MAA seeks extension of Feed-in Tariff for hybrid cars

Driven_AudiA6Hybrid_34

The Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) wants the government to consider a longer period for the Feed-in Tariff (FiT) for hybrid cars, reports Bernama. The FiT period currently stands at two years, and lapses by the end of this year.

MAA president Datuk Aishah Ahmad said the association would write in to the government soon seeking for an extension. “We always ask for a longer term of around five years to enable us to draw up future plans for the automotive industry,” the news agency quoted her as saying.

Hailing MAA’s efforts is BMW Group Malaysia, who believes an extension would not only further strengthen growth in the hybrid segment, but ultimately lower carbon emissions in the country.

“We would like to reemphasise that green technology incentives should not be technology biased but be inclusive of all advanced sustainable and green technology alternatives which include diesel technology, hybrid technology and electric technology,” Bernama quotes CEO Dr Gerhard Pils.

bmw-activehybrid-launch

Since the introduction of the BMW EfficientDynamics strategy in 2009, Pils said Malaysian customers have been highly supportive of this initiative and today more than 20% of BMW vehicles delivered are green, efficient variants like Advanced Diesels and ActiveHybrids.

Officially launched last October, the BMW ActiveHybrid 3 and ActiveHybrid 5 (pictured) recently enjoyed significant price drops when they were classified as Energy Efficient Vehicles (EEV). According to MITI, the EEV forms an important thrust of the yet-to-be-announced revised NAP.

Under Budget 2012, the government gave full exemption for import duty and excise tax for hybrid cars with engines displacing under 2,000 cc until December 31, 2013. Last year, hybrid car sales enjoyed an 84% jump to 15,355 units from 8,334 units in 2011.

Of the 15,355 units, 8,712 were Hondas, 5,653 were Toyotas, 979 were Lexuses and 11 were Porsches. Overall new car sales in Malaysia grew 4.6% to hit a record high last year, with the total industry volume at 627,753 units.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Yes, i want to have a chance to buy A6h one day

• Jimmy on Apr 05, 2013 at 2:25 pm

MAA is not sincere. I noticed once relavant people there got their Datukship, they slants more to the government.

Clean air and green environmental issues are as of right. We should not be begging for what is our right. We deserve fuel saving hybrid cars because Malaysians earn very little compared to most other people in other countries. Our GDP per Capita is one of the lowest in the world. So, why should we beg the government for fuel efficient cars?

• It’s safe to say thre are less than 973 Lexus CT200h sold and yet I seem so many In the kelang valley and the suburbs around it. Anyways even if the tax if hybrid vehicle are cut to its bare minimal, hybrid cars won’t be as cheap as official distributor can’t sell high spec CBU hybrid lower than their lower spec more expensive ICE vehicles; case in point the Prius C hybrid, though come with 7 airbags and VSC is way to small for its price and priced to make way for some Voises to have decent homes, and the CKD jazz has to go for some substantial specs diet so that it can leave some breathing room for the City. I think , and this is my assumption, is that UMW which controls toyota and Lexus took out the VSC in the Camry 2.5v to persuade would be buyer to sacrifice abit more of their savings f

• Guess I hit the submit button to early for this.

• Henry on Apr 04, 2013 at 6:51 pm

Despite the 100% exemption on import and excise duty the price of hybrids are still relatively high. Example: Honda CRZ @ 120k, Prius C @ 100k, Lexus CT 200 h @ 200k.

At these prices the distributors must be making a killing.

• If they lower the price to what it should be, it would cannibalize the sales of cars of the same range. Add to that, being CBU, imagine that all the buyers from the Vios and City party suddenly buying their respective brand hybrid, the waiting period or the cars to be shipped from Japan will be unimaginable, and I think there is a quota of how many cars these distributors can shipped in. With normal ICE cars price staying the way it is, this would not end anytime soon.

• Henry on Apr 04, 2013 at 8:08 pm

Not to mention all new car selling prices must be approved by the G. Why? Cannot sell at a low price even if I wanted to?

With this type of idiotic arrangement both the car distributors (high profit) and the G (can give national cars breathing space) are happy but the consumers get screwed. Just look at the year end discounts distributors are giving. It can be as much as five figures.

• Gegary on Apr 05, 2013 at 9:26 am

The contradictory thing is, if the government is a good one, that this is SUPPOSED to happen. The idea is to replace the polluting, oil-burning cars with more efficient, green vehicles. But hypocritically, they don’t want it to be TOO successful.

Imagine if half of our cars are environmentally friendly! Better air quality, more savings. But cannot, why? Short-term financial and political greed.

• It’s safe to say thre are less than 973 Lexus CT200h sold and yet I seem so many In the kelang valley and the suburbs around it. Anyways even if the tax if hybrid vehicle are cut to its bare minimal, hybrid cars won’t be as cheap as official distributor can’t sell high spec CBU hybrid lower than their lower spec more expensive ICE vehicles; case in point the Prius C hybrid, though come with 7 airbags and VSC is way to small for its price and priced to make way for some Voises to have decent homes, and the CKD jazz has to go for some substantial specs diet so that it can leave some breathing room for the City. I think , and this is my assumption, is that UMW which controls toyota and Lexus in Malaysia took out the VSC in the Camry 2.5v in attempt to sway would be buyer to sacrifice abit more of their savings for a higher spec , more luxurious but smaller CT200h.

• koochai on Apr 04, 2013 at 2:44 pm

any extension would be based on p1/p2 readiness

• If the tax incentives finish at the end of this year (2013), the price of the hybrid cars becomes higher (because no more tax exemptions). That’s the fact. Is that also mean the resale value of the hybrid cars bought now (with tax exemptions) will be higher than the original purchase price?

• alldisc on Apr 05, 2013 at 9:44 am

should malaysia gets a totally new govt, we may see all new cars price reduced, not much as 20% out of 70-80% excise tax is not a lot.

EXAMPLE a vios at 80k, with excise duty at 30k, 20% is only 6k. so most likely the same vios new price is about 74k.

• Hybrid Owner on Apr 04, 2013 at 3:14 pm

Hopefully govt will not extend full exemption of tax that end of this year.
    Giving it too long people will take it for granted. Should give other incentives such as exemption of road tax, lower insurance premium, income tax rebate etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • stuart on Apr 04, 2013 at 3:14 pm

Again why can’t these people think further. Do they even know why they want only Hybrid to have special tariff? If lower emission is the goal then why only restrict to Hybrid?? Clean diesel with clean and powerful diesel engine are much much better than Hybrid. Mazda CX5 fuel consumption even better than a Hybrid SUV. So where is the objective?

• Hybrid Owner on Apr 04, 2013 at 3:43 pm

CX5 just a normal SUV, FC just slightly better than CRV, ASX etc. If compare to some hybrid, it give maybe better FC bcoz some those hybrid SUV is larger SUV. If compare same size/ same segment (compact suv), hybrid still win. For example, Shouldnt compare kancil FC wt civic hybrid as it not same segment. If not why Japanese manufacturer invest million dollars for hybrid R&D.

• What does the Feed-in tarif have to do with hybrid cars? isnt FiT a scheme where homeowners with solar panels sell back excess electricity to the National grid?

• Some Reporters Just Don't Know What They're Writing on Apr 04, 2013 at 4:50 pm

I was wondering the same thing when I first read the original article in the Star (last week, I think). I hope reporters (and their editors) should at least understand the basics of the issues they’re reporting. The Feed-in-Tariff (FiT) scheme introduced by SEDA has absolutely nothing to do with tax exemption on hybrid cars. Sorry …. but the writer really comes out looking like an idiot on this one.

• david on Apr 05, 2013 at 11:48 am

i left the same comment in the star. got deleted. that shows how intelligent the editors are !

• seancorr on Apr 04, 2013 at 3:39 pm

I’m all in for clean diesel cars too. Cheaper diesel models for the rakyat is a big boost for vehicle sales.

If its further extended with the inclusion of clean diesels then we will see more affordable vehicles like a cheaper BMW 320d or Pug 508 diesel.

Now here’s hoping the government will improve our diesel quality!

• Better ask after election in case current Govt or Ministers wont be around after the election, haha

• Dear Mr Tan,

Any news on when the 9th gen. Honda Accord hybrid (2.0L) will be launched in Mlaysia this year ?

• Honda announced five cars this year, 3 has been more or less confirm to be the CRZ facelift, 4th gen CRV and 9th gen Accord. One of the other two could most likely be the Honda Brio while the remaining one is a mystery. The Honda PHEV is currently built in Sayama, Japan so there could be chance that it might make a surprise debut here since Malaysia does offer tax support for hybrid vehicle. But the PHEV has only been launched in two states in the USA that is California and New York, it has yet to be launch in it’s home market of Japan. So it would be a real HUGE surprise if the RHD version will be launched here first instead of it’s home market of Japan. Te possibility of it launch this year is slim…..very slim

• messi on Apr 04, 2013 at 4:35 pm

If you want cheaper vehicle (bike or Car) and cheaper hybrid car.

Vote BN out to kill all the AP king and protons’ cronies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
  • Government should reduce tax on eco car too…

• sompua on Apr 04, 2013 at 5:12 pm

hybrid is the biggest hoax in automotive industry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • fresco on Apr 04, 2013 at 5:47 pm

Think of it as ‘tablet pc’ or ‘netbook’ before phablet/iPad.
      It is a necessary step to what comes next, which hasn’t.

• Hybrid Owner on Apr 04, 2013 at 5:53 pm

Hello? … You think you’re smarter than the thousands of engineers working on the different hybrid technologies worldwide? I own 2 hybrid cars and I must say both live up to expectation. They save gas money and perform just like any other car.

• Hybrid do save fuel but perform like other cars? No way. You can’t have best of both world. You gain some and you lose some. Hybrid is really a boring car unless you are driving a Audi A6 hybrid. Insight, jazz, Prius, CRZ, I don’t call these ‘cars’. More like a golf buggy to me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • sompua on Apr 06, 2013 at 5:03 pm

you have been conned, thats why u r very angry, diesel or turbo diesel is much cheaper and have better fc. wait until you have to replace the battery

• fresco on Apr 08, 2013 at 2:10 pm

Hybrid Owner,

Of course I don’t mean it that way. No offense to you. Good for you that you embrace Hybrid tech. Its because of users like you that make this place a better place to be.

• Katak on Apr 04, 2013 at 5:33 pm

Of the 15,355 units, 8,712 were Hondas, 5,653 were Toyotas, 979 were Lexuses and 11 were Porsches. BMW didn’t sell any last year?

• fresco on Apr 04, 2013 at 5:47 pm

Guess not.

• Jimmy on Apr 04, 2013 at 5:57 pm

I don’t buy and will not buy hybrid Merc/BMW in case my relatives and friends think that I am so calculative on FC (of course I know it is for performance in some luxury vehicles).
      Even if C-class hybrid is at RM160k, buyers will still have to think about the aftersales burden which is a few times higher than non-hybrid Accord/Camry. So buy what you can really afford. Don’t hope for help under current situation.

• Penyu on Apr 04, 2013 at 6:11 pm

Who is that cinapek fella besides the angmoh ? He look so worried.

• Leong on Apr 04, 2013 at 6:21 pm

what nonsense!Policy should be permanent to ensure fairness to rakyat and industry player….this one..extend extend….what leasehold policy is it?