Mercedes GP Petronas happy with new exhaust system

Mercedes GP Petronas gave its new exhaust system a debut at last weekend’s British GP, and not only is the team happy with the better performance it brings, they’re expecting a stronger showing for the remaining half of the season. The MGP W02s of Rosberg and Schumacher ran a longer exhaust design to improve the efficiency of the blown diffuser, something the top three teams also use.

Mercedes GP Petronas happy with new exhaust system“We are on a new path with the exhaust system. With the system we had before we had explored most of the potential of it, and we were finding it very difficult to make progress. The new exhaust system is quite encouraging because we are seeing greater levels of potential with the new system than we saw with the old system,” team principal Ross Brawn explained.

“Our challenge – and we haven’t proven it yet – is to get over the reliability issues, and the installation issues. It wasn’t helped with the changes in engine mapping which have come along right in the middle of our project, but if is generally positive,” he added.

There are more updates on the way. “We can see potential in the system, but more important we have things coming which will take more and more advantage of this technology and this approach. We are reasonably optimistic. I am optimistic we will find some good advances with the system,” an upbeat Brawn said.

Rosberg was sixth and Schumacher ninth in Silverstone despite his misadventures, pushing Mercedes up to fourth in the Constructors’ Championship.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• BM Power on Jul 13, 2011 at 11:35 am

another hope?

• confused on Jul 13, 2011 at 2:46 pm

see how pathetic F1 nowadays is.. every single race talk about blown diffuser and forward exhaust. how are THESE contribute to road-car development? oh, maybe we’ll see next gen c-class incorporate blown diffuser thing. how about forward facing exhaust for all new e-class? tempting?

full of technical ruling glitch, a heavy marketing tool, and VERY LITTLE contribution to road car development. that’s F1 for you, fanboys.

my arse..

• well what if your exhaust has prob..reduce in performance do you ignore it?..nah my arse

• seriusSAM on Jul 13, 2011 at 5:39 pm

what lah..

your boss lady angry at you meh?

• confused on Jul 14, 2011 at 11:09 am

haha F1 fans butthurting.. i’m talking on how these two specific technology can contribute to road-car developement.. if our normal car exhaust rosak, then go servis or baiki or tukar la, no brainer.

still, these development is not going to benefit road car technology much..

• SeriousSam on Jul 14, 2011 at 1:05 pm

sometime something was make just for race series mah
        not everything should be transfer to road car..