First look at BMW X4 Concept, set for Shanghai debut

BMW X4 Concept

This set of five photos is a first look at BMW’s Auto Shanghai 2013 debutant, the BMW X4 Concept. It’s essentially a Sport Activity Coupe to accompany the BMW X3, much like the BMW X6 complements the more traditionally-shaped BMW X5 in BMW’s SUV range.

Though it may have the word Concept tagged onto its official name, these images show a car that’s very close to production. All you need to do is take away the huge wheels and lose some of that chrome bits. Just look at the 4-Series Concept versus the production car that was sighted undisguised recently.

I won’t be surprised if there’s a BMW X2 coming up next, but let’s not get ahead of ourselves. Since Auto Shanghai 2013 is happening this month, we’re expecting a full press kit on the X4 Concept soon.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• JackeyDeck on Apr 05, 2013 at 1:29 am

one look at it… inevitably poor head-room at the rear. Same like the pretty nice looking X6.

• Jimmy on Apr 05, 2013 at 2:41 pm

BMW has become so greedy. Coming out with so many models but not paying attention to quality. Better to have 4 or 5 lines of cars and concentrate on building better quality cars with less breakdowns. Now BMW is really Banyak Masuk Worksyop.

• Jimmy on Apr 05, 2013 at 5:34 pm

Sorry, BMW dai go, it isn’t me who always praise your X6 and S-class in my previous comments.
        When we have many vehicles, our usage will be something like 5000km upto 15000km per year per vehicle.

• JackeyDeck on Apr 05, 2013 at 5:56 pm

it is quite true that BMW betul-betul masuk workshop quite often.

i have seen my boss switching his all-new fantastic BMW 5-series (configure n spec the shit up to half a million RM, WTF) to 3-series, and sometime to X-6 now n then.

I said : “boss, where is your 5series”
        boss said : “this is the BMW dealer/workshop manager’s car. My 5series has to stay there for 3weeks. ”
        I said : “oo… good ar, can enjoy so many different car.”
        boss said : “enjoy ur lampar !!”

Sad but true. Most german car nowadays (BMW, VW, AUDI) really heart-aching unreliable. Mainly due to the new advanced technology ain’t suitable for our egg-boiling weather here in malaysia.

Mercedes on the other hand, hardly break-down. mainly due to they change the parts which they know will fail before they fail. they change it like 4-5times a year. WTF. Looking at the service bill, i also wet my pants.

Mercedes call this Preventive maintenance WTF already… just another fancy words.

So far, didn’t hear any complain from lexus owner that i known of… hope to hear some infinity owner to see how it works out for them

• Hyundai De la Junk on Apr 05, 2013 at 4:50 pm

Why not launched in our KLIMs? Why KLIMS got no standard kah?

• loveit on Apr 05, 2013 at 4:58 am

love the design front and rear. don’t care about head-room in the rear. I’m a single guy who wants sporty stylish not too big car that can handle winter conditions as well and that is exactly what x4 is. It’s gonna look awesome in black. I want it NOW

• frenzy on Apr 05, 2013 at 11:24 am

Not winter conditions but potholes and huge speed bumps in Malaysia.

• Jimmy on Apr 05, 2013 at 5:38 pm

Orang besar cannot feel these things, their cars are too good, magic carpet, that’s why nobody care about the proper repair work.
        I don’t need to care, you will still support me ya FDkenyalangbayu.

• frenzy on Apr 05, 2013 at 11:26 am

Not about the winter conditions but potholes and huge speed bumps in Malaysia.

• Marlboro on Apr 05, 2013 at 8:34 am

This X4 is looking robust and solid overall design structure. BMW have ingratiated themselves with all good impression of sportiness. I like it

• Why is BMW looking more and more like Audi ….hhhmmmmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • helos on Apr 05, 2013 at 9:04 am

FUGLY!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • farghmee on Apr 05, 2013 at 9:30 am

not fresh at all.
    X6, X4 = proton gen2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
    • I think u guys got it in reverse. Gen2 is like a minimalised fugly version of x6, wait how can u even compare the two.

• farghmee on Apr 05, 2013 at 12:44 pm

read these 1st, ok mate?
        http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Proton_Gen-2
        http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BMW_X6

no wait2 lah, see the production date, who starts 1st?
        if u new to the internet, welcome.

• frenzyaustin on Apr 05, 2013 at 1:56 pm

Actually Gen.2 copy from AE86, they just rounded off the angle a bit.

• Abg Long on Apr 05, 2013 at 9:44 am

so true! x6/ x4 r like a bigger n taller version of proton gen.2!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Ahmadfaris93 on Apr 05, 2013 at 10:57 am

BMW can brag all about it’s engine and all but I think this is ridiculousness as the X6. The X6 is just a very lost model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Carnoisseur on Apr 05, 2013 at 11:25 am

Its a Love it or Loath it kind of design . I cannot conclude until i see it in flesh :-) That all said, it will be expensive no doubt !

• frenzy on Apr 05, 2013 at 11:29 am

To me, X6 = 5 GT with an oversized wheel and ridiculous tall ride height and ridiculous wide tyre. You may dislike my comment but it’s fact. Same goes to this X4 concept.

• fun to drive, but also “fun” to maintenance….

why don’t they make their machine more reliable before introduce more and more model….

can’t imagine 3yrs car 5series F10 down with gear problem and latest update from SC(control unit faulty)…

the car in SC for a month now…..damn gao Fxxk up…

• frenzyaustin on Apr 05, 2013 at 1:25 pm

If they make it reliable, then they can’t sell spare parts, so they can’t charge kao kao on parts. Their car is so complicated that you need a BMW authorized mechanic. And the mechanic can suck your pocket fat fat.

• GoNe'o' on Apr 14, 2013 at 11:14 pm

Then dont buy BMW, simple right. Dumb heads.