Subaru BRZ – ad pops up on oto.my, RM240k listed

subaru-brz-oto-my

Look what’s popped up on oto.my – an ad for the Subaru BRZ, which could mean the RWD sports car’s local introduction is imminent. About time too – we were told back in 2011 that the car would be set for Q2/Q3 2012, and in April last year this was pushed to Q4. High demand could have contributed to this delay, but could this be it, then?

As you can see from the screen snap above, the listed price is RM239,800, and GPS is listed amongst its features, something the Toyota 86, the BRZ’s twin sister, doesn’t have. However, things aren’t official yet, so as always, we should take these with a pinch of salt for now.

For more information on the Subaru BRZ, read our driving impressions report from Singapore.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• mohamad shafiq mohamad shokri on Apr 01, 2013 at 4:24 pm

shukur!! shukur!!

• Jimmy on Apr 01, 2013 at 5:43 pm

Subaru can do it himself. And the baby, WRX, is more cantiq than this one, likely to be more powerful(torque) too with turbo, although one has to admit that BRZ has the traditional sports car look. The only thing will be the higher price for fans.

• Confused on Apr 01, 2013 at 4:28 pm

With the way glenn tan is screwing subaru, dont expect too much. None of their dealerships give me any confidence in buying their cars, add on untrained and uninterested sales people. Plus automatic brz? Sorry no thanks. I will wait for recon guys (because JDM)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • I totally agree with you bro, Glen tan is a LOUSY businessman. If it wasnt for his surname, he wouldnt even be manager of a burger stall, let alone a global brand like subaru.

It was him who destroyed Subaru in Malaysia during the days of Version 6-8 WRX

• _xXx_ on Apr 01, 2013 at 5:22 pm

exactly…auto brz??? might as well drive a camry

• i know that insurance in the UK is more expensive but this costs just 120k in the UK, pretty much prius money for a rwd sports car. really pisses me off how it costs 2x the price here, its so annoying.

• taboogen on Apr 01, 2013 at 4:53 pm

cammon bro.. hurry up pack your bag and stay in UK

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 39
      • stealth on Apr 01, 2013 at 5:46 pm

sounds familiar who those calling pendatangs to balik negara asal. What they failed to realize is that those who criticize the government over super expensive cars we have here, is because of the insane car price each Malaysian need to pay with their hard earn money compared to the rest of the world (not to look so far, just compare with neighbor Thailand). If you travel outside malaysia to see the world you won’t utter such words. Hurry don’t be a katak dibawah tempurung.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 10
        • hmm i think you are the one who should travel the world and see for yourself…you know that the insurance in the UK is more expensive than Malaysia and yet you whine about cost of car price in Msia…did you consider petrol price / road tax / parking / service / parts i mean the overall car ownership costs? annual salary average fresh engineer in UK is like 24k to 30k pounds. 1 room cost you like 400-500 pounds lol…buy something you can afford and work harder or earn extra side income rather than waste time whining

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 31
          • Wow, ironically, they can fully own the BRZ for less than 1 year of freshy salary where else a Malaysia freshy needs to use 7 years of freshy salary to own one. Talking about overall ownership cost is just dumb.

• Mat Rempit on Apr 01, 2013 at 10:10 pm

Fools

• in the UK, a good car like the Focus is about 20k which is mid spec. a fresh engineer can certainly afford that on his newbie salary. here?
            why whine about insurance when in
            the UK they can afford to fill up the car with unsubsidised petrol. here? can you do that?
            even then, they can choose to take commute on public transit, can you do it in kl reliably?

• kentji on Apr 01, 2013 at 5:56 pm

our country done bad we shall not blame them, and instead, pack our bags and migrate?

dude u’re simply amazing :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • hindo on Apr 01, 2013 at 6:00 pm

how common? or you only uncommon TABOO?

• lmao, ask your dad to send over some money then, you think if i got the chance to “pack my bag” i won’t?

• Aiyo, this is ye olde news.

• Automatic…. HAHAHAHAHAHA