Citroën DS4 Racing concept – a 256 hp 1.6 litre scorcher

Citroën is set to debut a hot-blooded concept in Geneva next month, and this one will feature the most horsepower ever seen in a Citroën series production car. It’s called the DS4 Racing concept, a barnstormer developed by Citroën Racing, the brand’s seven-time WRC winning motorsports division.

Its Citroën Racing-derived 1.6 litre turbo petrol engine offers 256 hp (essentially, 160 hp per litre), which should translate to pretty quick. In addition to plonking in the merry mill, the boys at Citroën Racing have modified the chassis and running gear – the chassis has been lowered by 35 mm, and the track widened by 55 mm at the front and 75 mm at the rear.

Meanwhile, the braking system boasts fixed four-piston callipers at the front together with special 380 mm diameter discs, and the DS4 Racing gets kitted out with 19-inch wheels and 235/40 series tyres. New carbon fibre components are also on, and these include an air diffuser, front splitter and wheel arch extensions.

The car will be finished in a textured-effect matte grey paint, which the company says catches the light to further enhance the lines of the car. Further exterior refinements include a two-tone roof, and the special DS4 Racing design wheels are also done in a two-tone finish.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Hafiz on Feb 27, 2012 at 5:00 pm

This is satria neo copycat. Wooohaaaa

• mentolated on Feb 28, 2012 at 11:04 am

ooo pakcik, saya musykil la.

yang bahagian mana Citroën DS4 ni nampak macam kereta yang tak setara langsung tu? :)

• AhBeng on Feb 27, 2012 at 5:12 pm

It’s happening!! the matt black front citroen grill is really happening! beautiful in every angle ; )

• ChrisLai75 on Feb 27, 2012 at 5:22 pm

this is 1 sweet little ride….256hp for 1.6 engine!!!

• hanifhamzah on Feb 27, 2012 at 5:32 pm

SUPER SEXY!!!

• Cowabunga! on Feb 27, 2012 at 5:36 pm

Checked it out last weekend…I would seriously consider this car compare to the Pug 308.
    Well priced and interior looks well placed for me.
    Only concern about the DS4, no sun-moon roof and the dark black interior and roof….
    Steering is a “busy” place, similar to C4.

no car for test drive…hmm….. the white looks great.

• belacan on Feb 27, 2012 at 5:40 pm

satrio neo four door..

• wow…interesting

• like /k always say : “in before they copy satria neo rear design”

i guess they want to make a serious contender to renault megane RS

• sixtythree on Feb 27, 2012 at 5:42 pm

extremely desirable!! Eat that Japs…and pls wake up!! Lavish us with exciting models like wat you used to do 20 years back (eventhough i couldn’t afford one, at least It’ll sure drool me by just seeing it roaming our streets)

• CK200H on Feb 27, 2012 at 5:47 pm

1.6 liter… I propose proton to take this as a bench mark for the new model’s GTI?

Both 1.6 force induction. Now a days they can crank out lots of power from small cc. Good job.

• Commenter on Feb 28, 2012 at 6:11 am

Satria Neo replacement model will be 4 door pesona replacement hatchback with 1.6turbo and 6 manual transmission, early 2013 launch.

• Fuyoh so nice and cool ! Hyundai Veloster is just nothing lolx

• holy s... on Feb 27, 2012 at 5:59 pm

I wonder How much is this awesome beast gonna cost??

• holy s... on Feb 27, 2012 at 6:01 pm

I wonder how much is this monster gonna cost?

• Gavin on Feb 27, 2012 at 6:02 pm

I love citroen’s steering wheel where only the rim spins and not the entire wheel.

• holy s... on Feb 27, 2012 at 6:05 pm

How much is this beauty goons cost..?

• wow

• Saab 93 - Hirsch Tuned on Feb 27, 2012 at 6:12 pm

awesome toy ……

• Works on Feb 27, 2012 at 6:22 pm

wah if satria neo have 4 door version, it could be like this citroen…

• absolute beauty

• wait until moron protong cum sippers come..they will said, ‘oh looks, it looks like neo,now citroen is copying proton’….only extremely dumbest person will said it…bhahaha

• u admit that the butt side similar to neo rite….if not u no need to mention very spesific proton model rite

• awg1031 on Feb 27, 2012 at 7:02 pm

oh my oh my..nice looking car!

• David D on Feb 27, 2012 at 7:31 pm

French quirkiness at its best. I’ve driven the current C4 which this DS4 is based on at the Jalan 205 showroom, and while the EGS semi-auto ‘box is really slow, the rest of the car made up greatly for it’s superb comfort, appealing build quality, as well as the surprisingly useful features. In many ways, it’s better than its sibling, the 308 THP.

• Pramanathan on Feb 27, 2012 at 7:50 pm

Extremely HOT!!!……i wonder hw de interior wld look like…
    Come to MAMA:D

• Sgt Scoop on Feb 27, 2012 at 8:04 pm

I’m not a fan of French cars but I want one.

• brother taff on Feb 27, 2012 at 8:23 pm

wow…Lawa gilerr!!! belakang depan tepi lawa…tak rugi beli. =)

• OilChange on Feb 27, 2012 at 9:02 pm

never in my life, i’ve dream about owning a citrn.

but looking at this, i might change my mind… as long as the price is around pug308T

• Ei Wei on Feb 27, 2012 at 9:07 pm

Only 1.6 lah…

I prefer Toyota Camry 2.0

• Wei numbskull…camry 2.0 is a big apek looking car with 144hp…this is a small sexy car with 256hp…this car will have golf gti, type r and F30/F10 for lunch and u r talking about Camry 2.0???????

• howitzer on Feb 27, 2012 at 9:16 pm

good to own one.
    get wrc decals, wrc bodykits, perfecto!

• it’s 2 door car

• fazron80 on Feb 27, 2012 at 10:18 pm

Proton should make something similar like this to show the world they’re competing in wrc. Show the world Proton actually do make real cars and not just some backward car manufacturers in the jungle of malaysia. Complement your success in wrc by producing something that can actually make the world notice. Satria neo s2000 isn’t bad by any standards up there in the swrc. Show you can make something to the current neo up to that level of s2000.

• fenzo60 on Feb 27, 2012 at 10:47 pm

i’ll take this over golf GTi !!!!

• amonrei on Feb 27, 2012 at 11:39 pm

What’s CFE power again? Oh right.

• rapidshifter on Feb 28, 2012 at 9:50 am

wow CFE being compared to this!… i thought CFE more vs pug 5008 (engine only ler).. this DS4 more vs pug 308 turbo or golf GTI…. since when CFE was developed for racing??

• kadajawi on Feb 28, 2012 at 11:56 am

CFE is meant to give decent performance, good fuel consumption, good drivability (minimize the turbo lag) and most of all to last a long time. This looks more like an engine that won’t last very long, needs very frequent servicing and may have a gigantic turbo lag. It’s a cool thing, but I don’t think you would like such an engine in a MPV.

People already complain about the turbo lag of a 1.4 TSI with 140 hp.

Hopefully Citroen will build it, they should have done a WRC based car all along, even though they are usually more focused on comfort (and I love them for that, being a Xsara driver).

• ss427 on Feb 28, 2012 at 2:24 pm

Bro, while your arguments sounds plausible, but can you show us doc proof that this new DS4 drivetrain ain’t built for reliability nor long term use?

And is there any literature out there you can show me that there will be tons of turbo lag for this new engine?

Please do not use early 2000s mindset to judge today’s engines… And you certainly can’t assume the CFE will be far more reliable than this… :(

Proton engines outlasting a French product?? :D

• The Enthusiast on Feb 27, 2012 at 11:47 pm

A1 quattro gives the same figure as this one while Scirocco R has 6 bhp lesser, both of which are 2.0L engines. This one does it with only 1.6L? This is brutal! And if this is really a racer, make it all-wheel drive please.

• kadajawi on Feb 28, 2012 at 11:51 am

The Renault R5 Turbo Maxi, a small hatchback (I think size of a Kancil?) put out up to 350 hp out of a 1.4, and that was in the mid 80s. To be fair that was a pure race car, I wouldn’t be surprised if the engine wasn’t terribly reliable.

• cecibo on Feb 28, 2012 at 12:05 am

it’s concept, wait till we see a real production

• milanista on Feb 28, 2012 at 1:25 am

Sexy, just like Veloster.

• picasso on Feb 28, 2012 at 7:43 am

DS4 in showroom is RM155,000.00 on the road. This one maybe cost more.. alot more

• pacifictuna on Feb 28, 2012 at 8:41 am

this is the culmination of 7 times WRC champ… proton just won a APRC (never mind those won by Flying Singh a long time ago in a mitsu) so i think proton don’t have bragging right yet. but a Neo GTi with 150 – 160 hp with lightweight body and close ratio gear is something nice. now that i remember P1 said something about APRC edititon neo…. wonder how it will turn out.

• Looks like a 2 door version of Lancer Sportback

• B33MER on Feb 28, 2012 at 9:01 am

That is one sexy car definitely much better looking than Renault’s offerings … but i doubt the concept car will survive the transition to the production line unscathed.

• knowing Citroën and their ‘daring’ designs, i reckon this concept is almost final.

really hope DS4 Racing concept will not share the same fate with Tuah concept…

• oligopoli on Feb 28, 2012 at 9:06 am

very powerful 1.6 engine. can eat megane for lunch (must beat megane’s time at sepang first, then i’m convinced) and scirocco for dinner

• november on Feb 28, 2012 at 9:11 am

rear looks like satria neo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• aiseyman on Feb 28, 2012 at 9:15 am

looks better than ds3 ^^

• this car make me drool……

• ss427 on Feb 28, 2012 at 2:21 pm

Wow… this is one seriously great looking DS4.. :)

Yup I do agree it does look like the Veloster esp from the rear 3 quarter view. It also means that Hyundai designers are on the same levels as their Euro counterparts liao. No more will they offer a product that looks like its from 10 yrs ago or from some place called obiang land LOL :D

256hp from a turbo 1.6L… WOW…. and we thought Hyundai 1.6L Gamma GDI Turbo is earthshaking at 201hp… keep up the competition people, for it the only way to bring improvement and tech break through to the drivetrain and the whole car.

Unlike some ‘Asian BMW beater’…. kekeke… :D

How how much power CFE is making? yeah right…

• wanmi16 on Feb 29, 2012 at 11:47 am

french romantics!

• niceone on Feb 29, 2012 at 9:16 pm

What an absolute beauty! looking perfect in every angle.

• poor Malaysian looking only at HP.
    rear seriously like neo. eat that france____say anything, it still like a neo.

• Ajdar on Mar 03, 2012 at 7:36 pm

Ooi… The rear 100x more exciting than neo

• Ajdar on Mar 03, 2012 at 7:39 pm

I am- neo is jaguh kampung, sorry lah no way ds4 copy neo. Wake up mate!

• Ajdar on Mar 03, 2012 at 7:58 pm

To ‘ I am’- sorry mate neo is jaguh kampung , no international standing at all