2012 Honda CR-V pops up on Honda Japan’s website

Click to enlarge.

Last month, the 2012 Honda CR-V Concept was revealed, and now, the first images of the production fourth-generation CR-V have come about – Honda’s Japanese website teases the new SUV, which is set to make its debut at next month’s LA Auto Show.

The production model – which you can get a wallpaper of on the website! – retains most of the styling direction as seen on the concept, though the front bumper on it looks more sedate and the wheels, while keeping to the five twin-spoke theme, also look less showy.

Click to enlarge.

The site also has graphics that present a peek into the all-new vehicle’s interior – there’s certainly more line flow present in the dash, and noticeable cues are a large screen housing the navigation/audio system on the centre stack, with another display console above it; the latter houses what looks very much like a digital interpretation of an analogue clock. Sizeable speedo too, by the looks of it!

Familiar cues have been retained – the climate control switchgear orientation and dash-mounted gearshift, for one, though gone is the void area between the centre console and dash, which was a great space for ladies to house their handbags (as I am told!); in its place it is a open storage unit where the cupholders also reside. Which means the slide-covered storage box just aft of it should be much more voluminous than the present CR-V’s. No tech details as of yet, but LA should take care of that.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• I think this one will cost a hell lot more than the current already overpriced CR-V.

• Good, the more expensive the better.. We can all move on to a better SUV.

• A better SUV? You mean X5 or Cayenne? it will be a joke if you meant the korean junk.

• yh Inc. on Oct 31, 2011 at 7:12 pm

The front grill looks almost the same as current Accord which I found really unacceptable. Others looks ok for me especially the middle console. Honda better do something to boost up the sales.

• gomok on Oct 31, 2011 at 8:05 pm

Expensive also people will buy maaaa, as long it is honda….aiyakkkjk

• Front looks like 2012 VW Tiguan and rear looks like Volvo XC60 ! confused lolx

• Looks as ugly as the current CRV

• wolfsburg on Oct 31, 2011 at 6:53 pm

Is it going to sell at the price of a Sorento?

• zaff1984 on Oct 31, 2011 at 6:55 pm

its look like 7 seater SUV…? is it? the interior (dash) look nice…

• Ahmed on Oct 31, 2011 at 6:58 pm

Yes I agreed the price now in Malaysia for the CRV really overkilled. You can have a lot of gadget but current without leather seat really rip off. You need a good seat before you control your gadget . Honda should improve with leather seat this round . Else I guess another rip off . 2013 will be new accord …………….

• the c pillar look from the side look odd

• ttooyyoottt on Oct 31, 2011 at 7:03 pm

plssssss honda,, rm150k!!!!

• car lover on Oct 31, 2011 at 7:05 pm

When expected to be in malaysia? Hopefully it will available on january. I just thinking too go for tucsoon or santa fe right now rather than current ugly crv……..but of course this new crv shall be the chosen one…….I hope honda malaysia don’t wait soo long to bring it in malaysia. Ootherwise potential buyer like me will gone.

• mentari-o-korea on Oct 31, 2011 at 7:06 pm

..still doesn’t look impressive! don’t have that ‘wow’ factor!

• car lover on Oct 31, 2011 at 7:13 pm

Better than out dated Santa Fe and over futuristic Tucson

• typical stupid coomment on exterior styling only

• car lover on Nov 01, 2011 at 1:31 am

So ok la….only you not stupid la…..
          Hey answer me , what was first thing that make you interested to your current wife or g.friend ( if you have one la ) ????
          Of course her looks, right?
          Don’t bullshit me by saying because of she pandai masak, very kind,rich, etc…….its all came after the looks……
          Same goes to cars laaaa…..

Huhuhu….clever clever

• come on.. arguing is ok..
            but pls never involve someone’s family members into this!!!

• fening aku pulih kereta on Nov 01, 2011 at 11:07 am

it’s an example….read properly

• That’s why I said dont involve some1’s family members as example!
            Pls read properly!!!

• car lover on Nov 02, 2011 at 3:16 pm

it just general example man….oh shhhhhh

• You should change name to japanese car lover

• Car Lover Too on Nov 01, 2011 at 11:24 am

Car lover,

Have you driven a Santa Fe or a Tucson? I have driven Santa Fe, Tucson and CR-V. Guess which one is the best performer in terms of comfort, stability, torque and power?

I can tell you CR-V is the worst among the 3. I am no fan of Kimchi car but the reality is Santa Fe and Tucson beat CR-V.

• Car lover on Nov 01, 2011 at 5:43 pm

Yes, I have driven both Santa Fe and Tucson, both are JUNK TO THE CORE. CR-V is better then these 2 junks by a country miles.

• car lover on Nov 02, 2011 at 3:30 pm

waaaaa…..so namy “car lover”

I’m the real one with the nick “car lover”. The obove was not me.

Car lover too,
          thank for the info. really appreciate it.

my consideration on buying an suv for my wife are as follow:

– TUCSON – to me it is too futuristic exterior , looks smaller, 2nd hand value drop, engine just so-so.
          – santa fe – outdated exterior, powerfull engine, 2nd hand value drop.
          – current CRV – been in the market quite long already
          – crv 2012 – acceptable exterior, hopefully it will come with higher capacity of engine and to be equipped with at electric adjuster seat. got memory fuction shud be better.

I think most of the commentator inside here are car salesman. every of the try to manipulate potential buyer like me to get interest on the brand that they represent to.

good luck guys.

• waterman on Oct 31, 2011 at 7:12 pm

japs car should lower down their price similar to hyundai/kia now. then everyone is happy.. and then naza and sime darby will lower down their price further more to beat japs car.. then everyone is happier!

• car lover on Oct 31, 2011 at 7:36 pm

Actually our government need to lower down or totally terminate their import and exise duty…….then, Malaysian will be happiest

• MoFaz on Oct 31, 2011 at 10:52 pm

but when they remove subsidy or increase the petrol price, everyone become sad again

• Anti turbo on Nov 01, 2011 at 7:52 am

IF the car is say RM10,000 cheaper ..you save RM10,000 and can use those money to buy ur petrol… You can also choose to buy either super sports car or very economical car…. I prefer the Government to abolish all the duties… then we make our own choice….deal???

• gomok on Nov 01, 2011 at 10:13 am

U think gov can simply remove tax and duty?

• Yes, gomen dan remove ISA wht else can’t gov do/

• MoFaz on Nov 01, 2011 at 10:18 am

have you ever heard petrol tax? fuel tax? or anything similar to it?..
            UK produced twice more petrol than Malaysia but they have 170% tax on their fuel. Australia and Singapore have similar tax too.
            Malaysia produced about 900k barrels of oil daily but our domestic consumptions is more than half of that. Malaysia has oil reserve of about 4bil barrels and if the production continue at 900k barrels daily like now, we only have enough oil for the next 12 years. So, in not very distant future, Malaysia will have tax on fuel if the consumption continue to rise, and if Petronas don’t find any new oil field soon.

• civicEK on Nov 01, 2011 at 12:09 pm

IF car cheaper RM10K but monthly petrol budget increasing from RM400 to RM800-RM1K (due to normal petrol price) then times 12 months= already around RM10K bro :)

• gomok on Oct 31, 2011 at 8:03 pm

They sure can lower the price but spec also zero la…..hahahha

• OMG..simply nicer than Kia SUV….Pls dont increase the price….

• Rosmah on Oct 31, 2011 at 7:47 pm

Strictly for soccer moms and desperate housewives like me.

• car lover on Nov 01, 2011 at 1:20 am

Desperate??????
      Give Mr your number…..huhu

• dirtyoldmen on Nov 01, 2011 at 3:54 pm

you want the “Mr” number???….you want call her husband?
        For your info, there are laws against such acts.

• the reason KIA and HYUNDAI is able to price their car so low is Naza and Sime Darby’s connection with the government

• Masked Ryder on Oct 31, 2011 at 9:55 pm

Saw a Sportage on the road couple day ago, the LED day running light make the car look so cheapo like accesories from Brother shop, the real end look like a talk narrow commercial van, the real window is very small i guess it is very difficult to use the real view mirror without camera, typical crap SUV.

This new CRV look 10 times better, Stylish & Bold a true winner in every sense, marverous Honda.

• gomok on Oct 31, 2011 at 10:19 pm

Wow, u’re so terror arrrr….from photo already comfirm look 10 times better….wow

• These are the people who simply “Judge the book by the cover”, so outdated, and pls dun talk specs to them, most of these people dun know what is specs either

• LOL…we all know masked ryder dont like korean car..
        come on honda! oh yeah! :D :D :D

• kitman on Oct 31, 2011 at 10:16 pm

for uncle,this car is uncle enough.only uncle like this type of design

• Jimmy on Oct 31, 2011 at 10:36 pm

10-year warranty plus free maintainence & parts = ZERO if the after-sales service is not good or the service centre personnels are not professional. You notice something is wrong with your vehicle but they keep on saying NOTHING IS WRONG, IT IS NORMAL, and they smile to you, talking politely. Brake tak berapa makan, oh that is normal after you use your car for a while; the brake circuit and brake pads are okay. No, they absorbers are okay. Sounds familiar?

• Itu technician semua kaki “CARI MAKAN’, tak tau lah dulu pernah bawa cari makan tak

• skiborne on Oct 31, 2011 at 11:18 pm

looks boring, no diesels i bet

• Maserati on Oct 31, 2011 at 11:57 pm

Even if this is not better looking than the sportage,it will be more refined and nicer to drive than any Korean car out there.Anyhow,it does looks awesome and much nicer than the current one!

• Why you have to compare this refine machine with an ugly korean junk?

• BeemerFreak on Nov 01, 2011 at 6:00 pm

How can you compare this junk with an astonishing korean machine?

• astonishing korean machine? You must have too much kimchi lately and cause your brain to operate at half capacity.

• Honda Power on Nov 02, 2011 at 9:16 am

How can you compare this mean looking muscular powerful SUV with the Korean junks? Ha ha!

• maserati, you are so right about the korean driveability. i was so into sportage until i test driven it. design was stunning but handling is unbelievably poor…don’t know how to describe it but it’s poor compared to cars i have driven before. i think proton’s handling is better than kia. no matter how good the car looks, handling is more important. after all, that is what driving is all about.

• hoho... on Nov 02, 2011 at 11:08 am

Haha… i wonder which sportage you hav driven. And which car you r comparing sportage to? Dude pls get a life. I hav test driven both crv n new sportage . If you wanna talk about handling honda cannot match sportage at all. Cornering will be the most obvious test in case u r wondering. So if u know NOTHING, just stfu. If you r die hard japanese car fan n you wanna make ur IDOL LOOKS GREAT AND AWESOME , pls just say the good things about crv and stop telling the untrue fact about rival cars here.

• To me, looking at CRV is like watching the movie Jurassic Park.This one just like SPINOSAURUS, the biggest dinosaur in JURASSIC PARK 3.
    EXPECTED AND DISAPPOINTED

• Website Design Dundee on Nov 01, 2011 at 1:10 am

The car is gorgeous!

• samad on Nov 01, 2011 at 8:08 am

yes, that mean sure the current model will offer at discount price for stock clearance.

• I owned 2002 and 2010 Honda CRV…..both vehicle are good for a round about town but if u drive it on old road which is winding and hilly requires power to overtake oncoming cars then its tough. The 2010 is a 5 speeder u need to press over drive (drop to 3rd gear) to over take if you drivie alone. If you drive fully loaded with 5 adult onboard then its tough. Luckly its Single Cam it gives you good pick up frm stand still. If ONLY Honda Malaysia brings in the 2.4 this new CRV will sell like a hot cake or it they turbo charged it then it will sell. Should have bought Toyota RAV 4…..2.4 lit, 7 speed & key less entry but recondition.

• car lover on Nov 01, 2011 at 11:15 am

toyota own the best engines…. but RAV4 looks need to be updated

• Maserati on Nov 01, 2011 at 10:00 am

Why should jap reduce their car prices to match korean car prices? Korean cars are rubbish. Its like asking german carmakers to reduce their prices to jap prices. Look at what happen to forte? Now that the dust has settled, ppl realise that forte is not refined and has alousy driving experience. Most ppl who bought forte early selling off their junk for dirt cheap now.

• Why shouldn’t they? In the end benefits everyone including you also.. unless you are some crowny working for them..

@.@ I am confused.

• Honda Power on Nov 01, 2011 at 11:37 am

Totally agreed with you, Maserati. I have tried to close Forte’s door by giving it a slight push but it couldn’t close. I have to give it a hard push to close it. On the other hand, I could close my Honda City’s door by pushing it lightly with only one finger. Enough said about Forte. Honda The Power Of Dreams.

• dirtyoldmen on Nov 01, 2011 at 4:09 pm

as always, we thank you for the unbiased opinions.
        your one-finger-light-push-close-door is the penultimate test.
        let no one ever question your methods.

• wow.. i never tot that “one-finger-light-push-close-door” is one of the spec to justify the car is good or bad!!!

• Should i say Toyota Alphard dont even need to touch the rear passenger seat doors to close it. What is wrong with you Honda no Power? Since when is using a finger to close a door a way to see the quality of a car? Get a life dude. And yes i know Honda City’s rear boot one finger also can..no hydraulics ma..don’t even have remote boot release..cheaply made one touch it bams straight to the bottom already….

• BeemerFreak on Nov 01, 2011 at 5:58 pm

Would really like to see that demonstration. My wife’s honda city certainly doesnt do that.

• Yes, because he posses the power of keep dreaming..

• Because your wife’s city is a cheap spec one.

• Honda Power on Nov 02, 2011 at 9:13 am

It has to be the current Honda City i-VTEC. The doors are heavier than the previous generation Honda City. Just push the door lightly with one finger. The back doors are easier to close with one finger compared to the front doors. Try it and you will be amazed. I have tried this with Vio’s doors, also cannot close just like Forte.

• driving the old City VTEC, went to the showroom and saw the test drive unit..sat into it and came out utterly disappointed. To me both are still light compared to the doors of a Forte. I love jap cars but i definitely gonna say that City, Vios both have poor soundproofing and poorly made plastics compared to the Forte.

• Mesarati is sux on Nov 02, 2011 at 2:33 pm

How abt you go build a car see how good you build it, don’t just say the Korean car is rubbish.

• calvin_ng on Nov 01, 2011 at 11:17 am

Now this CRV looks better

• car lover on Nov 01, 2011 at 11:21 am

whatever negative comments through on this new CRV……I just can’t wait to pay for booking fee…. this actually for my wife…..as for me, of course the upcoming F30 !!!!

• Jerry on Nov 01, 2011 at 11:27 am

Leaves a handbag on the dash and invite motorcyclist snatch thieves.

Bad idea…Honda.

• SUV is too high snatch thieves. this is the reason i am looking for suv.

• The Enthusiast on Nov 01, 2011 at 2:01 pm

It’s unfair to call it ugly but it has no wow-factor either. As of late, the Koreans are revealing stunning looking cars while the Japanese, in exception for Lexus and Infiniti, are lacking creativity in car design. Even Peugeot-Citroen are moving on. Japanese cars are simply dull looking.

• mentari-o-korea on Nov 01, 2011 at 7:44 pm

..u r right ‘the enthusiast’, i wonder what type of personality can see 2012 CRV better than new Kia Sportage, something wrong with their eye maybe!

• These is how i describe a japs crap car.
    1) hollow plastic dashboard with a hand can insert to the gap
    2) lousy bumper and body fitting gap(use a hard namecARD to try, u can simply caN insert)
    3) lousy power train, handling, brand image, even the American abandon the luxury brand like LEXUS, Infinity and Acura. (can check from internet)
    4)Thailand production and selling at premium price,shit!!(inferior goods)
    5) old-fashioned exterior and outdated interior design

• Donohue on Nov 01, 2011 at 11:27 pm

Guys, guys, guys.. No need to fight la, no need to say this car is better than this, this manufacture is better than the other.. If dont like just dont buy maa.. Everyone has their own preferences.. If like it, have money, just buy it.. If dont like it, then just suck it.. Peace.

• lover on Nov 02, 2011 at 9:57 am

Agreed with you, but all these boring korean lickers like to come to Japanese car post to talk rubbish, may be they are too free, korean car sales is low ma.

If you have something good to say, say it out loud.
      If you have nothing good to say, just keep your bloody mouth shut!!

• Honda Power on Nov 02, 2011 at 11:10 pm

Yep, totally agreede with you. Those Jap car bashers must be Korean car lovers.

• They are force to become Korean car lovers because can not afford a Japs.

• wow your honda city is so good mr Honda Power, with lightly push could close the door, even bentley need to use the vacum door to shut the door properly with lightly push

• JeBong on Nov 02, 2011 at 1:53 pm

WOW…. but I prefer Tucson…. it look more handsome if I’m inside…

• car lover on Nov 05, 2011 at 12:38 am

Can’t wait for new CRV anymore……

Tucson, Santa fee or Harrier???

Please, I need to spend mu money….!!!!!!!

• Angie on Dec 31, 2011 at 12:20 am

I own a Tucson and swear would never buy a korean car anymore. The new honda crv looks ok only, no wow factor & i agree its overpriced for min new features n accesorries. However having said that what is that to complain if ur second hand value is still there. There’s nothing to lose.

• eden punyo on May 06, 2012 at 4:39 pm

aku minat sangat dgn honda crv 2012 ni…..berapa harganya? kalau lebih dari RM150k rasa-rasa nak ambil crv tahun 2011 punya…