Fiat 500L: 5-door Fiat 500 to make Geneva 2012 debut

These are the first shots of the new Fiat 500L, the newest member of the Fiat 500 family, with the L in its name meaning “Large”.

The 500L is bigger and has 5-doors instead of 3, with a cab forward cabin design. Fiat says the 500L has MPV passenger space combined with the feel of a small SUV on the road, along with the dimensions and efficiency of a B segment car.

I’m thinking – doesn’t Fiat already sort of have a product like this in its range called the Fiat Panda? I suppose the 500L is an Italian take on large versions of modern incarnations of retro classics, like the Mini Countryman.

The Fiat 500L will make its public debut at the 2012 Geneva Motor Show in March, with an initial engine range consisting of two petrol engines – TwinAir and 1.4L as well as a 1.3 liter Multijet diesel.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Feb 03, 2012 at 2:36 pm

Kelisa + Myvi + Mini = Fiat 500L :-)

• taboogen on Feb 03, 2012 at 3:05 pm

wow even the rims looks like from the mini family….

• ka_one2000 on Feb 03, 2012 at 3:28 pm

OEM Citroen C3 Picasso?

• paohyean on Feb 03, 2012 at 4:02 pm

It doesn’t look anything like the Fiat 500 at all..
    Except for the headlamps..
    Quite disappointed to be honest..

• gangully on Feb 03, 2012 at 4:29 pm

that “capped” roof is so MINI!

• it looks alot like mini countryman, especially the rear

• jay8393 on Feb 03, 2012 at 7:10 pm

Fiat just ruined the design of the 500.

• ” We present to you 5 door Fiat 500 with flair on the A pillar and nice roofline” says the designer. Well, i say, “FFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Feb 04, 2012 at 12:03 am

thought it looks rather funky

• samsam on Feb 04, 2012 at 9:58 am

just another affordable car in their country =]

• Sharviin on Feb 04, 2012 at 5:54 pm

Owh mother of god! at the first glance i tot its the new MINI!!

• kadajawi on Feb 05, 2012 at 5:06 pm

The Panda is sitting on the same platform as the 500 (500 being based on the Panda), this should be a bit bigger then I guess as it sits on the Bravo (?) platform.

• It certainly looks longer than my Panda as I can see that they have elongated the boot and rear seat section. And the rear doors are longer too…

So probably a step up.

• Hp Tan on Feb 07, 2012 at 7:45 pm

Is it just me or anyone else notice the chromed grill beside the Fiat batch is shorter on the left…?