Goodyear says that soya bean is good for tyre health!

This one is strange but true. Soya bean is not just good for our health, but can benefit the health of our car tyres as well! Goodyear has found that using soybean oil in tyres can potentially increase tread life by 10% and reduce the use of petroleum-based oil by up to seven million gallons each year. And we all know that fossil fuel is non-renewable.

In addition, testing at Goodyear’s plant in Oklahoma showed improved mixing capabilities in the manufacturing process. The company found that rubber compounds made with soybean oil blend more easily with the silica used in building tyres. This can improve plant efficiency and reduce energy consumption and greenhouse gas emissions.

Prototype tyres built in Lawton will be tested at Goodyear’s Proving Grounds in San Angelo, Texas in the coming months. If indicators remain positive, Goodyear expects that consumers will be able to purchase tyres made with soybean oil as early as 2015.

The United Soybean Board (USB) is helping fund the Goodyear project with a grant of US$500,000 over two years. Goodyear will display a tyre made with soybean oil next month at Ford’s research center in Dearborn, Michigan, as part of an event sponsored by the USB.

“Consumers benefit through improved tread life, Goodyear gains with increased efficiency and energy savings and we all win whenever there is a positive impact on the environment,” said Jean-Claude Kihn, Goodyear’s chief technical officer.

The use of soya is just one of the initiatives Goodyear is currently undertaking to increase its use of renewable raw materials. Goodyear and DuPont Industrial Biosciences continue to work together to develop BioIsoprene, a bio-based alternative for petroleum-derived isoprene.

BioIsoprene can be used for the production of synthetic rubber, which in turn is an alternative for natural rubber and other elastomers. The development of BioIsoprene will help further reduce the tyre and rubber industry’s dependence on petroleum-derived products.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Jason of Star Command on Jul 27, 2012 at 2:23 pm

Danny, instead of giving us articles like this, can you or Paul give us potential car prices should PKR take over. I think this is a hot topic amongst Malaysians now and it would be great if the leading car and automotive blog can give us what would the likely savings be if PKR takes over. It would be great if you can give us example prices for a couple of cars and what these would be if the excise or duty is reduced by say, x or y amount.
    Thanks

• I don’t think they can do.. Huge risk of getting a warning letter or worst, the site gets take down.

But what they could do is provide a summary of how much a car cost when they reach port, how much taxed and summary how much OTR. You can figure the rest out. :)

Note to Danny: if you ever do, do table it out in forms of CBU, SKU, CKD, and local units.

• let’s leave PKR & BN out of this.

But let’s do the comparison anyway.
        I want to know coz I paid tonnes of moola for my cars.
        I am sure everybody wants to know the comparisons, this applies to both PKR and BN supporters. No?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jul 27, 2012 at 5:34 pm

Mebbe Mr Rafizi can help you with that :)

• Better free car..even better

• Spydude on Jul 27, 2012 at 3:00 pm

Girl on the extreme left is cute. Name please! :)

• Jasmine on Jul 27, 2012 at 8:22 pm

Her name is “Liang Loi”

• Jolly_idiot on Jul 28, 2012 at 10:13 am

You can find her in saboon.

• Som46 on Jul 29, 2012 at 4:40 am

^ Hehe, i know what you meant bro ;p

Funny how someone can bring this up in an automobile blog…but I don’t think these girls are that cun coz have seen some better ones though. No harm intended.

• Abuya on Jul 27, 2012 at 3:08 pm

Apa, kau berharap harga keta akan jatuh jika PKR dpt kerajaan pusat. Jgn mimpi, both political party perlukan duit utk run negara. They want more money. P1 or P2 maybe taken by them (PR crony) but for the car price, it will remain intact !

• koochai on Jul 27, 2012 at 3:10 pm

downside of this is higher soya bean price. less supply for f&g industry coz need to compete with tyre manufacturer.

• Tau Fu Far Amoi on Jul 27, 2012 at 3:12 pm

Another product made from food for vehicles. Why they need to use food? Are they going to eat rubber in return?

• So next time when your car breaks down in the middle of nowhere and you are short on food, you may consider chewing on your tyre :p

• Anuariza on Jul 27, 2012 at 3:15 pm

Bro, If PKR take over also its wont be materialize. This all are nonsense promise only. What other this has being politic…. water… PTPTN…. Tax… bla bla bla.
    Oppss out of topic.. chears :)

• bryan on Jul 28, 2012 at 10:35 am

Though this is not political blog, but i still would like to put my comment regarding to your comment. Y u susah susah want to think how PR can do it? If they cannot do it then just throw them out again after given them a chance. How do you define non-sense when PR not even yet given a chance? I think you are the one talk non-sense here.

• joe zaraki on Jul 27, 2012 at 3:26 pm

So Malaysia will come out a study for using palm oil in tyres ?

• yeah seems maybe all natural oil blends well with the rubber mix,why not ?

• sunda_man on Jul 27, 2012 at 7:43 pm

If 2 middle east countries “isxxxx” “ixxx” start nuke war, petroleum supply cut-off.

Worldwide tire producers are forced to use organic to substitute hydrocarbon rubber then.

• carazy on Jul 27, 2012 at 4:35 pm

food source for tire?? not good idea though, better find other resources that not disturb our food chain, even now our food price are higher.. wander if authorities allow our food resources to be commercial products, food price will sky rocketing.

• BadBET on Jul 27, 2012 at 5:21 pm

use for 2 years, after that cut to little pieces and bring to pot luck party… yummy
    a good example of proper RnD. Good job Goodyear

offtopic : there already tons of politics forum discussing about PKR new idea. KEY word : POLITIC

• i see the 4 person up there is healthy for us. :-)

• i don think total abolishment of car taxes is good but if reduce it is better…

• brader_N on Jul 27, 2012 at 6:08 pm

how about “real world car price + sales tax”, that is not bad compare to current car price plus duty+excise+sales+AP tax right??

• if pkr give flase promises, change gomen in 4-5 yrs again la.

• Soya can increase to 10% tire life, not bad. Maybe palm oil as mention earlier
    Can also. If so, prices will rise and it’s good to Malaysia.

• Embun on Jul 28, 2012 at 11:41 am

Wont it degrade to something since it is of natural source? If the bond is really tight then it is okay..

• bmpower on Jul 29, 2012 at 3:15 pm

Soya? Really? ..
    I think the chics are better for your health heh!

• consrito on Jul 30, 2012 at 12:34 pm

Is’t the fake SSR Type C wheel?