…..well done!

• Proton always get help and funding from the government while Perodua doesn’t

• 7,999.00 GBP = 39,155.02 MYR

murah sey… why in malaysia so mahal?

• Conti Owner on Nov 03, 2011 at 8:26 pm

Rakyat Malaysia tak pernah bangga dgn product negara sendiri. Mereka hanya tahu mencaci dan merendahkan. Tiada apa yg salah dgn model Myvi ini. Apa beza dgn kita yg kebanyakannya membeli kereta “recond” drpd Japan, kita juga membeli “1st class sampah” drpd negara itu. Saya hanya ingin mengingatkan bahawa kita perlulah menghormati pilihan setiap individu, mungkin anda menggunakan Honda, tapi anda tahukan kenapa individu lain hanya mampu memiliki Perodua atau Proton? Semua manusia mahukan yg terbaik, namun mungkin kewangan menjadi penghalang. Adakah mereka menggunakan duit anda? Sudah tentu TIDAK! Mungkin juga sesetengah individu hanya akan membeli apabila selesai membuat penilai dan perbandingan di antara jenama yg ada, ini memang sudah tentu Proton atau Perodua yang akan menang drpd segi nilai dan harga yg ditawarkan.