Euro 5 Perodua Myvi Sport and SE launched in UK

Perodua has introduced two new variants to its UK Myvi line up: the Myvi SE and the Myvi Sport. The Malaysian car maker also announced that the Myvi range, which also includes the manual SXi and automatic EZi, is now Euro 5 compliant.

The Myvi Sport gets a body kit consisting of front, side and rear skirts including “imitation quad exhausts” (yes, that’s the exact phrase used in the press release). Colour coded side mouldings with chrome ‘Myvi’ motifs, chrome door handles and different alloys are the other changes. No rear spoiler, though. Inside, mock carbon fibre inserts are fitted to the instrument panel and door panel switch. Only available with a manual gearbox, the Sport is priced at £7,799 (price includes £1,000 swappage allowance offer).

The Myvi SE is the “luxury model” fitted with dark grey leather. The centre panels of the seats are made from perforated leather, with matching door inserts. Available in manual or auto form, the Myvi SE is priced from £8,399 including the £1,000 trade in deal, which lasts till 31st October. The Myvi is a fair bit cheaper than mainstream superminis in the UK – B-segment car for A-segment money, although the brand counts against it.

The UK spec Myvi is also powered by the K3-VE 1.3-litre engine with 86 hp and 116 Nm of torque. There’s no mention of different figures for the Euro 5 versions. I didn’t know that Perodua is still exporting pre-facelift Myvis until now.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• mohsin on Oct 12, 2010 at 5:25 pm

I didn’t know that Perodua is still exporting pre-facelift Myvis until now.
    I oso don’t know, mah!

• subhero on Oct 12, 2010 at 10:34 pm

so far far far away now you myvi. good luck for your good trying to tackle mat saleh after this.

• anonymous on Oct 13, 2010 at 8:49 am

just like the saga era :-)

• wolfsburg on Oct 12, 2010 at 5:27 pm

Who would want a Myvi when they can get so many European car in UK? lolz…

• wolfsburp on Oct 12, 2010 at 8:35 pm

aiya what la of cos some people buy….not everybody go to paultan.org before buying car…….do you u think they would sell something people dont buy aa……are p2 soooooo stupid to open a showroom and loss a lot of money……..

• i would love to see the imitation quad exhaust

• handsome*dude on Oct 12, 2010 at 5:33 pm

UK – Myvi SE £8,399 x 5 = RM42,000

Bolehland – Myvi SE =RM52,000

why?

• blackjkx on Oct 12, 2010 at 5:44 pm

Becoz it’s bolehland

• Boleh land or X Boleh land? i dunno… just one thing is they thought Malaysian is IDIOT land!!!

• Facebook_User on Oct 12, 2010 at 5:47 pm

Biasa la.ini kan BOLEH land!

• _xXx_ on Oct 12, 2010 at 5:54 pm

cos mat saleh punye BIG ma…

• duda dude on Oct 12, 2010 at 6:02 pm

r produa took advantages on us?? just asking

• jolly_idiot on Oct 12, 2010 at 6:02 pm

Made in Malaysia and export to UK is cheaper mah. We made in Malaysia, use in Malaysia is expensive.

• cos in bolehland myvi = toyota mar

so extra 10k for badge

• Diagree… Myvi not equals toyota, its copycat/clone from toyota.

• untitled on Oct 13, 2010 at 12:49 am

chill, his just pointing out most malaysian treat perodua as toyota dna-ed buck of steel..wonder y they didn’t credit daihatsu for most perodua’s lineup =.=

• Dude.. he was being sarcastic

• 4x4Fan on Oct 13, 2010 at 9:12 am

Hey Dude..Just want to remind..check the price car from outsiders, and compare with BOLEHLAND..?How much the tax that BOLEHLAND taxed to us…?Think About it…?

• alldisc on Oct 13, 2010 at 10:50 am

just to share some info from customs insder

– camry 2.4 price without tax & duties = RM89K

– golf GTI without tax & duties = RM50K

want me to list more??

• Tiadaid on Oct 13, 2010 at 11:13 am

Yep, if not P1 & P2 cars would be much cheaper as well…

• curious on Oct 13, 2010 at 2:15 pm

waahh…really? so,cheap camry and golf.
            i really wanted to know how our G calculate the taxes.

• Tiadaid on Oct 13, 2010 at 4:07 pm

Are you sure alldisc Golf GTI without tax & duties only RM 50K? If so, why is the Golf GTI in the UK selling for RM 130K? The Brits charge 200% tax as well?

• Engine Capacity <1800
            import duty = 30%CBU, 10%CKD ……no need for p1/p2
            Excise Duties = 75%……p1 get 50% discount if not mistaken, p2 i dont know
            Sales Tax = 10% (if GST 4% only)

http://www.maa.org.my/info_duty.htm

import CBU/CKD= import duty+excise duty+sales tax =(105%)(<1800cc)
            p1= discount excise duty+sales tax =(45%)

distributor etc= tax above+cost of other than tax+intend profit= consumer price

• hetfield on Oct 12, 2010 at 6:05 pm

We pay much higher to subsidize foreign buyers

• Proton/Perodua or not, all cars in Bolehland has very high tax :(
      remember, an Exora without tax is only like RM30-40k.

and why the heck is Perodua still selling pre-facelift Myvis there? new Facelifted Myvis are at least 1000x more attractive lool.

• boyxinan on Oct 13, 2010 at 7:58 am

Then why not toyota, mitsubishi and etc sell new face lift car in japan to Malaysia? you people never think when you write.. just think and you will found the answer..

• we DO get their new facelifted cars. in fact we sometimes get the new models/facelifts earlier than other countries.

example, the Honda Civic Type R FD2 was OFFICIALLY launched in Bolehland in 2007. that was the FIRST TIME a JDM Type R was launched outside Japan.

you just rarely see new facelift JP cars on the road, that’s why you think like that lol.

• SukaTgkOrg on Oct 13, 2010 at 10:28 am

they didnot tax the car that much ..but they sure have very high income tax… here u dont buy car u dont have to pay tax so much and enjoy your cheap petrol..

there you dont buy car..u still got taxed.. and theres no subsidi in their petrol…

• zimba on Oct 12, 2010 at 6:24 pm

this shows that our government dont actually subsidies us.. Instead! They make tax so high on us in other way as in this Myvi. .. I think this is a move in balancing the poor and the rich….making the poorer not that poor..and yet making the average cant be rich..

• Our Malaysia got duty like import duty, sales tax, excise duty, that why sales mahal “Sikit” lar, like UMW Toyota & Honda, their know the Malaysian will support them even the price tag is higher than others.

• squawk on Oct 12, 2010 at 8:54 pm

Because Bolehans are richer than those poor Europeans. We need to subsidize the car and shipping cost too.

• subhero on Oct 12, 2010 at 10:43 pm

then for this price~!!
      at
      UK – Myvi SE £8,399 x 5 = RM42,000

a lot things diffrent from bolehlan spec. warghh… this is pepatah mengatakan

” anak monyet ditatang bagai minyak yg penuh, anak sendiri dibiar kebuluran “.

good job bolehland. ;-(

• Shaekey on Oct 13, 2010 at 8:16 am

I think the right pepatah goes something like this: “kera (monyet) di hutan disusukan, anak dirumah mati kelaparan”

• autojohndoe on Oct 13, 2010 at 4:18 pm

which pepatah you get that from?

very x sedap didengar…

• for me la kan….i don care if car is price 500% but low income tax, low food price, cheap house, very high salary, cheap transportation, cheap medical, cheap edu, cheap electronic gadget, cheap electricity, cheap water, free air, cheap petrol, cheap internet, cheap hooker(hehe)..that i want..

i do hav car(saga) though n my dream car is ferrari..but wan cheap car if…car drive itself so i can sleep, no jam, no petrol, no need service, no loan, free parking, no insurance, no need to pay bank monthly, engine start itself, park itself, clean itself, no need to pump tyre, isi water, no need check anything…troublesome for me at least

• anonymous on Oct 13, 2010 at 8:51 am

bolehland people sponsor lah thats y.

• haidri on Oct 13, 2010 at 9:01 am

plus u get, leather trim / carbon fibre deskboard, seat, imi quad exaust, and bla bla……

• Armeng on Oct 13, 2010 at 11:34 am

Normal reply, “marketing strategy…in order to attract overseas buyers, local must sacrifice their hard work income for the sake of nation pride…meaning that the local have to subsidise the overseas customers”. It happen to P1 model when they sell to UK and Arabs nation. Soo sad, very sad indeed to Malaysian..

• coz it’s cheaper to ship it to UK than to make it in M’sia?????????

• mujahid on Oct 13, 2010 at 4:26 pm

i just notice right now RM5 = 1 pound. I must be leaving in tempurung nowadays…

• bcoz p2 also tax by the G..excise duty (<1800=75%) proton get 50% discount if not mistaken..p2 i don know full or discount

• Isaac on Jun 09, 2013 at 4:57 pm

you’ll be dumbfounded when you saw a SATRIA GTI that was sold in malaysia for 10k, ended up sold for GBP 800+ (RM5K+)in UK.

• WinterAngeLs on Oct 12, 2010 at 5:37 pm

Good move by P2! Hope our G would implement Euro 4 fuel soon!

• DICKYBIRD on Oct 13, 2010 at 11:57 am

rm4 a litre, you mahu isis ke?

• Isaac on Jun 09, 2013 at 5:02 pm

if you compare UK fuel price with malaysia in RM, you’re just being silly. in fact, a liter of unleaded fuel in liverpool was like 1.32 to 1.38 pound sterling, but do not forget they are earning GBP, and a office worker also earning like 1300~3000 pounds per month, just like us earning RM1300~RM3000 per month, so can we get RM1.38 per liter of petrol? Not.

• if not mistaken nex yr rite from NAP roadmap

V. Clear Roadmap for the Implementation of Fuel Standards

Since September 2009, EURO 2M specification for petrol and diesel has been implemented. The Government has now set a clear target of implementing EURO 4M specification for petrol and diesel by 2011. The Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment will establish a roadmap for fuel standards and quality.

• sigh…. after all these years… they still don’t understand…

• mini cooper freak on Oct 12, 2010 at 5:57 pm

I prefer the pre-facelift… the facelift feels lack of somethin…

• lazyf on Oct 12, 2010 at 6:03 pm

pre-facelift myvi rocks!!!!

• hetfield on Oct 12, 2010 at 6:07 pm

Same engine..it means that our local myvi also Euro-5 compliant? or they upgraded the catalytic converter to meet Euro-5 emission?

• tikus on Oct 12, 2010 at 6:31 pm

What for need catalytic converter in bolehland? Bolehlander love to change exhaust and take away the cat converter.

• Lancermania on Oct 12, 2010 at 6:14 pm

omg…. i tot thy din produce tis anymore….

• learner on Oct 12, 2010 at 6:36 pm

obviously it takes more penny to build every single euro 5-compliant myvi than the one we have here. P2 offer better emission for UK version of myvi not for no reason, remember, they are profit maximizer company like what JC said in TG, either they do that to get tax advantages or something i not really know. but no matter how costly every unit myvi roles from factory to UK is than malaysia, like usual the selling price is much cheaper than the myvi sell in ‘motherland’. open your eye, very wide i mean, its not just P1 practicing foreign market subsidy but P2 too. only that P1 have been in oversea longer than P2, that’s why people didn’t realize that.

• yayaya… you are right. but Malaysia company build best car for others! Malaysian?? no bother la,,, everyday got accident wat! who will say it’s the car problem… they only tell you not to drive fast only…

• learner on Oct 13, 2010 at 1:54 pm

mmmm, i still don’t get it. what actually you responding about to my post? i have read mine and your posting several time but still don’t get it. what my posting do with accident thing?

• Tiadaid on Oct 12, 2010 at 8:27 pm

Actually, every carmaker practice foreign market subsidies. Even Toyota, Honda etc.

• subhero on Oct 12, 2010 at 10:46 pm

but perodua should not try this

• Tiadaid on Oct 13, 2010 at 9:36 am

Why shouldn’t they? It’s standard practice to gain customers.

• alldisc on Oct 13, 2010 at 11:07 am

no bro, browse japanese car magazines and you will find out that japanese have a better specced cars especially JDM.

reverse camera, cvt, and fancy electronics like start/stop button were evident from late 90s to early 2000. only now come to malaysia. 1 decade late.

• u must not forget that they r advance n highly industrialize country…we in other hand is newly industrialize country..for sure most thing from them first

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Oct 12, 2010 at 6:36 pm

Aiya so many useless bashers,if Toyota has no excessive tax,their Price should be slightly higher only.Singapore also car price is higher than us.The tax you paid can only cover up the petrol subsidies.Simply talk,but no facts.
    Come on bashers thumb down my post.

• DICKYBIRD on Oct 12, 2010 at 7:38 pm

so you must be a useless basher too, simply say singaporean cars are more expensive than ours without asking why and including the fact they can live without a car. here, no public transport, cars so bloody expensive also and not to mention tolled highways.

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Oct 12, 2010 at 8:06 pm

It’s not my problem you don’t have enough money to pay all those things,work hard for it.One more thing the price of fuel and car in Thailand also quite same with the price in Malaysia.Still they still can live a life.
        Malaysian always complain this complain that,after this what you all wanna complain,G didnt provide condom for Malaysian?

• alldisc on Oct 13, 2010 at 11:29 am

singapore cars are cheap lah but to own one we need to buy COE, which is not cheap. a man who bought a waja in singapore can actually afford a lancer in malaysia, that much of a difference.

• the guy up there said the truth….i surf their web about car its really expensive plus the COE even pricier than here…u can just visit the site

http://www.oneshift.com/

eg Perodua Myvi 1.3 EZ (A) 2009 S$56999 + category A (<1600cc) COE (S$30000++) = in all about S$80000++ to buy n to ownership MYvi

COE is meant to discourage people to buy car..it equivalent to AP like us here rather diff purpose

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Certificate_of_Entitlement

• oppss…mistake here eg Perodua Myvi 1.3 EZ (A) 2009 S$56999 (+ category A (<1600cc) COE) = to buy n to ownership MYvi

• USDfan on Oct 14, 2010 at 12:31 am

bro ..but u must remember…their currency higher than us….even their salary…

• i totally agree with you, dicky. i been 5 yrs in uk but never think to own a car. why? cuz the bus transport line even go deep into the village. less than a mile got a stop. want a faster trip, got cab, got train, got subway… here, what we get??

but one thing is sure. you know what. Malaysian is very very very ppl. see we can afford low wage, darn high price tags (not only car, but everythinggggggg…), epf, etc…

• USDfan on Oct 12, 2010 at 9:11 pm

agreed wit u Pug..actually most of the things in bolehland consider xpensive compared wit our salary….sup..suppp

• handsome*dude on Oct 12, 2010 at 11:59 pm

YES! dumb up!! agree on wat you said~~ if given the choice i would not choose to drive a car if i just have to travel from my shop to my home everyday~ just that there is no other option for me!!!

1.there is no LRT at my place
        2.I do not see a bus stop near my house
        3.and I don’t see taxi passing by frequent near my house

so i have to drive and drive everyday~~ its very tiring u know!!!! ~~

if given the public transport is convenient, less ppl drive car, less traffic jam, reduce the possibility of road accident~ so a very win win situation~ mostly P1 and P2 car no airbag, no ABS, so when accident happen, ppl easily get kill~~

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Oct 13, 2010 at 1:47 am

Then you should walk,right?
          Save environment,G can reduce subsidies too.
          So they can use the money saved to some other purposes like building a big dustbin with some LED lights displaying the word ‘This is a Dustbin’
          Get that?
          Give me more thumb down!

• Tiadaid on Oct 13, 2010 at 9:34 am

You can drive to an LRT station…

Where there’s a will, there’s a way.

• DICKYBIRD on Oct 13, 2010 at 12:06 pm

u try parking at an lrt station, basher driving blind.

• Tiadaid on Oct 13, 2010 at 3:11 pm

Typical, full of excuses.

Nak seribu daya, tak nak seribu dalih.

• Ford_GT on Oct 13, 2010 at 8:15 am

Singaporeans are heavily relying on well efficient public transports. Posessed your own vehicles is very very expensive indeed.

• use Rapid bus and LRT lah. i can arrive to Stadium Bukit Jalil much faster than my dad’s Evo 9 loool :P

• littlefire on Oct 12, 2010 at 8:02 pm

I beg ur pardon, our fuel price is already nearly on par wif international price especially Ron97. If you want to compare fuel price ratio again car price, you should compare it wif like US, Brunei or Arab Saudi which are still exporting oil (Forget Malaysia is oil exporter?!?). Somemore how much tax is really cover up for petrol subsidies? You also need to show us fact that the G promise to upgrade the transportation, roads, bla bla bla all the promises… And did they really use all the tax for upgrading transportation purpose? I wonder? No facts also from the G side…

Even Singapore people earning & living there can still buy and own cars even expensive due to their annual salary earning power is even higher than urs! How much u can earn a year compare to them? Look at ur own country and shame on ur ownself, as you cant even win over a small island with already so much resources in ur hand.

• norway also export oil.. fuel also expensive…

• DICKYBIRD on Oct 13, 2010 at 12:07 pm

their cars are nowhere near as expensive as our crappy local cars.

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Oct 12, 2010 at 8:14 pm

Haha,comparing our country with that small nation.They are just Lucky to live in that strategic island.Imagine Singapore is somewhere in the Artic,you think they can earn what they’re earning now.BTW,the other G always said they want to ‘pertahankan’ rakyat,what had happened to prices of water in Penang and Kedah,’naik’ also,right?
        Yes,please do continue supporting Pee Are,go vote them and we will paying more money on water and many more things.
        Please bashers and Pee Are supporter thumb down my post.
        I really appreciate your effort !

• subhero on Oct 12, 2010 at 10:52 pm

u know what Malaysia Memang Boleh ,

ive vote 3 times red flag for every your post. and i’ll count more after this.

haha.. and so sure you will redflag me for read this post~!

• E Bear on Oct 13, 2010 at 10:10 am

Ha Singapore…strategic island….it didn’t looked that nice when it became independent.

Malaysia is no less strategic and we don’t really lose out except different leadership styles.

• Tiadaid on Oct 13, 2010 at 3:14 pm

Strategic doesn’t mean nice looking. It means geographically strategic. Wonder why Singapore’s so adamant not to tear down the causeway? Because they know if the causeway goes and replaced with a bridge, the Tebrau Straits can be used by ships to bypass their ports on their way from the West to the East. If the Thais decided to open up a canal at the Isthmus of Kra, ships have no reason to stop at Singapore ports.

• Power8003 on Oct 13, 2010 at 10:32 am

Malaysia Memang Boleh,

Just want to let you know that Singapore car is also exp without COE as the Government here also tax the car heavily. I just hope that you find out the fact before giving comment. Singapore also provide very good public transport without a car, you can move anywhere in Singapore.

In Singapore, with my salary, i can own a Porsche or GTR Nissan. But same salary i earn in malaysia I can only own C-class or volkswagen.

Here is a example:

SGD 9000

Volkswagen GTi 2.0 = SGD160,000 with COE
          Passat CC = SGD177,000 with COE
          Benz E250 CGI = SGD238,000 with COE
          Audi A5 = SGD210,000 with COE

MYR9000

Volkswagen GTi 2.0 = MYR 210,000
          Passat CC = MYR245,000
          Benz E250 CGI = MYR400,000
          Audi A5 = MYR400,000

In Malaysia, i cannot afford Benz or Audi the model above but in singapore i can afford it anytime without in financial difficulty.

Singapore currency is strong unlike Malaysia which depreciated a lot compare to last time.

• Tiadaid on Oct 13, 2010 at 3:23 pm

Don’t forget, the currency devaluated because of bastard speculators, what can we do? We were sitting high in the 1980s and 1990s, the Dollar was only RM 2.50, KLSE was the most active stock index in the world beating even the NYSE on Wall Street, then George Soros had to get his greedy hands and attacked the Ringgit.

• orang kecil on Oct 13, 2010 at 4:38 pm

blame on our economic governor at that time for pegging currency for too long during destabilization n not following Singapore steps

• u still pay higher in lion city u pay almost RM500k(S$210k), in bolehland u pay RM400k(S$168k) AudiA5..if u buy A5 in malaysia cheaper if u use either S$ or RM…u can safe S$30000++…still lion people go to johor to buy groceries n i thought that lion people hav no financial difficulty

p/s RM is one of the strongest currency this year…one thing S$9000 is roughly RM21k and u compare with RM9k bout ~S$4k..that not justice…pegging is just to avoid RM to depreciate more

• from the fact i get it still pricier without COE

Volkswagen GTi 2.0 is S$125K no coe =RM296k!!!!..no wonder their pm salary so high
            Volkswagen GTi 2.0 = MYR 210k!!!

• USDfan on Oct 14, 2010 at 12:24 am

agreed wit u mann…sumetimes typical malaysian cannot open their eyes on tis things….so sad…nk buat cam mane..da gitu prangai diorg…

• nolan on Nov 06, 2010 at 12:58 am

sadly….i’ve to thumbs you down…….in return, you also can thumbs me down….

• Tiadaid on Oct 12, 2010 at 8:34 pm

You do know that percentage wise, Malaysians are consuming more fuel than both Brunei & Saudi Arabia? Here in Malaysia, according to the CIA World Factbook, we produce 750000 bbl/day, while at the same time consuming 500000 bbl/day. Net profit, 200000 bbl/day. Saudi Arabia uses 2,000,000 bbl/day, but produces 11,000,000 bbl/day. Net profit, 9 million bbl/day. Brunei too, they might only produce 200,000 bbl/day, but they use a paltry 15,000 bbl/day. Pretty soon, we’re going to be net IMPORTERS of oil.

• oomph on Oct 12, 2010 at 9:23 pm

hrmm… going by your facts, Malaysian actually consumes less oil than Saudi. Although we consumes more than Brunei. but how long stretch of roads does Brunei has compared to Malaysia?

Malaysian consumes only 500 000 while Saudi consumes 2,000,000. Saudi consumption is greater than us. And you cant compare their production to ours as we dont have many and large oil reservoir as Saudi. Saudi proven reserves are far greater than us you know.

However we will be net importer of crude oil pretty soon.

• Tiadaid on Oct 12, 2010 at 9:47 pm

Exactly my point…we don’t produce as much as Saudi Arabia to offset the amount we use, so it’s not truly an apple to apple comparison. Same goes for Brunei.

• S.Roma on Oct 13, 2010 at 7:02 am

You do know that percentage wise, Malaysians are consuming more fuel than both Brunei & Saudi Arabia? Here in Malaysia, according to the CIA World Factbook, we produce 750000 bbl/day, while at the same time consuming 500000 bbl/day. Net profit, 200000 bbl/day. Saudi Arabia uses 2,000,000 bbl/day, but produces 11,000,000 bbl/day. Net profit, 9 million bbl/day. Brunei too, they might only produce 200,000 bbl/day, but they use a paltry 15,000 bbl/day. Pretty soon, we’re going to be net IMPORTERS of oil.

(Why people use their own transport? Our public transportation is sux, no this and that, what else after this)

• Tiadaid on Oct 13, 2010 at 9:26 am

Why our public transportation sucks?

Buses – how can they not suck, they have to share the same roads and get stuck in the jam caused by too many cars driving on the road. Catch-22 situation.
            Trains – Komuter same thing, have to share same line with Port Klang trains. Plus lackadaisical attitude towards punctuality. As for LRT location, well what to do, they’re developed after rapid city development occurred, not in tandem. If they had been developed while the city is developed, then surely it’ll be more streamlined. That’s why the London Underground & the Singapore MRT looks seamless. Here we only build after all the buildings come up so space constraints put a limit on how seamless things can be.

Truth is, these weaknesses can be rectified if we compensate for the weakness ourselves. Go to work earlier if you don’t want to be late, at least if you arrive early you can have breakfast and avoid the mid morning tea break, thus increasing productivity. Or if you don’t want to take the public transport, carpool. Doing that will surely reduce the amount of cars coming in the city, thus reducing traffic jams, and it’ll cost less for you as well, as you could just easily share fuel & parking cost with your carpool mates. Don’t just say “oh Malaysian public transport system sucks” without trying to affect any change to the way we do things

• alldisc on Oct 13, 2010 at 11:40 am

nice one tiadaid,

the G should try to implement no private transport campaign one day in every month. and get the service provider to increase frequencies plus more buses & train coaches for the public to use.

applicable from 7 to 10am and 3-7pm

this is the only way we can educate our ppl and service providers like rapidKL on how to improve and sacrifice.

• PakAbu on Oct 13, 2010 at 12:42 pm

Tiadaid,

your argument about public transport also sounds … er… unsound.

London and other cities built their tube/train underground because they already have buildings above the ground. Even during the Victorian era, London already have plenty of buildings. That’s why all the city train system have to go underground. No space above the ground.

Buses in KL and the whole of our country sucks because they are not efficient and not systematic. No proper scheduling system. No information. Useless ticketing system. Poor maintenance. Not enough buses. Dangerous driving. … etc etc. Whatever you can name, we have it.

Good efficient bus system can be implemented. It was proven in one city in south america (I don’t remember the name).

What is really needed is people who really want it to work. If the rakyat always say ‘cukuplah tu’, then nothing can be done. And please don’t say ‘syukurlah’ when all what you mean is that you’re easily satisfied with the status quo even if it sucks. That’s a blatant misuse of the word.

• Tiadaid on Oct 13, 2010 at 2:46 pm

Concerning the Underground, that’s what I meant when I said the Underground was developed in tandem with the city. When did KL started to be developed to become a metropolitan? And when did the LRT system was developed? If the LRT system had been developed in the 1970s and 1980s, I believe it’ll look much different and much more efficient than what we have today. Same goes for Penang. They should have had an LRT system when I was a kid living there in the 1980s and 1990s, but even until now there’s no sign of one. And correct me if I’m wrong, but from what I saw in a documentary on the Smart Tunnel, land owners in Malaysia actually owns the land from deep underneath to the top terrain. Kind of complicates things to develop an underground network which is why there aren’t as many underground station on the transit map.

For the buses meanwhile, I do know that Rapid KL do have a route table, but how could they follow the schedule set if the buses have to again share the same roads as cars and get stuck in a traffic jam? And as for the ticketing system, last time Rapid KL had a simple ticketing system of RM 1 per day for local trips and RM 2 per day for intercity trips, but then Malaysians misuse them to make profit for themselves by collecting tickets thrown out and selling them to others. Now it’s per ride. Some idiot misuse them now everybody have to pay the price.

But one thing I do agree that what is really needed is people who really want who make it work. And that means everyone from the users to the operators to the higher ups. Everybody must work together to find a solution.

• DICKYBIRD on Oct 13, 2010 at 12:09 pm

what is your point, we are burning so much fuel but do we have an alternative?

• PakAbu on Oct 13, 2010 at 12:32 pm

That’s a wrong way of using that percentage as argument. That consumption/production ratio is for looking at how much the oil producing country can “spare” the oil for others. Big percentage does not mean the people waste a lot. It simply means big part of the oil need for internal consumption.

If you want to skew your argument toward how much we waste oil/petroleum, use consumption per capita. That will show how the people really use or waste their resources.

• Tiadaid on Oct 13, 2010 at 2:26 pm

Maybe the meaning got lost in the wording, but the fact I wanted to raise was not to highlight wastage, but the fact that the profits we get from our fuels will dwindle as we use more oil. What I intended to show was that Saudi Arabia profits a lot from selling 9 million barrels of oil, while Brunei profits from having to pay less for oil usage than us.

• Right Royale on Oct 13, 2010 at 3:38 pm

And Brunei uses a different more simpler model than the PSC contracts used in Malaysia. You actually make more dollar per barrel than what Brunei makes since they make nett only after Shell has taken its lion’s share.

• squawk on Oct 12, 2010 at 9:01 pm

Our petrol price is almost current world market price but how come the petrol standard/quality isn’t current world (or Euro) quality?

• USDfan on Oct 12, 2010 at 9:13 pm

ala…org org kat sini ape die tau pesal singapore…tiap² hari baca utusan…kene tipu jk la…

• Tiadaid on Oct 13, 2010 at 9:26 am

Alah, ingat malaysiakini ke malaysiantoday tu betul ke?

• alldisc on Oct 13, 2010 at 11:42 am

malaysiakini is not controlled by magic hands… no bias. no profit. reliable news.

compare that to mainstream medias.

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Oct 13, 2010 at 2:03 pm

Haha,who the hell supply money to them
            You know yourself,a human will not do such thing for free
            More money supplied,more stories will appear.

• Tiadaid on Oct 13, 2010 at 2:03 pm

No bias? Reliable news? You’re kidding me right?

• DICKYBIRD on Oct 13, 2010 at 12:15 pm

agreed! utusan rots the brain!

• Right Royale on Oct 13, 2010 at 3:47 pm

All news are biased because they get paid by different people, the goverment owns the mainstream media and the political parties and their business associates owns the non mainstream media.

Either way they both get paid, even the aggressive political blogger gets paid and has people working for them. Mana ada people who work for free and has no ulterior motive anymore. Ever since we’re free and independant country, there is always a prawn behind the mee.

• Tiadaid on Oct 13, 2010 at 4:16 pm

Exactly. At the end of the day, you got a brain, you choose which one is more credible, but only after getting the facts from both sides. I can’t remember who said it, but there’s this saying that goes, there’s always three sides to every story, your side, their side and the truth.

• anti-first on Oct 12, 2010 at 9:32 pm

awat hang ni….nak orang bash hang….tengah self-affliction mood kot?

why don’t you go play with your toys in the corner and leave this discussion for adults.

there you go….goooood boy!

• “this is a car people drive with a long face” – Jeremy Clarkson

• aiya another guy so obsess with Jeremy Clarkson……. as if he’s the god of motoring…… his backside soooooo big that he cant fit in most of the car he test drive…….

• S.Roma on Oct 13, 2010 at 7:04 am

“this is a car people drive with a long face” – Jeremy Clarkson

(Why the hell that we must worship that dumb guy? its not like he know everything)

• Haha.. guys we dont have to guess, give this car to Jeremy Clarkson and he knows this car better than most!

• aiya another guy so obsess with Jeremy Clarkson……. as if he’s the god of motoring…… his backside soooooo big that he cant fit in most of the car he test drive…….

• anti-first on Oct 12, 2010 at 9:25 pm

oh man, i’m yearning for the day Jeremy would blow up this car like he did to Kelisa!

• antique-first on Oct 12, 2010 at 10:14 pm

wa la woi aiya another guy so obsess with Jeremy Clarkson…. as if he’s the god of motoring…… his backside sooooo bigggg that he cant fit in most of the car he test drive,,,,,,

• dickybird on Oct 13, 2010 at 9:10 am

why are you obsessed with JC-obsessed guys? LOL! weirdlah you!

• Tiadaid on Oct 13, 2010 at 9:28 am

If JC bash Proton then surely everyone accepts his word as the truth. He bash P2 then everyone say “why obsessed with JC bla bla bla”.

• E Bear on Oct 13, 2010 at 10:12 am

Entertainment only, makes no difference to us in Malaysia.

Unlikely to bother much in UK as the car itself has many plus points.

• The “Mat Salleh” still buy our old version car? Malaysia new version liao lor, then the stupid idiot Jeremy will bang the Myvi to the wall under the car smash down and he will smash down too….. This time really “MALAYSIA BOLEH”, Good.

• it pains my heart to know we are buying Myvi at a higher price than in UK. It further pains my heart knowing that we pay 5-9 years to own a Myvi and people in UK pays less than 2 yrs to own one.

• really paint isn’t it? friday budget, u lagi pains, let change the G.

• Right Royale on Oct 13, 2010 at 9:57 am

What makes you think changing the goverment will make it any better? Lets be frank, the issue is here is making reasonable profits rather than excessive profits.

That is what is causing the price increase, if not for greed these things like why a CBU VW Passat is cheaper than a BMW 320 or a CBU Mazda 6 2.5 is cheaper than a CKD Toyota and Honda 2.4.

Only a fool blames the goverment for all that ails the country. Put the blame squarely on greed and opportunist.

• gilabasi on Oct 13, 2010 at 11:56 am

can your new G guarantee i only need to pay less than 2 years to own a Myvi?

• Cars 100 on Oct 12, 2010 at 7:11 pm

out-dated design…. never buy it, the design look very very old!

• Myvie wanna to compete with its cousin Sirion in UK. If ur Mat Salleh, which u will choose… myvie of sirion?…

• alldisc on Oct 13, 2010 at 11:45 am

the sirion in UK use only 1.2litre 3 cyl engine. but, both not selling well. the british still buy fords & vauxhalls. and renaults and volkswagens.

• Sirions are 1000x uglier than Myvis. trust me lol.

• phas3r on Oct 12, 2010 at 7:28 pm

“I’d rather be inside Paul Scholes” Jeremy Clarkson

• aiya another guy so obsess with Jeremy Clarkson (still counting)……. as if he’s the god of motoring…… his backside soooooo big that he cant fit in most of the car he test drive…….

• phas3r on Oct 12, 2010 at 11:19 pm

i don’t like him la. he’s very tall at 6’5.

• orgbiasa on Oct 18, 2010 at 3:37 pm

so r u tellin us u r short enough to stuff ursf into tat “meevie”?? haha. jk jk. J.C said meevie is a plastic-ky car… do u agree on tat? i do actually. he didnt complaint wen he was driving MINI cooper (i bet it’s a lot tidy capasity compare to meevie). Ok… mayb P2 should nvr brought their car to UK (again). rmb how thy demolished da kellisa? dudes, juz admit tat p2’s cars nvr n ever meet european’s taste. ADMIT TAT!!! P1 is a lot better…mayb could b even better in future. btw, Inspira is a impressive car, but too bad tat it is Msia-borned japanese. p1.. should start to make ur own car. n LOTUS has no points to come out wif 5 cars in next 4 years. y not brand it as p1 for juz 1? juz 1 so i can afford 1. plsssss =)

• paultang on Oct 12, 2010 at 11:05 pm

who needs Jeremy Clarkson………….we got Paultan already………appreciate your local talent………..

• Someone on Oct 13, 2010 at 1:36 am

I would believe they are in different leagues(entertainer vs. blogger+reporter).

Eh Paul? ;)

• orgbiasa on Oct 18, 2010 at 3:38 pm

i like both. JC is more like billionaire’s Paultan i guess (haha). n Paultan is proudly Made In Malaysia! keep it up paul.

• ah yat on Oct 12, 2010 at 9:09 pm

Better buy a VW Polo or Ford Fiesta… MYVI…. yaaksss

• elite on Oct 12, 2010 at 9:20 pm

the root of all evil here is proton

• nabill on Oct 12, 2010 at 9:29 pm

enough of this myvi torture please….

• viva elite on Oct 12, 2010 at 9:55 pm

Please don’t cry…… Myvi is best car and the most successful sales in Malaysian history… hope my compliment will cheer u up.. okay.

• alldisc on Oct 13, 2010 at 11:46 am

so sad but so true. sighh…

no thanx to dr.mahathir for creating national car project and after 25 years malaysian are still suffering with overpiced non-national cars.

• haprakah on Oct 12, 2010 at 9:53 pm

you guys better get yourself a ferrari and paultan.org will see the decrease of P1/P2 banshers…

damn you guys really make paul tan blog ads income going sky rocket
    hopefully within 6 months we can see paul tan driving around in some supercar thanks to you guys ..

LOL

power to the people

• subhero on Oct 12, 2010 at 10:32 pm

every good news come with the bad news.

good news is : myvi now at UK for sell

bad news is : malaysian cannot accept MYvi at UK for sale.

and after kelisa putus dua by jeremy clarkson. myvi should be putus 3 i think.

opss sory myvians driver.~!!..

• _xXx_ on Oct 13, 2010 at 6:04 am

I think this poor Maiwai will get pushed into the sea this time by JC

• Facebook_User on Oct 12, 2010 at 10:46 pm

xpelah…………………………..
    the G can suck all of us DRY with their BOLEH attitude

• korokoro on Oct 12, 2010 at 11:04 pm

clearing the stock???….might be

• subhero on Oct 12, 2010 at 11:09 pm

oowwyy yarh… its just flying away from my head?

WHY DONT BRING MYVI “LE” TO UK? haha…

• Buy MyVi on Oct 12, 2010 at 11:25 pm

Perodua should take over the lost Proton. In fact Datuk Syed Zainal Abidin is also from PERODUA !!!!

• peYno on Oct 13, 2010 at 12:31 am

when DSZ was in perodua, he was a balaci.. so he left perodua.. same goes to the next MD.. he also left perodua and move to NAZA
      becacuse they know.. be in perodua .. u are only puppet of Japanese and can’t even make any decission

• S.Roma on Oct 13, 2010 at 7:09 am

Perodua should take over the lost Proton. In fact Datuk Syed Zainal Abidin is also from PERODUA !!!!

(Are u sure? show me the proof)

• he is from p1 before…as all GLC ceo do trans by the G bet GLC…

• he is from p2 before…as all GLC ceo do trans by the G bet GLC…

• armandd on Oct 13, 2010 at 12:00 am

i don’t like this car at all…

• peYno on Oct 13, 2010 at 12:01 am

the bodykit is so ah beng

• nazri on Oct 13, 2010 at 12:09 am

euro5? no need one.. at malaysia even euro 2 like honda civic pun owner kasi buat exhaust system from extractor to muffler.. euro5 lagi lost much horse power

• Top Gear say this is a rubbish car.

• Time to call in Jeremy Clarkson and his sledgehammer!

• riph78 on Oct 13, 2010 at 1:00 am

so much for kempen belilah barangan buatan Malaysia, patriotik my ass!

those as%#@#*s is the one who not patriotic to sell cheaper our so call made in malaysia to foreign countries.

Proton & Perodua -wat ever ur excuses im paying more than foreigners!

• Tiadaid on Oct 13, 2010 at 9:31 am

Tell that to the Koreans, Japs etc…lets face it, all cars sold overseas will cost less then at home!

• Right Royale on Oct 13, 2010 at 9:58 am

But Perodua is fully owned by Toyota, not by the Goverment, hasn’t been so for more than three years. They have completed the purchase ages ago.

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Oct 13, 2010 at 1:14 am

For this I’m targetting around 100++ thumbs down,is that impossible?
    Yeah,call your friends,neighbour,uncle,auntie,grandma,grandpa,the other grandma,the other grandpa,cousin,sister-in-law,sister-out-law and whatsoever
    I will feel happier if i got more thumb down.
    World record,here I come!

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Oct 13, 2010 at 1:25 am

To every of you who thumbs down my post before,
    Can you please tell me how many times you voted me,
    I need to do some calculation and evaluation.
    Anyone here can help me spread my campaign for thumb down to any newspaper ?
    Advert in TV also acceptable.

• handsome*dude on Oct 14, 2010 at 4:32 am

hey Paul, this fellow is ruin ur site~~ take this looser down

• Basher on Oct 13, 2010 at 6:34 am

Mostly Myvi supporter are female or kind of it, so be nicely with them.

• orgbiasa on Oct 18, 2010 at 3:49 pm

really? meevies i saw in KL all wif so-called ULTIMATE GREASTEST GAB adjustable, 17′ rims wif toyo or potenza or semi-S, upgraded exhaust system, passo “facelift”, n ahbeng drivers drive like 100km/j along the way. wow… actually gave me a shock, even fairlady in my place mostly stay ori or juz minor modified. n all meevie clubs r packed by guys. but i like da “kind of it”. =) ahbeng = female or kind of it.

Lesson of the day: ppl who drives meevie is RICHER den who drives REAL SPORT CAR!

• yamseng on Oct 13, 2010 at 6:48 am

who care about car price? now everyone can fly what!

• S.Roma on Oct 13, 2010 at 6:52 am

the Myvi SE is priced from £8,399 including the £1,000 trade in deal,

(Like always, they sell it there cheaper then in their own country, what a bullshit)

• ikat perut on Oct 13, 2010 at 7:56 am

wooo…starting price from 8K???

this is madness!!!…..

bloodsucker ‘bolehland’ sell 40k-50k here….how can they sell myvi 8k in uk?

• Jerami Cilakason on Oct 13, 2010 at 8:30 am

RUBBISH!!

will spread over UK???

no way… Jeremy Clarkson is there waiting to destroy this RUBBISH..

• trollbait on Oct 13, 2010 at 9:43 am

ooo yes, let’s hope he tops the ‘Death by Crane’ that he subjected the Kelish1t to. I would suggest he install a bolt-on turbo, 17″ wheels, and run it until it explodes. Preferably with a crash test dummy made up to look like Ah Beng from Puchong.

• trollbait on Oct 13, 2010 at 8:32 am

Still looks like a fat-assed Char Kuay Teow-loving couch potato with extra large love handles.

• I still don get it.
    Why local Myvi price is higher than those export model.

• P2 - Blood Suck on Oct 13, 2010 at 9:16 am

Price in UK – $8.4k ($7.4k)… with current exchange…
    = RM 41,160 (RM36260)

Price in Malaysia.
    1.3 SXi
    METALLIC (Special Edition)
    On The Road Price : RM 50,400.00

• squawk on Oct 13, 2010 at 9:17 am

Perodua, please try this at home (selling cheaper with higher specs).

• david betkam on Oct 13, 2010 at 9:37 am

this car is so cute! the bodykit makes it so sporty, better than neo for sure, n the rims r awesome! neo for my son, this baby for my daughters, 6 of them will get their own fav color with that bodykit.

• E Bear on Oct 13, 2010 at 10:17 am

Maybe UK tastes different….besides the time needed for safety tests.

Normally export models better built….and yet cheaper…..as if we have a choice.

• Peter on Oct 13, 2010 at 11:37 am

Proton also sells its BLM to Australia…. Its also much cheaper than here….

I am just wondering…

Why export models have better equipments and much cheaper than the domestic models???

• pultat on Oct 13, 2010 at 11:40 am

I think this car is sold in super markets….buy,drive..then dump…you must be one dumb Brit to buy the Myvi..

• googlings on Oct 13, 2010 at 12:41 pm

Conclusion:-
    Its still a Daihatsu (done plastic surgery at Rawang Malaysia).
    All vehicles sold in EU must Euro-5 compliant by now, thats the new green law.

• Simon on Oct 13, 2010 at 12:51 pm

Jeremy Clarkson: “This is one car you drive with a long face….”

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Oct 13, 2010 at 8:24 pm

A quote from Mr Nicholas Zeffereys,
    “Malaysia has 11 million workforce but only 1.5 million pay tax”.

• Right Royale on Oct 14, 2010 at 4:13 pm

That doesn’t include the number of small businesses who never declare or under declare the taxes. Maybe we should practise like China, tax on every invoice issued and match them to the bank records. Receipts by vendors must be issued within a week a payment is made. That means no coffee money, no under table. If have also, still subjected 10.94% tax on invoice value. because they know a lot of people doctor their P&L and under declare or declare losses. That is a good system, and able to recoup all the income not declared. Like the ones my boss has on a 7K salary has 3 houses worth RM1.5M. Do this and you can lower your import duties etc.. But a lot of business men would not be happy ha ha ha…

• creator mind on Oct 14, 2010 at 6:45 pm

it is best for the next new G to really take care of the rakyat… give us real world car prices… abolish all those idiot taxes and import duties. we can pay for real world petrol n diesel, no need subsidy. afterall, the ringgit is very strong now. time for a real change

• org melayu kat Manchester, UK. on Oct 22, 2010 at 11:22 pm

tahniah PERODUA dan PROTON….. Pilihan terbaik di Uk….. ramai mat salleh rasa puas hati dan servis percuma selama 7 tahun… ( sekali service GBP400)….. kalau setahun sekali( 400X7=2800)….

dan

terima kasih lah PERODUA dan PROTON kerana premium insurance bagi Malaysian car yang rendah sebab banyak mat salleh tak mampu nak beli insurance…. (premium GBP3000 – GBP7000 setahun)……

dan

senang nak maintain