Proton announces 42% increase in sales for Q3 2013 over Q2, driven by strong Proton Saga SV numbers

Proton_Saga_SV_0021

Proton has announced that its sales in the third quarter of the year has increased by 27% over the corresponding quarter in 2012, with sales for Q3 this year amounting to 43,260 units. The automaker also added that compared to the second quarter of 2013, there was a 42% hike in Q3 sales.

The rise in sales figures was mainly attributed to the introduction of the Proton Saga SV, which was launched in June. Since its debut, more than 22,000 units of Saga SV have been registered – we reported earlier in the month that the automaker had received more than 30,000 bookings for the car.

“The Saga SV has received overwhelming response from the general public, and we are grateful to Malaysians for this,” said Proton’s commercial chief operating officer Hisham Othman. “We believe that the Saga has always had a soft spot in the hearts and minds of Malaysians, and with its USPs and highly competitive pricing, the car will continue to strengthen its position as the consumer’s preferred choice of an entry-level sedan,” he added.

Proton also mentioned that its Suprima S hatch has also been receiving strong interest from customers since its launch in August, but didn’t reveal sales figures for the car. The five-door hatch is set to make its debut in its first overseas market, which is Indonesia – the car is being officially launched in the republic tonight. Next up will be Australia, in November.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• from launch till now i only able see 1 Proton SS on the road..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 15
    • abuya123 on Oct 30, 2013 at 2:32 pm

In one day, I spotted SV around 3 or 4 on the road. FLX everywhere…

Quite strange because I thought malay is no 1 buyer of SV during launch. But now I see most driver is chinese. Do malay loyal with viva?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 59
      • theanswer on Oct 30, 2013 at 3:12 pm

chinese will buy something based on its worth. tayah membazir. hehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 24
        • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 31, 2013 at 9:24 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 105
          • FaridRashid on Oct 31, 2013 at 9:41 am

I can agree with Proton for a low class car for low income people (family) but not for low class people. There also high class people that used proton.

High class people should have a high class attitude and respect, not to have a craps and low class attitude bullshitting others and look low on other people. Respect others to get higher respect in your life!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 132 Thumb down 0
          • You have high income doesn’t mean that you are high class people!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 2
          • imPoorButNotLowClass on Nov 20, 2013 at 5:35 pm

use proton doesnt mean they’re low class…some use BLM but live in 500k RM condo and some use honda civic but live in 100k 2B1R flat…betui ka bohong??

• pirlo on Oct 30, 2013 at 3:14 pm

nothing to do with races towards national car brand. all in all, we are all malaysian, together supporting malaysian product.
        err.. kedai 1 malaysia? err.. errr..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 8
      • Apa Lagi Cina Mau? on Oct 30, 2013 at 4:38 pm

Those chinese have upgrade from kapchai to Saga, try to spot chinese riding a kapchai nowadays.

Your luck is 1 in 100.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 63
        • im in luck maybe coz 1 of my ch****e fren use kapcai…nowaday many ch****e especially the young one feel kapcai is low class..if u see ch****e on kapcai 99% is old one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 32
          • Muhibbah Always on Oct 31, 2013 at 9:51 am

KZM, every posting in other posts in PT you talk about Chinese, Indian and Malay. You like to stir racial hatred in this blog is it? We all know kzm and abuya123 is SAME person

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
          • Muhibbah Always on Oct 31, 2013 at 9:53 am

kzm, don’t be racist lah. All other postings you stir racial issues.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
        • Most Chinese people are rich and second is Indians… they drive import car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 30
        • Come on lah a lot of Chinese ppl drive import car already! unlike those ppl drive the 20 years old car Wiralution or Wajalution lolx

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 30
      • No Racism on Oct 30, 2013 at 4:46 pm

What a racist statement. Buying a car has nothing to do with race. Its people like you that are racist. Tak malu ke cakap macam ini? What are you trying to prove? We are all one Malaysians. Shameless person!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 7
        • You all always claim that everything now is about 1malaysia, but in reality its not about 1malaysia. Consumers can be segmented through race, period. In similar fashion to our country’s sad political system: race based.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 21
          • thats y we must close race based school..it do more harm than gud… wat i see gov is to scare to close those school coz they have backing from ch****e politician from both side of fence plus powerful businessmen…n gov still need ch****e support even oni 10-20% coz 80% of b*** especially m**** mostly gov supporter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 51
          • stupidpontiac on Oct 31, 2013 at 12:09 am

To macai kzm
            are u sure 80% of b*** especially m**** support bn, where u get that value? how come bn government only get 43% of the vote? macai always talk nonsense. puii.

why dont we close the m*l*y school as well. everyone use english just like in singapore. stupid macai. puiii.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 28
          • Macai? on Oct 31, 2013 at 8:37 am

stupidpontiac, do we have SJK(M)? Never seen before SJK(M)..and I do support what Singapore do for their education system. Id Singapore can use English/Chinese for their school, why not Malaysia use English/Malay…with one school system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 24
          • Muhibbah Always on Oct 31, 2013 at 9:54 am

KZM, pls stop stirring racial issues again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
          • Muhibbah Always on Oct 31, 2013 at 9:55 am

This a a car blog lah, not racial or schooling system topic. kzm, stop it lah. People fed up with you. Semua kaum sama lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
          • i agree that we must CLOSE RACE BASED SCHOOL.. school is the best place to start learning about 1Malaysia..
            ooo this saga is ok :)

• LetsUniteUnderBangsaMalaysia on Oct 30, 2013 at 5:42 pm

Why Malaysia, people call themselves based on their race – Malay, Chinese, Indian etc.

Do you know in Indonesia, Philippines and Thailand, they call themselves Indonesian, FIlipino or Thai, regardless of whether they are Chinese, Indian, Indonesian, Thai or Filipino?

We clearly have to do some major progress in order to move forward as a nation.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 2
        • 1Malaysia on Oct 30, 2013 at 7:49 pm

We can have a “Bangsa Malaysia” just like Indonesians are proud of themselves.

To make it happened, we need a drastic changes and actions. For instance, there is no races-based school in Indonesia. Therefore, Makaysia need to dissolve and diminis all vernacular schools(SJK(C) & SJK(T)) and use only Malay language and restricts all races based festival celebration just like Indonesia and Thailand did. In Indonesia and Thailand, no one is allowed to use a Chinese nor Indian names in their birth certificate and official businesses and only Malay (pronounce as Indonesian) name is allowed.

Call me a racist but this are what Indonesia and Thailand
          are doing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 67
          • SaudaraGagasan on Oct 30, 2013 at 10:20 pm

Im an Indonesian expat living in Malaysia. Actually you are not quite right about Indonesia, In Indonesia you can speak your own language and celebrate your own festivals. On TV, Muslims and Christians can have their prayers broadcast live. There is religious inter tolerance and muslims and non-muslims can get married without conversion. We have mosques, churches and island full of Hindus and other religions. So we are not quite indifferent to races or religion as you mentioned.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 46
          • Yes we can use only 1 language but can u only eat the Roti Canai?

• 1Malay tak ada sial on Oct 31, 2013 at 12:38 pm

In Thailand, the chinese and siamese share same religion, nearly same tradition and culture. Even in thai pronouncation it almost same as hokkien and teowchew. The chinese there doesn’t feel themself been sideline unlike here. Malay are the master race with their master religion.

There you have your own privilege, so how you want others staying under the same roof with you?

And your UMNO now keep brainwash the Malay about chinese going to rules this country by changing the constitution blablabla.

Now you want to talk about 1Malaysia? Nah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
        • Ohhhh that’s the cold, hard truth.

But what to do, this is not a problem we created, blame the British for our racial segregation. Then again, no need to, Britain is being overrun by smarter and richer foreigners from their former colonies. What goes around does come back round.

For now, Malaysia is still in the ‘tolerance’ state. We haven’t reached ‘acceptance’ yet. But so far, in all the world’s multicultural countries, none have been too successful in racial equality. Even the US has its problems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 15
          • Tiong on Oct 30, 2013 at 10:31 pm

.. And we are still idolising the Brits, their soccer and their crappy cars!

• don^don on Oct 30, 2013 at 10:28 pm

to each its own, the Saga SV is really worth its money, and many fresh grads are opting to buy SV instead of driving bikes. it’s safer too compared to viva which is a small hatch. nothing to do with race.

the only downside is the FC, hopefully proton can further improve on that.

• Saga BeLum Masak on Oct 31, 2013 at 12:18 am

Wait a second….!!!

Isn’t it the race that we are supposed to talk here in PT is just RACE CAR….? Or just plainly about RACING…..

Stop all the crap and let us just talk about CAR….!!!

• If i were a poor men, i’ll choose Myvi over Proton bcoz the seat is very high and very bad handling!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 40
      • qwerty on Oct 30, 2013 at 7:42 pm

Are you joking??

I myself drive a MyVi SE and its handling is nowhere near my sis’ Saga FLX 1.6L.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
        • I drive my friends car b4, FL and Myvi Extreme… both suckk and low quality but i prefer Myvi seat and the interior! btw i own a German car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 40
          • qwerty on Oct 31, 2013 at 7:40 am

Who really cares about the car you drive? We’re now talking about the statement you made about the handling of both MyVi and Saga.

btw, I only drive my MyVi to get me from my house to my hangar! Sounds bullshit? Yes it is; and the same goes to your “I own a German car” statement. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
      • Low Budget on Oct 30, 2013 at 9:07 pm

MyVi? Oh! It cost RM 10K more than the Saga, with the RM 10K a poor man can have plenty of meals. MyVi really is an over price car considering that it has the same preferential treatment by the Gomen, just like the Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
        • qwerty on Oct 31, 2013 at 7:46 am

I agree, although I chose the MyVi. :(

The Saga is much more spacious and stable at high speed. The MyVi basically has the same specs as the Saga FLX 1.3L but no idea why it’s so much more expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
          • tiadaid on Oct 31, 2013 at 10:30 am

The extra 10K is to pay for the badge. Perodua = Poor man’s Toyota.

More like stupid man’s Toyota actually.

• _xXx_ on Oct 30, 2013 at 6:18 pm

I beg to differ. I see one everyday. The one collecting dust in a show-shelter…

• local car is a scarcity at kuchai lama, imported cars dominated the road. Can spot lexus everywhere easily. Feels like in langkawi.

• It’s normal man. I’ve myself seen less than 10 in the last month.

The Suprima was never meant for Malaysia, we are secondary. The real target for the Suprima is its export markets.

• Suprima for export markets? KAH KAH KAH

How many bijik sold in Australia? Zero sales in Singapore? HA HA HA

• maverick on Oct 30, 2013 at 10:56 pm

Agree…and me too, today is the first time i saw proton SS in Kota Kinabalu road, making it very very rare…maybe at that price, people are willing to top up another 10000 and get the 4×4 pickup due to the road condition in borneo.

• Let the bashing begins.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Pontiac on Oct 30, 2013 at 1:55 pm

Janji ditepati

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 28
    • kadajawa on Oct 30, 2013 at 2:35 pm

Proton should give free one Savvy if Suprima sales still gone bad…jualan murah harga gudang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
      • no name on Oct 30, 2013 at 6:46 pm

savvy is longer in production la…dont be such as katak bawah tempurung…

• stupidpontiac on Oct 30, 2013 at 3:59 pm

janji dicapati. how come nvr smack me yet. stupid macai. puii.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
  • It means that Malaysia need low price car – the majority of Malaysian. Yes, overprice have their own field but again Proton need volume to survive. Price apart, quality is another.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
  • Majuperak on Oct 30, 2013 at 2:09 pm

Quote …. Proton Suprima has also been receiving strong interest ….. ???? Oh really but declined to give figures ! LOL

Another niche product or bluntly put. … failure !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 17
    • kadajawa on Oct 30, 2013 at 2:37 pm

Strong interest only…after look at price RM80K sure the buyer go book Vios instead…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 29
    • That’s like Lamborghini too, received strong interest from everyone, but low sales

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
      • hondaman on Oct 30, 2013 at 3:29 pm

Low sales because 1 unit sold, you can operate a kereta sewa bisness using a fleet of Saga SV

• Saga BeLum Masak on Oct 31, 2013 at 12:27 am

The only strong interest I see for P in bolehland is the Loan INTEREST is the highest among all new cars….!

Whose fault is that…..?

• Johnny on Oct 30, 2013 at 2:31 pm

This is what i call CAR! Cheap and Powerful!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
  • wahedenator on Oct 30, 2013 at 2:34 pm

Who gonna buy Suprima S after dissapointing test drive?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 41
    • theanswer on Oct 30, 2013 at 3:13 pm

mind to elaborate? just wanna know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • correction – “AMAZING test drive”

Maybe it can’t match the handling of my parent’s 3-series, but Suprima is definitely a very fun to drive car. Very direct and communicative chassis/suspension. It’ll obey you even if you throw it into any bend. Reminds me of my parent’s old Ford Lynx RS.

But I’m just a college student…………

• Poor Malaysian are poor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
  • Jeffrey Chew on Oct 30, 2013 at 2:37 pm

Nothing to be proud of..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
  • I’m not anti proton, but by now proton should clearly see which segment its target market belongs to.

Remove those fancy stuff. for example, android HU is a big no. Basic preve/suprima, manual box, with safety equipment remains will be a hit.

Cmon, you supposed to be ‘private’ owned company now. Your strategic dept should be able to see this. Bite the bullet and produce what majority want, not some unsellable product for false pride.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 6
    • Proton staff on Oct 30, 2013 at 6:13 pm

Sampai bila proton nak bagi cheap car. Need to improve la give some new tech. Bagi salah, tak bagi salah. That is why the forecast for C segment hatch is low. It is not a priority, just to set the benchmark for future proton car to have that same global and homologation standard. It is sad that previous proton models before Preve disregard safety and homologation, just to meet the low price bracket demand.

The B segment always volume. Proton always and focus on this segment. Next year new B segment hatch, see lah public want better safety B segment spec, than wait for that car. After that new saga will be born base on that new platform. So, that is the priority.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • Low Budget on Oct 30, 2013 at 9:17 pm

Yes, Proton needs volume, therefore Proton must improve on quality of the B Segment cars and price it reasonably, the 1st target is to ‘whack’ the over price Perodua cars. I am sure slowly Proton will win back the support of all Malaysians. The latest version of Sagas has been proven quite OK, so don’t get complacent, Proton.

• Is thr any news or info about rumoured preve sv and persona sv??

• Public want non-Proton car la.

• victortan on Oct 30, 2013 at 3:01 pm

Fact: Only cheapskate wants their own car label as SUPERVALUE with no shame.

For me, car is something more than just a transport and we consumer deserve more than Toyota kosong Vios and this SVs.

I rather work hard for something else.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 37
    • victortan on Oct 30, 2013 at 4:10 pm

And yes we do need a car that cost RM33k-35k but not a strip down version of a already BASIC car with a label of “I,m a cheapo” at the back!
      The next saga should be more improved or refined and price competitive, yet this silly thing comes out and what a big step back for Proton.

Don’t get me wrong, I do want Proton to be success…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 19
      • Low Budget on Oct 30, 2013 at 4:51 pm

Why you are a shame of “I am cheapo” logo meh?
        Not many people can afford Toyota and Honda lah bradder. At least having a Proton Saga is better than none right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
      • ghana on Oct 31, 2013 at 12:01 pm

Not cheapo, this one has 3 star Asean NCAP safety rating. No shame.

• That’s only your opinion.. I believe that the most expensive car you will buy still have 4 tires :P In one way, your car still similar with their cheapskate

• there is no shame in being cheap for cars.
      it is depriciatie assets. the value goes down immidiately after u bought them.

why should people buy expensive cars if only it were to be used in short distance? better buy a supervalue cars and then invest your money to buy housing. thats a smarter choice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
    • victortan on Oct 30, 2013 at 6:29 pm

It’s not only my opinion, I bet many of other Malaysian have the same idea as mine, respect to those who reply my post though.

I mean I want to see progression in Saga and I did; from BLM to FL to FLX. In fact I think Proton is doing better with FLX and then here comes the SV. If you look into those successful stories in car industries, a car should be constantly improved not downgraded to meet a lower price level. A cheap car should have been cheap from it’s scratch and design, not by half way down stripping its equipment. It’s wrong.

Ya, you might think I’m silly because my thought of car is more than just a transport or an depreciate asset. But hay we are all different individuals, my passion towards car is diffeeent than yours.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
      • Victortan- I understand what you want to deliver. Half of it, I agree especially about passion to a car. However, you need to realise that some of car model did not made for a car enthusiast but are made for great daily driving. Such cars like Saga, vios, Prius, mirage, city, myvi, viva. These are boring cars but at same time are good cars for daily driving. And of course for daily driving you would first consider the cost to buy and FC which are important factors that made them successful in their sales.

• talk talk on Oct 30, 2013 at 3:34 pm

In malaysia, At the price of rm33k-rm35k we only can get this Saga SV. Because we no choice.! But in other country, the citizen get more better build and quality and nicer design car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
    • Too add: But in other country, the citizen get more better build and quality and nicer design car AT A CHEAPER PRICE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
      • Pinky on Oct 30, 2013 at 5:28 pm

As well as more specs and safety features!

• 1Malaysia on Oct 30, 2013 at 8:00 pm

But dont be fooled. Yet the car price is not as expensive as what we Malaysians are experiencing, the cost to own a car in otger countries far way expensive than us i.e petrol, insurance, car park rental charge, road tax and few other things. But most of these countries are having a very good public transportation services and they are really efficient to compensate the total cost of owning a car.

• Low Budget on Oct 30, 2013 at 4:55 pm

Transportation wise, it is quite unfortunate to be a Malaysian don’t have car also ‘susah’ have car also ‘susah’. Most can only afford to buy either a Viva or Saga due to price control by the Gomen.

• Bukapintubayartol on Oct 30, 2013 at 3:37 pm

Why suddenly Proton offering sales figure information? They have not been sharing their sales numbers with MMA in over a year oredi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • banglala on Oct 30, 2013 at 4:36 pm

Because they BANGGA LAH while Perodua only show 5.7% increase of sales.

• wan jamak on Oct 30, 2013 at 3:43 pm

i’m using the saga for my daily usage. my wife uses viva to work (which is about 10mins drive). i keep the Alphard for weekend/outing drives only. proton, perodua, toyota. to me there are all supervalue, as there are performing very well within their given boundary.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
  • Yippie on Oct 30, 2013 at 4:01 pm

For Saga SV, its not that the ppl buying are supportive towards the car but ppl buying cars at the price range don’t really have a choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • It’s been 2 and a bit more months since the launch of the Suprima and I have yet to see any other road going units beside the test-drive units circling my area. In contrast, I’ve seen more of the much more recently launch(and dearly hated) Vios popping around like wild mushroom. Maybe it is because many people are waiting for the Vios to launch to compare, I don’t know.

The Suprima really didn’t have a good star,chiefly due to the announce fuel figure(9.1l/100km) is not only worse than its competitors , but also it’s cheaper bro the Preve(8.2l/100km),the obvious competitor, the Vios, is tested by PT for 8.6l/100km, even with its’s museum piece for an engine. Adding insult to injury, only a few weeks after its launch, BAM! fuel prices increase. Add to that, even thou it’s sportier-looking, you are actually slower than its cheaper sedan brother. So you are basically paying for a 2 curtain airbags and a fancier head unit, something that people won’t mind sacrificing for better fuel economy and cheaper price tag.

It is Proton’s own product line cannibalizing Suprima’s sales. Like kbw said, I rather Proton ditch those head-unit and replaced the CVT for good-ol manual to at least differ the Suprima from the Preve. After all, manual will definitely enhance the driving experience of the Suprima, the biggest advantage it has over its eastern Asian counterparts, it may also bring better fuel figures.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
    • volker on Oct 30, 2013 at 5:18 pm

Vios real KL fc sucks. Better buy saga SV. Saga SV TOC is much much cheaper and can pay the money saved for fuel and house loan.

• kadajawa on Oct 30, 2013 at 5:27 pm

Suprima SV must be looking very weird in plastic rim cover…kereta sport kampung LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • at least Proton plastic rim covers looks better than Ford Focus 1.0’s super small+ugly alloy rims.

• The rim can always change, I just need that CFE+manual combo.

• kadajawa-sucs on Oct 31, 2013 at 11:42 am

At least it’s cheap 33K car, what about prius? It’s >100k car still have veeerrrrryyyy weird plastic rims? You better call that kereta hybrid kampung LOL

• tiadaid on Oct 30, 2013 at 6:11 pm

I’ve seen a couple of Suprima on the road already (private owners, not test drive units). It seems Blue is a majority.

As for fuel consumption, I’ve seen my friend’s 308 Turbo reach worse consumption in mixed driving and yet it doesn’t hinder their sales.

• To be honest, I should have clarify I have seen a few, all are unregistered (no-number plate) unit, but they are probably just being delivered off to their owners. As for the fuel consumption part, the 308 Turbo has some actual performance to support that nasty FC, and it has a European lineage. o be more specific, the 308 has its own target customers, The Suprima on the other hand not only has to fend off better more establish brands and models with its already (and I do admit)lesser brand image, it has its own sedan brother which on paper, looks like a better buy. The Preve has better performance and FC figures(and I like to add interior, but thats personal)for a lower cost, yes RM7k is still money for some people, and it is enough for some to look past the 2 side curtain and Android headunit.

• Mental on Nov 01, 2013 at 3:01 pm

Its noy onlu 2 side curtain airbags compare to its bro preve. Proton actually quite bad in marketing their suprima S.
          In comparison to preve, suprima S added the following features:
          1. DRL (day-time running lights)
          2. EVP (electric vacuum pump)
          3. 17″ RIM
          4. More firewall protection to reduce noise
          5. New revised VT3+ gearbox compared to VT3 in preve
          6. Updated ECU and TCU software for better performance
          7. Hill-hold assist
          8. curtain- airbags
          9. front parking censor
          10. Android HU
          11. reverse camera
          12. leather seat and trims
          13. 6 speakers

So its actually improved alot. Its normal for them to increase their price as well

• Proton staff on Oct 30, 2013 at 6:23 pm

C segment hatch is NOT a volume segment. Proton knew this. Their forecast for this segment is very low. Even in development stage, Suprima S is not meant for local market. The Suprima S is their benchmark car in terms of safety and homologation for future Proton cars in much lower segment. Proton always priced their car at one segment lower than it supposed. It should be that way, or else, siapa nak beli Proton suprima at 130k?

For fuel consumption, it is a C segment car. The fuel consumption is not much different than other cars on the same segment. Not saying it is a good number, but it is not that bad if you compare it right. Talking about save money, you save more by buying suprima s, than similar car in the same segment. Let say more 30k, over focus, Golf, 308.

It is quite shock that malaysian disregard safety over fuel consumption and brand. Kalau macam ni, sampai bila toyota will never give 6 airbags and vsa/esc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
      • The problem is pricing, when a person looking for a RM100k C-segment, a Suprima will never be in their minds. So I consider the Suprima to be an up-scale B-segment, it will be pitted againts Vios, Rios and Citys. I can’t compare reliability as the CFE+CVT is too young in the market to see any faults. The only thing I got from my friend’s Preve is that it drinks like an alcoholic in a bar on Octoberfeast . Which is problematic in these months as everyone is reeling from the price hikes, and I don’t mean just fuel, but goods and all those stuff. So, at least for now, people want a reliable, fuel-saving car, the eastern countries are giving just that and even worse, Proton’s own Preve is better at that.

And than to the point of safety, now this is where the dislike buttons comes in as I am going to talk against it. What is the point of a full compliment of safety features when your bank-account is draining away your money for your daily drive. It’s not that I am against safety features(I alternate daily between a 90s Saga and a VSA-equipped City, so I know there is difference), but if you are going to buy a car that is probably going to more expensive to maintain than a car with a lesser safety, the only time you would pay your worth is during a crash. In the probably 7 years that you will used the car, you are safer but in the end you still end up worse ‘financially’ than if you gotten another car without the aforementioned safety feature. And if there is something happen to the either version of you in the 7 years, like a accident, how much worse do you fare in the ‘safer’ car, yes you loose your leg in the ‘lesser’car, but how much better are you in the ‘safer’car, in a crash that can generate that much severe injury, you probably not much better, but that will be down the minor variables.

Is not that I am against safety, its still the number one thing I look at at, I am still persuading my friend from getting a new Vios because of it, but safety feature should’t be your ONLY priority, in these days, we still have to make sure we are financially grounded, and a car that is easy to maintain and has a low fuel consumption should also be in the consideration. I do like the Suprima, it shows that Proton is improving, but with that kkind of figures, I would walk towards the nearest Kia or Honda dealership if I am in the market for a car of that price range.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • bongeks on Oct 31, 2013 at 11:22 am

I hope all P1 model priced less 10-20k from current. At 80K for Exora CFE Bold, i expect spec like 5008 or smax. Sorry if i ask too much.

• you can’t really trust Proton’s official figures. Having the same engine but with better tuning, Suprima have the same FC just like Preve CFE. If you careful enough with your foot, you can beat Vios’s FC eventhough got turbo.

0-100km/h is around 8 seconds in S mode. 6.9 secs if fitted with RaceChip. Punch’s CVT is very boring, but it certainly did it’s job very well by sending power to the wheels continuously.

6.9 seconds might sound like impossible, GTI-like figures, but yea, the clutch-based CVT is really good on straight line. Horrible in most driving conditions though.

I guess Proton must sack the team who did the brochure lol.

• Shut up! You insult Vios fans here. Toyota maaa where got so slow, you put TRD sticker alrady 9 sec. you put ah beng bodykit already 7.5 sec. You put HKS stickers already 5 sec. Can beat GTI anyday!

• I haven’t found a Preve that does the sprint in 6.9 second, 7.6 is the fastest I’ve found, but thats not the point of my comment, this is the real world and most in the market for this kind of cars would want a nice low FC figures, If I want a car that goes fast and hit the track, I would look up for all those old 90s Japanese Sports car or even Proton’s own Satria Neo(Preve is too heavy anyways).

The Suprima’s announced figure is the only thing I can trust as there is no ‘tested’ FC figures, well…technically thats not true, there is always fuelly.com where there is 3 Suprimas tested and average out, they all give higher than the Preve’s FC figures. The legitimacy of that site is unknown and I do not trust it fully. than on to the question, why would Proton give a higher FC figures in its introduction, that is marketing fail 101, anyone would have given its best but sometimes un-realistic fugure(see Honda/Hyundai/Ford North America). But based on my friend’s Preve, it is the one thing that she hates with her’s, it is higher than her old Proton(forgotten what model, it was either a Waja 1.6 or Wira 1.5 Auto), so with the announced higher-than-Preve FC figures, this becomes (initially)worrying.

PS: kinda ironic that I posted my main comment yesterday and today I saw my first road-going Suprima S…..in Red(which I think looks better than the blue).

• This is the “6.9 seconds” Preve that I was referring to. Most likely it has upgraded cooling system for the CVT.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qBefqcBq_1Q

Sure, Preves are not made for the track, or whatever… but it’s very nice to have an affordable practical sedan that can turn into a very fun-to-drive car once in a while.. =)

• True. You can’t trust the official figure. It always look good on paper. But the actual stuff is lousy.

• not-my-name on Oct 31, 2013 at 2:57 pm

My Exora Bold also can beat most 2.0L NA cars both sprint and speeding, if u really care about fc, drive wisely and highway distance can go more than 600km with single full tank with 3 adults + 3 kids onboard

• “The Saga SV has received overwhelming response from the general public, and we are grateful to Malaysians for this,” said Proton’s commercial chief operating officer Hisham Othman. “We believe that the Saga has always had a soft spot in the hearts and minds of Malaysians, and with its USPs and highly competitive pricing, the car will continue to strengthen its position as the consumer’s preferred choice of an entry-level sedan,” he added.

Hello! its not like we have any choice right? u implement nap and force us to buy proton and thank us after that…is this some joke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 15
    • Proton staff on Oct 30, 2013 at 6:24 pm

You know what the details on NAP? Don’t simply assume. Most incentive in NAP are not given to Proton, but more towards localisation of automative industries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • stupidpontiac on Oct 30, 2013 at 6:45 pm

exactly! proton is a joke, NAP is a joke, be end government is the biggest joke. and then some joker will tell u “janji ditepati”. hahaha, what a big joke!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 12
      • oblong on Oct 31, 2013 at 9:29 am

Dear YB Rafizi, Gomen will come up with their revised NAP coming this December. So as usual we the RAKYAT hope that YB & Co. will come with ur ‘shadow’ NAP.

• bleukaizen on Oct 30, 2013 at 8:42 pm

aiyo, manyak susah wor…Me flesh glad, lui tiap tiap bulan telima RM 2k saja wor…saga tiga latut..tiap bulan ma…tapi lain mau cover

– luma sewa
    – makan bleakfast, tengah hali, malam
    – balang lumah
    – minyak keleta
    – tiket wayang
    – insulans
    – pegi holiday luar negeli
    – tabung kawin
    – bill talipon
    – bil kalen
    – bil air
    – bil strimiks
    – potong lambut..

aiyo…manyak mau bayar…tapi lupa…sakit kepala mau pikir….cari panadol…nah mau beli ubat…lagi

haiya….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • kwire199 on Oct 31, 2013 at 9:54 am

Itu tiket wayang, insulans, pegi holiday, strimiks kasi cancel…kalau gaji sikit, amik yang mana penting la, makan, lumah, keleta tak payah, pakai moto sudah… Baru grad dah nak semua benda, kata masok university, sendili mau pikir lo…..

Semua benda mao, keja kuat tamao, hali hali makan limao, mahal jugak limao skang ni :P sekian

• saya balu flesh glad, saya mau keja kuat, tapi suma tempat mau EXPELIENCE…apa macam worr?

• medic on Oct 31, 2013 at 2:11 pm

Kalo ada gir fren,semua u sebut di atas kena kali 2.Mati katak liao!

• Maserati on Oct 30, 2013 at 9:22 pm

The true story is the Koreans are worse off than Proton, whom many wise Malaysians have regard as the worst car manufacturer in this land.

So if proton being the worst car manufacturer is able to outsell the koreans, that tells u a lot about the koreans…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
    • Jaguh kampung speaks. You proton never cease to insult intelligent. Keep on to insult the people. Your days are numbered.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • mukhriz on Oct 30, 2013 at 11:39 pm

proton can outsell korean only in malaysia where the most of non-proton brand automatically jacked up its price…

• pok mang on Oct 30, 2013 at 10:31 pm

that’s a clear sign for proton to produce more affordable with various segment car…despite of skyrocketing living cost nowadays, people tend to use a safe, reliable, affordable, easy to maintain and if possible a new car for commuting purpose

• Supervalue? With the removal of passanger’s handles, hood without cover with wires dangling everywhere. Supervalue my foot

• Sedih betul tengok proton masih di takuk lama. Hyundai dan Kia dulunya setaraf proton sekarang sudah berada di persada dunia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • Both companies estanlished long before proton. Go and bash them for not having safest car like qoros even after decades

• Proton should give cash rebates for lost time sending cars for repair warranty.

Sending cars to workshop is a paid leave, who gonna pay for that?

• silvia13 on Oct 31, 2013 at 9:08 am

PROTON di takuk lama??kau mmg butalah bro.
    Yes i agree Hyundai dan KIA was more better than us because our nation doesn’t proud our own product and our goverment and politicman always looking for opportunity to get something from PROTON.
    STOP it and please support our original national car.Please compare Proton Suprima s ,Preve and exora bold with same level of their segment and price.Is about Toyota Vios,Honda City,Kia Rio,Ford Fiesta,Suzuki Swift,Alza,VW Polo sedan,Nissan Almera and peogeut 207.
    I can say performance,stabilty,handling and safety of the car I will choose Proton.
    All proton new model have new technology feature that malaysian people dont know about it such as;
    1.reverse camera – easy to park and safety for your child
    2.isofix-new technology to prevent your baby
    3.smart info display – info about your car
    4.Auto rain & light sensor – auto light when you drive at dark area and auto wiper when rain.
    5.touchscreen audio system and navi
    6.paddle shifter -easy to drive like F1 racer
    7.ESC -Electronic Stability control will help you when your car skidding
    8.RESS – Reinforced Safety Structure
    Proton produced better car now compare with my ex automotive company product with same level of engine cc and price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • supra12 on Oct 31, 2013 at 1:56 pm

Proton is cheap because other competitors price forced to become higher expensive lah. Jaguh kampung memang takut open fair competition…

• Reliability, first & second hand value, look, after sales service, fuel consumption, life cycle, peace of mind, being smarter and don’t-want-to-spend-all-your-annual-leave-for-workshop car most people will not choose Proton.

• farizY on Oct 31, 2013 at 9:57 am

Reading some of the comments, that quickly escalated to a racial issue. Sigh, after 56 years of Merdeka some more.
    Remove the biased tax system, let Proton compete fairly with the big boys of motor world, we’ll see the figures will change dramatically.

• benzs on Oct 31, 2013 at 10:49 am

Support P1 pls vote for “Green” , support P2 pls vote for “Red”.

• delll on Oct 31, 2013 at 11:58 am

Proton is also taxed high, so what?
    Top Gear is nothing, it’s just pathetic automotive jokes better go go for better shows like 5th gear.

• Denaihati on Oct 31, 2013 at 1:22 pm

congratulations protons. please extend the success to other models.

• catnium on Oct 31, 2013 at 1:49 pm

Suprima is a good car BUT with this PRICE i would never think to get it

• manaADAsjk(m) on Oct 31, 2013 at 5:33 pm

i can see that Malay byk beli ini kereta.. chinese mana beli coz 8 out of 10 richest in Malaysia are chinese! true maaa..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • aron hong on Oct 31, 2013 at 6:55 pm

malaysian must change their attitude . i got 4 car in my family first the lattest accord which only loan 60k ( 2years repayment) 2nd vw passat 3 myvi 4 sagaflx (all by cash ) for outstation >300km i also drive myvi & saga . i feel is ok , if i go for mer e or bmw 5 i will loan 100k max why we want to burden ourself for a machine? change attitude!

• Mental on Nov 01, 2013 at 3:12 pm

Its not only 2 side curtain airbags compare to its bro preve. Proton actually quite bad in marketing their suprima S.
    In comparison to preve, suprima S added the following features:
    1. DRL (day-time running lights)
    2. EVP (electric vacuum pump)
    3. 17″ RIM
    4. More firewall protection to reduce noise
    5. New revised VT3+ gearbox compared to VT3 in preve
    6. Updated ECU and TCU software for better performance
    7. Hill-hold assist
    8. curtain- airbags
    9. front parking censor
    10. Android HU
    11. reverse camera
    12. leather seat and trims
    13. 6 speakers

So its actually improved alot. Its normal for them to increase their price as well

• Usagi on Nov 13, 2013 at 7:33 pm

http://cardealermagazine.co.uk/publish/proton-whats-gone-wrong/77199