Next Mazda3 MPS to lose turbo and over 50 horses?

MY2014 Mazda 3

The initial hype over the new-gen Mazda3 unveiling is barely over, and there’s already news of the hot version – the inevitable Mazda3 MPS (or Mazdaspeed3 in USA) replacement. By news we mean rumours, and if we’re being honest, by rumours we mean blind speculations by the folks over at Auto Express.

Citing an anonymous senior engineer within Mazda’s ranks, the report suggests that the next Mazda3 MPS will drop its current 2.3 litre turbocharged engine in favour of a high-revving, naturally aspirated 2.0 litre motor. It will be based on the new 3’s 163 hp 2.0 litre SkyActiv mill, tuned up to 200 hp and a 7,000 rpm rev limit.

If accurate, that would make the new model over 50 hp less powerful than the outgoing model, a definite backward step no matter how you see it. Torque will take an even bigger dip from the current 380 Nm, as without a turbo it’s unlikely to offer much more than the standard 2.0 SkyActiv’s 210 Nm (which is already on the high side for an NA 2.0 litre engine).

Such a left-field setup will make it the spiritual successor to the FN2 Euro Honda Civic Type R – a peculiar move since even that discontinued model will be replaced by a new turbocharged hero with up to 265-300 hp come 2015 to keep up with ever-increasingly more powerful force-inducted class rivals.

That said, the current Mazda3 MPS is all about brute power with little to no handling finesse. Perhaps Mazda is targeting the opposite outcome for the next-gen MPS – harnessing class-beating driving dynamics at the expense of all-out speed. The Mazda MX-5 has played that card to good effect, so there’s no saying the Mazda3 MPS can’t do the same. What do you all think?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 14, 2013 at 4:07 pm

No turbo engine? That’s a very brave brave move by Mazda….and a gamble that I doubt would win them much favors. Especially given that all it’s hot hatch rivals have gone the turbo charge route, including Honda.

A high revving engine (but let’s face it, 7000 is hardly high revving – my old extra heavy duty 6 bolt 4g63 would spin to 8200) might work for the miata, but I doubt it would work for a sporty hot hatch. A nicely tuned and free revving NA would be great on a lightweight roadster like the MX5.

Even most “warm” hatch owners are being spoilt for torque. Coming from a long time turbo driver, after a while you just get used to the massive torque.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • As long as it’s from Japan no matter it’s underpowered or sucky, it’ll be like an idol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 62
    • Jimmy on Jul 14, 2013 at 9:47 pm

Even though not the target customers, I always hope mazda become the pioneer of a lot of things in Malaysian automotive market. So, no reverse gear please. Take good care of your image, which is near VW despite a long distance from Mercedes. Don’t wait until one day when everybody put Mazda same status as Suzuki.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 11
      • siobu on Jul 14, 2013 at 10:15 pm

lack of service centre
        expensive spare part
        overpriced product
        fast to get bored design
        too many gadgets = complicated troubleshooting
        underpowered engine, oh no!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 37
        • Maserati on Jul 15, 2013 at 12:07 am

This is the comments page for Mazda 3, not Kia Cerato, mate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 65
        • Colin on Jul 15, 2013 at 2:01 pm

@siobu why don’t you come with facts instead of opinions loser

• i really like boleh people….yesterday praise like god….today…hahaha..so double face

wait la till it is final before praising

• Paukaya on Jul 14, 2013 at 4:12 pm

“all about brute power with no handling finesse” expecting backlash comments in 3…2…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • akukaya on Jul 14, 2013 at 7:02 pm

I’m not surprise as it’s Jap cars. Conti or proton is much better choice if it’s the deal breaker

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 139 Thumb down 17
    • Alpha on Jul 14, 2013 at 7:23 pm

It’s true. Most enthusiasts consider the handling of the MPS to be sub-par. The 256bhp engine is wasted on it.

Try test driving one and you’ll realize that the rivals handles better.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 4
      • viosno1 on Jul 14, 2013 at 10:09 pm

Vios handling is much better, even better than conti cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 102
        • RedCRZ on Jul 15, 2013 at 2:24 am

Basi oredi… Not funny anymore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
          • viosno1 on Jul 15, 2013 at 5:12 am

If dugong sudah basi then buy the coming new one next year, the handling is much much better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 94
  • papoi on Jul 14, 2013 at 4:20 pm

They may as well put that 2 litre in the next mx5, then it maybe can compete with toyota 86 roadster

• Kalun on Jul 14, 2013 at 4:38 pm

Let’s see. The only competitor that doesn’t have any turbo in the market currently is Honda Civic Si (US model).
    Most probably mazda is competing against Civic Si.

The great advantages of non turbo car is lightness. If Mazda manage to make 3 mps light with great handling, it will win big time as Civic Si fails in the handling part.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 16
    • most of the manufacturers prefer turbo 4s over na 6s because its lighter but have same power but more torque and more economical. ive never heard of anyone saying they dont like turbos because its heavier. have u ever lifted one?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 7
  • Espresso! Quick! on Jul 14, 2013 at 5:25 pm

hopefully they have a sedan version of the mps.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • jolly_idiot on Jul 14, 2013 at 6:28 pm

World is moving to force induction where na is phasing off.

What is on mazda mind?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 14
    • hontai on Jul 14, 2013 at 6:59 pm

Where is Wetdream engine from Honta? Only left to dream, not reality? LOL

• Espresso! Quick! on Jul 14, 2013 at 10:07 pm

actually, i don’t mind not having a turbo. i know the whole european world is going turbo for the sake of the environment but i still think there is a place for an efficient and powerful na. there are people out there, myself included who actually prefer less complex engines. no matter what manufacturers tell, the more components there are, there’s more chances for something to break. i’d rather avoid the unfortunate incidents even though a turbo is more efficient, has more torque, more power and greener. an na has in theory, less components, less stress therefore by theory also, better longevity. but then, this is just me and i’m happy that mazda still cater’s to those like me. a spiritual successor to honda’s high revving K20 but with more efficiency and concern for the environment? i’d say yes to it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
      • mazda-suck on Jul 14, 2013 at 10:18 pm

Less complex engine but complex buttons and functions. So lame. This car is suffering from personality conflict.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 42
        • Then you are not ready to drive a Mazda. Go get the Kosong Toyota with their 20 year old 4 speed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
      • actually na engine is only more reliable if you drive it moderately, na engine needs higher revs than turbo to develop power therefore parts take more stress if you drive it fast

• lonelyobserve on Jul 15, 2013 at 9:56 am

One more thing, NA engine has better throtlle response than turbo-charged engine (on higher gear and at low engine speed acceleration). Turbo lag is an issue especially bigger turbo is used.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Mazda seems to be in a world of their own. They chose to improve the NA engine rather than develop turbo as most other competitors and I respect that philosophy. However, Mazda needs to make sense each of their move. Having NA in regular models is ok, but if you choose to do that on an MPS model which has the Focus ST, Golf GTI as competitors, you can’t be so rigid to your philosophy anymore. You got to do what makes sense.

Anyway, most of us are speculating here including the article writer above. Let’s see the real car and evaluate the drive. Then it’s fair to unleash any bashing comments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • jolly_idiot on Jul 15, 2013 at 9:38 am

Dude. We r toking bout hot hatch now. Everybody know that na have it pros. But leave it to normal passenger car will please most.

MPs is all about performance. No point putting a gutless engine and compare its rival in the same class. If the new mps is na, its lame. I would better buy the normal hatch will do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 18
  • theanswer on Jul 14, 2013 at 6:47 pm

why not 2.0L turbo? haish.

• intess on Jul 14, 2013 at 7:16 pm

Because Jap engineers are not well trained to diagnose and repair turbo emgine. They are starting to get lazy, koreans are much better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 45
  • BeemerFreak on Jul 14, 2013 at 6:54 pm

Mazda was a purveyor of the turbocharged technology stretching to the stoncking rx-7 why not push the boundaries of the high compression ratio skyactive petrol engine and make a high revving turbo engine with the economy to match.

If the comments are proven true then that shall be the downfall of the MPS nameplate

• Mazda cannot build turbocharged engine that can fulfill the European emitting standard, maybe. Or it’s just the way Jap build engine, they are different school from Westeners / Europeans. They prefre N/A engines rather than the forced induction.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Mazda is a going backward company. It is going to reduce the power of engine. Proton is much better by offering more powerful engine from campro to CFE and after this hopefully there would be better FC engine. Go proton!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 335 Thumb down 22
    • neemfa on Jul 15, 2013 at 8:19 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 380
      • CFE lowish end torque is about 165nm, skyactive 2.0l only 125nm, CFE is much better solution.

• lepenn on Jul 14, 2013 at 7:13 pm

Mazda3 mps is an example of phailed car even before launching hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 13
  • The sound of high revving N/A engine maybe louder than turbocharged one but it goes like snail lol

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 18
  • mazda3mps – “sounds like thunder, moves like snail” LOLOL

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 206 Thumb down 28
  • Al Gorilla on Jul 14, 2013 at 8:51 pm

A highly strung, high revving engine would have emissions level (and fuel consumption) not in-line with its policy, I would think. It seems that they are very averse to the idea of a turbo petrol engine, however.

• silwen on Jul 14, 2013 at 9:34 pm

The MPS has a massive problem with torque steer since it’s a front wheel drive. I’m surprised none of the author has not spotted this already.

The lowering of power would theoretically give the driver more precise control and less wrestling. I think it’s a good move. This isn’t after all, a muscle car, it’s a hot hatch.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 2
    • neemfa on Jul 15, 2013 at 8:21 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 161
    • theanswer on Jul 15, 2013 at 2:22 pm

actually most car reviewer already spot mps weakness. nowadays front wheel drive with lots of power is no problem (for example megane, focus st). but must give more attention to the handling and torque steer problem. seem like mazda only cares abt straight line performance.

• it is not relevant in the market strategy.
    how many mps sold compared to mazda 3 globally?
    the existence of mps is merely to show the world there is such “better performed” mazda 3,not necessary better than type r or 308T,or other brand.
    want?go ahead buy renault megane.
    as long as my madza 3 sale top the altis and civic.
    type r sales better than mps,who cares?volume too small.
    163hp still alot better than the 120hp version madza 3.

• silver on Jul 14, 2013 at 10:21 pm

who says that turbo charging engine is the only way forward in the future. I don’t mind them following their own way instead off following blindly without a soul.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • decifa on Jul 15, 2013 at 5:09 am

Sir your car moves slow in traffic jam but sound so loud, any problem with the engine? kah kah kah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 14
    • Yes let them building triangle shape car LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
  • yoolang on Jul 14, 2013 at 10:39 pm

this one is mazda make for different horsepower is have reason. can sometime is no sure the company, but always is for the safe when customer buy. same like toyota and honda.

when can follow the normal safe type make by honda and toyota, can make a bigger market share

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • jolly_idiot on Jul 14, 2013 at 10:42 pm

NAZA, please dont bring the mazda mps here, i.wont buy it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 23
    • Maserati on Jul 15, 2013 at 12:08 am

your name is apt. Mazda is from Bermaz.

• jolly_idiot on Jul 15, 2013 at 9:45 am

He is not the real jolly_idiot. The real idiot knows mazda from bermaz not naza.

• Vios is the best

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 27
    • even ur comment is not funny anymore, but lot of malaysian still thinking like that “vios is the best” not “mazda 3 or cerato or city yurk is the best!”..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 144 Thumb down 0
  • amirad on Jul 15, 2013 at 8:13 am

Ever since VW put the twincharger 1.4 into most of its product line up, now everybody expect nothing less than 250 Nm at 1800 rpm. In fact now, everybody wants to drive a 350 Nm car. NA car eg. Lexus, Mazda etc. are being shunned for their lack or torque and kick in the ass acceleration. I believed there’s more to overall package of the car than just the brute force. Driving both the well sorted turbo and NA cars is a joy.

• Bryan Tee on Jul 15, 2013 at 10:22 am

So many people comment about turbo, non turbo and this news is only speculation. Just wait and see first. By the way how may will buy a MPS if Mazda put a strong turbo in this Hot-hatch?
    Leave it to Mazda to announce I believe they have done their research, look at the recent 3 model CX5, Mazda6 and Mazda3. I pretty sure they know what they are doing. Please stop comparing this with PROTON, I own 2 proton, after 2-3year rattling here, is drivable and I never face break down still PROTON no where near Mazda.

• Jon B on Jul 15, 2013 at 10:49 am

Honestly, I dont think it would make a difference. Where I live in the USA, you can easily get pulled over for speeding. Why have so much power if you can’t use it? I drove a 2.0 Mazda3 (non-SkyActiv) and found it had plenty of power. I can imagine the 2.5is quick, and a 200hp SkyActiv (so glad its naturally aspirated) would be even quicker. Speed is dangerous, handling is fun.

• Norman on Jul 15, 2013 at 1:31 pm

Why not na engine when the torque is as powerful?Not all drivers like turbocharging by the way.Turbo cars require more maintenance and cost.I dun mind the 2.0 over the 2.3 turbo honestly

• kross on Jul 15, 2013 at 9:56 pm

This engine won’t be in common passenger cars but niche market hence more expensive. Who would buy it then, only enthusiasts.

• frenzy on Jul 15, 2013 at 1:58 pm

I’ve read some comment from car enthusiast web like speedhunters.com. And also a car review from German car review. It seems that European owner like NA over turbo in performance car. speedhunters is posting RIP to BMW M3 for it’s dissapearance of NA engine to Turbo. They said Turbo lack of soul compared to high revving NA. Probably means Turbo can’t match sound and smooth of NA. To me, any one also fine. But for hot hatch and small coupe, NA is a better choice. Hatches and coupe aren’t meant for power and fast but for thrill and fun. All new turbocars produce impressive power and but their sounds is terrible. New M5 needs to play sounds through car’s audio system. Nissan GT-R accelerate better than a LFA but the thrill LFA given is totally different level. Like FD2R vs a Golf GTi. GTi is a faster car but K20A high revving VTEC sounds and thrill can’r replaced by TSI.

• lonelyobserve on Jul 15, 2013 at 2:52 pm

I agree with that. Even some former UK racers admitted that turbo-charged engines kill the excitement for the high rev NA engines sound in high performance sports cars, for example BMW M5 F10 reviewed by Fifth Gear.

• frenzy on Jul 15, 2013 at 4:47 pm

AMG 63 twin turbo engine is the only nice sounding Turbo engine I heard.

• Sound anytime can be modified, if engine power you have to bare the hefty cost.

• nivster on Sep 16, 2013 at 3:58 am

No turbo engine? No! If thats the case then I would rather but the mps 2 and keep that! Dont be silly Mazda. We need to knock out those Audi S3 drivers soon!!

• Markus on Jan 03, 2014 at 7:20 pm

Mazda is trying to get some more MPS’s sold by decreasing their emissions.
    The 2.3 DISI isn’t “clean” enough, making it too expensive to compete. In The Netherlands where I live, the MPS costs around 50.000 euro’s, which comes down to 67.000 US Dollars, mostly because of extra added “environmental” tax. Nobody spends that much money on a hothatch. VW, Audi, Ford do a much beter job on getting cleaner engines (on paper anyway), less emissions and less tax, so a lower purchase price. But in terms of performance, the N/A engine will never get the torque of a turbo engine. They need to develope an engine which has the punch to compete, and low emissions to sell.

• The mzr 2.3 turbo engine the mps uses has a 5 star euro emissions rating. The problem is, whenever you tekan minyak to the max, the car produces 255hp and 380nm torque. Obviously that will burn a hell lot of fuel

• Prakash on Jul 23, 2018 at 12:51 am

Being an owner of the current MPS , it would be nice if mazda would tune up the 2.5 skyactive to be fitted into the new MPS hot hatch.Doing away with turbo and going na is ok but they should put bigger na engines into small hatch and that sounds like fun..similar to VW R32