BMW 535i GT – care for something unique in Malaysia?

The bread and butter of the new 5-Series range here in Malaysia will undoubtedly be the sedan but BMW has also secretly slipped the BMW 535i Gran Turismo into its showrooms here on a per order basis. From what I hear an initial batch of cars of about 20 or so have been brought in and a lot of them have already been spoken for. Subsequent orders will likely be back to back with no ready stock.

The 535i GT is the only variant that has been priced here in Malaysia, though if you want the 550i GT you can probably ask for one and they’ll do the necessary processing for you, if you have pockets that are deep enough. The 535i GT’s engine is similar to the one in the 535i Sedan – 306 horsepower at 5,800rpm and 400Nm of torque from as low as 1,700rpm all the way up to 5,000rpm, mated to a 8-speed Steptronic transmission.

It’ll cost you a mind-boggling RM 638,800 which is really really close to 7-Series territory. But then again the interior of the 5 GT is plusher and airier than the F10 Sedan and interior space can be comparable to a short wheelbase 7-Series, which is not sold here in Malaysia. You sit in a slightly higher up position which is sort of between a sedan and an X model, and there’s really loads of headroom front and back which together with the panoramic roof contributes greatly to the airy feeling. There’s also two LCD screens for the rear passengers though there’s no iDrive – you use an iDrive-like remote instead.

You’ll lose out to a real 7 (or even a 5 Sedan) in boot space, which is sort of deep but doesn’t really have much in terms of height despite the GT having a hatch loading – because of the way the roofline slopes, bootspace versatility is far from a Touring model’s. The GT only has 440 litres of storage compared to 520 and 500 litres for the 5 and 7.

Look after the jump for a photo gallery of the 5 GT they had displayed at the F10’s Malaysian launch. Pardon the quality as I didn’t have a real camera with me!

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1110]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• adrianclw on May 09, 2010 at 9:12 pm

I’m sure will see this soon too.

• Sweet!!!

• Fithrie Zin on May 09, 2010 at 9:16 pm

My next dream car!

• DiVo D27 (Member) on May 09, 2010 at 9:17 pm

Wel whn it’s Flying on M’sian RoaD.. maKe suRe u GiVe way..>!!

• omg!! it is ugly and overpriced.who want it is a loser.

• Calvin on May 09, 2010 at 9:34 pm

Another wonderful car branded with the meaningless, overused ‘GT’ term. Grand touring here, Gran Turismo on another, what’s next? Grand towtruck?

• jolly_idiot on May 09, 2010 at 9:39 pm

BMW Gen2?

• ViosUser on May 09, 2010 at 9:56 pm

530d in UK priced below RM 200k. Yes it’s Ringgit Malaysia !!! Blood sucking to buy a BMW here

• Alpha on May 09, 2010 at 10:17 pm

then dun buy here and u go buy in UK la.see if u can “sneak” it in msia w/o paying the taxes.ooh,there’s a cheaper way..stay ther!haha!

p/s->it’s common sense that conti cars are a hell lot cheaper in europe.EVERYBODY knows that.but wat to do lo.if u gt the money,u cn gt anythg u want~

• joker on May 10, 2010 at 1:05 am

haha! pwned!

• huahuahua on May 10, 2010 at 10:53 am

please do some research b4 posting
      even primary school students knows dat BMW is from europe, not malaysia
      that shows ur IQ level.

• BMW X6 territory……

• lazyf on May 09, 2010 at 10:15 pm

Ugly…
    Looks like Prius wannabe…

• Alpha on May 09, 2010 at 10:19 pm

the 7-er is a better buy as u get the status of drving a flagship BMW and the looks is better than this~

• Neutral on May 09, 2010 at 11:31 pm

i want to sit n touch the cabin plsss…

• tokmoh on May 09, 2010 at 11:55 pm

At the rate how random the commenters can be when comparing different brands and models…

inb4 Honda City have better boot space.

• isiza on May 10, 2010 at 12:34 am

damn nice…

• When will it be in showrooms?

• BMW seems very confident with our market. They put all of their model on our roads except 7er swb.

• lance on May 10, 2010 at 9:59 am

my ex boss bro been driving 7er SWB which is 740 since May 2009 costing RM980K….so far only saw 2 latest 7er SWB…

• BoringMOOMOO on May 10, 2010 at 3:20 am

for this price, i think X6 is better!

• eeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! on May 10, 2010 at 5:38 am

frankly said, guys said “wah” !!! girls said “what is this YUCK” ???
    Use ur common sense, is really ugly if we don’t mention about the spec, i would rather go for the new brabus e-class w212 or cls b7 and etc for this kind of price.

• Penziarah Laut on May 10, 2010 at 7:29 am

First impression it was Gen2.
    Now everyone can bash…

• JULIAN_LEE on May 10, 2010 at 7:45 am

Buy this

• oh my goodness, i’ve never seen such………. crap.

• used non national car owner on May 10, 2010 at 10:33 am

High quality car with an illogical price tag.

:-(

• modan on May 13, 2010 at 2:12 pm

already seen the car.
    for me the price is reasonable
    u get a 740Li engine n the interior also like a 7
    n i heard BMW bring few unit only.
    n also i had experience test drive 535i. it really can fly. (same engine with GT)

• v-key on May 21, 2010 at 4:23 pm

saw 1 2dy wen cumin back from college.. it luks like a shortened bmw x6.. haha..

• The GT is an amazing vehicle. The car’s looks do not instantaneously endear it to everyone but then again when the Chris Bangle 5 series flame look was unveiled, not many found it endearing. Having driven it, my reviews are that the interior has hit the sweet spot, the 3 liter engine putting out 306hp gives the GT more than enough grunt in the belly, handling is typical BMW. For the driver, you would feel like you are in the cockpit of a jet fighter. No other car in the market is a competitor bar the panamera if you are looking at a hatchback grand turismo style. I speak from experience with the GT.