F30 BMW 3-Series to get world debut on Facebook

The all-new F30 3-Series Sedan will be making its world premiere on BMW’s Facebook Page this weekend, from 4.00pm Central European Summer Time. We’re 6 hours ahead so that’s about 10.00pm our time this Friday.

This is pretty big news as the 3-Series is a big deal for BMW, and contributes a great amount to their market share, especially here in Malaysia. So if you have no plans this Friday night, join us in watching the live streaming of the unveil! :)

Read our previous coverage on the F30 3-Series which feature spyshots:
F30 BMW 3-Series: first clear aerial view of the car
F30 BMW 3-er with less disguise reveals some details

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Gavin on Oct 12, 2011 at 6:15 pm

It’s a awesomely fantastic car and status enhancing car but BMW has added too much technology making it really expensive for malaysians to run the car.

Run flat tyres and no dipstick for oil checks

It may seem menial thing but in europe to solve this things they are easy but for us it’s a major hassle to book the car in to get it checked on a working day

• TurboMan on Oct 12, 2011 at 7:57 pm

I changed my RFT to non RFT with great results.

The RFTs cost nearly RM10k to change all 4 sides.

Yeah. A car without a dipstick is a real pain. Plan to change out the inductive sensors this year. Preventive maintenence as N52s are known to use a bit of oil. And knowing how much oil its using accurately goes a long way to care for the engine.

• Gavin on Oct 12, 2011 at 11:37 pm

That’s the thing even you change out RFTs to non you now need to carry a patch kit which may or may not solve your problem, if it’s a pothole and tears the sidewall you’re stuck anyways.

It just takes away a lot from owning the car.

Next is the choice of BMW malaysia to stick the 320d with the M sport, why can’t i have a comfortable powerful car with a regular 3 series suspension. Sport is fine for europe but malaysia hello…. are you sure?

• rally_fan on Oct 13, 2011 at 10:48 pm

mercs dont have dipsticks either..

• Hope they can wash off the fact of BMW = Banyak Masuk Workshop

• Latukbandar on Oct 12, 2011 at 11:16 pm

Got data to back up ur rumors?

• Rajaratnam on Oct 13, 2011 at 1:13 pm

No need data lah dei. I own a 2010 5 series and a 2009 E90 3 series. Both cars go into workshop every month cause something has failed. Ask any other BMW owner, they will tell you the same thing. BMW cars always breakdown. Go ask any tow truck operator macha. I got Proton Waja also, never breakdown once also

• xavier lert on Oct 13, 2011 at 4:55 pm

ait..so i’ll remove E60 from my list… :p

• TurboMan on Oct 13, 2011 at 5:42 pm

You bought recon unit or AB/Ingress/Quill unit?

• Unknown on Oct 14, 2011 at 10:04 am

Then why dont you sell your bmw’s( If u have one, only god knows) and keep the waja since ur damn proud of it !

• sick&tired on Oct 13, 2011 at 10:31 am

don’t talk cock dude! the e39 was voted one of the most reliable cars and in fact its considered as the ultimate used car (in UK). I myself am driving an E46 and so far I haven’t had any problems.

• coolcar on Oct 13, 2011 at 5:52 pm

Hahaha, don’t be so serious, all those are Audi’s salesman lah, they will talk cock everytime there is a BMW car posted.
        “go into workshop every month” – This guy must be very bad in luck, kesian.

• Lemans24 on Oct 12, 2011 at 8:55 pm

One thing for sure, the 3er has gained some fat..will be an awesome car no doubt.

• Richard Goh on Oct 13, 2011 at 9:22 am

Even though the F30 is launched, I think we will still get old engines for the car. Like the F10, using the 9 year old N52 old engine and sold in Malaysia whilst the whole world is now using their latest twin turbo petrol 2.0.

Somehow, BMW Malaysia will give us outdated engines whilst everyone else in the world will get the new engines. They did that in the F10. Introduced a newer body than the E60 (previous 5 series) but put the ancient 9 year old E60 engine inside the F10. So don’t be surprised if we get the same old 2.5 engine in the F30.

Please lah BMW, update yourself and don’t make Malaysia a dumping ground for old engines.

• TurboMan on Oct 13, 2011 at 5:50 pm

The N52 engines are one of the most reliable engines in modern BMW stable. Even the engines in 320i are not as bulletproof as the engines in 325i.

N53 cannot be used in Malaysia due to fuel quality giving problems since its a direct injection engine. Even australia is not getting this engine. If you have a recon unit, then may the force be with you. You might get lucky, who knows.

The N54 turbos are plague with problems with fuel pump. Well some 335i runs without issues to 100k km. But the incident of failure is quite high.

So im glad my 3er runs on N52 engine. The sound >4000rpm – 7000rpm is simply addictive.

Lets see what new engines BMW bring in with this F30.

• If the earlier indicative figures such as >2800mm wheelbase are true, than these are about the size of 5Series E39 and definitely larger than E34. Than as far as myself, I don’t think I need 5Series anymore!

• Unforgiven on Oct 13, 2011 at 5:20 pm

We’ll be seeing a lot of F30 soon. E90 will be getting lesser.

• mirror mirror on Oct 13, 2011 at 6:38 pm

Nothing can beat those NA six pots, go try out those modern under 2.0 turbo engines and you will understand how annoying and jerky their power delivery are. Six pots are for people who like to exercise their powers with finesse.