GALLERY: Old Rangers and the Ranger girls

As you would have already read, the all new Ford Ranger was officially launched in Malaysia yesterday night in three variants – 2.2L XLT in manual and automatic form as well as the 3.2L XLT Wildtrak, all in 4X4 spec. Click here for the launch report and here for the test drive report.

The launch event at Bukit Kiara Equestrian Club had an interesting and appropriate “tough” theme – “tables” were wood panels on oil barrels and the stage backdrop was scaffolding, decorated in Stomp style. The energetic dancers were dressed to match, so it was tiny cowgirl tops and cropped jeans. The dudes? They were topless, reminding the rest of us the need to go to gym. No pics of them though – we ahem, naturally focused on the ladies!

No less interesting was the heritage display. Some might have forgotten that Ford started the urban pick-up trend in Malaysia back in the 90s. Before the Courier was launched in 1996, pick-ups were workhorses exclusively found on construction sites. After the Courier, came the Ranger, and the yellow Splash was the coolest truck in town. The round headlight Extreme edition followed in 2002. The facelifted Ranger model had a macho Hurricane edition in 2005.

A new generation Ranger was launched in 2007, featuring a five-speed auto ‘box in Malaysia for the first time. Two years later, Ford gave its truck a facelift, which not everyone liked – it wasn’t as macho as previous versions. Competition in the pick-up truck market has really heated up over the years, but with the new T6, Ford has a class leading product once again.

Enjoy the gallery, and beware of roaming bosses! :)

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• superman on Jun 29, 2012 at 2:19 pm

is this launch of a car or launch of latest PlayBoy magazine???? we understand that ladies here are multivitamins of all launches but here you put more pictures of amoi than the car…

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jun 29, 2012 at 2:42 pm

Superman, we were first up with a launch report, including a full gallery of the Ranger from all angles

http://paultan.org/2012/06/28/ford-ranger-t6-launched-rm90k-to-rm117k/

Want more Ranger? Our test drive report has 67 pics. They offer a better view than the launch gallery.

http://paultan.org/2012/02/25/new-ford-ranger-t6-test-drive-report-from-chiang-rai/

• superman on Jun 29, 2012 at 3:09 pm

yes I saw that this morning.. good report that one but the 2nd one is kinda out of cars!!!

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jun 29, 2012 at 3:27 pm

Once in a while only la. Normal service to be resumed shortly :)

• Leonon on Jun 29, 2012 at 3:15 pm

• RON97 on Jun 29, 2012 at 4:04 pm

ignore this guy called ‘superman’. he must be of those with ED problem…

• sudonano on Jun 29, 2012 at 6:15 pm

More than the usual. Good one Danny!

• Lim Kopi on Jun 30, 2012 at 4:14 am

Superman, are u gay or somethin? Whats wrong with having more girls than cars?

• benedict on Jul 02, 2012 at 1:51 pm

dude u homo or something? there is a post on the car..and normal guys would like to see the chicks also..danny boy carry on man posting the girls..ignore this faggot of superman..guess he call himself that cz he likes guys in underwear on the outside..

• Sammy on Jun 29, 2012 at 2:22 pm

2 of the dancers looked like dudes. yuck

• junaidi on Jun 29, 2012 at 2:33 pm

Dont really know what the girls are for. Till today we still have sexist practices.

• superman on Jun 29, 2012 at 3:10 pm

girls are Multivitamins here. see some of the guests in background. the guys are all happy but ladies are all look pissed of why the dancers are so sexy and in one picture I think the guest is saying wow why she so fat????

• got video one?

• 4th gen in Malaysia… I had the 1st and 2nd gen. People though I worked for CAT because I drove the splash in Yellow. Fun color and a fun car indeed. Just that abs was not available and was always tricky when you are rushing under heavy rain…. Stunts were performed and many flowers and road signs were “dislocated”…. Hahaha

• sarcastickiller on Jun 29, 2012 at 3:10 pm

wtf…. ford gt no money 2 pay girls? y i can c some shemales there??? lol…

• most of the girls look like guys…. common spend some money and get some decent chicks….
    looks like some gogo bar

• kamaji on Jun 29, 2012 at 4:43 pm

C,mon bro, if the chicks are good then nobody care to look at the car already.

• nebula87 on Jun 29, 2012 at 4:37 pm

the girls look weird…=.=

• ichiban on Jun 29, 2012 at 4:38 pm

Check out the one in Pink pants. Its like a gender change operation gone awry!

• tiong on Jun 29, 2012 at 8:25 pm

ford tipuuu… in malaysia, rangers wont make you get that kind of girl lar. dreaming laa wei.

• I seriously feels pity with these girls. Being used as another cheap publicity of a car launching event. We do not need girls at a car launch what more in a truck, tyres or motor oil launch! If we need girls in every automotive event in town, we are actually in serious trouble. It really does shows how we actually treat and position women in the society. Just because the rest of the world are doing this, doesn’t mean that we have to follow them. Frankly speaking, I’m getting sick of how this has been going in the industry. If showing flesh and being half-naked is a sign of modernity and world development, then animals must be the most modern and developed species of all. They’re naked.

Oh ya, afterall, didn’t the most modern country accept that we are actually from animal? Darwin theory…?

Looking at how things going, perhaps, we are now worse than animals.

• Visitor on Jun 30, 2012 at 6:52 am

Well, said! And btw, I am not gender biased or anti-women (or even anti-men for that matter), but Ford or any other carmakers should come up with better marketing or promotion that still focuses on the car than this. This is disrespectful to the ladies.

• Tun Ken Tut on Jun 30, 2012 at 1:12 am

Jelek banget cewe malaysia :)
    Lo pada, baru liat begini ajah heboh.
    Kampungan ah..

Yo Tan.. you got pretty sharp eyes in automotive stuff but unfortunately worst taste in girls :)
    Get back on track, dude! :)

• All them booty shaking make me wanna test shake the truck. Where can I find nice big patches of mud in PJ ah ?

Living la vida loca ! :-D

• helmi on Jun 30, 2012 at 8:26 am

The Toyota Roadshow also did the same thing. They put sexy girls with tight and short pants to attract people. But what happens is the opposite. What i observed most people prefer get the info from the SA and shy away from the girls. Ford and Toyota, please show some respect to all women. I love to see beautiful ladies or girls, but I hate to see the girls being insulted like this.

• DArkerMarker on Jun 30, 2012 at 8:51 am

Is it selling cars or selling flesh, ah??

• seriousdude on Jun 30, 2012 at 9:16 am

do they really need those girls to attract people to buy the car?

• Hadi1975 on Jun 30, 2012 at 3:08 pm

K-pop??
    Pole dancing with no pole???
    Free tiger show ka???

• Hadi1975 on Jun 30, 2012 at 3:08 pm

K-pop??
    Pole dancing with no pole???
    Free tiger show???

• PakCik on Jun 30, 2012 at 7:27 pm

I like…maybe can do this kind of review for every New Car launch and during Auto Show

• 1000horses on Jun 30, 2012 at 10:19 pm

Tat 2 pondan is juz too much to swallow….

• I think the girls are so so, but just look at those abs on the guys,ill take them anytime

• benedict on Jul 02, 2012 at 1:49 pm

dude take them on? what u wan to wrestle them in mud? please keep this to PG 13 man..