Honda Civic Euro gets 300Nm 1.6-litre i-DTEC engine

Honda’s new Honda Civic hatchback for the European market can now be had with their new Earth Dreams 1.6 litre i-DTEC turbodiesel from January 2013 onwards, marking the first time Earth Dreams technology will be offered in a car in Europe.

You can read more about what Earth Dreams Technology is all about in our feature story from earlier this year – it’s pretty interesting. To put it simply, Honda aims to be best in class for fuel consumption in every segment, while ensuring the fun to drive factor is still there.

In the case of the Honda Civic Euro 1.6 i-DTEC, it emits just 94 g/km of CO2, and is rated at 78.5mpg on the combined cycle. That translates to a fantastic fuel consumption rating of just 3.6 litres per 100km. The 1,597cc turbodiesel is only available with a 6 speed manual gearbox. Power output is 120 PS at 4,000rpm and 300Nm of torque at 2,000rpm.

The 1.6 litre i-DTEC engine will also be installed in the Honda CR-V soon.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Impressive!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • MycarMylife on Nov 05, 2012 at 3:28 pm

More impressive breaking news, heard that now KiA and Hyundai being sued or contemplating to reimburse millions of owners for erroneously quoting wrong mpg claims in US, (deep shit if you are in US) Excuse given was procedural error,?? what about in MY? can claim ka?

• teelim on Nov 05, 2012 at 5:55 pm

yeah, we should sue proton because the 0-100 time for the satria gti was impossible XD

• honda_bocor on Nov 05, 2012 at 7:49 pm

baru bertelor sebijik riuh sekampung
          after 1 day enjin bocor lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
          • impise on Feb 07, 2013 at 10:07 pm

enjin bocor? are you Dr Advisor a.k.a pumpkins?

• PauKaya on Nov 05, 2012 at 1:00 am

welcome back honda. now for a new civic type-r please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Nice…..

• hello on Nov 05, 2012 at 1:24 am

A small car with a T-rex inside the bay.

• gen y on Nov 05, 2012 at 1:41 am

Go Honda!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • dass G on Nov 05, 2012 at 1:44 am

Very impressive.
    Doing good.

• Proton should really try getting this engine in their cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
  • pearjai on Nov 05, 2012 at 4:57 am

impresive for the tork but too stressed for compack engine like that ! i wonder how much pressure the injector will load ?..is’t comply with our diesel quality ?

• wah 6MT with high torque! i want i want! HONDA MALAYSIA please bring this in!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • teelim on Nov 05, 2012 at 5:56 pm

I also want, but the diesel we have here will probably kill this engine…

• Megane on Nov 05, 2012 at 7:33 am

Earth Dreams , sounds so cheesy …why Honda like to dream ? Yes you can reduce fuel consumption but to be able to strike both frugal FC and fun to drive is a bit too much to believe . One is bound to suffer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 34
    • it is you on Nov 05, 2012 at 9:13 am

the ones to suffer are pessimistic people (or troll) like you. always with the “nah..too good to be true”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • Wisdom on Nov 05, 2012 at 9:14 am

They’ve done it with CRZ. Why not?
      Your oldskool believe is no longer relevant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • amatku17 on Nov 05, 2012 at 7:34 am

Finally,but will Honda Malaysia bring in the diesel car?

• Rennie on Nov 05, 2012 at 7:45 am

Impressive of course BUT unfortunately for us, our diesel quality and the nature of DRB hicom does it’s business will mean, it will most probably never see the light of day in Malaysia.

Too bad for us 3rd world Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
  • beatnik on Nov 05, 2012 at 8:14 am

That’s a massive torque from a 1.6l diesel.. Now Honda, press fast forward because we want to see Type-R turbo!

• seanlimys on Nov 05, 2012 at 8:27 am

i m not a honda fan, but if honda malaysia brings in this, i will definitely get one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Fredo on Nov 05, 2012 at 8:47 am

a diesel Civic Type R ? errr…. thats a little awkward… to me a type R is a hi-revving smooth NA engine

• beatnik on Nov 05, 2012 at 2:59 pm

Where got diesel type-r.. Honda got capabilities to produce 1.6l engine with turbo.. I heard new Type-R will use 1.6l turbo petrol engine..

Like it or not, it is the end of high-powered NA engines. turbo kick = vtec open ;) Let’s move on, shall we?

• Fredo on Nov 05, 2012 at 6:09 pm

errmmm…its gonna be interesting to see vtec-turbo straight from Honda plant then

• Earth dream is just not for Malaysia.. They don’t need to give us something that good as they know we are suckers for badge. Bigger profit margin you see..

• Unfortunately wont make it here due to our diesel quality

• Always the best from Honda unlike those piece of shit Toyotas.

• Ong chin aun on Nov 05, 2012 at 10:28 am

How I hope 1.6 L i-DTEC , be fixed in CIVIC petrol with Manual Gear in M’sia.

• skypirate on Nov 05, 2012 at 10:46 am

a 2.2 diesel Civic Euro costs the same as a 2.0 diesel Audi A4 in the uk, whereas a fully equipped 2.2 diesel Civic Euro costs the same as an entry level Audi A6… Ridiculously expensive, give me one reason to get a Honda than an Audi?

• frenzy on Nov 05, 2012 at 6:11 pm

It won’t break down easily on the road, ig spare part rosak, can get it cheaply

• In Europe (including Russia), Honda spare parts are very expensive as Honda has a market share of only 1.4% over there.

The parts are not available everywhere too, as Honda is a rather exotic car in Europe… ;)

• 1btgnaik on Nov 05, 2012 at 11:09 am

I drove the accord with the 2.2 i-CDTi engine and can conclude one thing, honda needs to learn much more from its european counterparts on diesel engines. Torque delivery was slow and the engine sounds much rougher compared to renault’s diesel technology. The 1.6 new i-dtec sounds promising, so hopefully I can have a chance to try it out by the end of the year.

• wow…more frugal & lower co2 than their jazz/insight/crz hybrid wt huge torque!

• indigo on Nov 05, 2012 at 12:39 pm

Well we never get good diesel cars in Malaysia. Our diesel quality is too poor to be used on modern diesel engine.

• wawasan_2020 on Nov 05, 2012 at 1:53 pm

Now can only get 320d or Focus tdci. Other diesel sedan hv to wait until the yr of Wawasan 2020.

• My parent have an 2007 Merc E-class E270 CDI too.. diesel engine with 400Nm of torque…

• Time to wake up and go to school boy. Most people here don’t have that kind of money to burn.

• Lol.. I already an adult. Next year will be graduated as an mechanical engineer… I only have chance drive it during my semester break. The high torque make it fun to drive.

• bongok on Feb 07, 2013 at 10:03 pm

Whatever you say boy, we here don’t care who you are. Show us the pics or it didn’t happen lol

• GT-Rider on Feb 07, 2013 at 10:09 pm

Boring Benz…

• shawal on Nov 05, 2012 at 9:06 pm

Proton won’t be getting this engine anytime soon
    unless they’re willing to show the dosh!

• anwar on Nov 05, 2012 at 9:48 pm

it’d be great if this engine is paired to an electric motor. diesel hybrid in compact car.

• pearjai on Nov 06, 2012 at 7:23 am

bosch have perfected the ”commonrail” tech but not suit our practical cost and diesel quality….hahaha…mercedes diesel injector are too pricey lorh….do you know toyota are the pioneer of adopts the electronically controlled fuel injection, ETCS-i the first in that class then then mutate to ”commonn rail” ..erm,people that know about old 1kz-te should know that !

• HondaPro Jason on Nov 16, 2012 at 11:03 pm

I hope Honda will start to bring turbo diesel to the states.