2013 Ford Escape debuts in LA – call it the Kuga too!

Ford has debuted the 2013 Ford Escape at the Los Angeles Auto Show – the SUV enters the North American market next year in both front-wheel and 4WD guise, with three four-cylinder powertrain choices to pick from – a normally-aspirated 2.5 litre as well as 2.0 and 1.6 litre EcoBoost versions.

The new Escape will also feature globally – it will be known as the Ford Kuga in Europe and China, with unique powertrains and features for those markets. Set to make its international debut at the Geneva Motor Show in March, the vehicle is slated to be introduced in China next spring.

In terms of outputs, the 2.5 litre NA unit will offer 168 hp and 226 Nm, while the 2.0 EcoBoost will have 237 hp and 338 Nm, and the 1.6 EcoBoost 173 hp and 240 Nm. All three engine choices are mated to a SelectShift Automatic six-speed, which for the EcoBoost mills are specially calibrated. The gearbox features revised gear ratios and a new torque converter for improved driving feel and smoother shifts.

The vehicle features more cargo volume behind the first and second rows than the outgoing Escape, and Ford says that it has driving dynamics that make the drive experience more engaging on-road, with a new Ford Intelligent 4WD System providing even better traction off-road. It’s also nearly 10% more aerodynamic than the current Escape, as well as 20% stiffer in terms of overall body structure.

Inside the cabin, improved materials and execution highlight the interior, and the list includes a soft-touch instrument panel, wrapped, padded and stitched door armrests and the elimination of exposed fasteners in the glove box and sun visor pivots, among others. Versatility in cargo carrying continues the roll – the car has an available two-position load floor, which can be configured to allow the choice of maximum luggage volume or a flat load floor.

Among the tech features is a hands-free power liftgate that allows quick and easy access to the cargo hold. The liftgate is enabled by motion technology – a gentle kicking motion under the centre of the rear bumper activates, unlocks and raises the liftgate when the driver has the Escape key fob, allowing quick and easy access to the cargo area without needing to set down packages or dig out keys. The same process closes the hatch.

Elsewhere, there’s a panorama Vista sunroof, active park assist, a sensor-based Blind Spot Information System with cross-traffic alert, SYNC with MyFord Touch in the mix, as well as an enhanced Personal Safety System with new safety belt technologies and seven airbags.

A host of exterior colours abound, led by Ginger Ale, an earthy metallic tone. There’s also Ruby Red, White Platinum Tricoat, Frosted Glass Metallic, Deep Impact Blue and Kodiak Brown, along with Tuxedo Black, Sterling Gray Metallic, Ingot Silver Metallic and Oxford White.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• rear looks like tucson..

• Stupid XP on Nov 16, 2011 at 8:42 pm

and looks more handsome than tucson

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Ford Lover on Nov 21, 2011 at 7:11 am

Anthony, when will Sime Darby introduce this vehicle in Malaysia? Already the current Escape is so outdated and we are not getting the latest Escapes. I hope Ford US can do something about this and give us Malaysians their latest launches.

It is so pityful that we have to wait so long for any new launches. Btw, what do you mean 2013? Does that mean it is launching in the US in 2013?

• clutch basah on Nov 16, 2011 at 4:33 pm

Hahaha, everyone is on K-pop fever nowadays.. even Ford designers!!

• Feast on Nov 16, 2011 at 7:07 pm

Still talking about copy.. Benz CLS also copy Sonata right? The old 4th gen Sonata peanut headlamp also being copied by Mercedes Benz right? I think all other car designers just sit down and wait for Koreans to come out with new design and they just copy..right? I know you like to copy in all your exams in school but please la, you think other car manufacturers want to be compared with the Koreans in the first place? It’s like saying Bratt Pitt wants to look like Mr. Bean..

• as usual lah on Nov 16, 2011 at 8:40 pm

brad pitt boring…mr bean FTW!!!! ;)
        kamen rider kuuga is back! heheh

• Hey Feast, you’ve got the point, but you are a little over. Perhaps you need to learn the art of communication. So I vote you thumb down. My apology.

• Masked Ryder on Nov 16, 2011 at 6:09 pm

Nice Interior but lame exterior.

Mazda CX-5 is way better.

• very nice.will put up a good fight againts kia sportage

• Masked Ryder on Nov 16, 2011 at 7:01 pm

Hallo Zen , R U Joking ? Ford Escape currently rank 5th best selling vehicle in US compare to lousy Kia Sportage merely at 80th spot.

• we’re not in US now.i’m referring to the choices we have here if this ever reach our shores

• Where is the Toyota and Honda then? And you are slapping yourself, your upper post said that this car sucks. Now you wanted to bash Korea cars and you said that the Escape sells well. You got no life.

• Masked Ryder on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:27 pm

Why Offcoz Great Honda CTV Rank 7th Best Selling Vechicle on the Month of October, While Toyota RAV 4 Rank 23rd.

Lousy Korean Junk KIAsu SpottyAged infact only able to hang at 93rd spot for october sales.

Did u fail your PMR English, i said Ford Escape interior look nice, but overall Mazda CX-5 look better, maybe u need a better life so that u can afford something better than a Korean junk.

• Can I ask a question? Which university you study in? Anyways, your comment always get a tons of thumb down, because people think that what you said is nonsense. Sales mean everything? Don’t think so, go China, their BYD sells so well there, does that mean the BYD is good? Nah, go figure yourself.

• Masked Ryder on Nov 17, 2011 at 6:31 pm

I am not contesting in reality show, the hell i care about thumb up & thumb down, offcoz sales mean every thing, do u think KIA made car for charity purpose ?

Again u show ur ignorance BYD is not the best selling car it is FAW, then again i don’t expect much from u.

• Save your energy, perhaps he needs more brush up in the way he communicates.

• A well revolutionised SUV =)) a design that sets apart from the rest

• Joseph Yeoh on Nov 16, 2011 at 6:22 pm

1st Kuga also never made it here …..

• udasalleh on Nov 16, 2011 at 6:39 pm

From a design POV… the exterior look definitely taking cue from the koreans… n the whole dashboard + instrument clusters + air vents seems a bit messy with lots of lines n shapes going everywhere..! Creates as if there is so much to look n see.

• anonymous on Nov 16, 2011 at 6:43 pm

did i see a Transformer center console? looks complicated

• BeemerFreak on Nov 16, 2011 at 7:06 pm

Lets see if SDAC can bring it in at the same price as the current Escape……. With the 2.0 and 1.6 powershift mill, the sales will shift like the fiesta.

• Aman Shah on Nov 16, 2011 at 7:31 pm

damn this is niceee piowerfull some more

• shawal on Nov 16, 2011 at 8:10 pm

Beautiful interior, i can sit in there all day long ….too bad ford is under
    auto connexxion, it’ll be frikkin pricey…

• The Enthusiast on Nov 16, 2011 at 8:16 pm

Bring it to Malaysia SDAC! Looks amazing though the Evoque looks more awesome.

• such a beauty….

• This is an epic fail if launched in Malaysia, looking at SDAC aftersales service, resale value, exorbitant pricing(expected)…

• rulered on Nov 16, 2011 at 9:37 pm

I can’t believe it, whenever there’s new SUVs people will start talking about ‘it looks like some other car or design is like so and so from so and so country’. To me, the first thing I would look for is offroad capability- torque, power and type of fuel plus consumption. Next is comfort and practicality. Then just maybe, looks. This is why Malaysian are getting obese, driving SUVs to office and shopping complexes. Go out and enjoy the outdoor guys, then maybe you’ll look at SUVs in a different angle.

• it was never Ford’s intention to make SUV to go off-road, you want offroad, get a Feroza 4X4.
      SUVs are meant to be safer and protection from crazy pick-up drivers in Msia.

• damn!
    combination of i10, Tucson, Kia Sportage etc!

• Mentari-o-korea on Nov 16, 2011 at 9:44 pm

Why they designed like sportage n yet sportage look better! Thumbs up to sportage owner!

• Redrules on Nov 17, 2011 at 2:51 pm

“Ford Intelligent 4WD System providing even better traction off-road”. It won’t be hardcore offroader of course, probably the occasional drive to fruit orchard when balik kampung or occasional visit to ladang kelapa sawit or going fishing and come back to city with acceptable comfort, back to our daily life. I think this car is okay just for that otherwise I’ll get the Land Rover Defender.

• DODGER on Feb 26, 2012 at 12:44 am

Spoke to an SDAC sales advisor last week, this will be sold here as the Kuga

• The Kid on Jul 22, 2012 at 5:36 pm

Anyone knows when will SDAC bring in this kuga?
    Thx in advance.

• Any updates on this car?

• Fazli on Jan 25, 2013 at 7:32 pm

When Escape 2013 will be in Malaysia market??? any update or info?

• simon on Mar 05, 2013 at 10:59 pm

Just read the review on the new CRV… 2.4L top spec version will go for RM190k!! Crazy! When will they bring the 2013 Escape? If they price it right like the Focus (compared to the crazy-price-for-what-you-dont-get Civic) and with the right features, then the Escape should be a success! Go sit in a Focus, go sit in a Civic… feel the difference! You can feel the German engineering in the Focus.