SPYSHOTS: BMW 5 Series GT to get mid-life facelift

BMW 5-Series GT Facelift 1

Here we have the latest photos of the facelifted BMW 5 Series GT that’s due later this year, snapped by our regular European spy lensmen CarPix. BMW’s first Gran Turismo model hasn’t exactly set the order books on fire so this is as good a time as any to introduce a mid-life update for the four-year old design.

Behind the minimal camouflage, the F07 LCI looks to involve very minor exterior changes. The tweaked front fascia features a reshaped kidney grille and lightly updated lower intakes. As expected for a BMW facelift these days, the headlamps appear to have fancier LED graphics too.

See the taped-up section on the front wings? It’s likely that a more stylised fender ornament or vent is hiding underneath, perhaps something similar to the one introduced on the smaller 3 GT (you can read Anthony’s take on the all-new model here). The wing mirrors will get integrated turn lamps too, which is now a BMW norm.

Not much can be seen at the back, but expect it to be reshaped as the current car’s bulbous rear deck never did it any favours – think sleeker, less top-heavy rump as the 3 GT’s. Not impressed? A more significant update is expected under the bodywork so don’t count it out just yet.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• O mai. Are they even selling enough of this to produce a facelift version?

• Jimmy on Apr 13, 2013 at 10:07 pm

When I first saw the price tag of a new 1st generation CRV, I said ‘when will I be able to own a new one? It is so expensive!’
    Don’t be disappointed with where you are now, you have the chance to achieve it, one day you may just be able to buy it easily with cash.
    By that time, you probably have lost interest in CRV as you want something better and more prestigeous. You can.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
    • Wut…?

• hello on Apr 14, 2013 at 1:31 am

Go home Jimmy… You’re drunk!

• Jimmy on Apr 15, 2013 at 12:56 pm

I am not drunk lah. I just want to motivate us all to buy better cars. But somehow, with our stupid government, we cannot aim for better cars. Lets aim to vote wisely this coming GE.

• Jimmy on Apr 15, 2013 at 5:21 pm

Thank you for using my name.
          You get 80% of the meaning of my comment, congrats, good, lulus.
          Like your last sentence.

• get rid of that sticker lah! is not that we all climax to know how does BMW face looks like. its just another pig nose with minor changes in shape of bumpers between models. sigh…