Fourth-generation 2012 Honda CR-V Concept revealed

This is the 2012 Honda CR-V Concept that made its public debut at the Orange County International Auto Show in Anaheim, California. It officially shows us the styling direction for the all-new, fourth-generation CR-V, which has been spied testing before. It’s set to go on sale in the US by the end of the year and the production car will debut at the LA Auto Show in November.

Compared to the current CR-V, the concept takes on a bolder look with deeper sculpting of the body lines and a stronger front fascia, which ditches the “double grille” look. The front bumper’s smooth-flowing lines are highlighted by a horizontal three-bar grille that encroaches into the multi-reflector headlight cluster. The lower bumper wraps upward to convey SUV capability with a generous approach angle; the design also improves aerodynamics.

The CR-V’s signature vertical rear taillights remain, but it’s now wrapped into the body, and the result hints at the Volvo XC60. The side glass area also sees a change in shape – the upper line falls all the way down in the current car, but both meet in the middle on the concept. The section aft of the rear doors appear bigger here, too.

We don’t expect the production model to look significantly different from this, perhaps with less showy wheels and a more subtle sump guard. Do you like where Honda is heading with the CR-V?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Muharifz on Sep 23, 2011 at 12:08 pm

Nice…

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Sep 23, 2011 at 12:11 pm

Nice, muscular yet classy, maybe there’s hope yet for Honda…

• thse day honda really doing a great job unveil the concept car, wont happen huge differ to production car……….dont like to fancy concept car

• Hyundai Eon all the way!

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Sep 23, 2011 at 12:24 pm

actually. this is rather nice. back like a prado but with the muscle of the xc60. and looks buff like the mini countryman. top it of with the v-tec engine (im no fanboy but before everyone starts criticising jap cars for the lack of design please remember they make great engines and chassis still). we have a winner.

• insperut on Sep 23, 2011 at 12:30 pm

nice… because i like XC60ish at the back! :D

• nice! doesn’t have that Japanese cues. agree with Danny, the wheels are too flamboyant. need to tone it down a little bit.

one question, is this a 5-seater or 7-seater car? coz it looks like a 7-seater car.

• skiborne on Sep 23, 2011 at 12:48 pm

im sure ill offer same ol’ 2.0 single cam crap

• it looks good but pls put a higher tourque engine

• the same concept on Sep 23, 2011 at 12:52 pm

I loved CRV cuz it’s suitable for young generation. this new concept seems more like a family suv. I’m sad.

• Huh current CRV for younger generation? I thought the current is a uncle’s car. I must say the new version certainly looks sportier.

• the same concept on Sep 23, 2011 at 5:35 pm

nissan xtrail, fortuner, pajero sport is for uncle. crv, sportage, asx more towards youngster.

• ferum on Sep 23, 2011 at 1:05 pm

is this new KIA sportage??

• FranCesCoTaufik on Sep 23, 2011 at 3:29 pm

“Fourth-generation 2012 Honda CR-V Concept revealed”
      Is any KIA word found in above sentence ?

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Sep 23, 2011 at 4:16 pm

No Ferum, it’s not the Kia Sportage, can’t you tell that it is Monica Bellucci in a wet t-shirt? Seriously, how daft can you get? Can’t read the headline too?

• Hadi75 on Sep 23, 2011 at 5:18 pm

There’s something wrong with u man….

• You must be eat too much “Kimchi” last night.

• kwang kwang kwang on Sep 23, 2011 at 8:11 pm

i think he’s being sarcastic. It does look a bit like the sportage in the front, especially with that colour

• BD'sMaster on Sep 23, 2011 at 10:28 pm

so you can apply that to white forte for looking like civic type r?get a life…

• Wisdom on Sep 26, 2011 at 9:32 am

The bling themes for the rims also applies.

• MoFaz on Sep 23, 2011 at 1:26 pm

when will it reach our shore?.. considering to get sportage or persona R or this CRV.. crv better come quick before mid next year!

• Gavin on Sep 23, 2011 at 1:59 pm

This one is nice, the last one looked like the designers went on holiday to korea

• ROJAK on Sep 23, 2011 at 2:41 pm

This CR-V look “tough”

• Summicron on Sep 23, 2011 at 3:09 pm

Much nicer than the current gen CRV, especially the front. The double grill front of the current gen CRV is hideous.

• Expatriate VN on Sep 23, 2011 at 3:15 pm

Nice design car, not “over-sculptor” like Hyundai’s fluidy design, good job by Honda.

• yes i agree. the current hyundai design may wow on first glimpse but look at it longer and you will see too much line, curve, fold and crease.

• MoFaz on Sep 23, 2011 at 5:55 pm

yeah, i know u worship japanese. ask yourself again, what if hyundai produced this and honda with fluidic design.. what would you say? you don’t have to answer it here. peace!

• Support you, Mofaz.

• BeemerFreak on Sep 24, 2011 at 10:06 am

Agree with u all out. Wait till maserati gets here, he will sing the japanese car song even louder. These people make no sense, they just bash because they feel like it.

• korean fans as usual.unable to accept other people opinions

not surprising since most of them are from toyota and honda

conclusion, still the same blind fanboy

• I agree with Kor design was more impressive recent year.
        However in term of driving experience, performance, responsiveness, I’d still prefer Jap car.

• Summicron on Sep 24, 2011 at 2:44 am

My thoughts exactly regarding Hyundai’s try-to-hard styling. Sonata’s rear is ok. But the front, a puddle of fluidic mess. Just my subjective opinion, no offense.

• honda is following kia now.

• toyota fanboy on Sep 23, 2011 at 3:27 pm

wow! nice!

• Is it 7 or traditionally 5-seater?

• aimantakkisah on Sep 23, 2011 at 3:45 pm

the taillight only look volvo-ish when viewed from side . but when viewed from rear it still original honda design and i like this new CR-V :)

• Awesome but to make be on top again it has to be affordable, efficient and comes with loads of features. Hope to see improvements as the current 2.0 i-vtec is lethargic at low end, NVH and fuel consumption is quite high. Lets see whether it will come with 6 speed, paddle shifters, 4×4 lock , HSA, DBA and more airbags. Hope it can perform better as a soft roader on non paved roads as compare to its rivals

• xxWWWxxx on Sep 23, 2011 at 4:04 pm

let’s wait n c what specs will be offered in this model…. if the japs r serious to maintain or grow their market share, they shud look at current competitors products, of which many oledi have surpassed what the current crv hv to offer.

• Black Dog on Sep 23, 2011 at 5:40 pm

Looks good. If DRB can plonk in a more powerful engine, that’s even better

• BeemerFreak on Sep 23, 2011 at 5:47 pm

Does not appeal to me at all. Best looking Japanese SUVs are from Mazda. Will prefer the upcoming CX-5 over this. Honda has many refinement problems too.

• Rosmah on Sep 23, 2011 at 6:06 pm

Not cool, not cool. Honda designers are running in circles.

• A serious Honda Fanclub discussion here..

The design, at most looks dated.

• Oh my butt…. the butt looks awful… redesign pls…

• Kia Sportage anyday.this thing is so ugly and weird!yuck!

• Zaifman on Sep 23, 2011 at 6:51 pm

I guess this blog is dominated by Korean fanboys.

Any comment praising the car’s design was met by thumb downs.

IMO, I like the new CR-V design.

• I guess this blog is dominated by Japan fanboys.

Any comment bashing the car’s design was met by thumb downs.

IMO, I hate the new CR-V design.

• Mazda CX-5 beat CRV, Sportage & Tucson flat.
    Design, handling, performance, fuel efficiency every aspect.

• Man, u r good! Even the real cx5 production car not yet on sale, u already test drive it and know all the information about it! Bravo!!!

• sfssd on Sep 23, 2011 at 7:48 pm

Haa, baru first time tengok Honda cantik, I never like Honda in particular (except old model Accord – that one is nice and elegant) the rest looks horrid. Then came this, but when I got the the back end, HELLO..! Volvo XC60..! The first one to shyly copy XC60 was the Kia Sportage (older model) especially with the pillar reflector, oh so obvious, now this.! So unoriginal……come one, be yourself Honda, just don’t be ugly that’s all..

• OMG…damn nice ..

• TopGear on Sep 23, 2011 at 9:41 pm

really hope honda malaysia will offer both 2.0L and 2.4L options !

• Jimmy on Sep 23, 2011 at 10:00 pm

Totally no fight, compared to the new Sportage. What happened to Japanese car designers(except Mazda)?

• Jimmy on Sep 23, 2011 at 10:02 pm

When you call a facelift ALL NEW, it is CHEATING!! I am NOT accusing Honda; you know who did this.

• This New CR-V is NICE. Like it.. Hope can arrive faster.

• Wow!! my first impression is new CRV is gonna be a 20secs 0-100km/h car. YEAH, Honda has made it. Let’s cheer for The power of BIG Dream.
    And do not forget to attend the NORMAL “Product Update Campaign” after you become the community of Honda.

• RedBeanBun on Sep 23, 2011 at 11:01 pm

Cant they just use the RDX and MDX for Asia market, there is no Acura here. Streamdown some gadget or luxury.

• Paul Tan for Prime Minister on Sep 23, 2011 at 11:15 pm

CRV always get bad verdict in UK car magazines. Only a bunch of stupid Malaysian like this car !

• Black Dog on Sep 24, 2011 at 12:21 pm

Uk always give bad rating for ALL cars! Just check Top Gear and what’s the highest score. CRV is the best selling small SUV in US, but in 2.4L

• Hahaha..butthurt Honda fanboy..can’t even trying to be sarcastic..emooo..haha..especially if we mention Korean car..very emo,be very afraid..haha

• This isn’t pretty.

But korean metals are no better – they are depreciation disasters.

• So? You change a new car everyday or every year? Or you buy a new car so that you can sell it at a high price? lmao malaysian still having this stupid thinking.

• Who want a Korean Junk if there is Honda.

• dondon on Sep 23, 2011 at 11:28 pm

i bet you guys after production the market look wise would never be like concept car…it happened to all car manufacturers..

• torres on Sep 24, 2011 at 1:35 pm

UGLY, nothing to shout about. i rather keep the money and save it for other car.BTW CRV is ain’t cheap.

• AllHailProton on Sep 24, 2011 at 7:42 pm

my version 1 CRV is better.

• pelams on Sep 25, 2011 at 9:06 am

better than the current crv

• sammy on Sep 26, 2011 at 12:43 pm

Looks a bit lika a whale or dolphin..maybe an Orca! CRVs are now getting bigger, wat happened to the 1st generation (which I owned 15 yrs ago) and the purpose of small all wheel car is now being replaced by larger bulk! Great if you drive on the highways everyday and dun need to park frequently in parking spaces made for a MYvi..

• Saharizam on Sep 26, 2011 at 10:52 pm

macam Kia Sportage

• Chang on Sep 27, 2011 at 2:26 pm

Honda CR-V Concept 2012

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9b2V0gxPZi0

• Hybrid chap on Sep 28, 2011 at 8:30 pm

Any hybrid with 2.0 motor maybe,
    Any pic on interior?

• Hybrid chap on Sep 28, 2011 at 8:38 pm

Option unit running with 2.0 hybrid?
    Any interior picture?
    Exterior is outstanding,,,,

• I have always loved CRV. 2012 CRV copies xc60’s rear looks impressive but let just wait for the price. Hope it can equals Peugeot 3008 which is of quality, high tech, turbo with very good fuel savings & very very good pricing.

• Need opinion between this new 4th generation Honda and the new Mazda CS5. I have booked the Mazda, but now I am told that the honda might be a better buy. Helpppppp :/