Suzuki Kizashi is finally here – two trims, from RM147,888

Suzuki Malaysia Automobile (SMA) has finally given the Suzuki Kizashi an official launch – the D-segment sedan was unveiled at the roof of Lot 10 this morning. Only one drivetrain is available here – a 2.4L four-cylinder engine with 176 hp (131 kW) and 230 Nm at 4,000 rpm.

This J24B unit is paired to a CVT gearbox with six ratios, controlled by paddle shifters. 0-100 km/h is done in 8.8 seconds and top speed is 205 km/h. We’re pleasantly surprised to see performance figures on the brochure, something not very common these days. Fitting, since the Kizashi is positioned as a sports entrant, and looks the part.

Fully imported from Japan, the Kizashi is new ground for Suzuki, both in price and type of car. Known as a small car expert, the Kizashi (translates roughly to “something great is coming” in Japanese) sees Suzuki trying its luck in a segment dominated by Japanese heavyweights and a new breed of Euro sedans coming in from VW, Peugeot and Ford. Let’s not forget that the Koreans are very much in the game, too.

However, the Kizashi is rather unique, because it’s smaller bodied compared to a Camry or Accord. The car’s length and width of 4,650 mm and 1,820 mm is only 110 mm and 65 mm more than that of a Honda Civic, and the Suzuki’s 2,700 mm wheelbase is identical to the C-segment Honda’s. So it’s clearly not for those who want the most space for money, but the proportions lend the Kizashi a compact and muscular appearance, like a proper sports sedan.

Two trim levels are sold by SMA, the SDLX and Sport. The well equipped SDLX is priced at RM147,888 and it comes with six airbags, traction control, ESP, leather seats (from Japan, not locally fitted), electric seats (10-way for driver with three memory settings), auto cruise, keyless entry and push start, ABS, EBD, BA and Hill Assist.

There’s more. Stereo with steering controls and USB, front/rear parking sensors, auto folding side mirrors, auto dimming rear view mirror, auto leveling HID headlamps with washer and 17-inch alloys are all standard on the cheaper Kizashi. Quite a list.

The Sport, which looks more menacing, is priced at RM158,188 OTR with insurance. As seen on the white car here, it adds on 18-inch rims in a sportier design, sports suspension that lowers ride height by 10 mm, a different front bumper and chrome highlights around the car. Inside, Sport trim gives you a sport leather gear knob and silver stitching on the seats and gearshift/handbrake boot.

Here’s an interesting fact. The headlights of the Kizashi are from Malaysia! A supplier from Penang supplies the headlights to Suzuki Japan, which fits it on every Kizashi it makes.

Actually, SMA worked hard to get prices down to the current level, which is very decent for a fully-loaded 2.4L CBU import from Japan. On a different note, SMA bosses let slip that the new Swift will be assembled at DRB-Hicom’s Pekan plant, but it won’t start so soon, perhaps a year from now.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Paul, does it come with AWD as in overseas?

• The price is too high.

Does anyone remember the Suzuki SX4? Selling at RM90,000 but even with 10% discount, the SX4 sedan got discontinued barely after 3 years.

Chances are it may happen to Kizashi as well. Cars above the RM100,000 bracket is even more competitive given the huge sum of money involved that’s why resale value is very important.

Suzuki Malaysia should aim to built up their reputation than more than just a car assembler and ensure after sales and service is up to par with other Japanese brands. AFAIK, Suzuki Malaysia does not keep in stock any spare parts other than the usual servicing items. If your absorbers went dead prepare to wait at least 3-4 weeks for parts.

• khylie555 on Mar 23, 2012 at 3:23 pm

SX4 sedan discontinued after a short time is due to it’s low sales.SX4 sedan is so ugly and not much better than its rival in term of handling(due to the raised height) and technology.So,most people will prefer getting a hatchback SX4 or other similar price car instead of SX4 sedan.So,the Suzuki Kizashi will stay if they sell it right.

• Jepunmali on Mar 23, 2012 at 4:44 pm

Too late!!! We’ve all bought korean car. Cry!! cry!!

• How they going to sell it right with this kind of price? Build up your brand and after sales first, then only talk.

It’s just like Perodua coming out with a sedan and price it RM150,000 for you to buy. This is not the proper market nor price range for your products.

• Lim Kopi on Mar 23, 2012 at 7:04 pm

This may be a decent car by Suzuki

But its really TOO LITTLE TOO LATE for the competition right now….

• You not even tested the sx4 sedan and already judge a book by it’s cover. I guess you always make assumption after all.

I’m disappointed with the price, it suppose to be below 140K.

Suzuki Malaysia no doubt have a poor in after sales service but it doesn’t mean the parts replacement need to be wait that long, maximum 1-2 weeks only. They never keep the stock which i believe Suzuki cars have proven to be long lasting.

Again, I’m not suzuki SA but I owned a Suzuki car.

• khylie555 on Mar 24, 2012 at 2:11 pm

not only in malaysia,whose care it’s a suzuki or mercedes or proton,appearance plays an importance part.If a car is ugly,don’t expect it too sell no matter how good or cheap it is.

• alpha999 on Mar 24, 2012 at 9:42 pm

is that so?…………then how come ugly pricey vios dugong selling like hot cakes then…ha?????

• Ugly car? Hmmmmm, let me see… Alfa Romeo 159 is ugly, Proton P3-21A (Proton Persona R) is ugly and even Ferrari 612 Scaglietti. Now only i now that these cars is ugly! Why don’t you email to Giorgetto Giugiaro.and tell him ugly cars cannot sell. I only like good looking car.

What is a good looking car anyway?

• khylie555 on Mar 26, 2012 at 1:41 am

The proton is not even out yet and you know how it looks?So,how many AR 159 and Ferrari 612 you saw on road?do they sell well?
            Hmm,i wonder why the cheap Chana MPV and Juara and Savvy can’t sell nih??

• OMG…I agreed. Not worth to buy, i worry it can be like the Swift, knockdown the price.

• anjez on Mar 23, 2012 at 8:17 pm

then how proton and mahathir and his sons are going to survive if sell cheaper foreign quality cars?he need to feed those lazy malays bumps so have to hike up foreign cars.simple.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • manfurb on Mar 23, 2012 at 9:20 pm

too expensive??? U r not buying one right….so cut the crap la. Just becoz u cant afford one n never own a suzuki b4 u say iti’s overpriced? what car is not overpriced in msia? even saga blm n viva r overpriced if u really study the pricing.

• Volkwagen Jetta / Passat
      Peugeot 508
      Kia K5

People willing to take a gamble with low resale value cars would have already bought the recent launches listed above by now.

Too late and too expensive Suzuki!

• anjez on Mar 23, 2012 at 8:21 pm

then you think proton can do better?
        why cant you idiots understand that mahathir is the main culprit to deprive of us owning good quality cars?

• Does anyone remember the Suzuki SX4? Selling at RM90,000 but even with 10% discount, the SX4 sedan got discontinued barely after 3 years.

Chances are it may happen to Kizashi as well. Cars above the RM100,000 bracket is even more competitive given the huge sum of money involved that’s why resale value is very important.

Suzuki Malaysia should aim to built up their reputation than more than just a car assembler and ensure after sales and service is up to par with other Japanese brands. AFAIK, Suzuki Malaysia does not keep in stock any spare parts other than the usual servicing items. If your absorbers went dead prepare to wait at least 3-4 weeks for parts.

• khylie555 on Mar 23, 2012 at 3:10 pm

it’s smaller bodied compared to a Camry or Accord. The car’s length and width of 4,650 mm and 1,820 mm is only 110 mm and 65 mm more than that of a Honda Civic, and the Suzuki’s 2,700 mm wheelbase is identical to the C-segment Honda’s.

so,it is a C segment car,market as a D segment,selling at a lower price for a D segment car.If it’s a real D segment car,it is really cheap,If it’s compare with other C segment cars with similar size,which it should be,it’s not particular cheap.Nice marketing SUZUKI.

• Too expensive for a C segment car, too small for a D segment car.

Nice marketing? LOL. Now you’re not making sense.

• manfurb on Mar 23, 2012 at 9:07 pm

Yaaa….like only your comment make sense here???? U think SMA is happy with the price? This is msia dude…understand how the system works first b4 u comment…..who does the approving n disapproving job for new car price in msia?

• khylie555 on Mar 23, 2012 at 10:18 pm

itu sarcasm lah.aiyo,Y so serious?

• You need to put *sarcasm* after you write. This apply only in Malaysia because some people just don’t get it.

Meanwhile, this Kizashi has been open for booking in Mudah for about a year now. And with that kind of price I kinda doubt it will sell. Just wait for the price cut + offers next year. :P

• It was designed for europe. and in europe, that dimension is a proper D-segment. Among the other D-segment party goers are accord europe, i40, mondeo, avensis etc. C-segment in europe is much smaller defined by the likes of civic hatch and i30.

• Kenso on Mar 24, 2012 at 7:42 am

So you’re saying a Honda Civic is a D segment in Europe and the Accord is a bigger class there?

• In a time when car makers are going for forced-induction combustion engines and hybrid/electric cars, Suzuki came out with a 2.4cc smallish sedan to compete? Are you serious? At this price?

• anjez on Mar 23, 2012 at 8:30 pm

have to la bro… otherwise its going to be difficult.especially for mahathir and his cronies.if suzuki cant sell cheaper,either they sell at that price or get busted,cos the BN ruled goverment will not allow them to sell at all,just to protect proton and the mad ex-pm mahathir and his sons.next time vote for PKR and you may just buy a benz for less than RM60k and proton can close shop and all those lazy malay bumps can go and sell fried bananas back at their kampung.

• Viviana on Mar 23, 2012 at 6:16 pm

Wasn’t it reported that this car will be priced around RM130K which IMHO would be a fairer price?

• As a VW fan and owner i think this is better looking than the dull looking Jetta ! only the Jetta GLI is better looking…this thing cost 147k ? not cheap but not expensive…worth if u can afford it :)

• yeong on Mar 30, 2012 at 3:35 pm

I think it is trying to imitate Sylphy, Latio strategy by penetrating higher-end niche market. While the nissans emphasize comfort,luxury feel, this one go sports.But is there really a nice for sporty d seg? mazda is the forerunner which itself oledi low volume.

About status, u tell people u r driving Suzuki Kizashi,chances are they think u r riding a bike. At least swift is established & able avoid this.

3,4yrs down the road,likely u can find some unregistered new Kizashi going for clearance sale < 90k

• Checked with some showrooms about this car and found out that many showrooms has very limited units (and it’s not even because it was selling like hot cakes!) and some don’t even carry stock.

Is Suzuki Malaysia even trying to sell this car???

• apeng on Mar 23, 2012 at 1:25 pm

nice

• apeng on Mar 23, 2012 at 1:29 pm

nice..

• Speechless!!!!!

• xiper on Mar 23, 2012 at 1:36 pm

is there any pics for the boot?

• Japanese is really out from idea and taste….

• Kevin on Mar 23, 2012 at 1:40 pm

Looks Good.. But the price… hmmmphhh make me think twice before buying

• policeman on Mar 23, 2012 at 1:46 pm

Front like Saga BLM

• taboogen on Mar 23, 2012 at 3:27 pm

its true… thats the first thing i thought… so wait for Kizashi FL or FLX.. haha

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Mar 23, 2012 at 1:46 pm

in the uk, this car costs almost as much as a golf gti. still not exactly cheap but good job on the price. best looking car in the segment. shame on you toyota, honda, hyundai, volkswagen etc etc.

• and not selling well at all due to it thirsty and lack of torque petrol engine

• clutch basah on Mar 23, 2012 at 1:53 pm

Although your equipment list make my eyeballs popped but sorry Kizashi you are couple years too late, by this time most your target customer already got either Sonata, K5 etc or some waiting for the new Camry.

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Mar 23, 2012 at 1:54 pm

Already saw one on the road today.

RM 147,888 would give KIA Optima K5 run more their money.

• bystander on Mar 23, 2012 at 1:59 pm

Not too bad a price compared to other 2.4l NA cars from other makes, considering that this is Malaysia afterall. I wonder how the FC figures are like, or maybe the target market would not be too concerned about it?

Would showrooms have testdrive units available? :)

• Mr. J on Mar 23, 2012 at 2:03 pm

that price, better get a Jetta, my 2 cent

• Looks good.

• Awesome car,but i cannot afford.what the fish…..

• Tiguan on Mar 23, 2012 at 2:16 pm

Centre console looks like Kia Forte!

• Amenojaku on Mar 23, 2012 at 2:20 pm

Great specs and reasonably priced. Would be better is they include built-in GPS and reverse camera. Great performance figures, on paper at least. Now all we need is a test drive report.

• A fully loaded Mitsubishi Lancer Sportback 2.4cc is selling less than RM130K.

Suzuki Malaysia should stop going for quick profiting with high profit margin and instead concentrate on their after sales services and branding. People need to wait for weeks just for spare parts for the Suzuki Swift, which is ironically, CKD here.

Starting at RM147,888, this is going to be a tough sale. Expect low resale value because it’s a cold brand and even more because it’s 2.4 cc as compare to a 2.0 cc car. A person going for a secondhand car will think twice of forking out RM800 just for road tax.

• krs189 on Mar 23, 2012 at 4:59 pm

It just plain stupid comparing a C segment car to a D segment car

the equipment list alone will make the lancer sport crying back to mama….. that is not even comparing the NVH and the driving dynamics

• Kizashi has the same wheelbase with the Honda Civic. So does this mean Civic is considered a D segment car as well? DUH.

At RM150,000 this will be the most expensive C segment car ever for a non-premium make.

• krs189 on Mar 26, 2012 at 1:40 pm

Civic Wheelbase is only 2670 mm….

the 2700mm one is already discontinued….

so this Kizashi is D-SEGMENT and remember the width is 1820 mm is by far much larger than you puny CIVIC.

• OilChange on Mar 25, 2012 at 8:55 pm

malaysians when talking about car, they dunt talk about ABCDEFGHIJKLMN segment like u…

they onli compare with other car that has same price…..

everything else comes second

• seancorr on Mar 23, 2012 at 2:24 pm

Very nice spec list indeed but I don’t mind paying more to have adaptive xenon lights and built in GPS. Having a Garmin on your windscreen especially in a car like this doesn’t blend well in the looks department. Everything else is just nice.

• Kenapa macam Mark X…

• i thought our P3 is bad in designing the odometer …but im wrong. this one is more simple and ugly haha lol

http://paultan.org/2012/03/23/suzuki-kizashi-is-finally-here-two-trims-from-rm147888/dsc_0169b/

• but the price tag for 2.4 is similar to others competitor which offered for 2.0 may please buyer..good price to approach…

• kenso on Mar 23, 2012 at 2:51 pm

Let’s see …. for about RM150k, you get a car that’s:-

1) Smaller than all the other D segments at wheelbase 2,700mm
      2) 6 airbags, HID, Keyless Entry/Start Stop, memory electric seats which some cars (ie Koreans) offers as standard nowadays
      3) A car with a non-premium badge
      4) A brand with parts availability issues

Only thing it has going for it is a 2.4l engine which means higher road tax/emissions

Sorry la …. if SMA launched this 3 years ago, it would capture some market ….. the most expensive car Suzuki has in Malaysia is going to have a tough battle ahead of it

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Mar 23, 2012 at 5:51 pm

yes…but it drives way better than any korean…or jap…or german (volkswagen) or swedish (volvo)

• Jolokia on Mar 23, 2012 at 7:28 pm

I can see your worried

A well equiped Japanese car selling at Korean Car price.

1.) As long as the leg room is adequated, i don’t see ther is problem with 2700mm wheelbase, infact shorter wheel base will give better handling to the car, this car stand between C & D segment which i think is a good size, at least it doesn’t offer Big body with tinny under powered 2.0 engine like 2.0 Sonata, Optima, Camry & Accord where you need to strained the engine for power.

2.) At 148K this is among the most well equipment car with great value, Oprima K5 have smaller engine, Sonata 2.4 is less equiped & more expensive price tag.
        3.) I don’t see any Asian car is considered as Premium Badge except Lexus & Infiniti.
        4.) I know Chevvy is famous for parts availability issue too, if you worried for parts availability issue get P1 or P2.

If you think driving a 2.4 car mean paying higher road tax, get a Viva & pay RM 20, or better get a Honda Cub pay RM 2

You mean owing 2.4 Sonata, Camry, Teana & Accord doesn’t need to pay RM 700+ Road tax ?

I believe for the time being Suzuki intend to market Kizashi in niche market, for customer who do not wish to own the same car like the rest of their neighbour, until the launch of CKD model which would bring the price down, then they can target the mass market.

• kenso on Mar 23, 2012 at 10:41 pm

Hey bro,

Good points you’ve raised. Au contre, driving an Asian car is no longer of interest to me so what the Kizashi is (or isn’t) is of little concern to me. However, let us discuss the merits of what Kizashi offers to consumers such as you or me. Let’s get some facts out in the open first:-

1) The Kizashi is priced at a scale of RM150k (+ – a couple of grand)
          2) The Kizashi’s wheelbase is the same as the Honda Civic (I can’t imagine calling a Civic a car that has dimensions between a C & D segment) and 49mm longer than a Jetta (both are C segments category vehicles)
          3) The Kizashi has a 2.4l powerplant giving more than adequate propulsion of a sub-10second car to century sprint
          4) SMA is the licensed importer, marketer and distributor of the Suzuki brand

Looking at the above, we are paying RM150 for a C segment-dimension-like-claimed-to-be-D-segment vehicle with a 2.4 litre performance vehicle. It must also be noted that in markets where the Kizashi is launched and tested, much applaud is given to its performance and handling so it’s a great car to drive.

Now, terms like performance and adequate (space) are all relative and how one defines them is up to each individual. Let’s look at how it stacks up based on the facts presented to us:-

Price tag (range of vehicles that RM150k can afford)
          1) Toyota Camry
          2) Honda Accord
          3) Nissan Teana
          4) Volkswagen Jetta
          5) Volkswagen Golf 1.4 TSi (Kizashi Sport)
          5) Hyundai Sonata
          6) Kia K5 Optima

If you want space, the Koreans and Jap D segment contenders offers more.

If Japanese/Korean makes is not your cup of tea, then we have two VW. But wait … Jetta is made in Mexico in which quality cannot be compared to a true Japanese CBU. And it does not have as much features as the Kizashi (leathered powered, memory seats, HID and all). So that leaves a Golf …. but a Golf is a hatchback. We can’t compare a hatch with a true sedan. Cabin space is definitely smaller in the Golf. Smaller …. but adequate, some might argue. And in terms of specs, build quality, performance, the Golf beats the Kizashi. If you still want the space, then the Jetta makes more sense. In terms of brand value of VW vs Suzuki, it’s quite obvious which holds higher.

If you want the push button, leather electric seats, HID but not willing to pay more, then the Sonata and Optima are alternatives. In some areas, the Koreans would lose to the Kizashi but in some other, it’s the other way around. Again, the term “value for money” is relative.

I do agree with you that for a person willing to fork out RM150k for a car, road tax amount is probably the least on their mind. Your extreme comparison of taking the C-D segment Kizashi and comparing it against mini sub-A segment Viva has no merit & colludes this discussion. Similarly, comparison with Chevvy, Lexus and Infinity seems rather far fetched. Let’s stick to the similar range (in terms of pricing and category), shall we?

So, in my mind, the Kizashi occupies no firm position. It’s not about size (other D segments are bigger), it’s not about performance (continental brands does it better) and not about gadgetry (Koreans offers them at a lower cost). And honestly, how many people who buys a car out of “uniqueness”? So you buy a car that you tell yourself is jack-of-all-trades? It’s size is neither here nor there but has the performance of a compact sports car (which, ironically everyone else in the world is talking about downsizing and saving fuel and nothing is mentioned about it’s FC km/litre). There is a saying: Try to be everything and fail to achieve anything. I believe it will still sell as it appeals to some people but don’t take my word for it …. just wait a few months to see how the sales figures show. Just for the record, I don’t believe Suzuki/SMA is out to gain market share domination but I doubt they can hit whatever target they have set (unless they’re launching the car for the sake of launching it. Still, anyone heard of anyone saying they want a D-segment sedan SUZUKI?)

Coupled with cases reported by Swift/Vitara/SX4 owners of spare parts availability and poor after sales service in which SMA has not addressed, yes, I do believe the Kizashi is up for an uphill battle.

So what do you drive? A Suzuki. Not Toyota, not a Honda, not a Hyundai, not a Kia, not a VW. A Suzuki. Hey, if you’re fine by that, by all means, go ahead and buy one. I’m sure it’s worth all the praises heaped onto it by international journos. As for me (and speaking strictly from my own perspective), if I have so much money to buy a “unique” car (read: not anyone else in my neighborhood drives one), I’d get a car specific to my needs: big for big, performance for performance. If I don’t have so much money, I buy the car that I feel has the best value for money based on my needs. And to me, being a family man with a car for business and family, family comfort is of top priority. And because of this, you’ll have to excuse me for seeing the Kizashi as an unsuitable conveyance for me.

• kenzo on Mar 23, 2012 at 11:49 pm

Hey bro,

Good points you’ve raised. Au contre, driving an Asian car is no longer of interest to me so what the Kizashi is (or isn’t) is of little concern to me. However, let us discuss the merits of what Kizashi offers to consumers such as you or me. Let’s get some facts out in the open first:-

1) The Kizashi is priced at a scale of RM150k (+ – a couple of grand)
          2) The Kizashi’s wheelbase is the same as the Honda Civic (I can’t imagine calling a Civic a car that has dimensions between a C & D segment) and 49mm longer than a Jetta (both are C segments category vehicles)
          3) The Kizashi has a 2.4l powerplant giving more than adequate propulsion of a sub-10second car to century sprint
          4) SMA is the licensed importer, marketer and distributor of the Suzuki brand

Looking at the above, we are paying RM150 for a C segment-dimension-like-claimed-to-be-D-segment vehicle with a 2.4 litre performance vehicle. It must also be noted that in markets where the Kizashi is launched and tested, much applaud is given to its performance and handling so it’s a great car to drive.

Now, terms like performance and adequate (space) are all relative and how one defines them is up to each individual. Let’s look at how it stacks up based on the facts presented to us:-

Price tag (range of vehicles that RM150k can afford)
          1) Toyota Camry
          2) Honda Accord
          3) Nissan Teana
          4) Volkswagen Jetta
          5) Volkswagen Golf 1.4 TSi (Kizashi Sport)
          5) Hyundai Sonata
          6) Kia K5 Optima

If you want space, the Koreans and Jap D segment contenders offers more.

If Japanese/Korean makes is not your cup of tea, then we have two VW. But wait … Jetta is made in Mexico in which quality cannot be compared to a true Japanese CBU. And it does not have as much features as the Kizashi (leathered powered, memory seats, HID and all). So that leaves a Golf …. but a Golf is a hatchback. We can’t compare a hatch with a true sedan. Cabin space is definitely smaller in the Golf. Smaller …. but adequate, some might argue. And in terms of specs, build quality, performance, the Golf beats the Kizashi. If you still want the space, then the Jetta makes more sense. In terms of brand value of VW vs Suzuki, it’s quite obvious which holds higher.

If you want the push button, leather electric seats, HID but not willing to pay more, then the Sonata and Optima are alternatives. In some areas, the Koreans would lose to the Kizashi but in some other, it’s the other way around. Again, the term “value for money” is relative.

I do agree with you that for a person willing to fork out RM150k for a car, road tax amount is probably the least on their mind. Your extreme comparison of taking the C-D segment Kizashi and comparing it against mini sub-A segment Viva has no merit & colludes this discussion. Similarly, comparison with Chevvy, Lexus and Infinity seems rather far fetched. Let’s stick to the similar range (in terms of pricing and category), shall we?

So, in my mind, the Kizashi occupies no firm position. It’s not about size (other D segments are bigger), it’s not about performance (continental brands does it better) and not about gadgetry (Koreans offers them at a lower cost). And honestly, how many people who buys a car out of “uniqueness”? So you buy a car that you tell yourself is jack-of-all-trades? It’s size is neither here nor there but has the performance of a compact sports car (which, ironically everyone else in the world is talking about downsizing and saving fuel and nothing is mentioned about it’s FC km/litre). There is a saying: Try to be everything and fail to achieve anything. I believe it will still sell as it appeals to some people but don’t take my word for it …. just wait a few months to see how the sales figures show. Just for the record, I don’t believe Suzuki/SMA is out to gain market share domination but I doubt they can hit whatever target they have set (unless they’re launching the car for the sake of launching it. Still, anyone heard of anyone saying they want a D-segment sedan SUZUKI?)

Coupled with cases reported by Swift/Vitara/SX4 owners of spare parts availability and poor after sales service in which SMA has not addressed, yes, I do believe the Kizashi is up for an uphill battle.

So what do you drive? A Suzuki. Not Toyota, not a Honda, not a Hyundai, not a Kia, not a VW. A Suzuki. Hey, if you’re fine by that, by all means, go ahead and buy one. I’m sure it’s worth all the praises heaped onto it by international journos. As for me (and speaking strictly from my own perspective), if I have so much money to buy a “unique” car (read: not anyone else in my neighborhood drives one), I’d get a car specific to my needs: big for big, performance for performance. If I don’t have so much money, I buy the car that I feel has the best value for money based on my needs. And to me, being a family man with a car for business and family, family comfort is of top priority. And because of this, you’ll have to excuse me for seeing the Kizashi as an unsuitable conveyance for me.

My 2 cents

• Wisdom on Mar 25, 2012 at 12:25 am

What a very long 2 cents.

• I think you either own Peugeot before or now having VW jetta/passat.
            Pray hard for gearbox safety.

• BSLee on Apr 02, 2012 at 5:24 pm

Agreed whole-heartedly .
            Don’t buy any UNPOPULAR car in Malaysia..because when you need a part outside the usual service items, then you have to wait for ages and pay a lot (double of that of the usual luxury brand like BMW or merc)

Just l;ike my Renault Espace– RM 2500 for a fuel pump vs 1100 for Audi.
            My Peugeot 308 has water pump changed twice, vacumn pump once & air-con cooling coil once all in just 2 year of ownership.

Please keep these
            in mind before it’s TOO LATE..

• Kumar san on Mar 23, 2012 at 2:29 pm

For the asking price for the Kizashi Sport,i think it’s an absolute bargain for the Malaysian D segment car buyer,it’s loaded to the hilt with standard kit.My buddys(4 of them) in the U.S own a Kizashi Sport 2.4 manual each,and they absolutely swear by it.

I can concur with them coz i drove the Sport 2.4 manual when i went to visit them recently.Very grunty motor,sublime handling,a lovely 6 speed stickshift and a good overall build quality.Only the steering is a bit wooly and numb at times.This ride should sell well over here.For Suzuki stickshift fans,it looks like the manual tranny Sport variant will never see itself being offered here,maybe as a special order if the customer really wants one.

A brilliant product from Suzuki nonetheless.It’s a very good ride.

Cheers.

• Did the 6-speed manual come with 4WD?

• Yes, whenever a Suzuki car has a 4wd, it always have i-AWD which similar to subaru i-AWD.

• Highwaystar82 on Mar 23, 2012 at 2:34 pm

OMG… what a sad looking car… it resembles Cruze.. but the price tag is crazy yor..

• Jufri on Mar 24, 2012 at 7:58 pm

would you say that bentley is a sad looking car too? i bet you wont, no matter how true it is.

• quottro on Mar 23, 2012 at 2:37 pm

nice ride… but could it be a lil’ late to arrive in the market ;/

• kannasai on Mar 23, 2012 at 2:38 pm

The Kizashi made it here already. Where is the new Suzuki Swift and Swift Sport?? =.=

• JerryJane on Mar 23, 2012 at 2:39 pm

Jeezz…with that kind of prize, I would rather give VW Passat a-go…

• or a Jetta at 150k…the TSI 1.4 twin charger is way more powerful, wt a great wallop of low down torque of 240nm from low 1,800rpm (very diesel like) instead of this NA 2.4 230nm at high 4,000rpm…plus the cheapo hard plastic of this Suzuki

• manfurb on Mar 23, 2012 at 9:16 pm

if they sell it rm100k pun u all x beli jugak….dont say la wanna go for passat or jetta or merc or audi….comment here n there last2 beli proton n perodua jer…hahahaha

• Say No To Lynas on Mar 23, 2012 at 2:40 pm

fair price with good specs.
    interior very typical of suzuki,little dull.
    I think T & H will have hard time if their flagship models remain unchanged…VVTi 4speed, 6 minus 4 air bags, Big key entry, ckd malaysia some more, you better pray hard…another GLC for sale soon…

• alldisc on Mar 23, 2012 at 3:57 pm

accords and camry 2.4 already 5 speed auto lah! camry already has keyless entryfor 2-3 years already.

ppl shopping at 150K really appreciate space, isnt it? though 8th gen accord and YF sonata hardly succeed with their supersize body.
      however, the big appearance of accord and camry will make their arrival felt almost anywhere. and this is where the kizashi may stumble.

• alfred weinberg on Mar 23, 2012 at 2:40 pm

overall not bad !! but it is not a easy way to fight with camry , accord , teana , sonata , optima ..

• encik boss on Mar 23, 2012 at 2:46 pm

Ok, cheaper headlight spare part, for sure =)

• daamz on Mar 23, 2012 at 2:46 pm

Why so expensiveeeeeeeeee

• heeman on Mar 23, 2012 at 3:10 pm

Less than RM150k for a fully imported 2.4 D segment car. How much cheaper do you want? Compare to this, Accord and Camry are way overpriced!

• Grandpatrucker on Mar 23, 2012 at 6:43 pm

kan dah kena marah dgn ejen suzuki..keh3!!

• hway de Cruz on Mar 23, 2012 at 2:56 pm

the suzuki brand is trying to catch up, guess since the swift success, they want to capture some bigger market share in the d segment. will be tough competition, options like optima k5 which is very good. all the best to u guys anyway.

• Chilavert on Mar 23, 2012 at 3:01 pm

for me the exterior looks nice but the interior looks normal.
    and the price is a bit expensive considering the smaller size & lesser brand image compared to T n H.
    its interesting to see the competition in D segment now

• Maserati on Mar 23, 2012 at 3:02 pm

Jokers lah u all. The stupid kia k5 2.0 selling 140k++ u all say cheap, this fully imported from japan 2.4 engine u all say expensive.. Accord 2.4 is 170k++ along with camry and sonata..

This is freaking cheap for a d segment 2.4.. This will kill of the kia k5..

• seancorr on Mar 23, 2012 at 3:33 pm

Very true on this as the Kizashi price is much better comparing to the low spec Accord and Camry but Suzuki would be wise to improve their after sales network. Once they have more service centers and parts then only more people would accept the brand.

Size is a bit smaller compared to other D segment cars but if you’re not looking at the space department, this is one fine car. Forced induction in the next model cycle maybe?

• they all blinded by the K5 design

• Hyundai De La Junk on Mar 23, 2012 at 3:52 pm

Good Point, Bulleye !

You can see all those craps comment coming from K5 Fanboy/Fandog.

First they bising Japanese car is more expensive & less equiped, Now Japanese car offer same price like Korean & offer more, they start talking nonsense again.

Now we ask Sonata 2.4 to reduce their price & offer same specs as Kizashi, Optima K5 to offer 2.4 engine with this price.

Naza salesman is really wetting their pants now.

• Jepunmali on Mar 23, 2012 at 4:43 pm

First they bising Japanese car is more xpensive.

So they bought Sonata/ K5.

Suddenly this came along. With 2.4 summore. Japanese engine. Not bad on kit & equipments.
        They cry…

U notice a lot comment ‘too late already’? Too late. I already bought Korean car….
        Soon their Korean car engine tired… they can live with their endless equipment list.

*what a puny engine in that K5. hahaha…

• TurboMan!!! on Mar 23, 2012 at 5:56 pm

One thing for sure most paultan commentators can notice. The type of ppl on your side are generally inarticulate, foul mouthed and rely on sweeping statements in your arguements. Calling ppl “fandogs” reflects highly on your level of education.

Anyhow, back to cars. None of us ever said we hated japanese makes. Has anyone ever said they hate jap cars? Never. Its your jap cars supremacy attitude and pure arrogance that ticks ppl off.

This is one small D segment but its a great car. Will give credit when credit is due unlike you guys. K5 is D segment and offers 2 big sun roof but this has a fixed top. And it has hard plastics on the dash Hence, kit count is still less than similar Korean makes. But well, reasoning never works for you ppl thats why this is my last reply to you guys. I get better results reasoning to a 5 year old.

Suzuki is still new to the big car segment, and hence they have no choice but to offer it at this price to penetrate this market. In another words, Suzuki’s position is the same as the other Korean makers, utilising low pricing achieve quick penetration into the market. Peugeot is also using this strategy for its cars in the continental car market.

Conclusion. Its a great car, but there is more to the low pricing than “jap vs korean cars”. In fact, their pricing reflects the threat felt by the jap to a certain extent but i doubt you guys have the intellect to see it.

• Hyundai De La Junk on Mar 26, 2012 at 6:46 pm

Don’t forgot the type who like to brag about their wife KIA Koup too. :-)

You are trying very hard to reverse the actual sinario here, it is in fact the Arrogance attitute of Korean Car Fanboy, who are trying to ignite the hatred toward Japanese Car, most Japanese car fan like the japanese are very humble & polite, just look at all the blog, be it Handphone or Car, you can see those Korean Fanboy behave like mob.

I am alway skeptical about the need of sun roof for car in Malaysia, i mean didn’t we get enough sun burn daily ? infact Sonata YF is famous for sun roof defect which we can see in various forum.

So finally you admit that Hyundai, KIA & Suzuki belong to the wannabe category which need to lower their price to penatrate at least for Malaysia Market, that good ! at least you are finally received your wake up call.

At lease Suzuki bring in full power 2.4, not under power (3rd nation) 2.0 Version like KIA Optima K5, i would rather have a bigger power engine than a useless problematic sun roof.

I am quite sure you would ignore this if not felt K5 is threathen by Kizashi.

• TurboMan!!! on Mar 28, 2012 at 5:01 pm

I said quick market penetration. Who said anything abt wannabes?

In all the blogs? Sweeping statement again?

Dude. Get a proper education before replying. I see lots of holes in your argument ( heck, it doesnt sound like an argument. More like you are blowing hot air ). But i won’t waste my time.

• droll on Mar 23, 2012 at 3:53 pm

it’s the same when the K5 optima came out. i remember a lot of people commenting “wah, too expensive”. and now they conveniently compare it against the kizashi and say k5 is cheap.

• Who says Kia K5 is cheap? I think everyone says it will have low resale value.

• leslie poh suzuki on Mar 23, 2012 at 6:53 pm

kill all 2.0 & 2.4 car too!!!

• yang ikut nafsu akan beli kereta nih..tp yang ikut akan sure akan beli p321a

• ikut what(?) beli p321a? ikut bodoh? that Milo tin car is not even in this segment, so please use your brain before you speak, dont just use your knee to think like the way proton design their p321a.

• yang ikut nafsu, mmg akan beli kete ni..
    tapi yang ikut akal, sure akan beli p321a

• Mentari-o-korea on Mar 23, 2012 at 3:10 pm

Too late to be here, and K5 will tapau with its features n specs! Good luck suzuki!

• Supa Hiro on Mar 23, 2012 at 3:15 pm

Nice car but still far left behind compared to P3-21A. Moreover it’s a cold brand but for sure better than Korean cars. The more you think about it, the more awesome the P3-21A looks and offers. Price is good, spec is awesome, quality and engineered to precision, what more do you want??? Don’t be greedy lah….

Ayuh Malaysia – beli kereta national P3-21A. Lagi tak beli, lagi rugi.

• Joshua Wong on Mar 23, 2012 at 3:25 pm

I’ve saw this car few times early of February, I didn’t know it just launched today. Hmmmm

• I’ve already saw this car since last year march ut not alloe to test drive and the price by verbal is email 150k back then. It’s just not feel right, but still test drive need to be done some how. Small import 100 units and 40% to drb-hicom executive and 60% to end user. I’ve the opportunity to buy but i .don’t have the chance to test the car. Lol

• kuriang on Mar 23, 2012 at 3:31 pm

sighted on the road already in shah alam last year, look interesting..

• taboogen on Mar 23, 2012 at 3:35 pm

hahahaha… why not cheap… because most of PT reader are lazy and dont earn enough to buy this car.. even the car is selling at 90k-100k also bank wont give loan to you all lah.. commitment too high.. dream on jer..

cakap jer pandai

• Ryan.C on Mar 23, 2012 at 3:35 pm

The rear looks like Coffin to me -.-”
    ‘like’ if u feel so…

• DArkerMarker on Mar 23, 2012 at 3:41 pm

147k car and you’ll still getting hard plastic for dash & interior panel???

cheaper cars will probably get paper or cardboard dashes in the future….look at 1990s cars compare the differences…..

• ihatecarsalesman on Mar 23, 2012 at 4:06 pm

just about to comment on that too.

i was expecting suzuki to be amongst the better Japanese manufacturers such as madza subaru and mitsubishi….but this is a pretty disappointing offer at that price, isn’t it?

• krs189 on Mar 23, 2012 at 4:39 pm

Aiyooo macha

definitely you never went and see the car

the interior material is SOFT TOUCH Plastic la…

booooooo

• Sorry la….not in this price category….badge appeal is just not there in this price category no matter how much kit they stuff into that Kizashi.

• review from whatcar uk as follows:

For The Kizashi is a generously equipped family saloon that gets four-wheel drive and a CVT automatic gearbox as standard. You’re unlikely to see another one.

Against The only engine on offer is a comparatively dirty and inefficient petrol, so running costs will be high. The ride is firm, and the Kizashi falls well short of the class leaders in terms of refinement and interior space.

• they say its dirty cuz cars like this dun get roadtax exemption,which is based on emissions.Any car that produces 100g/km n below emission enjoy free roadtax,in most case in UK its either hybrid,electric or diesel.it dun mean the Kizashi will be kicking out black smoke when they say its dirty,inefficient maybe due to big displacement

• Bad emission = dirty, its polluting the environment compared to a euro4 diesels…ths why its taxed heavily there & in euro developed countries. Plus its waayyy too thirsty compared a modern diesel and lacking in torque ; )

• I think… we only get the 2WD!!!

• nabill on Mar 23, 2012 at 4:21 pm

any idea if dis 2.4cc is shared with da one in da camry??t

• Supertram on Mar 23, 2012 at 4:44 pm

this car is actually decently price!. cbu japs with 2.4 cc at that price? i woudlnt even compare to K5.

interrior tho is too bland, n not the good type of “bland” like in the vw .

will survive until new camry comes?

• BMW Owner on Mar 23, 2012 at 4:46 pm

I think Kizashi will be sell well in Malaysia. The price just good enough for generous specification, furthermore getting high recommendation in USA.

• jemsbon on Mar 23, 2012 at 4:53 pm

SSS will smoke this car on the highway

• TC Khor on Mar 23, 2012 at 5:11 pm

Good spec technology well fitted car. With the price tag guess most Malaysians will prefer Toyota or Nissan. Not because it is not a good car but a reputation in it’s class — class c segment. Still hoping Suzuki will bring out legendary new jimny sierra for local market. Very keen to it compare to Kizashi.

• leslie poh suzuki on Mar 23, 2012 at 5:12 pm

AWD no import to malaysia, it is no suitable for malaysia use.

• Crasher on Mar 23, 2012 at 5:12 pm

hopefully this car do well in Malaysia

• kijachi on Mar 23, 2012 at 5:17 pm

what a name.. kijachi? kisaji? kichachi?

• xiper on Mar 23, 2012 at 5:18 pm

Due to roadtax price, most malaysian will prefer the 2.0L instead of 2.4. Although the price is cheap as a 2.4 and well equipped, due to roadtax and insurance scale, I think most of the ppl will still go for 2.0 K5, sonata, accord, camry, etc…

We can also see most of the D-segment are so called full spec accord 2.0VTi-L and Camry 2.0G with 2 airbags lol…this is malaysian market.

• Carl Wong on Mar 23, 2012 at 5:21 pm

C segment or D segment?? I’ve seen the real car outside the show room, looks quite nice. We were looking at the Swift, which comes with keyless entry and even key less start, great features for the segment. Myvi is #£+(%!, price difference is small as of today……..

• Chevrolet Cruze wannabe

• Aris Tee on Mar 23, 2012 at 5:57 pm

now this is weird… I just saw one on the way to work today…

• just a commoner with some ideas on Mar 23, 2012 at 6:11 pm

Dear SMA:

For an intellectual point-of-view, some suggestions

1. Offer rebates/discount for both trims up to $5K.
    2. 2 years Free service & labour.
    3. Offer freebies that can attract the targeted segment consumer. AND
    4. Train your SA to be on par with T&H salesman

To add:
    1. Intensify your marketing/promos ;
    2. Rejuvenate your after-sales service & improve warranty claims AND
    3.Listen to your customer’s complaints.

D-Segment cars below 150K x banyak, you can steal some portion from the 2.0 segment customers – I myself included.

Your product is good, BUT x salah kalu you ikut strategy the korean carmakers in offering better specs at lower price compared to T&H.

All things said, SMA (DRB Hicom la) jangan bangga sangat ngan swift 4-speed made in Pekan je.Apply the take-away lesson learnt from your SX4 offerings dulu.
    I know you slowly want increase in market share.
    But during these hard times & Tight lending policy, a competitive price (140K eg) & offerings for a 2.4L car is very much welcomed.

PS:- Can I get some royalties from my suggestions? ahahhahahah
    since 9/10 comments dalam Paul Tan ni pun merapu x tentu hala, x membina minda langsung!!

• Dr Mamak on Mar 23, 2012 at 6:13 pm

Like honda, suzuki is better off making kapcai.

• woklt on Mar 23, 2012 at 6:31 pm

Brand VS Price = Not Worth it.

• Front trim copy from inspira. Is it right?

• anjez on Mar 23, 2012 at 8:15 pm

are you nuts?you think suzuki got the mentality of proton?
      are you automobile lover I guess you better go iphone loving and comment on their website you are insult to cars.

• anwar ibrahim on Mar 23, 2012 at 7:11 pm

who need 2.4 ltr engine in country with speed limit 110km? … plus most highways is always traffic jamed.. pay more money for road tax n insurance.. better get new
    proton tuah.. pay less n u get global car..

the interior look boring.. some more smaller than civic.. what a hack.. come on la suzuki.. focus on ur bike market.. proton offer better than you..

• very sleek and sexy design….however so many weird comments here saying it’s expensive?omg it’s cheaper than same segment Korean car man….haih typical basher…kfag

• DK BOSS on Mar 23, 2012 at 7:32 pm

Suzuki Maruti India is selling the same Kizashi models starting at RM 102k to RM 108k for the sports model…….Suzuki Malaysia should price it a bit lower to make it competitive and to push this model into our market.

After like 1 year plus, don’t know why so long the delay to launch this car over here, its sad as I was waiting to see the pricing of the car and really looking to getting it but with this price, T&H would still be a better option in terms of re-sale value and maintainability of those cars…… :( Perhaps the new Camry will be a good run for our money…might come short on a few features the Kizashi has but still worth the money spend as resale value will not fall short.

• DK BOSS on Mar 23, 2012 at 7:35 pm

Suzuki Maruti India is selling the same Kizashi models starting at RM 102k to RM 108k for the sports model…….Suzuki Malaysia should price it a bit lower to make it competitive and to push this model into our market.

After like 1 year plus, don’t know why so long the delay to launch this car over here, its sad as I was waiting to see the pricing of the car and really looking to getting it but with this price, T&H would still be a better option in terms of re-sale value and maintainability of those cars…… :(

Perhaps the new Camry will be a good run for our money…might come short on a few features the Kizashi has but still worth the money spend as resale value will not fall short.

• Suzuki brand at this kind of pricing ? Well no offense …. this will be a niche market and very exclusive car if you decides to buy one ….. only time will tell

• papa rich mama shop on Mar 23, 2012 at 8:06 pm

All Grey interior n abit bling2 … Boring,,,,
    Exterior very good looking ,
    All suzuki identity like the Swift,, good exterior and boring interior..
    For me Suzuki is a mystery brand, cannot be judge by its look,
    lets wait n see…

• actually i found the interior and exterior to be very good looking. the tactility of the switchgear, dials and buttons were all excellent. certainly better feel than K5 or sonata. and loaded to the brim w features like a korean car.
      this would be a good car to buy if you… like jap reliability but also want full specs and good CBU japan build quality at korean car prices and dont need accord/K5 interior space, enjoy driving and appreciate ease of parking in tight spaces, and dont mind maintenance of 2.4L engine.

• Pity Suzuki and even more sorry to DRB. Simply myopic marketing guys at these organizations. How on earth they just simply banking on Japanese COO (country of origin) to push their car.

Better go for more sensible Mazda6 2.0, Sonata, k5 or wait for new Toyota Camry. After-sale service unlike T-H-N; unless Subaru then it’s different story. Using 2.4 engine too, not working or even backfire, bro. Bring diesel maybe works.

• sick&tired on Mar 23, 2012 at 8:53 pm

i would personally go with Kia Optima K5, but if I want a sports sedan, the the Kizashi doesn’t seem too bad. Of course it would also depend on how it drives :p, but in terms of looks alone, it looks good. Pricing wise, I think its reasonable for what it is.

• Unforgiven on Mar 23, 2012 at 8:59 pm

What is the target set per month?

• Jolly_idiot on Mar 23, 2012 at 10:04 pm

Just bought it. In my dreams

• Carl Wong on Mar 23, 2012 at 10:10 pm

Are they trying to take on Nissan Sylphy, Teana, Toyota Altis, Camry, Honda Civic, Accord, C+D segments all at once??!!!

• no one on Mar 23, 2012 at 11:27 pm

I think suzuki is becoming VW from Japan… esp the interior, plain and simple.. but overall reliable..

‘like’ if u feel so…

• Victor on Mar 23, 2012 at 11:29 pm

I’ll say go with the VW Jetta! It is a much more fun car to drive and to own. And the road tax is only RM70!

• only concern to me for VW Jetta is the gearbox.
      For VW any engine of less than 2.0(be 1.8 TSI,1.4 OR 1.2TSI),hidden risk is tremendous.
      In Singapore, VW 24hrs assist practically tow a new VW vechicle everyday,until the workshop can’t cope with the volumes.
      Very soon this will happen to us in Malaysia.
      VW is a good car but doubtful latest 7sp DSG!

• dear suzuki,
    please learn from proton
    even p321a is a b+ segment car, it breaches and beats c segment car specs already
    turbocharged engine summore with loads of gadgets, auto lamp, auto wiper
    you know start stop engine button, cvt, paddle shifter are not enough for Malaysians to give their money on your kizashi. and of course japs normal cars cannot beat LOTUS RnH! and of course with MUCH cheaper price.

don’t be like honda and toyota, ckd without import tax , still want to tiau buyers kaw2 with head-cutting price
    please please learn from korean, bunch of specs, much cheaper price

• Price is too close to VW Passat and Ford Mondeo for me. Too little too late.

• silver on Mar 24, 2012 at 1:55 am

does anyone notice the 8.8 seconds.. this cars are not gonna sell alot but congrats on getting the pricing this low with such a high spec… should make the market more competitive

• Bullish on Mar 24, 2012 at 6:33 am

ANOTHER SCAM BY DRBHICOM! How is it that one company has the franchise for so many models?There is no free market competition. Every other marque is owned by them. It seems like they collude with the other two or three guys and fix the price at their advantage. Customers will never get a fair deal. It is more unbelievable that even the so called”national car” is controlled by them. And they collect tax payer subsidies to make it a success! How ironic…..they were supposed to compete, but they rig the entire market. I was told the the malaysian version of “antitrust laws” is being drafted. I suggest that drbhhicom be investigated and all of its directors be thrown into jail. After that we can forfeit all their “ill gotten gains” under AMLA……the anti money laundering act. We need politicians who serve the public interests not crooks. Lets vote some new people into the goverment. The old guys look very tainted to me.

• _xXx_ on Mar 24, 2012 at 6:41 am

hey SMA, 2012 Swift Sport – when??? Please bring in the MT version like what u r doing now to the old SS okie?

• like the simple interior.
    however its a little too late. how long ago this car was introduced? the exterior is abit dated.

• vincent on Mar 24, 2012 at 11:56 am

The car price and spec makes the Camry buyer looks like an idiot.

• Checked the car out at a Suzuki showroom in PJ……… Too bad it runs optimally on RON97. The salesman said the power figures would be compromised if lesser grade fuel is used. That is going to seriously affect sales.

• Nice car.

• Lukeskywalker on Mar 24, 2012 at 8:03 pm

see the car at 1U today…nice, but 150K range? hard to sell in Msia..

• When you got money, what price is also cheap. When you don’t have a money, what also expensive. Malaysian, plenty of rich peoples, so is not up to you to worry.

• mentari-o-korea on Mar 26, 2012 at 11:33 am

PTS, that is a stupid statement, do u know that in Msia the most stingy people are those rich people? What we telling here is to get the most value out of your money!!!

• PetrolLeg on Mar 24, 2012 at 11:22 pm

it’s just a suzuki! sell or not sell, there will still be that someone around the corner that will be love at first sight and place their booking.

• soundsfishy on Mar 25, 2012 at 10:22 am

Too expensive for suzuki brand!! Would rsther spend on conti cars

• Unforgiven on Mar 25, 2012 at 12:36 pm

Why the top speed is so low?

• mindfaucet on Mar 25, 2012 at 2:50 pm

Suzuki ni comel lah..

• I feel that Suzuki should use1.8 liter instead of bringing in 2.4 variant. It kind of put Kizashi into fierce battle with all the usual players. Good attempt as we have more choices!

• anjez on Mar 25, 2012 at 8:24 pm

in USA this model is only USD 18,999 even you convert its less than RM75,000
    thats with insurance and full spec keyless entry
    here in BN ruled country called malaysia where the crap mahathir ruled for 25 damm years made the rakyat stupid and he made the lazy malay bumps rich and protected the fucked up proton for years and deprive of us owning good quality cars.
    fuck you Barisan NAsional

• OilChange on Mar 25, 2012 at 8:48 pm

the car is an absolute beauty
    but the spec is absurd.

with that amount of money, get conti or korean for optimum spec….

suzuki please go die quickly

• OK… can we start a poll between 2 of my fav cars(kia optima and Kizashi)?

‘Like’ if u choose Optima
    ‘Dislike’ if u choose Kizashi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • Anand on Mar 26, 2012 at 10:47 am

For that price…i rather go for accord or camry(late handsome cars), if not to safe little bit money…i rather go for sonata or optima (latest handsome cars)…

• David Lau on Mar 31, 2012 at 2:50 pm

How I wish there is a 2.0 MT with price range of 120-130k. Road tax will still be bearable and fun to drive. Put some stress on Civic and Altis. For 2.4 CVT, it’ll be more for those who appreciate the power, sportiness and comfort. If you want space, please go for T/H/Kia. Am owning a Suzuki SX4 Sedan. Am proud of the build quality, and NVH. Whoever don’t test drove or own this car, do not deserve to bash it. Though, SMA should seriously consider improving their after sales service.

• dear paul,

if i am not mistaken both trim is 2wd ie FF.. is there are news on the AWD variant ?

tks

• Pak Ya on Apr 20, 2012 at 5:11 pm

I was really look fwd to owning one Suzuki. But finally when it’s finally here I am quite disappointed with the looks. Before this was launched, I had been hoping it would resemble the 2008 Kizashi 3… only then the looks could be a match for Sonata or K5 (remember 2.4 K5 is not here yet).. and the new Camry too (which would be more Lexus like). Just my honest opinion.
    2008 Kizashi 3 could beat them all…

• Mata Kuching on Apr 22, 2012 at 2:44 pm

nice but wrong timing.. I’ve waited too long for this car to come…
    The decision maker should be SACKED!! hope it wouldn’t sell.

• Who the hell curses a car to not sell well just because he/she waited for too long? There’s a heavy sense of self-importance there.

Anyway, the car definitely looks pretty good, and is quite powerful as well ( personally tested it ).

• Lau Ta on Oct 26, 2012 at 11:58 am

Its actually not bad ! Compared to most sedan .. buy if you can afford , move on if cant ! Simple common sense .. don nid insult if you don own a better car !

• azizcheah on Apr 15, 2014 at 9:06 am

CVT..need extra care.

• jimisonata on Jul 22, 2014 at 1:09 am

2012 SDLX model (not the sport one) now sold as low as $105k. what do you guys think?
    by end of the year sure drop to another 20-25K. or wait 2016.bebaloi ke x??