2014 Mazda 3 5-door hatchback makes world debut

2014-mazda3-0005

The next-generation Mazda 3 is here, revealed as a five-door hatchback first – the car was launched in five countries at a go, with Melbourne hosting the global reveal ahead of launch events in New York, London, St Petersburg and Istanbul. The new car shares its handsome looks with larger sibling Mazda 6, and the sedan version that will probably come later will look even more like a mini Mazda 6.

The new Mazda 3 is on average about 60 kg lighter than its predecessor, despite being a larger car. Its wheelbase has grown 60 mm to 2,700 mm, and it’s now 4,465 mm long, 1,795 mm wide and 1,450 mm tall, which represents a growth of about 5 mm, 40 mm and 20 mm respectively.

It’s worth noting that the 2014 Mazda 3 now has a longer wheelbase than the Mk3 Ford Focus – other than the Mazda 2 and the BT-50 truck, there’s not much platform sharing with Ford going on any longer. The car rides on MacPherson struts at the front and a multi-link suspension at the rear.

2014-mazda3-0004

Five engines have been announced at launch – a new 1.5 litre SkyActiv-G engine, two different tunes for the 2.0 litre SkyActiv-G engine, a 2.5 litre SkyActiv-G engine, and a single 2.2 litre SkyActiv-D diesel motor.

The new 1.5 litre SkyActiv-G slots in between the 1.3 litre and 2.0 litre versions and outputs 100 PS at 6,000 rpm and 150 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm with direct injection and a compression ratio of 14.0:1.

The lower powered version of the 2.0 litre SkyActiv-G engine produces 120 PS and 210 Nm of torque, curiously low power for a 2.0 litre engine. It’s obviously detuned for fuel economy and emissions purposes because the high power version of the engine with the i-ELOOP system produces 165 PS and 210 Nm. Both engines have direct injection and run a 14.0:1 compression ratio.

2014-mazda3-0013

The SkyActiv-D 2.2 litre engine produces 150 PS at 4,500 rpm and is the most torquey of the lot – 380 Nm at 1,800 rpm. All four engines can be had with a six-speed manual transmission. The low-power 2.0 as well as the 2.2 diesel can be had with a six-speed automatic. The final engine is the 2.5 litre SkyActiv-G, which is likely to be quite similiar to the one in the Mazda 6.

Mazda also announced that the Mazda 3 sedan will be coming and will also be available with a petrol electric hybrid powertrain – if it’s mated to a 2.0 litre and below engine capacity, perhaps we might see it introduced at a very good price in Malaysia?

What do you think of the new Mazda 3? Like what you see?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• chikaro on Jun 27, 2013 at 12:00 am

Dem..I juz bought the current mazda 3..dem dem dem!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 1
    • Sgt Scoop on Jun 27, 2013 at 12:08 am

Don’t worry. It will take them a few years to bring this to Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 46
      • jeremy on Jun 27, 2013 at 12:46 am

I beg to differ. Bermaz are usually pretty fast when it comes to bringing the latest Mazda. Remember the Mazda 6 started selling in the US in early 2013 as a 2014 model. We already got it by March. Expect to see the all new Mazda 3 introduced in Malaysia by March next year.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 0
        • hope you are right! but when they invested in the CKD line, they will not be that fast to breakeven and have to CKD a newer model. Remember how slow we got the launch of the current Suzuki Swift? The robotic CKD line was one of the biggest delay reasons.

• agogo on Jun 27, 2013 at 9:08 am

the new mazda3 interior with integrated screen and hud makes mazda6/cx5 interior looks el-cheapo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 23
        • Roger Tan on Jun 27, 2013 at 9:57 am

I disagree. Recent new models came in rather quickly – think Mazda 6, CX5

I hope the CKD assembly practise doesn’t slow down the launch with rubbish excuses like retooling, retraining, etc

• rajaGlobal on Jun 27, 2013 at 1:00 pm

yeah, and manual version as well…. wait n see…

• Hiroshi on Jun 27, 2013 at 12:48 am

beautiful car, cant wait to see on the road ^^ even-though i cant afford it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • I believe that it will launch soon. Hope we can get the original 2.0 SkyActiv engine.

• sedaka on Jun 27, 2013 at 4:07 am

wth..low powered version is only 120ps, it’s already 2.0l but tiny ps/hp, totally a turn off. The high powered one is more dseirable but a GDI? Can it use ron95 without sacrificing the performance? And for sure the road tax + insurance are pricier than any 1.6 turbocharged engine cars here. Sigh. The cars are meant for global but Malaysians. Pity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 25
          • theanswer on Jun 27, 2013 at 10:32 am

read the torque number. 210nm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
          • sedaka on Jun 27, 2013 at 11:34 am

Read it, my concerns are high powered one is a GDI and 2.0l engine car insurance and road tax. 1.6T is better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
          • Currently Ford Focus in malaysia is 2.0 GDI.. so i think malaysia fuel should be compatible

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 27, 2013 at 12:40 pm

The difference in road tax is not really significant if you split the difference into months. BTW, both power units are GDI. As someone pointed out. Read the article again.

Don’t just look at numbers. They only tell half the story. Test drive the car when it comes out.

The general car buying public has been loong hoodwinked into only taking hp numbers as doctrine. (Like camera buyers looking for megapixels)

How well a car drives (or if it feels underpowered) is dependent on a lot of other factors, such as gearing, vehicle weight and ignition and valve timing. This is the basis of Mazda’s Skyactive philosophy.

My guess is the 120hp unit will offer much better drivability in-city with exceptional fuel economy. And you don’t have to rev the headbolts off it to get meaningful power. You have to understand that HP is a calculated figure from power over time. Which means, the higher you rev an engine , the more HP it makes. Bringing down the peak power RPM will lower HP but will also make the engine more responsive at lower rpm.

I personally prefer the japanese to be more active in force feeding their engines, but to each their own.

With 60kg saved, those of us in drag racing will typically equate that to about the equivalent of an additional 10hp “gain” in power.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 1
          • Moores on Jun 27, 2013 at 4:08 pm

Pity you. CX5 and Mazda 6 are ALREADY using GDI in Malaysia with RON 95.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
        • namanama on Jun 27, 2013 at 2:28 pm

4G63T DSM great explanation,this how to comment..come with facts.

• Mazda is no Honda…This car will be here very soon. Look at how fast CX5 and Mazda 6 came here just months after official launch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
      • Pontiax on Jun 27, 2013 at 9:03 am

No it wont. Based on m6 and cx5, we can expect it come around march 2014.
        M6 launched on russia on september 2012 and the new m6 reached port klang around january and people get their car early march and launching it around mid march.

• Bravostra on Jun 30, 2013 at 8:25 pm

I have to say that this all new Mazda 3 is the best looking car amongst its rival from especially Honda, Nissan and Toyota. Besides, the performance is not bad at all after considering few factors like power to weight ratio. And we Malaysians also want a car with good FC. I would love to test drive this car and will for sure cancel the booking for the civic. The only worry is the RV without neglecting the fact Honda and Toyota have much good RV than Mazda but I think if Mazda keep progressing like this, it seems like it will has a good RV.

• driver on Jun 27, 2013 at 6:01 am

Sorry bro, I’d say this one has nicer interior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Hope they bring the new 3 sedan to kill the hurt my eye looking Almera! yuck that thing is ugly!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 2
    • damn it! me too… just got my Mazda 3 hatchback 2 weeks ago… WTF!!! the salesman never mentioned before that the all new Mazda 3 is about to launch. arghhhhh……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • jeremy on Jun 27, 2013 at 8:25 pm

Sorry to hear that…next time before buying a car, do your own research first…car enthusiast already know that the all new mazda 3 would be coming out next year…I also wouldn’t tell you anything if I was your salesman too unfortunately unless you ask about it….its all about sales

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • rr77sham on Jul 07, 2013 at 12:43 pm

Ermmm….. I meet serdang SA and asking for 2.0 Madza 3. The good thing is he advise me to wait next year as new model will come. So not all SA is keep as secret.

• Kalimaca Chan on Jun 28, 2013 at 10:09 pm

No sunroof :(
      cannot do things under moonlight.

• Robin Kueh on Jun 27, 2013 at 12:02 am

Mazda 3 . . the pinnacle of hatchback car . . fap fap fap . . Mazda ftw

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Sgt Scoop on Jun 27, 2013 at 12:09 am

Angry Timon face!

• Ensco 105 on Jun 27, 2013 at 12:14 am

SHUT UP AND TAKE MY MONEY!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • blacktop 6 speed on Jun 27, 2013 at 12:15 am

climax car…

• Let’s vote
    Choose “like” for new Mazda 3
    Choose “dislike” for Ford Focus

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 161 Thumb down 38
  • frenzyaustin on Jun 27, 2013 at 12:24 am

Best looking in it’s class I dare to say! Performance should be good as 6 and CX-5 received very good in terms of driving dynamic and fuel efficiency. It looks just so good that can stack up against A-Class. Focus or Golf MK7 is really lose this car in design. Previously I saw some rendering about this 3, I kinda dissapointed as it looks exactly like a 6, but the real outcome is very impressive, it looks same, yet different and can be easily distinguished between them. Although it shared same chassis as CX-5, but the shape is very different from CX-5. When people says Korean cars are better looking than Japanese car, as a Japanese automobile fans I can use Mazda and say Japs are much better looking than all it’s rival. Seriously, Mazda is very impressive these year as a small company, they manage to achieve something really excellent. Great job! Mazda-san!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 6
    • driver on Jun 27, 2013 at 5:53 am

I have no argument on the exterior, though personally still I prefer MK7 of it’s elegance and simplicity. Performance wise, on paper at least, it still is inferior than EA211 1.4 TSI.

Anyway, let’s wait for the official figure (and spec) for Malaysia market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
    • Majority jap car are ugly. Mazda is really an exception. Until T&H improves, you will have to live with the saying of jap car are ugly (with the exception of Mazda).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
      • frenzyaustin on Jun 27, 2013 at 11:51 am

The Hiroshima boys really design fantastic car after being bombed by a nuclear 70 years ago. Toyota should invest in Fukushima and open a design centre there and after few years, Toyota might win best looking car in every segment.

• jeremy on Jun 27, 2013 at 8:28 pm

so no atom bomb=shitty design??? Maybe we need to nuke tanjong malim and rawang then…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
          • frenzyaustin on Jun 27, 2013 at 9:48 pm

Just a joke bro, don’t take it too serious.

• All it needs is the 2.3L DISI turbo engine producing a healthy 340hp to compete with the M135i, S3, A45 AMG, and the upcoming Subaru WRX STi.

• Supercharger on Jun 27, 2013 at 11:39 am

wait for Mazdaspeed 3, or MPS! the previous generation is kinda bad compare to Focus ST, Golf GTi and Megane RS.

• better still, RWD. 340bhp at the front wheels will torque steer quite a lot, regardless of how sophisticated the differential may be.

• If there’s a flaw with the design, well, maybe the nose is a tad heavy looking ala current Peugeot 308, but overall really a awesome contribution by Mazda to the segment in the aesthetic department, thou maybe a bigger roof spoiler can spice things up further. Interior is quite a change over its bigger sibling, And that 12C looking meter cluster looks like its housing 2 LCD, if true, thats beyond Awesome!

• Meanwhile in Malaysia, the Preve hatchback, still…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • Shut up and take my money!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • Who’s want ur money? u think that Mazda really need ur little money? go booked one in the future if u can afford it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
  • whereohwhere on Jun 27, 2013 at 12:27 am

Does that mean there’s no petrol force-induced engine for the MPS? :(

• Not so soon I believe. The design and nature of 14.0:1 compression engine isn’t suitable for force induction. Unless they changed the materials of the engine.

• Jared on Jun 27, 2013 at 12:35 am

Looks like an angry bird

• Bring in the diesel!! Preferably keeping the price at max RM110k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
  • Neh.. Will wait the Preve hatchback..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 46
    • In another word means, Neh….Will wait for the Preve hatchback because I damn want this Mazda 3 but can’t afford it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
  • skypirate on Jun 27, 2013 at 12:47 am

the most amazing thing about this car is the interior, it looks very much like the interior of the Merc A class, which is not a bad thing at all. the quality of the interior looks good too from the photo, but i will reserve my judgement until i have seen it in flesh.

• Beautycontestant on Jun 27, 2013 at 12:48 am

the headlight so very bmw to me..

• meng meng on Jun 27, 2013 at 1:10 am

Mazda now stop smilling start angry.

• the front number plate looks awkward…

• armandd on Jun 27, 2013 at 1:19 am

No doubt it’s the best looking car in it’s class. However, for a car of this size, the 100ps 1.5 liter engine is inadequate don’t you think?

• driver on Jun 27, 2013 at 6:00 am

I also thought so… a conflict of identity – sporty vs. economical.

• Skyactiv. ThIs car is a full 100kg lighter and pair with their new Skyactiv trans. Don’t just look at the hp. Good example are the Korean cars where they have higher hp but on the road they are always behind for 0-100 and fuel consumption.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • kadajawi on Jun 27, 2013 at 6:46 pm

It’s common for European C segment cars to have 75-100 hp. While there are more powerful variants, such entry level cars are offered as well. 100 hp for the entry level version of a C segment car sounds quite decent. If you are willing to spend more of course you can get more power.

• SSaturn on Jun 27, 2013 at 1:25 am

Wait for MPS version :)

• oceanpacify on Jun 27, 2013 at 1:50 am

for me, aside from Mitsubishi, Mazda is the most dynamic in its design outlook compared to other Japanese car manufacturers.

seriously, look at how their cars are designed – not too Japanese and not too Continental either but somehow has elements of both. how can you not appreciate the design and technology as well as the curves and lines inside and outside their cars?

gotta save up and get one…..in 5 years time!

• Pontiac on Jun 27, 2013 at 9:01 am

Not japanese not conti then what?
      PROTON?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • oppa gangbang stylep on Jun 27, 2013 at 11:59 am

just say it…of course follow korean car…look at the line, curve…its a hyundai…mazda the only japs car close to korean in term of design..hate it but have to suck it sucker

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 42
        • Storm on Jun 27, 2013 at 10:57 pm

Mazda follow Korean car? Errr..Mazda chief designer is a Japanese. Who did the Korean hired?

• kadajawi on Jun 27, 2013 at 6:47 pm

Nah, I do think this is a quite Japanese design, unless by not Japanese you mean not ugly, as the other Japanese car makers have been for quite a while now.

• oceanpacify on Jun 28, 2013 at 2:57 am

that’s close to what I meant, as well as uninspiring driving experience offered by ‘that other two Japanese car makers’. Mazda still maintain its “Japanese-ness”, precise and sterile, but not outwardly boring.

like another commentator brought up Kia/Hyundai. Since the design chief is Peter Schreyer, so no guesses where that Continental design came from. so far, they got the design factor in the right direction with ride and handling following suit.

as such, IMHO, Mazda is clearly more refined compared to Mitsubishi, but the latter is a bit brash and quite a lot fun too – minus the current Mirage, haha.

• Albert on Jun 27, 2013 at 2:27 am

is it only me that think the interior look like BMW interior. anyway, welldone.

• SixthGear Msia on Jun 27, 2013 at 2:58 am

Finally Mazda learn to get angry as before it smiles.
    After this? sad looks ? ..
    But, sorry not impress with the car performance with large displacement and not gonna sell well in Malaysia.
    Like a old granma with big torso..
    If this car’s heart transplant to the i-ELOOP system , this car has perfect balance…

This detuned engine need to throw away to the smile face Mazda to match the personality ..

Please Mazda, Low displacement with power will win Malaysian heart like the VW did

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
    • frenzyaustin on Jun 27, 2013 at 11:20 am

Tax should be judge by emission, not engine displacement. Engine size =/= emission and efficiency anymore.

• Josh Ling on Jun 27, 2013 at 4:56 am

Great looking car, but the promo is……a lot of improvements required.

• The number plate at the front grille makes the car looks surprisingly ugly.

• sambalbabi on Jun 27, 2013 at 6:37 am

please bring in few units of manual version as well

• Kalun on Jun 27, 2013 at 7:13 am

This looks better than Kia cerato.
    Look at the interior and the exterior. It looks very premium like Lexus and bimmer.

• Gavin on Jun 27, 2013 at 7:39 am

2.2 diesel makes it quite a hot hatch like the golf GTD. Good luck from not smoking the tyres on wet roads

• oo, don’t see a cd slot

• Bangle on Jun 27, 2013 at 7:42 am

To Proton this is how a world class hatch should be designed.

Your outdated Preve Hatch boleh jalan lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • Petrol on Jun 27, 2013 at 8:16 am

Compression ratio 14:1, really suit for ron95? If use ron95 in long term will have problem like Toyota D4?

• neemfa on Jun 27, 2013 at 8:17 am

If the 120PS engine version is sold here, then it might fail big time.. mazda pls don’t screw it.. a very attractive car must come with a good engine, otherwise flop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
    • Wah, you sound like you are much smarter than those Japanese that build car before even your grandma was born.

• truman on Jun 28, 2013 at 1:12 am

define good engine..mr engineer..

• iwant1M3 on Jun 27, 2013 at 8:20 am

“The lower powered version of the 2.0 litre SkyActiv-G engine produces 120 PS and 210 Nm of torque”

Is Mazda for real, 2.0 doing 120ps? Isn’t that way underpowered for a 2.0 car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • 4G63T DSM on Jun 27, 2013 at 12:47 pm

As I recall, did the Slyphy not have a 2.0L with 120hp when it first came out. Don’t see it not selling?

Don’t just look at numbers.

• Ppl don’t look at numbers here. They just look at badges.. pitiful.

• Moores on Jun 27, 2013 at 4:48 pm

Again and again, why do we always only care about hp so much?? To achieve a good ‘day to day’ driving one really have to look at the torque and not hp. Torque is the one that pulls your car from stationary and that’s what really matters to most of us, acceleration. Hp on the other hand will come in handy if you want to reach higher speed. Now, how many of us are pushing our car to the max speed everyday?? Secondly, beside torque (not hp), one should look at how good the transmission do their work. Remember transmission is the one that give force to the wheels not the engine. Thirdly, weight of the car. A car with more horsepower but heavier or a car with less horsepower but lighter? You decide.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
      • YourName on Jun 27, 2013 at 11:00 pm

They obviously are not true car enthusiasts. Go stick with your H & T =)

• truman on Jun 28, 2013 at 1:08 am

hp lovers thought they can use up all the hp power with AES around..lol

• truman on Jun 28, 2013 at 1:10 am

underpower? your brain maybe, but not sure to mazda..cos u haven’t try this car yet..not also everyone cos its not arrive..

• Low Leng Hua on Jul 27, 2013 at 11:48 pm

Yes, but hp is just one part of the story. Look at the torque figure, at 210Nm, it is higher than even the Civic, Lancer,all 2.0..

• MazdaTheAwakening on Jun 27, 2013 at 8:38 am

Indeed it’s a gamechanger! Kodus to the new gen of M3. After a generation of smileys, here comes the generation of sophisticate seriousness! Zoom zoom.

• Abg Long on Jun 27, 2013 at 8:46 am

good job mazda!! errr.. preve hatchback.. where r u?

• truman on Jun 28, 2013 at 1:07 am

different price lar, bro..almost 1 mazda can buy 2 preve..cannot compare lar…rich ppl sure this mazda lor..no money at least can buy preve mar..

• Superb! Impressive! I like the interior.

• Fuel Cell Phone on Jun 27, 2013 at 9:04 am

The c-segment market is getting more interesting

Can’t wait for the new Mazda 3 and Pug 308 to arrive here soon

• taboogen on Jun 27, 2013 at 9:17 am

look like subaru impreza to me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • sepul on Jun 27, 2013 at 9:32 am

Everyone here only see the hp and say underpowered, do you see the torque figure? its 210Nm, which is more than capable to pull the car. Think of diesel engine for the performance.

14.0:1 is only for Europe, here it will be detuned to 13.4:1 as with the CX-5 and new 6. We still stuck with Euro 2 anyway. RON95 or 97 is not an issue.

Mazda/Bermaz, bring the 2.0 manual also!

• Whatever on Jun 27, 2013 at 9:40 am

Will it be available for display during the upcoming KLIMS 2013? A rather hopeful thought than reality maybe.. Hopefully Bermaz will not delay the launch just to meet the selling target of the current M3. For me, if the new model is only going to reach our shore in 2 years time, I will still not buy the current M3, since the new one is already out globally.

• Xefron on Jun 27, 2013 at 9:42 am

ok now can start to save for dwpayment. :p

• namanama on Jun 27, 2013 at 9:45 am

as Malaysian i do not worry much about 120ps,it’s have a good torque which is 210nm and skyactive is a true automotive tech! not a ventilated seat,sunroof whatever crap you call it.

• And with the expense of performance when it is detuned to use ron95, it’s not worth it. Same goes with the high powered version.

• namanama on Jun 27, 2013 at 2:15 pm

it’s worth it,mazda famous with their marvelous handling,not like your korean car.pffft..

• frenzyaustin on Jun 27, 2013 at 11:43 am

It use the same engine as the M6, if power is not enough, just some simple tuning then it can achieve the M6 power. But you’ll lose fuel efficiency and handling.

• Faizal on Jun 27, 2013 at 9:46 am

Peh! I just bought current Mazda 3..Oh no!!!!

• amirad on Jun 27, 2013 at 9:47 am

Simply stunning. Love the interior. Simple, practical and elegant. Nice place to be in. Will wait for the MPS version with better performance and fuel efficiency than the existing one. Monster torque steer not for the faint hearted.

• Roger Tan on Jun 27, 2013 at 9:59 am

MPS coming in a couple of years?

Hopefully better the second time! Price was pretty good, just need to make sure the mistakes of the previous one aren’t repeated

Torque steer monsters are not too well received regardless of who you ask

• amirad on Jun 27, 2013 at 10:41 am

Agreed. You’re hanging for dear life when making that sudden overtaking move. Hope the new version will iron out the mistakes of previous one.

• Polo Saga on Jun 27, 2013 at 10:04 am

Stunning! Best design among C segment cars!

• Ample time on Jun 27, 2013 at 10:25 am

Still KIA CERATO far superior design.

Mazda 3 is such funny and unattractive name at all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 43
    • So you buy car based on their name??? and you think Kimchi flavoured ‘Gelato’ is a nice name?? Pity you…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • truman on Jun 28, 2013 at 1:03 am

Cerato would only wins in terms of price, I think, since both not yet out..

but design & power? KIA = Killed In Accident

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • M3Jepun on Jun 27, 2013 at 10:28 am

Sexy body with a weak heart ! Ford Focus IMO is much better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
    • kambinganas on Jun 28, 2013 at 2:31 pm

Not when the PowerShift on a FoFo comes to a grinding halt!

• Johnson on Jun 27, 2013 at 10:40 am

What a stunning design in modern day car. Very rare to see a well designed C-segment car, usually todays cars are nothing but factory mass produced machines with not one bit of character unless you spend millions. Definitely a design that will be referenced upon even in the future. Sadly won’t be buying one thanks to our silly only automatic variants.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • I still prefer Mazda MPS! Speed & Power!

• Mizz LEO on Jun 27, 2013 at 11:01 am

Can’t wait to get this car as my own early 2014.. hehehe

• my-el on Jun 27, 2013 at 11:06 am

210 nm…more than enough to do sprint test…but..top speed…sure loose on…but what the heck…as long as can speed up quickly and overtake quickly…and can maintain 120 km/h at reasonable rpm…

• eszra on Jun 27, 2013 at 11:41 am

After detuning what nm you get? 180nm? LOL.

• theanswer on Jun 27, 2013 at 12:16 pm

still enough. comparable to 1.8 engine. and btw, the engine was manufactured by mazda..not bwh pokok engineer. of course they know what they do. i do agree that 120ps is low for 2.0..but who knows in real world driving might be different.

• truman on Jun 28, 2013 at 1:02 am

top speed useless in Malaysia lar..unless you are rich enuff to pay all AES u got..

to me most important in Malaysia is fuel efficiency & speed pickup.

• I wouldn’t mind them bringing in the manual first. It’s a semi-hot hatch!

• Lt.Dan on Jun 27, 2013 at 12:14 pm

Yeah who gives a crap to outdated Preve hatchback HA HA HA BOOO PROTON

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • truman on Jun 28, 2013 at 1:00 am

I agree with you, but still, becos of taxation, no cars could be more affordable than proton cars, same class to same class..sadly..

so, you cant really boo proton as majority could afford proton but not mazda..

• Kotakitam on Jun 27, 2013 at 11:59 am

Have they announce the price for Malaysia yet? I guess not. LOL… too early…

• human on Jun 27, 2013 at 12:19 pm

makes the new CERATO breathless….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • dares on Jun 27, 2013 at 12:33 pm

2.0l mill that churns out as much horsepower as a 1.6 liter engine? why why why???

• lampard on Jun 27, 2013 at 5:24 pm

FC FC FC FC…..

Well, skyactiv seems to mock up turbocharged engine. Lower displacement, higher torque. This car (low powered version) might have top speed of only 190km/h as the hp is quite low. If you want the higher top speed, choose the high powered version, but prolly its FC of the city usage is higher than the low powered one.

Detuning the GDI engine to lower compression ratio so that it’ll be able to accept ron95 fuel might decrease its performance, but I believe it’s just about 5% decrease from the original version (compression ratio 14.0:1). So it’ll be about 200nm, still not bad. (For record preve turbo has 205nm)

Last, have to look at the torque at low rpm. That would be essential for city driving FC and of course the pick up from standstill. If I’m not mistaken it reaches quite high number of torque at low 2,000rpm. That’s quite good actually.

Have to test it yourself later.

• kingston on Jun 27, 2013 at 1:04 pm

bring out the MPS!

• Omochao on Jun 27, 2013 at 2:04 pm

Damn!!!! This is going to make it hard to choose between the Suzuki Swift Sport and Mazda 3!!!

Hot hatches FTW!!!

• namanama on Jun 27, 2013 at 2:44 pm

mazda3 not a hot hatch mazda3 mps is a hot hatch..hahaha..btw,good taste!

• Wow ! Look like my New Mazda 6. Nice !

• If bring in the 1.5L n price correct… it may become New Vios, Almera, City killer…

• jilbaber on Jun 27, 2013 at 5:42 pm

Dem cantek wooo…why la proton cannot design like this..if not I can buy something like this at cheaper price meh

• truman on Jun 28, 2013 at 12:54 am

proton got similar design also useless lor..after 3 months, sini bunyi, sana rosak..

dun dislike me cos I say bad, but I said the truth..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • jilbaber on Jun 28, 2013 at 12:10 pm

nevermind la, first 3 months aje can show off other people..after 3 months people don’t care already

• finally found the car that I want

• Wow. Guess I’ll hold off on the Focus for a while and pray for a manual Mazda3. DCT gearboxes may be awesome but they can’t beat a manual for driving pleasure….

• loner on Jun 27, 2013 at 10:12 pm

Roughly estimate how much d price?.. anyone?? …

• Imo, I think this new mazda3 is even more beautiful than ct200h.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • YourName on Jun 27, 2013 at 10:49 pm

thank god I skipped the hyundai elantra, this is the real deal

• keith on Jun 28, 2013 at 8:25 am

can it run with 91 fuel? buy it then, no more 95, 97 feed for skyactive engine @@ hahahaha……..

• I am about to register my new Mazda 3 HB next week :(
    Should I hold back? Anyone know when this new model will be lauched in Malaysia?

• noname on Jun 28, 2013 at 11:37 am

I will definitely hold if I were you, look, you have to use the car for the next, say 7 or 8 years.

if you take the current version, then after several months and the new one launched, then you will keep asking yourself why do you want to get the current version instead of waiting for few more months for a few more years usage.

And it comes with skyactiv engine, definitely a plus point to me.

• ycttw on Jul 01, 2013 at 2:21 pm

dai lou, skyactiv leh !

• Hi all,
    do you guys have any idea about the sedan type? how long it takes to launch after the hatchback?
    I prefer more on sedan, but appreciate if you guys can share me about the comparison on engine power( since the sedan is much heavier than hatchback).
    Dont know which to get, hatchback or sedan =.=

• kambinganas on Jun 28, 2013 at 2:40 pm

Go for sedan if you have family.
      I will be waiting for sedan.
      The moment can booking for sedan I taruk dulu while waiting for info.

• vrmchris on Jun 29, 2013 at 12:59 pm

hello to all.

i,

it is being reported here in the usa that the sedan will be announced in 5 weeks.

regards,
      vrmchris

• the sedan might have bigger boot. but the performance might differ from the hatch. the hatch 0-100 is about 8.9 sec for manual 2.0 (normal version) and around 10 for auto.

• bring in the diesel plsss….

• Kevin Y on Jun 28, 2013 at 2:23 pm

Currently mazda 3 5k discount , looks like they are preparing for the coming new Maz 3 !

• Jinggo on Jun 28, 2013 at 4:50 pm

Good looking C segment car. Hope the OTR price below RM110k. Maybe Honda will bring the Civic Euro to compete with this beauty..

• IniKaliHabisLah on Jun 29, 2013 at 12:54 am

Well … let’s see if our newly elected G is fulfilling the abolishment and redicing of excise duty or not … so far alot issue on the inedible ink …
    I believe pricing shud b higher then the current M3 ..
    Considering the CX5 now .. or shall we wait for M3? End of this year maybe?

• Why oh Why ………they chose a Bird as LOGO

• Trisodum Hedta on Jun 30, 2013 at 8:18 am

Mazda 3
    1) Underpower
    2) Stiff suspension no good for Malaysia road
    3) FC is bad
    4) Not prestige name ie Honda, Toyota or Kia
    5) Small and cramped inside
    6) Resale value is totally bad
    7)Rear lamp copycat Hyundai

The lists keep going..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 30
    • URRETARD on Jun 30, 2013 at 9:03 pm

Prestige name ie kia?
      u smoking something hard?

• Pacific Rim on Jul 01, 2013 at 10:29 pm

Kia? u must be joking

• This car isn’t aimed for you. Mazda has the sporty philosophy and they back that up. That’s what I like about them. They aren’t trying to be everything for everyone. They go after a certain kind of driver. one who likes to drive and driver engagement. yes the downside of a sporty ride is you feel a lot. People who like disconnected and cushy rides buy a T or H. Not bashing you just saying different strokes for different folks. Cheers.

• I heard 2.0 will be lauched in Malaysia in Aug ’13 and 1.5 will only be launched in Malaysia in Mar’14. Hope that is true as I m going to on hold my plan and waiting for the new model.

• shame_Loo on Jul 22, 2013 at 11:50 am

I was told that the production will focus on left hand drive 1st. The right hand drive will be available only later this year. Again, the initial batch to be CBU and eventually CDK. Also, I heard they plan for M6 CKD too, not sure true or not.

• Royalwind on Jun 30, 2013 at 12:26 pm

So should I wait for the new Mazda 3 or just buy the current Mazda 3 , which white colour is not available and I force to get another colour that I dun really like. I wish I can wait but the problem is I have sold my old car ……

• nikita on Jun 30, 2013 at 4:08 pm

Finally the new M3 is launched although is not in M’sia gives some time to BERMAZ to bring in the new Mazda3, I gonna to get you when you are here…Luv it!

• Finally it comes after worth long while of waiting. Exterior and design as per expectation.

Now am waiting for sedan version, would it be hybrid for another surprise? Yet in a very competitive price range. Please price it at 100k range, then I don’t even need to headache about choosing the right car. haha…

• Low Leng Hua on Jul 27, 2013 at 11:51 pm

If Bermaz brings in the 2.0 high power version with 6 speed manual stick, man that will be FUN!! But I guess, very unlikely. Most Malaysian drivers are sissies, preferring auto transmission..sigh..can’t understand this..

• Chrisg on Jan 11, 2014 at 12:48 pm

Beautiful car. The only Jap make that make you feel good owning it. The Jap answer to other continental makes.if only the engine is turbocharged with smaller cc then yes it’s near perfect. It beats t and h anytime for sure. But for 139k, add 16k and try the Golf 1.4 TSI. You will be hooked unless you want colorful gadgets…

• Rajan on Apr 10, 2014 at 12:22 pm

BORINGGGG…proton is better.bye