Mazda BT-50 truck – full live gallery, specs and prices

There wasn’t any official launch by Bermaz, but readers of this site would have already learned a fair bit about the new Mazda BT-50, thanks to an ad on oto.my and an official Bermaz brochure/price list we posted up last month.

As a recap, the new BT-50 sports distinctive “Sophisticated Beast” styling that will never be mistaken for any other truck in the market. If it appears huge, it is, measuring 5,365 mm long and 1,850 mm wide, with a 3,220 mm wheelbase. The latter figure is class leading and identical to the new Ford Ranger T6. The cabin also shares some parts with Ford – go ahead and spot them.

There are two engine options – an 2.2 litre common rail diesel (150 PS and 375 Nm from 1,500 to 2,500 rpm) and a 3.2L five-cylinder diesel with 200 PS and 470 Nm of torque from 1,750 to 2,500 rpm. Once again, Ranger owners will find these engines and figures familiar. Buyers of the 2.2L can choose between a manual or auto gearbox, both six speeders, but the 3.2L is auto-only.

As for the specs, we’ve scanned the equipment list for both the 2.2 and 3.2, which you can view after the jump, along with a full live gallery of the truck from every angle, taken when I was at the new Mazda 4S Centre for the Bermaz-Mazda Motor Corp JV announcement event this morning.

The Mazda BT-50 range starts from RM89,841.60 for the 2.2 MT, rising to RM107,051.75 for the 3.2, OTR including insurance.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• So slow de.. Now only launch… Anyway interior nice exterior damn big. Look giver than t6 or Colorado

• Look bigger.. Stupid auto correction…

• david on Sep 11, 2012 at 11:18 pm

now in dillema. choose this one or the ford ranger.
    bt50 comes with free service till 60k though.

• the mazda in 2.2 have slightly more spec but besides that, they are both technically the same, so is all down to the looks.

• well if it’s the 3.2, wildtrak waiting list is >9 mths…not sure abt BT50 though…it’s kinda too long wait to get it…so if BT50 3.2 hv stocks, it may be a good option to choose this over T6….that’s if you dig the looks since they are mechanically the same….

• david on Sep 12, 2012 at 3:05 am

agree. according to aussie reviews, the bt50 got a slightly stiffer suspension and causes nausea in the backseat. unfortunately its not available for test drive :(

mazda +
      more service center than ford
      cheaper ownership due to free service
      cheaper service rate
      looks more executive than t6

ford+
      oh.. the blue color
      more rugged rugby player look

sighh. nothing technical to compare so compare on ‘feeling’ lo

• vincent on Sep 13, 2012 at 4:50 pm

david, are you sure BT50 comes with free service..pls check with Bermaz..

• ive saw this in krystal point since a week ago.

• just got mine delivered today! i wonder why it took so long for the official launch.

• Lloyd Adams on Sep 12, 2012 at 7:31 am

Personally, I would find that a 4×4, especially pick-ups, should never be too curvy. Yeah, it might be distinctive but after a while, it feels slightly out of style.

• messi on Sep 12, 2012 at 8:42 am

Despite having a long truck at 5.3m. The interior space at the back remain tight with vertical back seat.

The designer need to be innovative to beat Toyata/Mitsu lah.

Just another crap car emphasize on engine but overall suck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • The rear and front design if this truck SO UGLY compared to Ford T6 though both FEATURES is awesome.

• tungguuu on Sep 12, 2012 at 2:14 pm

dual zone air con for a 90k truck?? awesome to the max….n the torque!! niceee

• TingTing on Sep 12, 2012 at 3:11 pm

Trucks are cheaper, becoming bigger & bigger and more powerful….some are very intimidating on the roads. esp. by the wrong hands.

• Sam Loo on Sep 12, 2012 at 7:32 pm

It is the vehicle of choice for road bullies. So, the next best thing is to install in-car camera to record down their actions. If the cops do not do anything about it, post in on facebook and youtube

• TingTing on Sep 12, 2012 at 10:26 pm

Thanks Sam, Good advice. Will invest in a in-car- camera esp when travelling frequently.

• vincent on Sep 13, 2012 at 5:02 pm

TingTing, not a good idea cause not all pickup are road bullies…

• wonder why on Sep 14, 2012 at 4:06 pm

Visited Sutera Mall this morning. Surprisingly, BT-50 is more refined than Ranger. Better paint work and does looks bigger. Meaner looking than in picture. Hopes that Mazda could apppoint better salesperson on roadshow. The one I visited confidently says road tax is $800 for 3.2l. And the rest of the questions to him , i shall keep it to myself. He also mentioned that accesories such as canopy and crash bull bar is readily available now. Wonder if this is true ?

• azkri on Sep 24, 2012 at 1:48 pm

Had a similar experience at Botanic, Klang showroom.
      The sales person product knowledge was next to zero!

• apeng on Mar 16, 2013 at 10:40 pm

Any comment from owner on mazda bt50..pls share…

• Yesterday went to old klang road show room , I asking the sale person about the VGS turbo system , the sales person said the BT50 is not come with VGS OR VNT . really Mazda sales has had no product knowledge at all.

• angah suhaini on Nov 22, 2013 at 12:45 am

i got my bt50 december 2012 at kl, and now located at k.kinabalu since july’13. i had been travel across all major city in sabah, sarawak and brunei. from tawau-lahad datu-sandakan-ranau-kota belud-kudat-kk;keningau-kalabakan-meliau basin(unpaved)-tawau;beaufort-limbang-bandar seri begawan-miri-bintulu-sibu-sarikei-sri aman-kuching-and head back to kk with no problem at all. its overtake all other 4×4 in the way, especially hilux, too slow. i take this jurney within 2 weeks the bt50 arrive here at kk. and i’m very proud of it.

• Damion on Jul 10, 2014 at 5:42 am

I want to know the height of 2014 model mazda bt 50 from back bumper to ground