Proton not taking part in the KLIMS13 motor show

Suprima-S-launch-25

The 2013 edition of the triennial Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show next month will see representation from a number of automotive brands, but Proton won’t be one of them. It’s confirmed that the national carmaker will be not be taking part in KLIMS13.

This was revealed at the KLIMS13 exhibitors round table discussion last week, where MAA president Datuk Aishah Ahmad disclosed that the automaker had decided to opt out of the show. No official reasons were given, but it seems that some of it had to do with the allocated space, or lack of it.

The inability to confirm participation early on saw most of the show space being taken up, and in the end that which was left may not have been possibly up to the company’s expectations – the conjecture goes on.

Whatever the case may be, it’s a bit of a shame, really, given that it’s the national carmaker – in 2010, the company certainly made a bang at the previous KLIMS with five Pahlawan series concepts, the Tuah, Jebat, Lekir, Lekiu and Kasturi, all named after the famous Malaccan warriors. Thus, it’s left to Perodua to fly the flag at the show.

Proton_Saga_SV_0021

Still, despite it not being present at KLIMS13, the automaker looks to be keeping busy – there’s of course the Global Small Car (GSC), targeted to arrive sometime in the first quarter of next year, as well as ongoing work with the Perdana Replacement Model.

Elsewhere, there’s also the slated introduction of the Suprima S to export markets before the year is out, involving the same countries where the Preve is found – Indonesia, Thailand, Brunei and Australia. The car is also heading to the UK, but word is that it’ll be early next year.

Some news on the Proton Saga SV, which was launched in June. The entry-level car has really taken off – at present, the company has registered more than 30,000 bookings for the vehicle.

Two weeks after its launch, the tally stood at 6,000 bookings, and at that point the automaker said it could deliver at least 3,000 units a month to buyers. It also said it could up production of the Saga SV; looks like it’ll have to, with these numbers. Oh, seeing as this one has done very well, another SV variant is reportedly on the way, and pretty soon. What will it be?

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Hugo Pua on Oct 11, 2013 at 3:40 pm

We see other car maker is enough because Proton will buy their car to rebagde instead of design their own.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 227 Thumb down 88
    • Say Who? on Oct 11, 2013 at 5:14 pm

I think you should say that to Perodua laaa

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 181 Thumb down 16
      • Azmi turbo on Oct 11, 2013 at 6:30 pm

At least p2 does not sy we design and R&D our own cars, everyone knows they are daihatsu rebadged. What about proton?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 123 Thumb down 38
        • You want to say preve is a rebadged audi? Funny, after established more than 20 years still people say proton cannot make own cars, lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 112
          • Azmi turbo on Oct 11, 2013 at 7:41 pm

Bro, preve is from DSSZ era where R&D was pride of proton and company just started to jump. The lancer rebadge for inspira was a condition set by mitsu for engine tech transfer project. DRB era is rebadge and brain drain for proton. Preve is a good car, I have one also but there r so many problems with it that makes you think twice,

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 14
          • rebadge audi? lol….dont let your patriotic idea cover your brain. dont let ppl laugh, think before u comment

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 12
          • say who? on Oct 11, 2013 at 9:38 pm

so Azmi turbo, rebadge or not to rebadge?

lancer owner is it? hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 41
          • old satrias, wiras, perdanas, were recycled mitsubishis, campro engine, chassis and handling tuned by lotus, gen2, design cues taken from lotus, inspira, was a straight up joke, preve and suprima were their only recent efforts.
            They had a stylish exterior and all they had to do was to make a car with a good interior, and they screwed that up like a champ.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 7
          • @sto
            Who cares. Audi is more laughable because you won’t even have time to enter SC to get itvrepairef as its queue is very long. Lolololol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 61
          • Nothing wrong with its interior. It’s far better than those in vios and almera. I’m not fancy those soace ship interior in civic too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
          • @sto
            Preve Design was from italdesign. Don’t be so naive or people will laugh at your ignorance. It’s conti exteriorly, at least.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 53
          • @jim, pls read at full, i didnt complaint the interior….i just laught at huff put the preve same level as audi. read full statement before u comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
          • @sto
            Since when i put it at sane level? Nevertheless one can be mistaken a preve without badge is an audi or any brand of conti cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 35
          • @jim, so u are @huff? u think preve without badge can be audi or any conti cars? i really speechless, why u all cant face the reality? learn from others pls. with this kind of attitude how proton improve?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
          • @sto
            without a badge, preve exterior can be any conti or any other cars too for other people. is that too much? btw if you are stupid enough not to do some google, preve got italdesign pen down.

learn what? proton is improving, pereve is 5 stars ancap rating, even new honda got 4. you want to tell that is not an improvement. are you insane?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 38
          • @jim, u secretly change me idea…i say again i didnt complaint about preve interior, so u say ppl stupid which is no work….
            u guys keep saying ancap…ancap means car wont break down? and u change my idea again , i say audi…AUDI not Honda
            its a joke compare reliablity between AUDI with PREVE
            ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 8
          • no perfect car, at least still you have to change tear and wear parts. audi is reliable? lol then go and buy audi. veerrrryyyyy reliable car, lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 39
        • i don know y u all too emo that p1 don join KLIM13..if they join nnti u guy even more emo…so complicated la u guy nih…u guy oso said KLIM is s*** auto show…so y p1 want to join s*** auto show?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
          • Rakyat on Oct 12, 2013 at 11:23 pm

Why proton don’t just shut down like US gov?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 18
          • R u sure? Last time us gov bail out detroit big 3 fm bankrupt..

• Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2013 at 1:20 pm

Only lazy and poor people buy Proton. If you work hard, you will have money. You can then be like most people, buy a good Toyota which has best RV. Don’t blame the world if you are poor. You are poor because you don’t work hard enough and in office you are surfing the net.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 41
      • Don’t worry, Peroduas is just another junk!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
    • Low Budget on Oct 11, 2013 at 6:05 pm

Proton do not need any space for the KLIMS13 because our streets are the place for Proton to show off their Proton cars, see,more than 30K units of booking for Proton SV within a short span, ‘padan muka’ Perodua especially to their MyVi models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 82
      • biar betoll on Oct 12, 2013 at 10:34 pm

macam yes jer, just see did Saga be Malaysia best selling car then.

• U know why? coz they have no idea to design better car! just look at the new Suprima and Preve, fugly! especially the ugly butt! rebagde, save cost and easy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 38
      • meade on Oct 11, 2013 at 7:20 pm

The butthurt level is so high here. Preve is head turners. I wonder why motorists don’t turn their heads to more expensive car like civic, golf, 408 or even beemers, lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 45
        • Preve head turners? just coz it’s too ugly lolx

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 18
          • Then you must be catfish vios and almera fans, lol. Conti design is definitely not for you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
        • Rakyat on Oct 12, 2013 at 4:33 am

Yes, preve is head turner but just that we turn our head away lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 11
          • Ok ok i know you worship those fugly cars and maybe such chicks too, lolololololol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
          • I love Proton, but your comment deserve my like.. haha

• jemm, excuse me i own a Continental car! my god u call that thing Conti design?! very typical kampung design isn’t?!

• mkrlo on Oct 13, 2013 at 8:52 pm

VS,
            LOL you don’t even know what is Italdesign, pity you. I think you should go out from the ‘jungle’

• You are living in denials. I saw them turning their heads following the car, not away from it.

Haters gonna hate, sigh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 20
          • Mat Rempit on Oct 12, 2013 at 11:11 pm

So you turn your head to see them turn their head but you don’t turn your head to see preve?

• Penang Playboy on Oct 12, 2013 at 10:30 am

What?? Head tunrer ??? WAKAKAKKAKAKAKAKAKAKAKKA

• You never stop when it’s red kah? I wonder who proton basher is on the road.

• kiddo on Oct 12, 2013 at 8:18 pm

You prolly don’t drive kid so most time you don’t see if they turn heads or not.

If your father drives older camry, please tell him that even cheapo preve cfe got vsc. It does help in safety.

Haha! Kid nowadays…..

• Motorhead on Oct 12, 2013 at 3:57 pm

Yes especially chicks that turn their head from right to left back to right when you show them proton.

• OMG…Shame on u …P1…no new car to display…puihh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
      • Rakyat on Oct 13, 2013 at 1:00 am

P1 is just eye sore. I don’t want to see the suprimau and the pervert car there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
        • plonk on Oct 13, 2013 at 8:54 pm

Then almera and catfixh vios is beeeauuuutiiifuulllll , lol

Just for you.

• Dun talk cock. You don’t work in Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • aiyaaa
    masuk ka tak masuk ka proton suprima S lagi hebat ma dari vios baru.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 72
    • crank on Oct 11, 2013 at 5:24 pm

Yes boss. Tapi lepas 5 tahun tengok la siapa lebih hebat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 44
      • tgk mcm mana jaga laaa…
        pakai mcm lembu… last last kena sembelih jugak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
      • Kalau dah takde turbo tu buat la cara takde. Lepas 10 tahun pun vios tak bole tarpau preve turbo. Jgn mimpi la. Hahahahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
    • steven on Oct 11, 2013 at 5:50 pm

spec good but is it reliable? proton proof me i am wrong after 5 years. “Jangan salahkan Proton, Proton menbina 700 kereta setiap hari, iaitu 98 saat untuk setiap kereta. Kami tidak mempunyai masa untuk check peralatan kereta” said Syed Zainal (Managing Director of Proton). this what they say after proton savvy stop production due to low quality. forget to say so savvy receive the award car of the year that time

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 10
      • voicer on Oct 11, 2013 at 6:12 pm

I see too many proton cars on road eveyday, not stall at roadside. You must be living in jungle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 55
        • steven on Oct 11, 2013 at 7:24 pm

cos u just see the car on the road , go and look around the workshop, the quality of proton make sure they generate income everyday…u cant simply say i see proton on the road everyday so it sure ok… u cant make a survey like this, only jaguh kampung do this job

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 17
          • So what? u haven’t seen toyota cars on workshop? Proton now a days have improve their quality.. Kia 5 years ago quality like shit..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 42
          • toyota masuk change oil….proton masuk…haiz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 13
          • No. Most cars in worshop are beemer.
            Bmw : banyak masuk worksyop

• blend on Oct 12, 2013 at 10:06 am

Any source or stats when you said you saw proton cars in woekshops?

• @steven
            Then you can’t simply say such thing about proton too. Can you provide us proof and source?

• Yes, can observe Proton are more in the workshop. Yes in term of reliability but also means there are many Proton owners and who can afford the maintenance. Dont forget that there are many BMW,AUDI,PEUGEOT etc that will sell their car after warranty ended. Wanna talk about reliability?? haha.. these conti owner also don’t believe in their car!haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • Of course proton cars are evereywhere coz majority cars in malaysia are protons!!

• Rakyat on Oct 12, 2013 at 11:33 pm

You forgot proton is BMW(Banyak Masuk Workshop) of Asia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
          • @Rakyat
            That’s old story and sudah basi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
      • secret on Oct 11, 2013 at 7:38 pm

yup…that’s true..i’m the savvy owner..the car is pretty cool n very save..now after 6 years,it still save especially for money..i’m very impressed with my savvy..the quality is good..bawa laju x da goyang mcm myvi maa..selekoh kacang saja..alaa macam toyota x da masalah di jepun jer..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 15
        • clioRS on Oct 11, 2013 at 10:57 pm

bro…brp harga accumulator pump savvy, gearbox sensor .. timing kit dn sebagainya time tukar …. kena ikat perut x? hehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 24
          • do u need to change those every service time?

• aLeX Ma on Nov 25, 2013 at 3:11 pm

@steven,
        This is a perfect example how ppl creating lies daily through internet.. just by quoting Syed Zainal names.. that what you is a fact? funny,
        btw.. fyi @steven, Managing Director for the past 2 years is Datuk Lukman. n Syed Zainal is long gone… the only problem with proton is their SC.(Their SC is still sucks) but their products nowadays.. i give them thumbs up. Me n wives has preve and Civic FD.. (we rotate with each others regularly).. now it has been 3 years.. preve is a god damn good car.

• steven on Nov 25, 2013 at 4:31 pm

go check the newspaper, the Syed Zainal comment is not from internet, its drom newspaper. changing a managing director means the car quality approve? car will be more reliable? the whole qc department still with former staff? i giv them thumb down, i drive proton every day, it cost me lots

• MycarMylife on Oct 11, 2013 at 3:45 pm

Chickened out ha P1, No show , how can ?
    When chips are down you have to be strong la !! Have to compete no matter what .
    By the way I am still waiting for the Fuel Consumption test reports on the Suprima S from P1 or Anthony .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 10
  • proton not participate means we will experience good automobile gurus there.
    no nonsense or hanky panky from P1, hi hopes p2 will follow p1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 26
  • What a waste. A company with resources and technology not showcasing it. (or actually they got nothing to show?).

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 6
    • Superman on Oct 11, 2013 at 6:33 pm

May be DRB guys can’t afford to pay the fees for the show.. Embarrassing for national car not to be in there. Shame shame

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
      • I think your statement supposed to be other way around..
        “DRB guys afford to pay the fees for the show, but they don’t want to embarrassing themselves to show their cars there”

• Dreagon on Oct 11, 2013 at 3:53 pm

Proton, buckle up.

put more on RnD, engine can just buy from Honda..
    focus on reliability + feature..

U can do it!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 10
    • positively comment are hard to find these day..sir you deserved more like.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
      • Yeah i can only wonder why, comments like this are all but gone….HAH

• Engine no need, they already bought a ton from Petronas a few months back.

Proton just needs to work on their reliability and QC, this one memang true. Also, they must focus on export markets. This is VERY important. If they don’t, they’ll end up like Holden and Ford Australia; they make pretty good cars, but nobody wanna buy cause every man, woman and their children’s children have cars already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Well, that’s expected, nothing to be proud of, nothing to show…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 17
    • You still live in cave? Even new honda got only 4 star ancap safety rating. Preve already 5 star.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 58
      • yes, Preve is 5 star and very safe to drive BUT always break down and keep in bengkel thus you definitely won’t get kill if driving Preve…….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 26
        • Obviously you’ve never driven one. They’re far more reliable than European and Korean makes. Only problem is lack of refinement

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 14
          • hahahahah ..heheheh…. you made my day…. hahahahah
            oh oh … sorry ..I forgot … it’s Asia’s BMW ….ahahahahah

• It sounds like conti, not proton. Nowadays people can’t tell whether it’s a preve or beemer, lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
      • Peter on Oct 11, 2013 at 5:08 pm

Are you smearing Proton? Don’t U have other things to praise on Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 43
        • Praise? Got. Thanks for giving the rakyat a chance to unite and bash a common enemy.

• What enemy? Mind to tell? If you cannot afford a car just ride your kapchai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
          • nobby on Oct 13, 2013 at 2:30 pm

You feel butthurt coz you cannot afford even a second hand proton? Go work harder ok? If you work harder you can buy even a merc or beemer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
          • jd pow on Oct 13, 2013 at 9:13 pm

pls lar…show u all the truth u all cant accept dont attack on ppl …we deserve to have better proton but proton make us disappointed . comment like a educated ppl…what cant effort to buy proton, what ride kapcai, live in cave, live in hutan,cant spell warranty, u all can debate show the stat or any evidence, blame on ppl wont let u success

• grande on Oct 14, 2013 at 10:54 am

Proton cars are not that bad. Thanks. If you it’s bad, how bad?? Any numbers? No, not all those J.D.power research thingy because it’s about the customers, not cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
          • It’s the customers that judge your product quality. Not yourself or your syok sendiri QA dept. Gosh …. such a basic rule also don’t know … no wonder the company the company is losing year in year out.

• grande on Oct 14, 2013 at 5:01 pm

Still, no numbers on defect unit.

• Of course not number on defect. Because you deliver all the defect items to the customer. ahhaha

• grande on Oct 15, 2013 at 10:40 am

you cannot answer ady, lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • steven on Oct 11, 2013 at 5:30 pm

ncap rating is for safety rating while accident…. your car accident everyday? or rempit everyday? ncap rating does not tell you this car reliable, just let u know when u accident u will be safe… so if the car break down, keep servicing , cant repair dont blame ncap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 12
        • Really can’t understand with these peoples. When Proton improved handling, these people say handling is nothing. When Proton improved in safety, they say you do not get accident everyday??? So not worth it.. Seriously?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 36
        • You sound like vios worshipper. The day when other cars go to you, then you know the safety is important

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 35
          • angry proton driver on Oct 11, 2013 at 6:42 pm

Proton improved handling? haha….u trying to make a joke? why u drive a car? to reached a destination, if the car cant guarantee u reached the destination y u care about safety… when a car breakdown before u accident y u looking at ncap? and why u buy a national car? cos it offer cheaper( affordable) and reliable for u. did proton offer this to you? dont waste your patriotic on this. u even get more expensive proton car price compare others country. and we still fight for it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 18
          • @angry proton driver
            Immature comment. I dun think you know what VSC is. Sigh. since you say toyota is so reliable, why they don’t put it in all toyota cars?

*twisted*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 36
          • angry proton driver on Oct 11, 2013 at 8:22 pm

immature comment? haha, just the angry comment after suffer from bad quality of proton, send to workshop, proton ar memang macam tu. i didnt mention about toyota, read in full before you comment. VSC…lol dont get the 90s era technology make me laugh… proton , u still long way to improve

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 8
          • @angry proton driver
            If you cannot new car, better settle down with other cheaper cars. Or maybe you cannot spell warranty, Just like VSC, lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 26
          • angry proton driver on Oct 12, 2013 at 2:35 pm

@leds, pls comment like a educated person, to debate pls focus on the things no ppl… be mature

• So you don’t drive a proton….i see

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
      • You live in cave? You live in cave? …
        Proton you just can’t win in a forum. You hire hundreds of people to create fake hype but you just can’t fight hundreds of thousands of people out there, many with bad experiences with Proton. And your superior that come out with new ideas like butthurt, my Proton have no problem and now the latest you live in cave just cannot save you from drowning.
        How much Subprime you sold today?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
        • ioma-suck on Oct 13, 2013 at 9:56 am

TCan you provide stats of proton defect units? Then compare it with other brands. Or else it’s just another my friend said, i heard and such stories. Lol

• jd pow on Oct 13, 2013 at 8:57 pm

j.d power got research on satisfaction and cutomer service survey….no defect unit stat cos the Pxxxon dont want giv the stat( few years no stat already)
            at least proton no the last ( just dont want let u so sad)

google it:
            2013 Malaysia Customer Service Index (CSI) Study

2013 Malaysia Sales Satisfaction Index (SSI) Study

• Peter on Oct 13, 2013 at 11:47 pm

Proton also don want to share their sales result … except Saga Flx b’cse they got many sales.

• ioma-suck on Oct 14, 2013 at 12:16 am

You answered it yourself, it’s not about defect unit stats. YOu said proton didn’t want give stats on defect unit? Any proof or source regarding this?

• grande on Oct 14, 2013 at 10:51 am

j.d power research about customer satisfaction, not about defect unit

• Proton now at this sorry state is all because of low customers satisfaction. It’s good that you ignore this and continue to syok sendiri with your own fact, this company is beyond repair.

• grande on Oct 14, 2013 at 5:11 pm

Still, where is defect unit stats? No stats then you go fly kite.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • pirlo on Oct 13, 2013 at 11:55 am

currently booking for suprima above than 2000 units.
          almost 2 months since the launching.
          quite low isn’t it? but proton target at least 750 units/month to be sold.
          do the maths.

• What hype? Preve got 5 stars Australian NCAP Safety rating?

• _xXx_ on Oct 11, 2013 at 4:00 pm

was wondering how many of u really care bout its presence…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
  • setiapaduka on Oct 11, 2013 at 4:05 pm

Preve cps sv and preve cfe standard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Not a big deal. In fact, does it even matter? Why does anyone even need to go to KLIMS to look at it? Hideous designs. Century old tech. You get the point.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 27
    • You mean toyota right?
      Nowadays people tell “You can go wrong with Toyota”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
      • To a certain extend I agree. But the nature of the Malaysian market has a huge role in what they bring or do.

• Please please on Oct 11, 2013 at 4:55 pm

Well said!
      Conjecture or not, many visitors will not miss it. P1’s presence may look like a bloody sore thumb.

For once, I’m more than happy to pay the entrance fee.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • sri hartamas on Oct 11, 2013 at 5:05 pm

“hideous designs. century old tech”? either you are suffering from dementia or you are just living in the previous century. Wake up, man (or woman).

• You’re not smart enough to read between lines. No point in explaining.

• Who cares?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
    • Why bother to reply?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • ah beng on Oct 11, 2013 at 4:49 pm

why comment if you don’t care? no one care if you not care.

• he want to let those who care know that he is not care.

• hback on Oct 11, 2013 at 6:18 pm

No. He wants others to know that he is butthurt because his coming vios is light years behind if compared with preve/SS. Haha!

• Alson P on Oct 11, 2013 at 4:27 pm

Another SV variant, will be Persona/Preve SV on the way….

• I bet you RM50 it’s gonna be a Prevé SV and not Persona SV ! haha

• ptong on Oct 11, 2013 at 4:28 pm

cos potong sulah mau gulung tikar. Bravo mendeka

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
  • tanah merah on Oct 11, 2013 at 4:30 pm

I thought there will be Preve facelift/update for this Klims show. Guess hv to wait next year

• mustafa on Oct 11, 2013 at 4:36 pm

what ever the reason is…it shows poor planning on the part of proton….how come you miss ‘your home motor show’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
  • Pilote on Oct 11, 2013 at 4:38 pm

P1 is picking up slowly and we will see the result soon. P1 owner..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • Bullsh*t not enuf space… They don’t even have budget to build the booth and pay for the chicks with only the super value variant doing well…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
  • nexus2238 on Oct 11, 2013 at 4:53 pm

Imagine Hyundai not showing up in auto show in Korea, BMW not showing up in German, …
    Just SAD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
  • anti proton on Oct 11, 2013 at 4:56 pm

who gives a shit anyway? nah, nobody cares those potong ass, oleh buang longkang la…petrol consumption damn high,under powered and the parts are like shit…system fails easily…only good thing is…errmmm…there is no good shit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 29
    • Low Budget on Oct 11, 2013 at 6:16 pm

Nobody cares? Look at the Proton sales figures-lah, bradder. Proton may not be the beauty that you are looking for but definitely can bring you from point A to point B.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 31
      • anti proton Toyota lover on Oct 11, 2013 at 9:20 pm

ey bradder, proton sales figure high is due to the dam protectinism issued by government….They tax foreign car high and force ppl to buy these proton shit only…close shop la proton, even protn export to overseas the price is even lower than us,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
        • letih sebenarnya nak explain pasal malaysian vehicle tax structure compared to australia, indon, thailand kat engkau ni.. *sigh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
          • Tak payahlah nak tegakkan benang yang basah

• Typical proton basher. Bash blindly without nothing to say. No proof, nothing. That’s so childish

• pirlo on Oct 13, 2013 at 11:52 am

ioma, benang apa yang nak ditegakkan? faham tak vehicle tax structure kat malaysia macam mana?

http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/business/2012/01/18/protons-more-expensive-in-malaysia-than-overseas/

http://www.maa.org.my/info_duty.htm

• undone on Oct 13, 2013 at 2:26 pm

The difference of tax is not that high between cerpt countries including Malaysia.

• Blind basher detected!!!!

• just to avoid embarrassment, better not to attend the show.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • Please please on Oct 11, 2013 at 4:59 pm

Latest Update!
    While they unable to participate, P1 will be there nonetheless.
    A grand booth selling Aiskrim Potong!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • always suprima suprima. You guys proton promoter? LOL Don’t make me laugh if you are using proton compare with Toyota. Proton just a copy cat. 30 years still remain the same. They not attending the KLIMS13 is a great choices. Nothing to show off for any new technology.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 17
    • batch on Oct 11, 2013 at 6:08 pm

Preve got 5 star ancap safety rating. Vios got how many star? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 31
      • Butch on Oct 11, 2013 at 9:43 pm

Hello Batch, can you please tell me what crap ANCAP standards are? If you can get 5 star Euro NCAP, only then people respect you. Otherwise please close shop la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
        • batch on Oct 12, 2013 at 10:17 am

I talked about Australian ncap one, not asean ncap. If asean ncap, even shitty vios can score 4 stars. Australian and european ncap are more or less same

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 23
        • Pls don’t talk cock. ANCAP and EuroNCAP are more or less the same.

ASEAN NCAP and Latin NCAP is not.

If you want the strictest form of testing, check out the IIHS, even BMW, Merc and Audi cannot get 5 star IIHS.

• 4 speed gear box in vios is NEW tech ka brader?

• I am travelling from shah alam to KL everyday to work..and I used to saw Suprima S three times only. Is the sales is that bad?

• hangit! on Oct 11, 2013 at 5:07 pm

Should be Preve SV

• I had the same thought ! Let’s just wait and see.

The Prevé is Proton’s 2nd best selling model after the Saga, there’s no doubt about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • kobealex on Oct 12, 2013 at 12:09 am

Only thing I do not agree on is the SV or “super value” tagline… it sounds like you are positioning your brand to be “cheap”. Could’ve thought of something better.

Not a proton basher as I drive a Neo CPS too which still is great fun after almost 4 years but again the radio advertisements so far from DRB… like come on… just my 2 cents…

• hehehe on Oct 18, 2013 at 11:02 am

Nope, its Persona SV,
        they are going to introduce atlantic blue as well

• Smokey on Oct 11, 2013 at 5:10 pm

Where is suprima manual? Then we talk

• Allen on Oct 11, 2013 at 5:12 pm

Persona SV is coming at around 45k, it will gonna rock the market for sure.

Saga FLX Exec to be discontinued.

• Sure or not ? RM45k for a new Persona is too much, it is currently selling at around RM50k. But people still buy it, I saw a brand new W 1234 B no. plate one 2 days ago…. amazing how the Persona is almost 10 years old this year (if you count from the Gen-2 launch onwards), and it still looks quite ‘okay’, not like those Hyundais and Kias from the same time.

In any case, if there is a Persona SV, it must be RM35-40k to be sell. A Prevé SV at RM45-55k would be a lot more sensible and alluring IMHO. The pricing won’t conflict with the Saga Exec RM40-45k either.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • 19 year old kid talked like a big CEO company. Go wash your dad old Saga lah

• Which phrase? I think it’s from a buyer perspective. Other commentators are more like CEOS. As if proton is still under government and of course full of blind bashing.

• My name is no name on Oct 29, 2013 at 9:28 am

Korean cars are quite cool now,don’t compare the past lah

• it is ok what… duh it is just a show! dont waste $$$ … put more effort to SHOW us the real cool product instead.

• 2 most probable reasons:

1- Save budget for RnD (2014 GSC, 2014 Perdana, 2016 P6-XX blabla) (not likely)
    2- Lack of available space. Will make their own mass exhibition. (most likely)

• steven on Oct 11, 2013 at 5:37 pm

Lack of available space? u must be kidding… nobody brave to kick out proton from exhibition in this bolehland. save budget for RnD…they never care the budget, and RnD …did u see any result? they still buying others brand technology

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
      • you probably never gone to their exhibition.. in 2004-5 they did 2.2 V6 220hp lengthened Waja and 300+hp 3.0SC V6 crossover to tapau Cayenne.. They’re the one who started Lotus Europa S as Proton Sepang-project.. They did the Proton MSX (then become Lotus APX).. They did their own hybrid system (Gen-2 EVE Hybrid).. Full LCD speedometer.. VVA modular platform.. all back in 2004-5. Only few carmaker had such tech back then.

but they and Lotus Engineering didn’t have the money and market to mass-produce/develop it further. that’s why they had to buy from others.. and Lotus get engines from Toyota.

• steven on Oct 11, 2013 at 11:30 pm

2.0 v6 waja, 3.0sc crossover….all is not possibly to mass production….i believe if u giv a work shop 1 million to create a waja sure also can tapau cayenne, they just buy engine put in waja… tats it. show me the mass production possibly R&D, if cant mass production just waste money….didnt have money to develop further…this is the management problem….the whole malaysian market is protecting proton, and still able no money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Say Who? on Oct 11, 2013 at 5:20 pm

Toyota & Perodua kan ado! Ape ada kisah if proton tarik diri…bukan korang hargai pon…. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • pooyu on Oct 11, 2013 at 5:21 pm

amboi. asal berita p1 begitu cepat dan byk response. pt kalu nak glamer uploadlah byk2 brita p1.

• Alex Chan on Oct 11, 2013 at 5:22 pm

KLIMS?..place where a lot and a lot of vendor and car acessories vendor gathering..window tinted vendor..car perfume vendor..car tyre vendor..aihh..car sticker vendor..car polish vendor..car painting vendor..where got motorshow there?..seriously i feel waste of time to go there again…no value..i think proton oredi have a thinking on this..that why no come to the KLIMS 13..no value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • abuya123 on Oct 11, 2013 at 5:55 pm

Sir…. I with you…. Wasted…. We being ask to fill the form. Go to almost place there, get a stamp at the form. At the end, we get goodies bag which….. Only pen or stupid woven bag can be used. The rest is sampah.

Buy car there? You must be joking. Car survey? Tell me, is there no car dealer nearby your home?

• Yela … anggur yang tak dapat makan tu semestinya masam.

• I am waiting for them to showcase Honda “Ah Kok” localised version @ janji di-3rd-party price ?

• Goddamit.

I wanted to go to KLIMS this year…. but there’s no point now. But seeing how much DRB-HICOM and Proton have done in just the 2 years since takeover, I’m not complaining at all.

I would much rather have Proton focus on their new models than showing off their existing ones.

P.S The new SV model…. could it be a Prevé SV ? Can’t be Exora SV, there’s already a cheap version. The Persona is also too old. No more Waja and Gen-2.

Prevé SV with manual transmission and 6 (or 4) airbags and TC + ESC, DO IT PROTON ! I will buy it for sure if it’s RM45- 55k ! :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • Robot boy on Oct 11, 2013 at 8:59 pm

Hummm. Interesting. U must be employed of drb. We all want to know what drb has done for proton? NOTHING. All brain drain and replacing the trained staff with kids, staff leaving, project delayed. Come on la. We al want to c proton success but not in this way. It has been a year and we still wait for roadmap for proton. While Koreans and even chinese r moving so fast, drb still thinking what to do. Not fair

• I think Aero is working for drb, considering CAPITAL letters he used for drb bad proton which r corporate work there. Hummm. Interesting

• Why is it that I give the impression of a Proton salesman and/or employee ?

I’m just a 19 year old uni student man. Even if I’m really a Proton salesman, you think some 40 year old uncle or auntie, potential Toyota Vios buyer will listen to me explain how car safety is important ? They’ll laugh in my face lah ! They’ll think I’m still only a kid. -__-

• Firstly, no, I don’t work for Proton or DRB-HICOM.

And secondly, I still believe that the ‘best era’ of Proton was the time when Kenji Iwabuchi was Proton’s big boss. That was like the late 80s and early 90s, when Proton started exporting to Europe, Latin America (and almost North America). The second best era was Syed Zainal Abidin 2006 – 2012. When he assumed his role, Proton was dying already, but somehow, he ‘saved’ the company from certain death, even if it meant being bought over by someone else.

I still don’t trust DRB-HICOM, but seeing that they have done a few good moves, namely; 1. Attending to Lotus’ problems 2. Improving the Proton after sales and service department 3. Improving the Prevé’s QC and reliability 4. Launching the Suprima without any problems (unlike the Prevé (remember the broken wheel accident ?)). 5. Standardising full safety specs in a Proton C-segment car for the first time. 6. Revitalising Proton Cars Australia 7. Buying Petronas’ engines and patents.

Maybe got a few more, but those are what I remember best. I don’t know if your ‘brain drain’ statement is true or not, but yes, they are taking too long with the roadmap, I’m patiently waiting for it as well.

Comparing Proton with Koreans and Chinese, that’s another story altogether for another day.

• Maybe they are uncles and aunties whose daughters are beautiful lenglui and amoi. You can flirt them and don’t forget to buy vios ok? Your proposal is guatanteed to be accepted. Don’t ever think of proton. It just shows that you are a poorfag, regardless of how successful you are in real life.

Lol

• Let me just put it this way, I am already ‘married’ to Proton. I don’t have enough love left for some leng lui…… no really, I’m being 101% serious here.

Yes, most of my friends think I’m stupid for supporting Proton, but I’d like to believe that it’s the right thing to do.

• Datuk on Oct 11, 2013 at 5:44 pm

shame on u proton, in own kampung also dont want to participate. I think in Japan if Toyota does not participate in Japan Motorshow, the CEO will step down because of responsibilities to the company, in bolehland, yeah u know rite, nothing happen in top management of proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
    • pirlo on Oct 11, 2013 at 6:41 pm

is it right the toyota CEO will step down if that happened?
      i think proton is really in dilemma:
      1. if they join klims:
      – menyemak je proton join. buat habis duit rakyat je (walaupun bukan GLC). semua kereta proton pakai old brand technology, tin milo. buat apa nak tunjuk. better give a chance to perodua to show off their bezza.
      2. if they don’t join klims:
      – proton penakut la tu nak join klims kat home ground sendiri. takde duit dan idea la tu. they are about to gulung tikar. perodua and toyota are the best!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • patrio on Oct 11, 2013 at 7:30 pm

bro..even got complaint they still need to participate, this is their place, their homeland, they should well prepared. this is what a good management should do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
        • pirlo on Oct 12, 2013 at 1:33 am

in the midst of trying to build up their financial state? they just launched suprima s which cost millions including the ads, currently developing new b-segment car and petronas engine. that would be their main agenda i think, not investing some huge money for the exhibition.
          in simple words, keep calm. they will come up with nice new models with petronas engine *drooling

• dodgeviper88 on Oct 11, 2013 at 5:49 pm

Their excuses don’t make sense. I’m pretty sure they will be given first right of refusal therefore have the luxury of deciding how much space they need. This shows their lackadaisical attitude and as mentioned before lack of proper planning. It’s like going to a malaysian food fare and not have any nasi lemak and teh tarik

• ‘Jaguh Kampung’ really need a lot of space to show off his power…

• Well, i’d say, the blame and shame would be partly go to organizer, as Proton is basically giving ultimatum to the organizer.

Seem like Proton terms weren’t satisfied by organizer…

• inderaloka on Oct 11, 2013 at 6:16 pm

What a shame, national car maker did not participate in their country’s car show.

• Why not just close shop? lagi best ma..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • henbb on Oct 11, 2013 at 7:41 pm

Don’t worry, you still cannot afford those contis after proton close shop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • pirlo on Oct 12, 2013 at 1:27 am

i still really wonder. if let say, one day proton close shop, how sure are we that BN will demolish the vehicle taxes (excise duty, sales, import)? or does it remain the same? no option for b-segment vehicle below RM60k? any taker?

• old dog on Oct 11, 2013 at 6:27 pm

because Protong cannot sell internationally…this is an international motor shows!!!

Protong is kampung motor show…and the only choice we have…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Mus Hamid on Oct 11, 2013 at 6:50 pm

Perodua ? They’re just assemblers !

• benzs on Oct 11, 2013 at 7:02 pm

Proton no need to take part bcoz they r selling better compare to any manufacture. That why Paultan mention P.Saga SV. Coz selling sv is enuf for proton, beside if P1 participate we all can find Proton dealer easily. So that y Proton no need to participate. Famous in boleh land alrdy. No need promote or join exhibition anymore. Good move proton. In future P1 will do their exhibition in every dealership that will Prove proton is good coz no need to compete as big function sure ppl will bash. In their own stand ppl cant bash coz only Proton is available.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 28
    • bro u say like proton cannot be complaint, business will come, and do not need to competitive others cos their cars is the cheapest in the bolehland, and no need improve also NEP will protect well. this is the attitude let proton cant improve… they need to heard others, they need feedback. why proton cant do R&D and selling the car to international? and decrease the price to benefit malaysian? proton should make us proud of it not proton proud of us ( cos no need improved also can sell)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Another SV is Exora.. I had seen being tested on PLUS highway..

• the main reason is proton dont want 200k people ketuk ketuk body kereta, at the end of KLIMS all proton cars habis berlekuk lekuk

• Probton on Oct 11, 2013 at 8:11 pm

Bravo to DRB Hicom….firstly no single sen wasted here, then sell off whatever assets Proton owned..Shah Alam factory or Proton City Tanjung Malim since land value is skying high…lastly sell off Proton to whoever want it for 1 Euro. No more complaints & all director happy…

• Midnite on Oct 11, 2013 at 8:40 pm

Why Proton still got bullied by own Malaysian? I own Neo until today for 7 years with not a single engine problem! Same duration Honda Jazz driven by friend up to this scale, he suffered sudden engine shutdown multiple times while cruising below 10-20 km/h. My dad once drove 6 years old Mercedez E-Class and had the car engine overhauled twice! Conclusion is still my respect for Proton is higher. p/s: i do admit most Proton has power window problem but its nothing compare to major problem like what VW is having with it’s DSG! Gearbox jgn main-main bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 31
    • say who? on Oct 11, 2013 at 9:49 pm

why P1 still got bullied?
      interesting question… ok why does it happen?

Some reasons why Proton Bashers might bully P1

-they think it’s fun, or that it makes them popular or cool
      -they feel more powerful or important, or they want to get their own way all the time
      -they feel insecure or lack confidence or are trying to fit in with a group
      -they are fearful of other brand’s differences
      -they are jealous
      -they are unhappy
      -they are copying what they have seen others do before, or what has been done to them.

hope that helps you

• grant on Oct 12, 2013 at 1:08 pm

They are living in denial. Medical help is much needed. Myahahahaha

• Say Me on Oct 13, 2013 at 12:21 am

Because P1 like to bully the rakyat by making them pay for expensive car or choose low quality car like P1.

• define low quality?
          Look at other ASEAN countries proton can still have competitive prices. Here all cars are heavily taxed incl proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
          • Peter on Oct 13, 2013 at 11:56 pm

1. Low price with lot of features but not all of them worked fine.
            2. Frequency of return to service center, used to have sounds from here & there after driving < 1000 km. It's not critical, but damn not satisfy b'cse it's a new car.
            3. Attitude towards quality, how long it takes to response to public outcries before it's finally remedied!

• Bring in the number fro every points, you just talk cock only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • samlok on Oct 11, 2013 at 8:50 pm

Who cares

• Stupid P1 stupid G. Shame of the nation.. quit out without giving reasons.. state ur reasons if u guys hev balls.. no space? Yeah.. dem gud reason for taskas.. GTH!!

• Sam shame on Oct 11, 2013 at 9:48 pm

DRB Top mgt is busy with UMNO party election.
    It’s more important to them for continue to survive for the next few years rather than exhibition.
    They sure know what I’m taking here!!

• Edward Carnby on Oct 11, 2013 at 9:49 pm

I heard from a lot of mechanics that the proton saga sucks big time….spare parts are expensive and one customer had piston crack after going through a flooded road….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • Lol even merc, beemer or RR can’t survive in bad flood. Maybe the driver thought i could transform to subnarine or boat. Lololol

• Einstein on Oct 11, 2013 at 9:55 pm

Is this a sign proton going to close shop??? No future roadmap??..no electric vehicle??? Proton better go hiding and slowly exit bolehland automotive market.

Let the big boys cannibalise the auto market among themselves and only then the rakyat will start benefiting the AFTA or other free trade agreement we have currently

• protonsux on Oct 11, 2013 at 10:04 pm

Not a damn given to potong and jaguh kampungs.

• just me on Oct 11, 2013 at 10:46 pm

This is really shameful not taking part in homeland. May be Proton feel out of place when display among other car.

• elkays on Oct 11, 2013 at 11:01 pm

Thank god! They got nothing to show anyway.

• Majuperak on Oct 11, 2013 at 11:24 pm

Who the hell care whether Proton is at KLIMS ! Thanks to Proton, everyone has to pay so much more for cars ! Waste of tax payers money …. just like Ramly Burger for the price of burgers at Chilis/TGIF.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • Baldwin on Oct 12, 2013 at 12:24 am

Very well said, Majuperak!

Well, give me as many ‘dislikes’ on my comment, but we all know that the ‘lazy-pride’ culture that is in Proton has made them what they are today.
      Ask any owner who went back to Proton (even at the premium outlet at Kesas), how were they treated and silly excuses given. How many times have we heard technicians telling them “alah..kalau nak kereta bagus, beli je Toyota ke Honda”
      I’ve experienced it over my 2 rounds of ownership in a Proton.

So, padan muka for being a shame of the nation today. Face the fact and stop pretending like they are ever gonna get to compete in the ‘global’ car segment in today’s market.

It’s coz of them Msian consumers have to pay so much on tax for better cars. Pfftt!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • ex waja owner on Oct 12, 2013 at 12:11 am

Currently own an almera. I love the almera fc very much. But one thing for sure the waja i traded for this car is miles ahead in term of ride and handling. Hiway driving is quite scary above 130kph in the almera….but in the waja 150kph is nothing. Once did 190kph still stable and compose. How i miss my waja driving characteristic.
    Worst when exiting hiway ramps or fast cornering in the almera, fell like the car could turn turtle anytime….thinking of buying back my waja from the dealer since he has repainted the car.
    7 yrs and 190k km of ownership never tersadai tepi jalan. Talk about reliability. But to be frank, had proton refined the interior of the preve i’m quite sure it’ll be in my driveway instead of the almera….sighh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Pilote on Oct 12, 2013 at 7:53 am

Totally agreed with you…..

I owned a Myvi and Preve now.

Myvi left at home and drive Preve most of the time traveling city and highway. Preve handling is fantastic. Suprising Preve fc is almost on par with Vios. I m talking facts here no bullshit and bashing.

• Shut up! You cannot say proton car has any good. According to jap fans there are many proton cars in workshops. Proton cars are not reliable at all!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 17
        • everyone have their right to express their opinion… good or bad u decide, dont stop others to giving idea, u may benefit from it

• Pilote on Oct 12, 2013 at 5:00 pm

Proton cars in workshop meaning many Proton cars on the road due for service or repair? “According” has a lot of meaning if you hear from Proton basher.

I personally has problem with my Myvi but I don’t complain because it’s just minor defect and so does my Preve which is not a big concern.

No car is perfect. Is your car perfect and give you no problem to be honest?

• No matter how real you try to picture like praise a little of Almera then praise gila gila on Proton, you just cannot bulls other people. You really think people out there are stupid?
      Another thing…refine interior? hahah … You must have not seen all the buttons yang tercabut in the showroom’s car. Or you just pura-pura tak tahu.

• grande on Oct 14, 2013 at 10:48 am

Buttons yang tercabut because it’s been “monkeyed” by visitors. Old story.

• Again, it’s your attitude to ignore “old story” that causing the company to be at this sorry state.

• grande on Oct 14, 2013 at 5:15 pm

It’s caused by visitors not proton itself. Didn’t you read? Ok, then you didn’t understand even simple sentence, lol

• I don’t see Audi’s button tercabut by visitors? If your buttons are not so flimsy, it will not be so easily tercabut. Buttons tercabut also want to blame visitors, haizz…*Facepalm*

• grande on Oct 15, 2013 at 10:44 am

They have same attitude as you do. If it’s an audi you praise, if it’s proton you bash, lol. Need I say more?

• See what i mean? Product defective don’t improve but blame on people some more. The same mentality for people like you that defends proton no matter how bad they are. May be proton afraid people will pull their buttons that’s why they don’t attend, haha…

• grande on Oct 16, 2013 at 2:22 am

You should say “Ini semua salah proton”, lol

Tue story.

*sarcasm*

• pok mang on Oct 12, 2013 at 12:19 am

good decision by proton coz DRB will not involved in serious joke car show…KLIMS even can’t compete with IIMS yet

• Suprima S really needs to upgrade its looks. Front and rear light design not attractive (My point of view). RM80K for Proton? Heard a lot about campro engine from my friends as well….not reliable at all.

• Pilote on Oct 12, 2013 at 8:01 am

Owned a Myvi and Preve now.

Myvi left at home and drive Preve most of the time traveling city and highway. Preve handling is fantastic. Suprising Preve fc is almost on par with Vios. I m talking facts here no bullshit and bashing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
  • Jilbaber on Oct 12, 2013 at 8:42 am

Come on Proton, have a ball,participate the show..at least put you Suprima with manual gearbox.doesn’t matter it fake or not…do you think all those concept are real ?

• Aghanis on Oct 12, 2013 at 10:14 am

The main reason PROTON not be able to participate is because they cannot afford to pay the rent, All the FY13 budget has gone down the drain to Promote SUPRIMA S.. at the end the car kenot sell lor. poor Pooroton..

• sprme on Oct 13, 2013 at 3:13 pm

How did you know? You know where’s the suitable place for slandering person like you?

• Dregen on Oct 12, 2013 at 10:40 am

Nevermind the KLIMS and all comments. This is Paultan talking bout proton..while the thread was good as usual, the comments haha.. Let just say I dont bother to read coz I knew there wont be any constructive discussion anyway.

But i do hope man in power read mine thou. Im suggesting proton go on replacing satria neo. I had it from 2008..no major problem or whatsoever. But i cant help thinking Lotus Europa as a baseline for next satria. No shame coz Europa was yours at the 1st place right.?

Now u had suprima s, we dont need another hot hatch. Make it sport!! Just dont screw it with CVT (im not sure how proton handle it.. But im sure not a fan of it in my 147 s.speed alfa), just make it plain and simple. Manual & turbo..

• Marina bay on Oct 12, 2013 at 11:30 am

What will dr m say? His beloved proton not supporting his daughters Klims? Yes Klims is run by his daughter that’s why it sucks every year the organizer has no passion for cars

• You’re right. Proton has nothing to show and klims is disorganized. Both proton and klims sucks because our moto is just to suck money from the rakyat lol.

• cosmothegod on Oct 12, 2013 at 11:34 am

booth kat shopping kompleks cukupla.. kira exhibition la tu. If they have something new to show, of course la they will join.. Maybe they don’t follow kaisen or continous improvement bullcrap. Maybe Proton follow their own set of rules. Like keep to shopping complex booth. You all butthurt for what?

• The King of Kings on Oct 13, 2013 at 12:12 am

Sure, you can follow your own rules and don’t follow Toyota’s Kaizen. Proton don’t need to improve, just follow their own rules to make car and do what they like. No wonder proton car’s quality got problem since continuos improvement is considered bullcrap.

• Car shows are meant for car makers to show off their new, advance designs and ideas about cars. Proton only follows others behind and has nothing new, so proton has nothing to show off.

• Polo Saga on Oct 12, 2013 at 4:17 pm

Nobody cares.

• Wrong. So many debating comnents here. Better check your butthurt degreee. Lol

• but y recently there r so many proton cars on the road?? i heard so many negative comment about Proton r n yet proton still “banyak dekat jalan”…

• The worfs are from proton bashers or other cars’SA

thanks

• Banyak juga lepak kat workshop repair under warranty nanti…

• kromax on Oct 14, 2013 at 5:18 pm

Banyak tu banyak mana? Worksyop lain pun banyak jugak tunggu repair.

• Whynot on Oct 12, 2013 at 5:31 pm

They is only one word now that can describe P1. Cheap design and cheap milo tin can! Only God can save those that supported P1 now. Is the biggest blows to P1. And honesty, face it. Just shut it down!

• pirlo on Oct 12, 2013 at 7:36 pm

milo tin can? dah la milo tin, kemudian milo can.

• kream on Oct 12, 2013 at 7:59 pm

Yes!yes!yes!

This is it!one of the funniest joke in paultan!

Proton cars are milo tin eh? So why it got 5 star australian ncap safety rating? Hahahahahah

And cheap too? May i know if vios ever equipped with vsc ? Hahahahahahah

• You mean that 1 star Miros Saga got 5 star Aus Ncap?

• Please read more. Nowadays news are everywhere to get it is a no brainer

• I’m sure he means preve/ss in Australian ncap

• lalor on Oct 13, 2013 at 2:16 pm

No wonder you think proton car is bad, you don’t read much, lol

• pirlo on Oct 13, 2013 at 7:34 pm

ioma is a salesman for other product?

do you guys remember amoi? a person who kept on bashing about proton without solid judgment long time ago. is amoi pretending to be ioma?

coincidence, probably.

• Say Who? on Oct 14, 2013 at 5:35 pm

tu la… ioma…dulu mak bapak suruh baca buku, tak nak…dah melarat sampai ke tua dah…malas…komen nak main tabur jer… macam berak…haha

• Obama on Oct 12, 2013 at 11:37 pm

Just shut it down like the US gov. Shut down the crony, shut down the corrupted system and reboot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • nobby on Oct 13, 2013 at 3:10 pm

Even US government gave grant to Ford and Aust for Holden. Better you shut down your negative and naive mind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
        • 1Malaysia on Oct 14, 2013 at 2:01 pm

Agree with Obama. Just shut down proton because we don’t want to pay anymore for the money sucking company and shut up when the president speaks.

• nobby on Oct 14, 2013 at 5:20 pm

When T overprice overrated Vios you don’t say that, do you? Are T SA? LOL

• why t overprice? tax structure, why tax so heavy? to protect proton! national automotive policy to protect national car. then this NEP aim for?1) To promote a competitive and viable domestic automotive sector, in particular the national car manufacturers 2)To promote a higher level of exports of vehicles as well as components and parts that are competitive in the global markets 3)To safeguard the interests of consumers in terms of value for money, safety and quality of products and service…..i cant see national car safeguard consumer value!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• nobby on Oct 15, 2013 at 10:53 am

Ford last time can equip fiesta with 7 airbags, honda jazz can give much cheaeper jazz too. Why not toyota?

Even proton has to pay high excise duty but still in country like Thai B segment City is around C segment Preve price.

• proton is a good car, only u isnt a good human.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
    • so if the car break down is own problem? proton always perfect? window tak boleh turun, self problem? bad luck? engine mati tengah jalan… self problem? dunno how to drive?

• efrny on Oct 13, 2013 at 9:12 pm

who said proton is perfect? he said it’s a GOOD car. please read with big eyes and enough light. no car is perfect.

• he say i m not a good human because my wira breakdown few days ago…then i thinking….malaysia left how many good human if drive a good proton got problem. then next time got problem i have to diam diam? dont let ppl know i am “bad”.

• efrny on Oct 14, 2013 at 12:10 am

Again, why did you reply him in the first place? Did you feel you are one of proton blind bashers?

lol

• blind basher? i just say what he comment is no logical , how he link the quality of car to the driver? what he express is proton sure good 1, if no good is your problem. my car really breakdown, wira at workshop now… and who is blind efrny? so proton still GOOD? or u want told me it is old story? u want me show u the latest story on preve? i already giv face to proton. pls lar increase u all comment quality .blind, blind, blind… attack on the person, show me the logical thinking and quality comment

• efrny on Oct 14, 2013 at 5:27 pm

kan,
            You still didn’t answer my question, why should he reply him? Wira is from old generation proton, I’m not surprised it’s in workshop.

• he reply him? i did reply u ,he comment no logical at all, so when i reply he is no logical i become blind basher? then u better check your logical too

• *arent*

• Lipan on Oct 12, 2013 at 7:47 pm

Proton have no new models to show off.. Pity them.. kakaka

• Norman on Oct 12, 2013 at 7:49 pm

Its good that they didnt take part cause theyre busy developing new generation Campro CFE & NFE plus the enhancement of Petronas engines for the small global car,Perdana replacement,A small mpv and of course the Suprima R

• Satriala, Europa la, hothatch la … macam bagus, tapi tak bagus… just concentrate on your saga la ..
      Don’t syok sendiri la.

• jangs on Oct 13, 2013 at 9:15 pm

ioma/amoi,
        why so much fuss here? your car selling number is getting down kah? kah kah kah

i give you a tip, you have to be honest when selling. when your car cannot handle as good as proton, just admit it, lol

• Fuh, for such a small non-news, it can still attract sooo many comments.

For those comments that are mature and sensible, keep debating and keep it up for the better future of our auto industry.

For those comments that are immature and downright gisgusting insensible, please grow up and please learn some manners. it would help you a long way in life.

lets have a more informed Malaysian community with respect to auto industry especially with regards to safety.

As for the main topic about KLIMS and proton not participating, lets keep it cool and civil. everybody hates the over-reacting and emotional fellow. im sure in real life, most of us wont act like this in public because its a shame really.

• For those of you who doesn’t realized that Proton actually makes themselves more visible in the regional market. I’ve seen them in Bangkok Motor Show and Motor Expo. Perhaps the feel that KLIMS is insignificant to them as they still has the upper hand of Government Protection.

• Bash and judge first, find out why and react maturedly is an optional. That’s malaysians attitude? If yes,, that bad. And oh that treatment is made ‘specially’ for an automaker called PROTON. other brands don’t get it

• Of coz no reason given… Lousy car… malu to show

• grass on Oct 13, 2013 at 9:41 am

What lousy? DSG gearboxed cars are more lousy. Still they participate in international motorshows.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
      • audi, porsche, bugatti , skoda use DSG gearbox…. not only vw, so u still think DSG gearboxed cars lousy? dual clutch transmission will become mainstream 5 years later….proton just start cvt few years (if i no mistake 2011?) , CVT invented 1950s era…even my motorcycle yamaha ego s get cvt transmission earlier than proton

• grass on Oct 14, 2013 at 10:22 am

I refered to VW’s DSG. If it’s good enough why they drop it? Why so much with CVT? If you want to know DSG was being invented just before WWII (non-working). LOL . And why so much fuss with CVT?

• VW, AUDI, PORSCHE ALL SHARE THE SAME TECHNOLOGY OF DSG, VW DSG MADE IN CHINA… CVT SO MUCH COS IT IS THE VERY VERY OLD TECHNOLOGY, OLD TILL MY MOTOR ALSO GOT IT. WHAT PROTON JUST EQUIPPED? LATE BUT BETTER THAN NOT. Y NOT WORKING ON WWII, COS IT NEED THE SUPPORT OF THE CHIPSET TO DECIDE, NOT THE SYSTEM NO GOOD IS THEIR DESIGN TOO HIGH-END. CVT CAN MAKE IT WITHOUT CHIPSET, JUST A SIMPLE MECHANICAL DESIGN….AND PROTON EQUIPPED IT AFTER OTHERS PROOF WORK AFTER FEW DECADE. ALTHOUGH LATE AT LEAST SAFE, NO NEED TO BE VW TO FIGHT THE LASTEST TECHNOLOGY, WAIT PPL DEVELOPED BUY IT LAR.

• grass on Oct 14, 2013 at 5:30 pm

You lost your stance already, lol

• u judge a stance like this? ok u win, u hav drag me down to your level and beat me.. happy or not? lol

• gulator on Oct 13, 2013 at 2:14 pm

What lousy? Are you driving a porsche?

• immatr on Oct 13, 2013 at 9:12 am

For those who said proton cars are made of milo tin you just put shame to yourself. Blind bashing = low life people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • They don’t make cars from Milo Tin but certainly are capable of producing low quality cars. Previously, now and in the future perhaps.

All malaysians have the rights to bash them anyway they want because we have been paying so much for jacks shits solely because of the existence of Proton and for the “Shock Sendiri” National Car name!

Shame!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • diala on Oct 13, 2013 at 9:18 pm

Define low quality? If you want 10 stars ancap rating car, you don’t even get it even with Ferrari.

It’s funny to see people saying milo tin.

• ancap for safety not reliabilty….safety also not equal quality too. max 5 star for ancap…..tank will get 5 star ancap too….mayb lorry also can…wait me rich i send a lorry go test test europe ncap, australian 1….dunno their standard

• diala on Oct 14, 2013 at 12:05 am

Haha you said as if proton cars are not seen anywhere, only staying in workshops. What use of reliability if your face crushed cut in accident?

• nttfr on Oct 14, 2013 at 12:28 am

“tank will get 5 star ancap too….mayb lorry also can”

First winner of the most funniest comment in PT

• sto,
            You don’t know any safety standard or you only mind about reliability? When some of your family die or get serious injury in accident because the lack of safety equipments, at that time it’s too late.

• @diala, did i say proton only stay in workshop? @nttfr, tank all besi should be protect well, protect u from bomb ler, u use bazooka shoot 5 star ancap try try. @emc2, proton should focus on the basic things before goes to safety, if car breakdown before accident, ancap will be important? but at malaysia i have to admit safety important too cos too many f1 racer, drifter, rempit on the road…. settle the core 1st lar before safety

• diala on Oct 14, 2013 at 5:35 pm

sto,
            Are you still a kid? Sigh. If yes grow up please, if no, please be mature.

• again…u all attack on the person, what can i comment, ppl wont appreciate what u comment, they just love to read what they want

• If they don’t even want to support local event, why would we want to support this crappy local company?

• ugley on Oct 13, 2013 at 2:13 pm

define crappy? ok, you don’t want to buy proton, buy other cars, noone stops you

• What a shame. Look at Japanese and Koreans as they give support to their automakers, unlike some Malaysians who blindly bashed without reasons.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
      • how much the japan and korea automakers sells to their ppl? and the quality given? so u think is blindly bash? how many chance u want malaysian giv to proton? saga,wira,satria,waja,gen2,perdana,persona,exora,inspira no enough? start from first till now the power windows still cant solved…wira gera got problem, oil leaked, waja fuel pump after 60k defect, gen2 1st week engine overheat, windscreen drop after 1 month, perdana v6 pug cable+ plug change every 6 month, lubricant leaked need check every 3 weeks…. i am those car owner. so u want say i bad luck? i love proton, proton love money

• You don’t read history. They are many many years older than proton. After established 20 years, where were them? Go bash and much older automakers as they take too long to get what they are now.

Power windows now got lifetime warranty. And those problems, show me proof or it didn’t happen, lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
          • u mean i still have to giv many many years to proton? power windows warranty is another joke, yap got warranty, u have to go workshop, the time waste got warranty onot? this is the solution they given? rosak? tak apa , ada warranty? waste all the material, resource to let customers claim but not to changing the supplier? so “smart”

• Bacang on Oct 14, 2013 at 8:44 am

hyundai and kia also had the same thing like proton have right now, but koreans were still giving support to them. but those were the old days and now, both hyundai and kia are far ahead in front of proton. i blame the management changing are the main culprit of proton failure as well as govt and malaysian vvip involvment.
          anyhow, wow, you own all those proton models? wira, waja, gen 2 and perdana? seriously?

• I expect after this he said he owned other proton cars too : Putra, Satria and even a Juara, LOL

Kalau nak tipu pun agak-agak la sikit

• yap…proton wira 1.6 1st batch, waja 1.8, gen 2 1st batch, perdana v6 2.0 ….wira & perdana still in my house waja & gen 2 sold… i got full set of service record…. wira breakdown few days ago, change full set gear, change second time.

• If like that I can also say my 20 years car already broke down 3 times!!

• problem start from new…3-5 years ok, after that lots of sound come out, plan to change car , my dad say support national car, he also feel regret now, pay 60k deposit for perdana, actually we can effort better. perdana maintenance very costly

• what is there to show? At least current management of proton is a little bit smarter than those who sat in the office previously who had came up with a catchy tag like PROTON WAJA ASIA’S ANSWER TO BMW.

• fretnot on Oct 14, 2013 at 12:25 am

why smarter, care to explain?

• value on Oct 14, 2013 at 8:26 am

Good Riddance to Proton! Jaguh kampung but fail to show off inside own kampung! HA HA HA

• You enjoy condemning your friends in real life? Maybe you are not patriotic at all

• Scorpy on Oct 14, 2013 at 12:14 am

Sangat sangat memalukan!
    Penakut nak.tunjuk muka!
    Semamangnya kehadiran Proton banyak memalukan rakyat malaysia..malah menekan rakyat malaysia untuk membelinya. Itu belum lagi membuatkan rakyat yang memiliki proton sengsara dengan kos kerosakan.

Malu sungguh proton x join klim!

• gstbr on Oct 14, 2013 at 10:35 am

As if other cars are perfect 100%. I laughed at your childish comments. It’s just like the : “Ini semua salah (fill in the blank)” generalisation. Mind to tell me your age kid? Or you are immature old person? lol.

• mamatwhyla on Oct 14, 2013 at 2:09 am

why la proton? your S size Suprima underwear not good enough to show ah? :p

• swell on Oct 14, 2013 at 10:12 am

Old news already. I feel like to vomit reading your comment.

*uwek*

• Mamatwhyla on Oct 15, 2013 at 12:28 am

That is when u dont spend full effort and passion building a good car and branding. How such a silly name slipped through their decision without making any research and finding.

Vomit all u can my fren …

• Le Dentist on Oct 14, 2013 at 2:31 am

Haiyyaaa… The first thing I did when I open up this post is read the comment because 1st I think I know the reason why p1 decided not to join KLIMS and 2ndly I also wanted to read what p1 bashers will say about this.

1. Rebadge or not to rebadge.
    Why are we M’sian is so sensitive with this normal exercise of car industry? This is a normal thing for any car company to do. Peugeot still do this even Renault does too. And they are older than Proton, so what’s the problem with that?

2. Self in house design vs italdesign guigigaro I dunno… XP
    Hey come on laa… I think the bashers are more patriotic, don’t they? They want p1 to do all the work by itself sine the bashers are so into the ‘Malaysia Boleh!’ spirit. Paying others to do design is also normal. VW also hire Italdesign to design some if not all of their cars. Even Hyundai or Kia do the same but not by hiring Italdesign, instead they hire ex-peugeot designer if I’m not mistaken.

Now, I don’t say that p1 is perfect. Nope, p1 is far from perfect. I think p1 needs to think its business strategy again. What kind of car maker does p1 wanted to be? If p1 wanted to be an all-rounded car maker, then make 1 model for every segment, or just play in a specific segment. Do not produce 2-3 same segment model like what we have now, Persona, Preve and Inspira, 3 c-segment sedan. I think p1 need to leave the A-segment car and just focus on B, C and D-segment. Cut cost and be smart. If u can’t afford to design and engineer your own engine, then buy it elsewhere. I don’t want that Campro nightmare again. I wish p1 will live on. But if p1 still continues to do the same confusing shit, I bet p1 will shut down in 5-10 years time.

• ilsan on Oct 14, 2013 at 10:08 am

You didn’t read properly and i’m afraid you don’t understand proton bashers. If proton do in-house design. They say it’s not beautiful. If proton does outsourcing, they would say it’s wasting money because there are many local talents. If someone said preve exterior is like an audi. They would laugh despite it’s conti design by Italdesign.

So now, you understand them? I suggest they go and get some professional mental treatment.

• Dato' Jack on Oct 14, 2013 at 9:09 am

seem to be Joining or not joining klims its really big issue for proton haters and lovers..

those who keep bashing proton producing not a good products, kindly try to join your self with toyota/honda/audi/bmw/merc owners forums.. than u’ll know thats common for any brand or model to have few “lemons” units where these lemons unit the one who’s tarnish their brand reputation.. this is what happen for proton, from 10,000 units of car, there’s 10 lemon units, the story how bad the problem occur on lemon units will be shared out by netizen, where at the end it make all proton product look so damn bad even it is not in actual..

be fair to our less 30years old national car company..

• Nenek Jack on Oct 14, 2013 at 12:52 pm

OK lah to be fair maybe here’s why Proton no-show:

– So pokai no budget even for a car booth.

– So many car concepts to show-off the small both are not enough….prffffttttt!

Anyway keep on support Proton…by help to laugh at them. Yes donate your laughter is a help too! Ha Ha Ha Ha Wooohoooo!

• kream on Oct 14, 2013 at 5:50 pm

Maybe, maybe,maybe. That’s quality of proton bashers. No facts needed, just making assumptions and syok sendiri conclusions.

• KLIMS is not international enough. Last year pergi ….mana ada international. Stupid…bazir duit je. Patunya dinamakan N@Z@ motor showje. Jauh lagi baik Bangkok/Jakarta motor show.

• Based on the article, the person/people whose decision (or rather, indecision) delayed the booking is to be blamed here. Wonder if it is a budget issue, lack of interest or just plain procrastination.

• Joe Radzif on Oct 17, 2013 at 4:23 pm

Maybe all Suprima S had been out of stock. so no cars to be shown… manyak laku la ini Suprima S..
    Saya mesti piley….

• Garvin on Oct 28, 2013 at 7:26 pm

Want to see Proton’s new lineup, go see at Honda’s booth, same sameee …

• we all wanted proton to succeed as malaysians.
    reality it different. we bought proton when we started working and still have one today (coz its the only one we can afford). still remembered my waja (after few years of working). So long waiting time; was forced to buy additional accessories else can forget the order. problems ? you bet. My dad had a japanese car , we used it for many years. Proton, after few short years, cheap plastic cracking everywhere. what’s there to be proud of with proton, after so many years, 1 or 2 new cars. so little options and got slight improvement ; already talk so loud, typical jaguh kampung. proton perdana replacement is honda accord ? and we have Thailand and Indonesia gaining and opening up their industries for foreign investment. Still waiting to extend tax exemption for hybrid…. we are on the losing end.. sigh..

• Carl Wong on Oct 29, 2013 at 2:12 am

Good……