BMW unveils all-new F10 5-Series – 523i and 535i

After the nice “appetiser” where BMW assembled past 5-Series models from E12 to E60, here’s the main event – the Malaysian launch of the all new 5-Series codenamed F10. Two CBU variants are available at launch – the RM398,800 523i and the RM598,800 535i, with a diesel in the pipeline. As usual, prices are on the road, without insurance, but with BMW Service Inclusive + Repair.

BMW Malaysia personnel were in bullish mood when taking the wraps off the F10, which they say is the new class benchmark. The 523i is powered by a 2.5-litre straight-six (N52) with 204 bhp and 250 Nm of torque, an increase of 14 bhp and 20 Nm over its predecessor, and matching the E60 525i in torque. Paired to an eight-speed automatic gearbox, this car sprints to 100 km/h in 8.5 seconds on its way to a 234 km/h top speed.

For comparison, the similarly priced W212 Mercedes E250 CGI makes the same horsepower but has 60 Nm more torque, which is also produced lower and sustained longer throughout the rev range. The Merc does the century sprint in 7.8 seconds and has a higher top speed as well. At the launch, BMW rubbed in the fact that its rival has only four cylinders and five gear ratios, but they obviously omitted the bare performance figures. However, despite the similiar price, the 523i’s natural competitor is actually the E200 CGI, and the price disparity is because of SKD versus CBU taxation. The 528i which rivals the E 250 CGI does better at the sprint – 6.7 seconds.

Moving up, the 535i comes with a 3.0-litre twin-turbo (twin-scroll) direct injection engine. There’s 306 bhp and 400 Nm here to propel you to 100 km/h in 6.1 seconds. Top speed is limited to 250 km/h. 400 Newton metres is the same amount of twist the M3 makes, and here you’ll get the full blast from a near idle 1,200 rpm!

The auto ‘box also has 8 speeds, but here it’s called “sports automatic” with steering paddles and M gearshift logic. We’ve already driven this stormer of a mid-sized exec in Portugal earlier in the year; click here for the report and gallery.

The new 5 gets Brake Energy Regeneration (BER) and Electromechanical steering as part of BMW’s Efficient Dynamics efforts. The former charges the battery while the car is braking, coasting or decelerating while the latter does not need power assitance when pointed straight or at a constant angle, reducing energy consumption. There’s still an alternator of course, just that it need not work so hard (20% of charging duties taken up by BER).

Other juicy tech bits include Integral Active Steering, a form of four-wheel steering where the rear wheels turn slightly either in the opposite (low speed, more nimble) or same direction (high speed, more stable). Also here is Dynamic Driving Control which has four presets (comfort, normal, sport, sport +) that manipulate the suspension, transmission shift points, accelerator and steering ratio.

With a best in class wheelbase of 2,968 mm, BMW claims the most spacious cabin for the F10, and occupants get to enjoy a 16-speaker sound system in the 535i (12 for the 523i). The costlier car also comes with four-zone climate control, a sunroof, BMW Navigation Professional and multicolour Head-Up Display. It also gets the “largest LCD screen of any car today” (10.2″, 1280 X 480) which contrasts with the tiny one in the 523i. Also, the owner’s handbook and help functions are integrated into iDrive.

Live pictures from the launch is after the jump. Click here for our drive impressions.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1106]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=820]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=826]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• wheres the diesel spec? same?

• johnny on May 07, 2010 at 3:02 pm

fugly and geeky

• NazEeR on May 07, 2010 at 3:09 pm

nice..

• 7series+3series=5series

• MazdAstina on Aug 03, 2010 at 1:29 am

The right maths calculation is : ((7+3)/2)series = 5 series

• Mojo_Diablo on May 07, 2010 at 3:16 pm

Finally it’s here..

• Ahmad on May 07, 2010 at 3:17 pm

sweet !!! :0

• Ranger78 on May 07, 2010 at 3:20 pm

Nice

• eecos on May 07, 2010 at 3:26 pm

wow.. enrty start at 400k

• HirumaKecil on May 07, 2010 at 3:26 pm

cool…

• how do compete with E250CGi with the same price tag? even though with more potters n gears but performance wise still loss to E250CGi, so what is the point to have straight 6 n 8 geras?

moreover, E250CGi will enjoy lower roadtax and fuel consumption.

thanks

• elwine30 on May 07, 2010 at 4:48 pm

I would suggest people to drive the F10 and W212 side by side to compare. Then only you will see the difference. The driving dynamics is a whole of the different compared to the Mercs

• I’ve seen the technical specs for both the E250CGI and the 523i, and their fuel consumption figures and CO2 emissions are near identical. However, manufacturer ‘s figures might differ from real world figures. And taking into account that the 523i is near 100kg’s heavier than the E250CGI, this is quite a feat.

• Yong Tofu on May 07, 2010 at 8:33 pm

No replacement for displacement.

1.8L for a luxury car is a joke!

• hualaueh on May 08, 2010 at 12:23 am

what do u mean 1.8 L ?

• Seriously on May 10, 2010 at 2:27 pm

How is a 1.8L for a luxury car a joke when the E250 pulls in more hp than the 523?Plus it’s to meet cleaner regulations without sacrificing performance and we get to pay lower tax.

• Korean on May 11, 2010 at 11:23 am

Agree. 1.8L with 4 cylinders, sounds like a proton. Yeeeee….

• HirumaKecil on May 07, 2010 at 3:27 pm

But still i like e60 more than this f10…

• kurikuri on May 07, 2010 at 7:13 pm

me too..

say no to f10

• Don’t why ppl adore machine like this. Every year cars being design bigger& bigger cc, and every year petrol become less and lesser and car price every year become more expensive. Where is efficiency mankind can achieve?

• nice bargain

• subhero on May 07, 2010 at 3:30 pm

m5 type?

• andymervingeorge.com on May 07, 2010 at 3:31 pm

I think it should look better with the M Sport kit on.. in stock, the looks department is just so-so, prolly its the pictures and not on metal… the E60 still rocks my world tho.. :)

• 8 speeds …… sweet …

• Nice…. but still love the E60 shape

• budin on May 07, 2010 at 3:40 pm

i m waiting for the M-Sports package

• E Bear on May 07, 2010 at 3:41 pm

Yes, it has finally landed!

This will be an excellent car for any coporate exec.

• SaKai on May 07, 2010 at 3:42 pm

~600K for a 535i ? what a joke lol…

• joe cobra on May 07, 2010 at 3:43 pm

walllaaaaa ….. but then i still prefer my LANCER …..

• pelams on May 07, 2010 at 3:44 pm

10″ lcd screen? wow…

• Seriously on May 07, 2010 at 3:47 pm

Nah. I’d go for the E-Class.

• Richard on May 08, 2010 at 8:59 am

test driven the E300… boring… after u drive the 535i do let me know how u feel… E300 is way way way behind the 535i… test drive to believe… :)

• Seriously on May 10, 2010 at 2:38 pm

I’ve personally tested the E300, I would agree it’s not the most exciting of cars. But that’s also because the 535 has 100Nm more than the E300 but it’s also 140k ringgit more expensive (CBU), so yeah it better be a better ride.

Then again, in terms of looks I’d go for the E but I should go try it. But BMW being BMW, it’s uncomfortable. I’m not an old aging man fyi, but I never want be in vehicle than I contantly feel I want to get out from more than stay in.

I’d sacrifice a little bit of performance and save 140k anytime.

• Bobby on May 12, 2010 at 6:00 pm

Well you need not to.

The E300 used a very very old 3.0 liter from Merc that’s phased out in all other countries. It’s price is RM455k, and very uncomfortable seats.

The F10’s 3.0 turbo charged engine is some of the finest, newest engine in the market, produces 306hp and 400Nm. However its price is RM598k, does ZtH at 6.1 secs.

There’s a suggestion, the recently facelifted Audi A6 3.0 TFSi, uses a supercharger, produces 290hp but comes with 420Nm. It’s faster than the 535i from ZtH at 5.9secs, the price is only RM13k more than the Merc, and a whopping RM130k cheaper than the BMW. Also, interior feels best. Quattro as well, and full blown bodykits. Suspension is a little bit on the hard side, but that’s not too big of an issue since our crappy roads are always jammed, and our highways are smooth. :)

The BMW’s interior doesn’t seem as large as its wheelbase suggests, in terms of space, its identical to the A6, and somewhat only slightly larger than the E300.

• dreckker on May 07, 2010 at 3:49 pm

sweet…..

• Camry lover on May 07, 2010 at 4:02 pm

somehow the new F10, although nice, does not have that mascularity of the current E60.

• sweet lord, the mothership has arrived!

• Chris on May 07, 2010 at 4:09 pm

Looks fat…haha

• umno juara tipu rakyat on May 07, 2010 at 4:17 pm

give me W212 anytime!..F10 suxx

• wan_knox on May 07, 2010 at 4:23 pm

Wow!!!

• These cars are CBU from Germany?

• DKBOSS on May 07, 2010 at 4:29 pm

Awesome luxury machine – Of coz with the ridicules pricing for Malaysia, Thanks to our boleh land government ….only the very rich & all our government minister’s will enjoy this 5 series …… ….10.2 inch screen …damm …. when will Proton come to this level ….anyone dare to guess ?? HAHA !!

• dkrival on May 07, 2010 at 6:42 pm

hey, at least Proton builds their own cars unlike Perodua who takes others cars and puts their badge on it!

• i dont see many ordinary European or american people buy BMW or Merc..

• Ben X5 on May 07, 2010 at 4:31 pm

the best news yet.. and the price.. oh so good..!!!

• xearsol on May 07, 2010 at 4:41 pm

looks like current e90 from the back, and the front looks like 7 series. still loving the e60 m sport edition

• How is BMW going to make this tame looking model into a beast. having a slight doubt now if they can do well for the M5 but i guess it takes time loving it.

• kimi_ on May 07, 2010 at 4:49 pm

This new 5-series is the only car that looks worse than PREVIOUS generation…….

The front and rear are BULKY and less the needed line and curve…….

More like a facelift for me…..PERHAPS too conservative design like TOYOTA……

• E92335 on May 07, 2010 at 4:56 pm

I was there last night for the dinner launch, anyone loves the E90 and looking for an upgrade, the F10 would fit just right, it really looks like a fat E90. Interior is the best for BMW so far. still prefer my previous E60 though.

• What on earth? It looks terrible, somehow it has lost the dangerous look the beemer has. All of a sudden the E looks stunning and sharp while the 5 looks tame. When will they ever change the design language of beemer, thinking of it c.bangle did a better job.

• Bebola Vs Kekote on May 07, 2010 at 5:04 pm

The last huge sedan i have driven was Chevy Malibu. It has the same horsepower as F10 but the engine was a big 3.5L V6 (1 liter more). That how german technology is far superior than american’s. Heil Hilter!!! Bush..nono

• Firdaus Abdullah on May 07, 2010 at 5:06 pm

so sad…can’t seems to find the ‘wow’ factor in this baby :( the design is just so….lame, damned why is there no continuation of the E60 bold features…

• amirad on May 07, 2010 at 5:08 pm

Understated elegance or heavily sedated. Me too prefer the W212.

• Paul Tan on May 07, 2010 at 5:14 pm

Danny wrote the main story but I just want to drop some of my thoughts. The design looks tame but I still prefer it over the E60’s and it looks like a nice base to tack on some aggressive M Aerodynamic kits. I love the interior but am kinda disappointed how the 523i costs RM400k and yet still doesn’t have a proper full fledged iDrive system. The spec list also feel as little empty. I feel iDrive is quite key in the whole modern BMW experience and cars that don’t have it just feels a little empty. You get some form of iDrive in the 523i but it has no navigation and it’s a tiny screen – sort of like a movie theatre where the curtains haven’t been drawn open fully. If I were in the market for an F10 I’d definitely wait for the SKD assembled models as they will probably maintain the same price but specced far better. Hopefully a 528i will also come with the SKD models. Right now the 523i is a little too kosong and the 535i is full of stuff but just too expensive at 600k.

• I think iDrive is a bit tad stupid design. It might have evolved better but I still think a simple touchscreen is the best interface for a car, period. What I don’t understand about their philosophy is that they made the cars more confusing. Too many a settings that can be tinkled with (and making it even more complicated, you have to turn that darn small wheel to select stuff, if you can find the stuff you want) but for me, i just need 2 modes, Fun mode and Casual drive, why can’t they just do it so?

Maybe most of the ppl got used to that system that they deem them as norm. I wish they revert to a system like on the future Ford Fiesta, simple big touchscreen.

• haywire on May 09, 2010 at 3:43 am

touchscreen would be dangerous to use while driving. you’ll have to lean forward and lost the view of the road while trying to access the idrive.

I would prefer the knob in the centre.

• jessica on May 07, 2010 at 6:00 pm

seems like 600k is to catch the ‘corporate’ water fishes..

• Squawk on May 07, 2010 at 8:27 pm

The new E class looks better.

• sutheshkumar on May 07, 2010 at 10:39 pm

for 600k, I still think the 535i is a bit empty. Wheres the active cruise control, Side View and automatic side parking? Yes we dont really need it here but B-Class and the Tiguan has it and when the F10 was launched BMW was making a hoo hah about it.

as for the 523i, too empty. I rather save the money and take the remaining E60 stock if they ever have it.

• Chris Bangla's on May 07, 2010 at 5:19 pm

a whopping 400K? I would rather buy nissan GTR. At least the engine is handmade and it has way more HP’s

• Aiyo, this car is supposed to be sat in, not driven around tracks (except for the M version). Nonetheless, BMW iDrive is still stupid.

• fuyiopo on May 07, 2010 at 8:27 pm

If you buy a GTR, in the end of the day, you’re still driving a nissan.

• iskett on May 08, 2010 at 1:42 am

Yup, still a nissan.
          But if it was me I wouldn’t mind. Why care what people say about luxury, brand and soul when you have one of the best car to drive? But that’s just me.

On the 5 series, I still don’t get the looks – looks kinda lame. I love the e-class look (but the back?!), but want to see the 5 in flesh. Any rich guy in USJ reding this, please buy this car quick so I can see!

• Nissan GTR is the best… if i have money i would buy that over any beemers and mercs…

• ReactiX on May 08, 2010 at 11:58 am

a GTR cost around RM700k bro…

• fuyiopo on May 08, 2010 at 11:13 pm

Every car has its own pro and cons. But I can’t agree with you that the GTR is the best car to drive. If you’re talking about lambo or ferrari then maybe I’ll agree.

• Korean on May 08, 2010 at 10:22 am

Please don’t do this again. Start to compare a sport car with a sedan?? It is really a joke.

• phas3r on May 10, 2010 at 12:47 am

not to mention that you’ll be more comfy in the bmw rather than gt-r
      gt-r is not the best or fun to drive. in terms of character it still lacking. it’s just a super fast point a to point b car(straight/corner)

• Michael on May 07, 2010 at 5:24 pm

Anyone knows if the legroom at the back is more than the E200Cgi?

• 2fast on May 08, 2010 at 12:57 am

Just saw the car at KLCC. The F10 looks much better in real life with its beautiful organic styling. For me, the interior and most of the exterior looks better than the E class – only the front need some tweaking to make it have the typical aggressive BMW look.
      One of the BMW guys mentioned bodykits to support the F10 will come later in the year.

First batch of F10 have been fully booked, next batch coming in October.

• Korean on May 08, 2010 at 10:25 am

Wow!!! Fully booked, so many rich people in Malaysia!!! Go go… Malaysia!!!

• 2fast on May 08, 2010 at 12:58 am

Slightly more legroom at the back compared with the E class.

• DKsuen on May 07, 2010 at 5:47 pm

3varients will come into malaysia.. launching 16-17th may2010 =]

• Mpower on May 07, 2010 at 5:55 pm

finally, the most anticipated F10 is here, but the price tag @_@

• keep on bashing on May 07, 2010 at 5:58 pm

wow. i not afford to buy. but personally i think the E60 design is better than this one.

have a nice weekend everybody ;)

• mitlanevo on May 07, 2010 at 6:05 pm

E60 is like 1000000 TIMES BETTER than this ugly F10…

• anyone know why the entertainment/iDrive screen is smaller in the pics from the Malaysian launch as opposed to the screen in every other F10 pic?

• niuhje on May 07, 2010 at 6:57 pm

dunno but cant really feel the xcitement in tis one… may b i cant afford it kot, heheh

• mati katak on May 07, 2010 at 7:03 pm

the front grille has slowly change to the nose of an animal that make sound like “oik, oik, oik”……..

• look big and bulky…too conservative…feel like volvo s80

• BMW M-Problem on May 07, 2010 at 8:26 pm

the front is ugly….

• BMW M-Problem on May 07, 2010 at 8:28 pm

what is going on … merc e class is ugly and now this……

• JG Auto on May 07, 2010 at 8:35 pm

Frankly speaking…i still prefer the old design…more “fierce” looking….

• Vezeroth on May 07, 2010 at 8:46 pm

it looks lazy…

• One word, WOW.
    Not to the car, but the PRICE!
    The price for this car is crap!

E250 is alot better.

• Mazda 3 MPS on May 07, 2010 at 9:00 pm

im disappointed. nice car but specs….

• kurikuri on May 07, 2010 at 9:10 pm

say no to f10 n w212..

more audi a6 on the road soon.

• bobby on May 07, 2010 at 9:18 pm

Sigh, still E class in my top choices.

400k, thats sick.

• pukier face on May 07, 2010 at 9:27 pm

the front looks like a eunuch cat

• pukier face on May 07, 2010 at 9:32 pm

using i-drive is harder than using stick shift. It is like piloting a 747

• vincent on May 07, 2010 at 9:43 pm

the new 5 series looks better in real. dont judge this car by viewing the photos only :)
    you will feel the differences when you see the real car.

• BRAZBUZ on May 07, 2010 at 10:18 pm

why bmw m’sia sell this car here before skd it? it is too pricey…

• haywire on May 09, 2010 at 3:49 am

Exclusivity mate. Ppl with more money will get it first.

Then the others follow later

• albagmane on May 07, 2010 at 10:32 pm

guess the M5 will make it look like a killer… M5 rocks!

• Piara on May 07, 2010 at 11:18 pm

Quite a disgrace. The N52 engine is a 6 year old engine. It came out in 2004. So, old engine in a new car. And priced exorbitantly at RM399,000. Now, globally, they are using N53.

The 2.5 was in the 325i in 2005 and it had 218 Bhp. Now the F10, 5 years later, has 200 Bhp. Where got logic?

This is regression not progression lah.

So the 2.5 5 series will be only the Malaysian and Singapore market? Or just the Malaysian market alone?

The scares me because all the R & D done in Germany for the 5 series is based on the new 3.0.

Lets all buy 6 year old mobile phones with new housing too. Might as well buy 6 year old plasma TV’s with new body as well.

• sutheshkumar on May 08, 2010 at 12:22 am

323i and 325i runs the same N52 but with different outputs, which is the same for the 523i and 525i.

N53 is basically the replacement for the 23i as from my understanding the 25i is been shelved off the list.

apparently, the 2.5 engine is also used in china for the base 523Li. THe 523Li SE gets that N53 3.0 engine.

• haywire on May 09, 2010 at 3:53 am

They had to cater for Malaysian market, where not many people would buy a car more than 2500 cc because of the mentality about the road tax (RM880 for 2500cc, RM2070 for 3000cc)

Of course they would have to use the old engine, i dont think they would spend millions developing a 2.5 engine specially for the Malaysian market.

• 5-series lover...until now.. on May 08, 2010 at 12:08 am

WHAT IS WRONG WITH BMW DESIGNERS? LOOK AT IT!!! A CAMRY LOOKS BETTER THAN THIS PIECE OF.. I THINK THEY’RE DESPERATELY TRYING TO IMPROVE PROFITABILITY BY TRYING TO CONFORM TO TYPICAL ASIAN DESIGN CUES, WHICH IS WRONG AS THIS DECISION HAVE KILLED BMW’S “CHARACTER”.. KIT DESIGNERS THOUGH WILL HAVE A GOOD TIME SPICING THIS OTHERWISE DOWNRIGHT BLAND AND BORING PACKAGE. NO TO 5-SERIES FOR ME THIS TIME AROUND.

• DiVo D27 (Member) on May 09, 2010 at 9:27 pm

i didn’t even dream of saying tis but entireLy i have to..
      Bro i agRee wit U…
      tis is a BMW went wronG!!

• Sean Lim on May 08, 2010 at 12:51 am

From International Website
    Sedan Models available 523i 528i 535i 550i 520d 525d 530d

• http://auto.big5.enorth.com.cn/system/2010/03/04/004524490.shtml

this is off topic, but worth to discuss.

• Chris on May 08, 2010 at 2:25 am

Damn ugly…
    BMW sucks badly at their design this time!
    how everyone missed Bangle’s design now…
    this is Damn ugly…
    really ugly…
    those rich people will still buy this ugly thing…
    because its a BMW…
    an ugly BMW…
    very ugly BMW…
    hope they flop badly…
    really want them to flop these very very very ugly 5 series and 7 series…
    new 3 series, don’t disappoint us!!!

• ambush on May 08, 2010 at 3:17 am

remember when the e60 first came out many thought that it was butt ugly as well..but as time passes many began to love its design..the same thing is going to happen with this F10…at first i didnt like it as well…but after a while i started to appreciate and understand its design language and im loving the new design now…lol..and im sure it looks fierce in flesh..BMWs are always ahead of their time.

• No wor…i don’t think so….when E60 came out, i already feel impressive to the design, juz so fresh & forward….but this one……probably u r right, its got the own design language……but the design juz lack of forward & dare……even not elegant as e39 somehow……how to say?…….emm…juz not a handsome guy….perhaps..~
      Btw, i think Mercedes E-class hv done a better job for the new genaration~

• fully agreed !

people here are too conservative to accept new thing !

just like E60 headlamp when it was released, many were complaining.

• Disappointing…look at the side windows and you will know that the look is at least 6 years behind. New gen cars have smaller windows with window base line slightly curved. This one the line is straight.

• BlackJKX on May 08, 2010 at 9:19 am

Gila pricey for people like me who dont have that much money to spent in a car.
    People who got money is:
    50% D.P and 36months repayment.

• Alanore Chong on May 08, 2010 at 11:14 am

I like this car indeed, fabulous interior…
    Hope can buy 1 used unit 10 years later, when it depreciated 10 years AND when my income is Doubled, IF I trust what our government said…

• NCB7900 on May 08, 2010 at 11:55 am

cmon.y does it have to look like this.the previous 5ver is way better in terms of looks.y………..y………..argh!!!!!!!!!

• kurikuri on May 08, 2010 at 2:59 pm

they try to create x-factor like audi did.

but they failed. lame.

• Motorist on May 08, 2010 at 3:23 pm

The problem with the new surfacing designs nowadays is that looking at a flat 2D photo sometimes does not do the car justice.

It’s like the W212. Looks fugly from certain angle but in real life, totally different.

My impression of the flat 2D photo of the F10 is that BMW has skip most of the styling cues of the E60 & have decided to make the F10 an evolution of the E39. Thus, you can say it skip a (bad) generation & went back to basics.

It does not surprise me that so many Gen Y here hates the styling cues of the F10. For you, the Chris Bangle “flame surfacing” is your taste, hence the love for the E60/E90 look.

Note that the interior no longer has the cockpit design (ie. tilted towards the driver) but has stuck with the (Jap look) flat centre console. Hell, even Volvo has tried to make it look nicer by having a ‘floating’ centre dash. Why cant BMW learn from Volvo?

IMHO, BMW is right in skipping the Bangle(d) designs & going back to it’s hereditary cues. Heritage is important. It says who you are & where you come from.

• RAZMAN MAJID on May 08, 2010 at 3:30 pm

BMW F10 nice car indeed. Performance wise, E250CGI much better… having both cars in garage isnt bad idea after all.

• cecibo on May 08, 2010 at 3:50 pm

just wait for the facelift or M5

• A330-300 on May 08, 2010 at 4:28 pm

I like it. But it’s seriously out of my reach.

Insurance for the 535i (assuming 0% NCD) will be a whopping RM15k!!! for the 1st year.

• 2fast on May 08, 2010 at 4:53 pm

There was another new BMW model at the F10 launch yesterday. It is a sedan-SUV crossover called the BMW GT. Not a good design, can be considered ugly.

• cool-five on May 08, 2010 at 5:56 pm

M3 power in a stock 535 series … COOL !!!

makes the E60 interior really cheap and dated now.

• This one looks light years better than the W212 – which looks like it might have been designed in mid 1990s. I have not seen so much of the new W212 on the roads despite being launched way back in November. The 3rd generation Toyota Harrier / Lexus RX is a bummer too. Barf designs.

• wait for skd version as M sport has better looking bumper (front). otherwise not proper to have this sedan. a diesel 520d also more sensible option.

• Piara on May 09, 2010 at 8:47 am

How come we are getting the 6 year old N52 engine?

BMW Germany should know that Asian markets prefer 2.5 and below. How come they did not make a new low cc engine for the Asian market?

Is the Asian market not that important for BMW to specially make the effort to come out with a new low cc N53 engine that can handle our high sulphur?

• eeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! on May 09, 2010 at 9:02 am

I saw this f10 in real life and this is nothing compare to the new e-class, especially the new brabus e-class!!!!!!!!!!

The whole world automotive magazine is criticize this f10, which means the first BMW in danger.

For those fully booking usually taukehs to runaway from tax, not even know what’s the design looks like, almost all of them book last year.

• if i getting bmw f10 i drive
    if i getting merc e60 also drive…if audi drive, ferrari drive also, lambo..if any pricey i get just drive maa…who cares

• Definitely ON PAPER Mercedes E250CGI better in many departments. But, once you’re behind the wheel you know how on earth people love BMW, VW, Subaru AWS, Mazda and the likes.

• E Bear on May 09, 2010 at 11:17 am

BMW got big fan club already, can do this kind of thing and still get away with it.

535i got loads of power……sometimes we have all the gadgets but never really use all of them……damn difficult if you are wearing bi-focals.

RM400k quite ok, a bit more pricey and not so logical when you can have a Merc E instead.

When someone can afford this type of cars, the 100k diff….not really significant. Head or heart.

If one really used the head, the Camry is about the same size….ha ha ha. Yup, heart+ego+spare RM, wins the day.

• Maserati on May 09, 2010 at 12:23 pm

Yuck! E class looks way better than this crap!

• Horny_James_H on Jul 03, 2010 at 7:25 pm

Really?dude………………………..CMON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Mazda 3 MPS on May 09, 2010 at 4:57 pm

im waiting for 528i

• Sunguard on May 09, 2010 at 9:22 pm

After seeing the F10 in real life a few times daily for the past 4 weeks or so, I can safely say that this beemer is seriously ugly.
    It looks better in the pictures.

• awg1031 on May 09, 2010 at 10:10 pm

the next dugong has arrived….

• eeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! on May 10, 2010 at 5:41 am

Saw in real life, thumbs down for a BEEMER…

• venven81 on May 10, 2010 at 12:09 pm

well well now that beemer is adapting turbo into their cars and wot happened to those powderful inline NA engines that those beemer drivers were so proud of eh?
    again, look at the interior of a $400k so-called luxury car… damn 9 empty and can anyone call it elegant? gosh…. anyway beemer has nv excelled in this department, or has it? lol

• REPLY on May 11, 2010 at 9:10 am

E-Class is better than this

• wochomi on May 11, 2010 at 3:36 pm

Good that BMW went back to its original classy design instead of spiraling up the Gundam theme (of the E60).
    I’ll probably get one of these for Christmas.

• Nikana Reklaw on May 24, 2010 at 10:19 pm

Agree. E60 is still theSTUD and F10 is a mere DUD.

But go beyond the looks and slip behind into the cabin of both the E200 and the 523i.

There is no comparison.

The F10 has Comfort, Normal, Sports and Sports+ modes. It really is like owning 4 different beemers for the price of 1. Comfort comes with Active Damping… softens everything and this is where it’s closest to the E200. But switch to Sprts mode and at the slightest tap of the accelerator, it feels like the E60 525i. In the Sports+ mode however, even the Merc 250 CGI is gonna eat beemer dust. It transforms into a sports car. And the roar of the engine is formidable.

I too find the exterior design lame-ass. That Van Hooydonk is a donkey. No imagination was required to come out with his design.

But thanks to his colleagues in the engineering department, they got everything else right.

I’m sold on the F10’s performance and drive quality. Even Jeremy Clarkson, the grumpy Uncle from UK who rarely showers BMW cars with praise couldnt help but endorse the F10 as the car which “has the best of everything”.

But I gotta say, the RM400K price tag for the 523i is utter rubbish. This is BMW Malaysia greed at work. Even if they offer it at RM330K, I wanna see it come with the full navigation-voice activation shit which the current CBU is devoid of. Otherwise, I’ll keep my money and buy a terrace house instead.

• i hv seen few units on the road but they r not really handsome if compare to e60 with m5 bodykits…

• noname on Aug 02, 2010 at 11:56 am

awesome!

• I think the interior of E Class is much better and class. The speedometer is coming to its age already. Nowawdays Japanese or Korean cars have better speedometer design. Ya I do agree that the design looks some what conservative than the previous model which created many comments and critics. But rest assured whatever the good and bad comments stated, BMW lovers will still buy it and churn up the sales volume. After all, its still a BMW badge.

• Eng Koh on Sep 02, 2010 at 11:20 pm

The 12 speakers in the F10 523 might as well have been picked up from the municipal rubbish dump. No bass, everything sounds sand papered, even the beat. I have never heard speakers so bad in a car, what more a luxury car. At RM383,800 bmw malaysia can go **** themselves.

• Eng Koh on Sep 07, 2010 at 10:12 pm

My friend’s in-laws bought the 523i skd version only to find out the voice control only controls the telephone whereas in the 3 series and old E60 it controls everything fr radio to navigation. And even then the voice activation for telephone can’t dial. After complaining to dealer and dealer forward complaint to bmw malaysia for weeks, nothing is done. They are still waiting in frustration. Word of advice: dont buy. BMW Malaysia cant get its act together.

• natalia on Sep 07, 2010 at 10:14 pm

im going for the merc or audi

• yaloh11 on Sep 20, 2010 at 8:37 pm

wow!!!!!!!!!it looks stunning………can’t take my eye off it

• colin on Sep 27, 2010 at 3:26 pm

Do not buy. The service mechanics are not well trained and complain that they dont know the car at all since they are not given a test unit to familarise with. They gripe about BMW Malaysia not training them properly and not giving them the F10 to drive. In spite of their clean professional “image” all is rotten in the state of Denmark.