F30 BMW 3-er with less disguise reveals some details

Most of you in the market for a compact executive sedan would know that the F30 3-Series sedan is due soon. Some are speculating a début in conjunction with BMW’s association with the 2012 Olympics by the end of this year, at least in concept form. This year’s Frankfurt or next year’s Geneva show are prime candidates for an unveiling venue, and perhaps an F30Li at a Chinese show.

These are the most recent spy shots of the F30 BMW 3-Series sedan snapped by SB-Medien, with some of the disguise coming off the car. There were three cars moving together – two white and one black. The disguise reveals certain details like what the rear tail lamp internal lenses look like.

This white car has higher specs as you can see from the different headlamps. Curiously the angel eye rings of the front headlamps look like they’ve taken on a different shape than the circles that we’re so used to. It looks like the rings have a flat bottom – this is actually not the first time we’ve seen BMW do something like this as the flat-bottom angel eye ring first made its début in the F13 6-Series Coupe’s full LED headlamps.

This black car appears to have regular halogen headlamps. It also has only one tailpipe at the rear as opposed to the white car which has a twin tailpipe on the left side.

Looks like a case of “Honey, I shrunk the F10!”, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing. Look after the jump for a full hi-res gallery of the spy shots.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2217]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Truth teller on May 04, 2011 at 2:09 am

2am upload time. Dedication!

• Gavin on May 04, 2011 at 2:13 am

Only car where they talk about diesel and we actually get it!!

• somesay on May 04, 2011 at 3:24 am

why did they covered the logo? It’s obviously BMW. Or are there regulations that made by FIA that every companies must hides their logo whenever while doing the testing?

• FIA?… lol…what the heck has FIA got to do with it?….lol

• rallyfan00 on May 04, 2011 at 4:18 pm

its subtle camouflage. but bmw has never been shy about revealing on purpose their concept cars undergoing testing.. also, even though the logo is covered, the big kidney grill is a dead giveaway.

and btw, FIA only deals with motorsports.. and not just cars… but bikes, trucks..etc.

• AP shit on May 04, 2011 at 4:52 am

It already looked so nice with camo, the stance looks sharp and dynamic, tail lamp should be very similar to X3’s

• Ford is another one that has small diesel car on sale in Malaysia. Proton is not even serious about offering diesel engine. If it is serious about being a global player, it should really look into a diesel engine or two. Over here, Mitsubishi has offered a diesel option for its ASX.
    The Black test car will probably be a 4 cylinder option whilst the white one will be a 6cylinder with probably a SE trim level.

• dangerous to drive on the road. difficult to be spotted

• tyang on May 04, 2011 at 8:22 am

“Honey I shrunk the F10!”
    LOL i was thinking the same thing Paul. Nice though.
    But the tail light looks funny, like the old Lexus, forgot which model, but with the round reverse lamp on the boot.

• rkg38 on May 04, 2011 at 8:46 am

is bmw goin to follow the market trend move the signal light to the side mirror…

• lame duck on May 04, 2011 at 9:16 am

E30 an icon of the 80s…
    F30 the next iconn???

paul any update on ur E30 restoration?? cheers!

• is that the LED indicator on the side mirrors? buruk la pulak aku tgk. tak masuk dengan BMW. it’s more like the side mirrors belong to Naza Citra.

• Damn… I just ordered my E90 :(

• deftones on May 04, 2011 at 12:01 pm

from f430 downgrade to e90 kah?

• OK that’s funny!

A new E90? It’s nearing end of cycle, perhaps you could just buy a pre-owned 2009 E90.

• HOpefully this car does not breakdown and have so many problems like the E90. All my friends who have the current E90, are perpetually in the service centre trying to repair their car, though they bought their cars brand new. Some are even there every month. Pay a premium for problems.

• I had BMW’s for almost 20 yrs, they’re all ‘Banyk Masuk Workshop’…so i decided to move to fast Jap cars which are super reliable..I still own an e60 and so fr it has maintained its love for workshops..too bad i love their 6 cylinders..

• rkg38 on May 04, 2011 at 9:50 am

is bmw goin to follow market trend to move the signal light to side mirror?

• Audi+Merc=Real Euro on May 04, 2011 at 10:02 am

looks like E90 and E46 cross….nothing new!!!!…
    Better keep ur money and buy pre approved E90

• Unforgiven on May 04, 2011 at 3:46 pm

The brand new is giving great discount as well, no need the pre-owned…

• Unforgiven on May 04, 2011 at 10:05 am

We shall be seeing a lot of this F30 once it is launch…

• Audi+Merc=Real Euro on May 04, 2011 at 10:16 am

Looks like BMW is cutting the budget on design. Previous model looks better.
    I.e E60 vs F10. Now E90 looks much better than this.

• Lim Kopi on May 04, 2011 at 10:30 am

Shit …. Just booked a Passat CC and still waiting …

WHAT SHOULD I DO ? :)

• akuGunaRon95 on May 04, 2011 at 10:33 am

erm… it seems that future bmw will have turn-indicators on the side mirrors…. i tot they will stick to “no turning lamp on side mirror” principle… ermmm

• bmw’s design of late has been somewhat bland and boring and models like the x series a plain ugly except the x6, no doubt they are well engineered but designs from chris bangle days were much better.

• Lim Kopi on May 04, 2011 at 11:37 am

OK design wise …. this Hoidonk fella is really not as aggressive as Bangle …

Now we start to miss Bangled days ….

• Bernard on May 04, 2011 at 11:42 am

All over the world BMW prices have been going down. Here, BMW Msia increase thier prices. And they put spec not wanted to justify a higher prices. What a conjob. Force people to take options. This new 3 series will be higher at RM280,000.

Old E60 only RM343,000, then E90 becomes RM383,000. They bull by saying extra spec. Sterling and Euro also lower now. Why can’t BMW Malaysia give us basic cars and let us decide what options we need?? Like I dont need a RM20,000 Navigation WHEN my rm399 Garmin can do the same thing

• BeemerFreak on May 04, 2011 at 1:02 pm

If you want cheap, then you are looking at a wrong place.

• Did you mean F10 instead of E90? Since E90 was like RM240k+ upwards when launched.

• redboy on May 04, 2011 at 12:17 pm

the front is like X1 design, the back its either E92, or same pattern as F10 i guess. Hope its bigger size in the trunk since current E90 trunk is smaller than Waja.

• when will it reach our shores? should potential E90 buyer wait for this model?

• seancorr on May 04, 2011 at 1:23 pm

Looks good so far…how about the interior? More interior space will be a welcome. I hope they don’t hike the price too high…add RM10k to the current price ok…don’t be like Merc which I heard plans to add around RM30k to the FL C class.

Hopefully this F30 does not need to enter workshops so often. They need the reliability of a Merc.

• rallyfan00 on May 04, 2011 at 4:22 pm

some merc models not that great either la. my mum’s c200k had a major problem just before hitting 100k km. while my 3 is up to 270k km now and not visiting the workshop very much.

• Gavin on May 04, 2011 at 4:32 pm

Must be really hard for BMW to improve on something which is already so good.

the run out stock for the remaining e90 could be a really good deal once this comes on sale

• mini cooper freak on May 04, 2011 at 5:59 pm

Are you being bias or what? The 320i E90 has only 156 bhp and you said it is already so good?!?! No offence.

Regards.

• BeemerFreak on May 04, 2011 at 11:23 pm

Why make assumption that is 320i, he may talk about 335i, now I think you are really bias.

• Gavin on May 05, 2011 at 3:38 am

pfft…only talk about power, the fact is the 3 series has been the benchmark for many other makes and if you didn;t know there isn’t only one engine for it

• Leseid Obrut on May 04, 2011 at 10:24 pm

looks like a scaled-down version of the 5 series…which is not a bad thing… =)

• Speed Racer on May 04, 2011 at 11:24 pm

love this car…very solid

• Malaysian on May 05, 2011 at 12:05 am

In my opinion..
    The E46 is the most handsome 3 Series..

• coolcar on May 05, 2011 at 1:28 pm

in my opinion, bmw is outdated car, lousy in europe

• BeemerFreak on May 05, 2011 at 7:59 pm

BMW has been, currently is and most probably will be the best selling luxury car in the world and you say it is outdated and lousy, use brain to think not buttock lah bro.

• coolcar on May 05, 2011 at 12:34 pm

bmw sucks nowadays, the design so cheap and boring, like copying from 5 series, not like old days anymore.

• coolcar on May 06, 2011 at 10:56 am

everytime got critics bout bm surely there are malaysian to rebut, this shows that lotsa malaysian are so closed and narrowed minded, only stick to bm or merc while the world is changing, bad taste malaysian

• Hope BMW not Banyak Masuk Workshop anymore this time…..