Proton Saga SV to make headway in East Malaysia

Proton_Saga_SV_013a

Proton Edar expects to sell at least 4,000 units of the Proton Saga SV yearly in Sabah, reports Bernama. According to Edar CEO Hisham Othman, nearly 1,000 bookings have been recorded for the car in the East Malaysian state.

The nationwide booking count has now surpassed 8,000 (up from 6,000 late last month), around half of which are expected to translate into sales. Hisham said this exceeded expectation, considering the entry-level Saga variant has only officially been on the market for three weeks. “You can own this car for as low as RM280 monthly payment (in Sabah),” he said.

Bernama also reports that neighbouring Sarawak is expected to contribute a significant market share for the Proton Saga SV. “Our previous sales trend showed Proton Saga sales of all variants accounted for 15% of Proton sales in Sarawak,” the national news agency quoted Hisham as saying.

He also said the company was trying to reduce the price gap between East Malaysia and the peninsular. Consumers in Sabah and Sarawak have to bear an additional RM3,000 in freight costs, which include storage, shipping, transportation and insurance.

The national carmaker has 12 outlets in Sabah and 13 in Sarawak. The Proton Saga SV is sold at a starting price of RM36,138 in both East Malaysian states.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Jimmy on Jul 05, 2013 at 1:15 pm

Very good. Who supported you? Majority of your supporters buy Toyotas & Mercedes, or Proton? Think about it. Think about your rakyats, they are your anaks.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 129 Thumb down 5
    • Higher Expectation on Jul 05, 2013 at 2:39 pm

The sales is not up to expectation is it? Why they need to shout about this every week if the acceptance level is high?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 123 Thumb down 18
    • Jimmy on Jul 05, 2013 at 5:30 pm

What is the smallest price gap between East and West among all new cars sold in Malaysia?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 0
  • maserati on Jul 05, 2013 at 1:51 pm

Why bother buying saga sv as it is not safe.

Go buy VW. Then you can be successful as me and become keyboard warriors.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 170 Thumb down 113
    • masakroti on Jul 05, 2013 at 2:08 pm

*PUKE* Successful as being pondan !!!

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 142 Thumb down 121
    • Veneno on Jul 05, 2013 at 8:15 pm

jangan takabur la bro.. bukan semua orang kaya like you smpai dpat beli VW.. haiyaa..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 3
    • Luqman_HKM on Jul 18, 2013 at 12:53 am

Oh ok… Now give us RM100k to buy a VW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • I though it was Lamborghini Gallardo SV :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 35
  • cheap because low quality.. plotong always low quality.. only poor people will buy plotong.. if u got money better buy vios..

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 142 Thumb down 150
    • vios?? no thanks..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 125
    • sekeper on Jul 06, 2013 at 7:09 am

u want cheap & high quality???
      i bet u wont found it in this world…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 124
      • marang kepunden on Jul 11, 2013 at 1:59 pm

not cheap and high quality you moron.. hehe
        should be : quality at correct price..
        but sadly : low quality at super exaggerated price
        brainless indons like you hard to understand..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 1
  • selena on Jul 05, 2013 at 2:19 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 192
    • got no money baik bawa basikal..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 36
    • I agreed your view from a certain angle but I think you miss the point, because of proton we can’t afford other so called imported car with much much lower price. Because of proton we force to buy local car with (a) Milo tin kind of quality (b) Low price with low spec (mind you they should have include in the air bags long2 time ago not NOW only bundle with their stupid SV models!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 196 Thumb down 40
    • kepaleacikhang on Jul 05, 2013 at 3:43 pm

ah ko…proton tolong rakyat… proton tolong rakyat…kaple auntie ko…kreta local pun ade excise duty, patutnya utk local tak payah kene duty supaya kreta local lagi murah & supposely to be affordable for all rakyat, not making the less fortunate more burden…mmg kete semahal n selamat pon boleh accident tapi fikir lah quality…impact sikit pon jadi macam sayur kobis dah ape lagi kalau impact yang kuat…meninggal terus…good job proton pak cik kau lah ! lu pikir lah sendiri assalamualaikum….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 165 Thumb down 70
      • abuya123 on Jul 05, 2013 at 6:07 pm

Hmmm…. kutukan kaw2 punya. siap bagi salam…. tapi ada 40 like dalam tempoh tak sampai 2 jam. Komen lain sikit je like dan unlike

Cybertroopers detected !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 66
        • mostly yg tekan button like tu org indon.. jgn heran bila aku kata yg org indon juga monitor paultan. Mereka jeles Proton dapat design keta sendiri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 71
          • Ye la. … design sendiri la, mencipta nama di persada dunia la, ….

Even with all these syok sendiri term, the product still a crap.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 18
          • still better than talk kok only.. like amoi..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 62
          • Talk about tok kok. That’s Proton’s specialty.
            1. Asia’s answer to BMW

2. Wah! Lucky I didn’t book the other model.

3. Preve is better (even sales is so low)

4. Aim to regain no 1 spot in 2015, 2016, 2017 …. ntah bila.

5. F, FL, FLX, FLX+, FLX++, FLX+++

6. Pesaing kita yang kecil telah menjadi besar. Proton bila lagi?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 3
          • penyokong proton indon on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:08 pm

salahhhh govt bayar indon jd cybertrooper ‘like’ comment puji proton… sudahlah.. jgn nk membodohkan org la,,,

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 2
    • Abg Long on Jul 05, 2013 at 5:13 pm

i hv to agree with u selena. this is really good job. all the best proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 67
  • jibby on Jul 05, 2013 at 2:22 pm

i think i’ll pass. i’m gonna wait for saga sdv (expected to launch on 2018, right after the GE14). sdv stands for super ‘duper’ value. bolehland car pricing always amused me by the way :D

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 22
  • imran on Jul 05, 2013 at 2:31 pm

8000+ bookings within 20 days.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 63
    • After 3 months lots of public auction at open yard…mostly default car loan repayment units…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 159 Thumb down 10
    • kepaleacikhang on Jul 05, 2013 at 4:00 pm

8000+ bookings, after educating them 7999+ cancel their bookings. the one and only hard head donkey left is gotta be you. enjoy your SV sir !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 41
    • penyokong proton indon on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:12 pm

ya ya ya bla bla bla we welcome 8000+ proton bashers to come in the future.. good good later we going to have more people in our side.. buy buy.. bashers have nothing to do with their money..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
  • Gogodolls on Jul 05, 2013 at 2:36 pm

Seriously Proton & Perodua just close shop and make way for a better safety and price of other cars for whole Malaysian. Now everyone can own a VW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 32
    • Ask Malaysia Government to enforce the UN R94 & R95 regulation first.
      Then we can see which car don’t comply the requirement.

http://www.jpj.gov.my/web/guest/status-senarai-kenderaan-yang-tidak-mematuhi

http://www.jpj.gov.my/c/document_library/get_file?uuid=4422d600-27af-4a8e-870c-a4f7e58a4075&groupId=10157

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • what so good about VW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • thai without national car but with manufacturer backup oso give thai people car with non or one airbag for lowest spec model..don say i talk bull..search the info urself before said i talk bull

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Megavalve on Jul 05, 2013 at 2:40 pm

Only fit for 3rd world country…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 28
  • bvc100 on Jul 05, 2013 at 3:01 pm

Want a VW, then earn a VW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 17
    • Lidaht on Jul 05, 2013 at 3:07 pm

Bro bvc100. The problem is, we all can own a VW but what had the govt done to us?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 15
      • kepaleacikhang on Jul 05, 2013 at 3:49 pm

with lower tax duty i think most of the rakyat can own a VW, proton no confidence on their product quality, even hyundai is making its way up unlike your proton here still stuck stuck…here copy copy, there copy copy…all sleeping goyang kaki earn money…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 11
        • thai with low excise similar tax….the people don buy VW oso

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
          • kepaleacikhang on Jul 06, 2013 at 11:35 am

read carefully, understand carefully… when i said “most of the rakyat can own a VW with the lower tax duty meaning “with that kind of price rakyat can afford even VW cars. this doesn’t mean all the people who can afford to buy VW wants a VW. my godness, i have to educate people like you this way to able to understand. please apply some common sense

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
  • sambalbabi on Jul 05, 2013 at 3:46 pm

mehh. s’wakian buys more Hilux than all proton models combined

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 3
    • sylinder on Jul 05, 2013 at 9:51 pm

Yeap…true..

• nope.. u’re wrong.. mostly u can see Saga everywhere in sarawak.. just a few hilux on the road.

• ? vs ! on Aug 11, 2013 at 7:26 am

true, hilux/4wd is everywhere whenever u set yr foot in northern and central region-EVERYWHERE & NO BS guarantee. don’t ask me to check,i live here! u’ll only see saga mostly in southern region which came here for few recent f*-in’ years.if perutdua got itself cheaper price,saga will be the Unbelievable to purchase.but,it’s better to have a car than a bicycle,no ? suit yrself. good God,help proton or whatever they named it. high-way fun fact: have you ever enjoy ocean’s wave on the land,dude ? come here,we’ll show u.there are more to feel than meets the eye.

• Should be Proton Saga SC (Stock Clearance)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 8
  • Dru-Zod on Jul 05, 2013 at 5:23 pm

We are supposed to be high-income developed nation by 2018 (in today’s news). But why is our so called National Car company still producing 3rd world quality cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 11
  • Cheng on Jul 05, 2013 at 5:45 pm

What so many people in pt condemn our national car..don’t because of government policy, you hate them..very sceptical..but i believe you also buy proton right (but not state here)…so please dont hypocrite..n emotional..because of the name of Proton..also perodua..plez333

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • Dru-Zod on Jul 05, 2013 at 7:13 pm

Car prices are so hai that we have to buy the cheapest shit out there i.e. P1 and P2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
  • People have been complaining about awful proton and f**ked-up excise duties for 28 years. 28 YEARS!!! Many many years already lor, complain so much until vomit blood already still complain.

But complain for what? Proton and govt won’t care. They won’t give a sh*t. One ear in the other ear out. For 28 years they have been doing that, one ear in the other ear out. Yell and complain and rally until tahi habis keluar also no use one la… proton and govt are numb up there.

So how? Just don’t buy Proton at all lor. To make a change you must first change. One fine day proton zero sales, see what they’ll do. Then buy what? Don’t buy. Keep driving your current car until the day Proton gets zero sales. Then maybe the govt will do something hopefully for the better and not increase excise duties to 1000%. For those got no car at all just get 2nd hand car lor. Buy from direct owner, not from second hand dealer. 2nd hand dealer also another one, cutthroat cheaters.

Then some people think, wa… Malaysia boleh. Proton reduce price so more people can buy car means Proton cares. For those people, ignore them la. Govt send angkasawan to space means Malaysia boleh, what a joke. I got RM20mil also I can go to space la.

What i’ve said would tick off some of you. You want to flame me, ridicule me just go ahead la. Whatever makes you happy. Really no eye see.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 14
    • rickyll on Jul 05, 2013 at 7:53 pm

Yes, Proton is poor man’s car. What to do, we are all short changed by the government. To point an accusing finfer at Dr. M also won’t help because he is not driving a Proton. At this price, it’s affordable no doubt. I bought a 1.5 l saga back in 1991, it cost me RM31K. So RM36K after so many years is reasonable. Quality wise, I still have hang over from my second Proton which is a Waja. From then on, I vowed not to buy a Proton again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • cherubicbog831 on Jul 05, 2013 at 6:57 pm

hmmm… i was wondering the 8000++ unit order is becoz the Hari Raya is near??? need new car to balik kampung???

• Ramli on Jul 05, 2013 at 6:58 pm

Proton knows that rakyat sure buy their low quality product no matter lots of defects and poor after sales service because of tax structure that favour them all this years. Thats the confidence makes Proton survive till today.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 6
  • kevkev on Jul 05, 2013 at 7:13 pm

2 air bags, sub 100bhp, 3 star ASEAN ( not euro ) rating. i guess the car is what you pay for, cheap and for the 7eleven trips! (:

• In Europe 75hp or even 60hp cars are still popular. For instance in Italy “L”-Drivers are not allowed to drive cars with more than 80hp.

• Europe lagi. Sikit sikit Europe, sikit sikit BMW.
        European car’s quality are top notch. Proton bila lagi?

• instead of producing world class car and fight with the worlds best, ( like Hyundai Kia), sadly, P1 chose to fight a smaller Jaguh Kampung, P2…and somemore proudly boasting numbers of orders like when launching Preve last time, they will never learn

• pls fix the roads before launching and syiok sindili announce how many bookings, else maybe they should launch a model called.Potong Sampan…but wit their reputation for quality, people would rather swim

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • Dru-Zod on Jul 06, 2013 at 12:28 pm

Well said bro. Getting fed-up with their syiok sendiri statements to the media. They should be getting their cars right before boasting in the media

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Tango on Jul 06, 2013 at 10:40 pm

See the look of the guy behind the wheel!!! Looks like he is behind a wheel of a Porsche..

• hadi75 on Jul 08, 2013 at 7:24 am

“He also said the company was trying to reduce the price gap between East Malaysia and the peninsular. Consumers in Sabah and Sarawak have to bear an additional RM3,000 in freight costs, which include storage, shipping, transportation and insurance.”

So exporting cars to east malaysia, proton charges extra rm3000……meaning more expensive than west malaysia…
    Sell in malaysia…..always expensive but when sell to other market…..cheaper with better specs and better quality…WHY?????

• banglasia on Jul 11, 2013 at 5:21 pm

‘proton has to channel all discount expenses and other costs which include storage shipping transportation and insurance to malaysian in order to maintain user-friendly price for our mostly beloved foreign buyers’

• Clint Eastwood on Jul 08, 2013 at 9:09 am

Hey where is my comment I posted the other day? Why Paul tan did not publish it????

• Superman on Jul 08, 2013 at 9:14 am

Saga SV, then Saga HV ” high value” and after 6 month each Saga has an end.. DRB must look at proton different than the CKD factories they have. Let proton do their R&D and work not force them to cut cost if u want to go global. Let them get proper entering partners to work with and stop the proton staff exodus to other companies.

• Amazing on Jul 08, 2013 at 3:58 pm

Proton ?!? come on…
    Toyota is the best !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • zzzzz on Jul 09, 2013 at 10:04 am

Toyota got problem,honda got problem,merc got problem,bm got problem,VW got problem all this big2 name more than a decade in business but still got problem…but when potong got problem walauweh kecoh satu dunia….poor malaysian thinking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
    • skeleton202 on Jul 09, 2013 at 5:33 pm

i got 2004 honda city and 2005 perdana v6… using both, i have spent rm1k for gearbox treatment, rm400 for a/c and last week rm500 for exhaust leaked while city the only problem last time was the a/c which cost rm350 ..city have 50k mileage higher than v6 but heck v6 already got more error than city…
      still not talking bout the driving exp.. city u drive like a smooth car although it not fast. while v6 when u mute the radio u will hear the plasticity crack sound like a just drive wheelbarrow…
      people not expecting too much but at least care the quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
  • tyrone on Jul 14, 2013 at 10:45 pm

ignore about the quality ..
    the affordable price of proton really help a lot
    of lower income group to buy their first car.

support proton !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
  • amaid on Dec 10, 2013 at 1:50 pm

I like proton because of its handling….4 me its superb..all tq to lotus…gud move from proton….for a 40k-50k++ car its gud in handling side….when u tweak ur proton car handling..it become more superb….but all tanggung sendiri la if xcidwnt or what…hahaha….should build body like a tank…for me..if u like good handling car…u can buy proton..if not…but other imported brand..ok chiow….