Volkswagen Mk7 Golf R could have around 300 hp

Mk6 Golf R

The Volkswagen Mk7 Golf R could have around 300 hp at its disposal, according to a report published by Auto Express. A source has told the publication that the hot Golf’s total power output “could even start with a three.”

What’s more, the source indicates that the Mk7 Golf R is likely to be cheaper than its predecessor (pictured), with prices expected to start at around £30k (RM140k). Like before, power will be sent to all wheels by a turbocharged 2.0 litre engine.

The Mk6 Golf R weighed 150 kg more than the GTI of that generation; this time the difference should be around 100 kg. VW is reportedly working on shaving weight off the 4MOTION system, which should go some way towards achieving this goal.

Mk6 Golf R

An updated version of the GTI‘s optional electronically-operated mechanical front limited-slip diff might also be fitted, as could a specially-developed electronic stability system that can be deactivated, unlike on the GTI. As spyshots show, quad tailpipes should also feature on the new R.

Auto Express says the Mk7 Golf R is likely to debut at the Frankfurt show in September before going on sale in the UK early next year. Read our test drive report on the Mk6 Golf R (and Scirocco R) here.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Running on Apr 15, 2013 at 2:41 pm

And I can get it on next years at around RM300k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
    • We want the Golf R,but not a Preve hatch or Neo,we want the GTR,but not a Putra,want the Civic,but not a Persona…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
      • Oblivion52 on Apr 15, 2013 at 6:51 pm

So pity you, coz you jus born in the very very wrong country on planet Earth, I know, bcoz I landed once when I fixed one of the droid’s energy stick.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • rally_fan on Apr 16, 2013 at 4:08 pm

Last time i checked, you can buy a golf R, GTR and Civic in Malaysia.

• Jimmy on Apr 16, 2013 at 4:25 pm

This car is definitely not cantiq. Wait till the DSG gearbox kaputs. One in every 3 DSG gearbox kaputs in Malaysia because the dual clutch is a big no no and the dry clutch is a big no no also. Yes, got 5 years warranty but you got the time to spare your car 2 weeks at a time for them to change gearbox? And its not one off the breakdowns. In a year, be prepared for a couple!

• Sam Loo Kadajawi Super Hybrid on Apr 17, 2013 at 3:33 am

Why so much complaint? The dsg problem is fixed with the new car. Go and ask your nearest VW showroom. If this car no good, can you make your own? Stop complaining like a 5 years old.

• VW Mechanic on Apr 17, 2013 at 11:40 am

I am a VW technician. I can confirm with you, the DSG is NOT sorted out. It still gives so much headache to us tecnicians. VW must sue B Warner for this nonsense instead of still using their same faulty gearboxes. Heard the contract till 2016

• Running on Apr 15, 2013 at 2:41 pm

And I can get it at around RM300k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • Over here in Bolehland, we can’t even get the 1.4 TSI version with that price… Lets UBAH!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 17
    • sorry to disappoint, but thats not going to happen, not now, not ever.
      the government is going to keep forcing us to buy local cars. Unless someone blows up the proton and perodua factory in which case then and only then we can “ubah”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
      • munkay on Apr 15, 2013 at 4:51 pm

I wouldn’t say stuff like that if I were you!

• Dzulx on Apr 15, 2013 at 6:33 pm

Interesting idea.. Lets blow up the plants

• rally_fan on Apr 16, 2013 at 4:11 pm

i think its safer to say perodua, since proton technically isn’t a real player in the market anymore. their sales are way down compared to perodua… in fact, toyota sales in malaysia are almost on par with proton. As a casual observer, I’ll say that perodua today is the company that benefits the most from Malaysia protectionist auto policies, not proton.

• Let’s vote. Thumbs up to blow up the plants.

• To anyone who still believe that car price in Malaysia is super duper expensive, just want to let you all know that the price of Golf GTI in Thailand is 2660000 baht which is equivalent to rm280k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 11
  • Honda Power on Apr 15, 2013 at 3:51 pm

but you have to know … honda or toyota thailand are much more cheaper …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
    • Cosmo Artemis on Apr 15, 2013 at 4:26 pm

SInce they have 10 millions inhabitant in Bangkok alone sir. And i think you already know that, an Altis, is just a TAXI in Bangkok. In Bolehland we drive it around like we are superking rich.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
      • uncertain buyer on Apr 15, 2013 at 5:15 pm

Altis is a taxi in Bangkok because it’s a reliable car! not because of cheap or expensive…just like Mercedes being used as taxis in Germany..not because merc is cheap.

– a message from TBTM: Think before Type Movement –

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 16
        • Oblivion52 on Apr 15, 2013 at 6:57 pm

Based on your intelligence, SAGA is a taxi in Kuale Lumpir bcoz it’s a reliable car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
          • is this how KL’ians speaks now? ‘kuale lumpir’?? o maii…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
          • uncertain buyer on Apr 17, 2013 at 7:38 am

SAGA is a national car..why not. we rarely heard any news on saga taxi broke down unnecessarily right?

• ahmad loy on Apr 15, 2013 at 10:09 pm

..mind your facts, bro..before posting!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
        • koochai on Apr 16, 2013 at 12:04 am

uk taxi…after few years of millions of miles trip as taxi, our ap kings bring them to our holy land, selling them to ‘unsuspecting’ buyers, masquerading as low mileage luxury rides…good business

• who says driving Atis is a superrich king in Malaysia? u r just from low middle income family. accept the fact. its d attitude of malaysian that think they modified their ah beng car then can speed up and tailgate ppl and drive like taiko on the road. Our price not expensive, its our mentality that cause all these road rage and issue. PPl.. think before u speak. its our education which lead to our 70’s mindset. not modern at all.

• Sam Loo on Apr 16, 2013 at 11:29 am

LOL driving Altis is superking rich? driver syiok sendiri ada la..

• Lim Seng on Apr 15, 2013 at 4:14 pm

This is one car worth every Ringgit of its price. A wonderful car made lighter, stronger and more powerful, built with the best engine and chassis technology in the world. Honestly, even the Borg Warner DSG used in this car is the revised version. So no problems with transmissions here. By the way, as an engineer, this car need all my needs for a car which is well built and highly reliable. Should hold its value well, just like its GTI brother.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
    • kadajawi on Apr 16, 2013 at 3:55 pm

Lim Seng, clearly you are a VW salesman in action. Try to make it less obviouslah. By the way, no such revised version. They either have to make a product recall or continue to deny the faulty DSG boxes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
      • Lim Seng on Apr 16, 2013 at 4:44 pm

“Kadajawi” I am not a car salesman, mind you. By the way, are you are car salesman?

• Black Dog on Apr 15, 2013 at 4:55 pm

300hp? 0 – 100kph in 5 secs?

• Oblivion52 on Apr 15, 2013 at 6:58 pm

I know one Black Dog can run faster than that, type faster too. Do u have a mirror?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • I think I’ll stick to “Lagi Power, Lagi Best” since this is the only thing I can afford at the moment. Thank you government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • 300k for a golf, that usd100k…ang moh see us laugh pay that kinda money for a golf..

• damen on Apr 15, 2013 at 5:33 pm

Heard the Merc A45 AMG with 360ps, 450Nm & 0-100kmph time of 4.6s will be available in Malaysia by year end. Rumoured price between RM300k till RM330k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • frenzyaustin on Apr 15, 2013 at 6:44 pm

This car is headed directly to Subaru WRX STi and als Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X.

• Stephen Wynn on Apr 15, 2013 at 6:46 pm

No matter how powerful d car able to perform, in bolehLand u can only drive at d speed not exceed 110km/hr ! So, what’s d point spending so much for d extra power?!?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
    • Oblivion52 on Apr 15, 2013 at 7:01 pm

Based on data collected by droids, the 110km/hr speed limit is without saman. With saman, it’s basically unlimited, with unlimited saman option available.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • JackeyDeck on Apr 15, 2013 at 7:25 pm

in malaysia… all the speeding camera has a margin of error like 10% +/-. So, considering this, one can actually travel at 121km/h on plus highway. I usually drive at the speed of 115km/h – 119km/h, never got myself saman before… well, yet. This margin exist bcoz (1) accuracy of speeding calculation due to the position how the cam are placed, (2) rain, (3) night & etc…

But my friends who is an engineer at JKR told me that the cameras has be been upgraded (other than AES), so the margin is no longer there. Well… i am still drivig at 115km/h – 119km/h.

(the above might not be accurate, break it on ur own risk. jgn salahkan JD.)

Anyway… i think our kawan whose able to pay RM300K for a car, would have no problem to occasionally to break the law “safely” once in a while and pay the saman in return for the enjoyment.

As for those who can afford ferrari, lambo, porsche, … tiap-tiap hari no problem for them la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • JackeyDeck on Apr 15, 2013 at 7:27 pm

tapi… kalau x pandai bawa laju… jgn lah aksyen sgt nak bawa kereta mcm initial D ya ~

• MrPoppyplants on Apr 15, 2013 at 7:44 pm

This is one of the most retarded comments ever.

Anyways, please do give us your suggestions on what the speed limit should be Mr Genius. I’m sure it’ll greatly benefit plenty of us reading Paultan.

• Blacktop on Apr 15, 2013 at 8:47 pm

Kalau mcm tu, suh government jual kete viva je. Larangan kereta laen atas jalanraya. X perlu pasang kamera dah. Jual viva 6 airbag. Sume rakyat malaysia pakai viva. Pls. Komen ko mcm budak x sekolah.. Pity on u..

• nik azmi on Apr 15, 2013 at 7:32 pm

car is overated n VW after sales services sucks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • SamTowTruck on Apr 16, 2013 at 10:57 am

What’s the point of having 300hp when the power don’t transfer to the wheel as the DSG breakdown as often as Perkasa FROG open his mouth ?

Tow Tow Tow !!!! mari mari, toll 4 times free 1 times.

Remember when you your DSG kaput, think of SAM.
    We offer genuine towing service for VW owners no matter where you are. So, save this number 1-800-SamTowTruck as your speed dial.
    You never know when your VW breakdown at the next traffic light.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 49
    • SamToyota on Apr 16, 2013 at 11:28 am

“SamTowTruck”, nowadays the chances of a Toyota breaking down far outweighs other car manufacturers. No thanks to Toyota’s poor QC control globally. Toyota’s have gone from being the most reliable cars (1980s) to the most recalled cars (due to poor quality components, today)

Btw, DSG’s don’t just kaput! They give you warning first on the onboard computer. Generally,you have enough time to get it serviced before anything happens. That’s the reason that you don’t see any VW’s breaking down on the roads!

Besides, they just need to be reprogrammed. Its a software problem, not a mechanical problem. It can be rectified with a software upgrade. Simple stuff, made more complex by the many “experts” in the blog!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 5
      • SamTowTruck on Apr 16, 2013 at 2:16 pm

Don’t worry. Your VW will break down soon and you will be stuck without car for few days, few weeks or even few months.

All this mechatronic sensors will kaput. You want reliability…jeeesh, should i have less car to tow ? Go get a manual la. All this pondan only know how to drive dsg.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 42
  • Sam Toyota on Apr 16, 2013 at 4:34 pm

Actually I have two VW’s, one with 6 sp DSG another with 7sp DSG, both more than 3 years old. My VW club members (total of 40 of them) also own VW’s of all shapes, sizes and types of DSGs. So we are speaking from experience when we say this. Not heresay … Peace bro!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • SAMPAHTOWTRUCK on Apr 16, 2013 at 4:52 pm

Hey Sam Tow Truck, why u sound like a candidate that going to lose an Erection! :-;

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • Rocket on Apr 17, 2013 at 1:11 am

Vote smartly to buy R at TSI price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0