Subaru BRZ RA Racing announced for Japan

brzra1

Here’s a track-spec Subaru BRZ that the Japanese company has announced exclusively for its home market. Aptly called the Subaru BRZ RA Racing, the car will compete in a one-make series scheduled to happen this summer, duking it out against the GAZOO Racing Toyota 86.

Exterior additions include a brake ducts underneath the front fascia, tow hooks and an oil cooler, while the cockpit gets a six-point roll cage with sidebar, four-point competition harness and custom floor mats. All this increases the BRZ’s price by ¥31,500 (RM1,067).

No info on performance numbers at the moment, but we suppose they wouldn’t be too far off from the GAZOO 86, which produces 330 PS and 431 Nm of torque from its twincharged (super and turbo) 2.0 litre flat-four.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• GTR 2.0 on Jan 29, 2013 at 10:21 am

The rims…Special edition?

• confused on Jan 29, 2013 at 11:52 am

Read the fine print lar.
      “TE37 not included in the package.”

Plus, giving the participant more open choice for wheel brand n size.

• yawnnnn. this is booooring.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
  • ben yap on Jan 29, 2013 at 10:55 am

rims with missing wheel caps. LOL…. funnier without sport rims.

this car will be faster than ferrari or lambo meh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
    • crzSupercharger on Jan 29, 2013 at 2:08 pm

i jus wondering whether it is faster than my supercharged made in jepun world war II maniac crz..

Folks sekalian, Thumb down if u like my comment!

• No I thumb it down bcuz it’s worth it. What the hell is a “supercharged made in jepun world war II maniac crz” . The Japanese are’t really that proud of their WW2 past, so this will be branded as an insult to them.

• grs180 on Jan 29, 2013 at 9:57 pm

benyap….haiya…you want a faster car then you buy rocket or apollo lah….

• frenzy on Jan 29, 2013 at 11:47 am

This car is targeted at racing car modder. So it has a roll cage and other stuff. 100% modders will change the rims so it came with a cheap rims ro lower the cost. Unlike European, Japanese like to customize their own car but European mostly stock.

• PauKaya on Jan 29, 2013 at 11:55 am

this is actually what most peoplewant but can’t afford. (wife sure say yerr so empty no value for money RV also low one) =(

• Hiroshi on Jan 29, 2013 at 12:24 pm

consider selling expensive in malaysia ,i own Ft86 in japan buy RM70,000 with Tax as well^^,it a fabulous car but underpower for me,hope toyota or subaru crate a more powerful version in future

• LionelStephen on Jan 29, 2013 at 1:10 pm

Underpower, or lack-of-torque ?

• PauKaya on Jan 29, 2013 at 7:12 pm

that is the problem…86 wasn’t really supposed to be for power. people are really obsessed with the Golf Gti/euro hatchback style of turbo acceleration feel…

• To me, the BRZ that makes the most sense. Let’s face it, most BRZ/86 won’t remain stock for long, so the seats ,wheels and Empty double din are design to be simple and disposable, hence steel rims. So what’s left of this is the reason why we all like the BRZ/86, or at least those who likes driving. A balance, fun-to-drive manual sports coupe. In other words, some PT-Keyboard-Spartans will dislike it for being an empty car.

The things I hate about this is why Japan gets the good stuff, The Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VII-IX RS and Imprezza Spec-C, also cars sold in very basic spec so that what’s left is the reason we buy, is also only Japan cars. [Though Spec-C is sold through limited numbers in Singapore]

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 29, 2013 at 2:04 pm

Weird to see people comment that this is stripped down.

Its a stripped down chassis for track modification. Why the surprise? If anything, the additional premium for the “track” items is an absolute bargain!

• UNKNOWN on Jan 29, 2013 at 2:45 pm

seem this model familiar to new toyota 86 design

• darker marker on Jan 29, 2013 at 7:13 pm

Trying to immitate ah beng style excitement then they see this car

“Wah ini keleta laysing woh”

• i thought motor image plan to bring brz in dec 2012? no sight of it…sigh

• einstein on Jan 29, 2013 at 9:44 pm

“brake ducts underneath the front fascia,
    tow hooks and an oil cooler,
    while the cockpit gets a six-point roll cage with sidebar,
    four-point competition harness and custom floor mats”

all for 1k?? possible here in bolehland? or need to change gov for it to happen?

• Anon Kneemas on Jan 29, 2013 at 10:37 pm

Are those black steelies just to get you home from the dealership or are they lightweight? I’d rock it with those steelies to be honest!