We’ve just seen the normal Volkswagen Golf Mk7 earlier this month, but already higher specification models are being tested on the road.
This is a undisguised car caught testing in Europe that appears to be some kind of prototype Mk7 Volkswagen Golf R. It features a new front bumper design which is different from the one on the normal Golf Mk7, which has bigger air intakes. The front grille is black too.
On the rear, you can see a quad tailpipe design. The alloy wheel design is the typical Volkswagen R triple-spoke design as well. We don’t expect the production Golf R to look exactly like this car though, it’s definitely still in prototype stage.
With the V6 engine phased out, Volkswagen will probably continue with a tuned up version of its 2.0 litre turbocharged engine mated to a DSG transmission and 4MOTION all wheel drive.
that exhaust pipes reminds me of a old Proton Saga 1991.
I just can’t understand why VW had designed the Mk 7 to look so much like the car it replaces…
WHY can’t they be more creative instead of being so boringly SAFE ??
because its like the toyota of europe even if we don’t want to admit it, most people around the world would rather buy car that are boring and descrete rather then exciting . Thats why WV has been increasing its market share in malaysia buy so much recently
Still better than the toyota and hondas.
This is very easy to understand: In absolute numbers the Golf leads the sales statistics in europe far ehead of it’s competitors. And because the “boring” design don’t change so much over the years, second hand Golf’s are still expensive. Old Golf’s don’t look “old”.
So what shall they do? Replace a best-seller, a concept that actually seems to works in europe?
Outside of Malaysia, the R is also offered in 6MT as well as DSG.
Monster ! even the GTI but i cant afford it :(
BORING !!!! NEW design please VW
With that large intake, it better have Active Shutter Grille or some sort like that..
MK7 not as cun as what i hope for…. sigh
Hmm.. nice design. but it is losing that GOLF character. It looks more like an AUDI now :( but nice nontheless. But then ‘NICE’ is akin to ‘JUST OK’. Its a lot to spend on an ‘OK’ car
manual tranny any day.
the rear just look wrong!! get worst and worst..
saga should follow the backside design and do a hatchback like this! wish for a render :)
Why do some people likes to mention Proton here and there? It’s like comparing an Android / iOS device with Nokia 3310.
This car is very good in terms of it’s space, power, handling.
But not it’s design. Too plain
2.0L Turbo again?Why not they put the TTRS’s 2.5L 5 cylinder turbo which seems like more of a replacement for the VW 3.2L VR6 engine.
BORING design. budak sekolah can design better than this.
so boringggg
Macam durian Thai tak ada taste langsung. Boring.
cun or not cun..u all also cannot afford to buy la..HAHAHAHA
can or cannot afford, still doesn’t change that this car is so boring n ugly..
This is awesome.
MK5 design is better & sexier!
It ain’t broken. Why fix it? It’s an iconic shape that has sold millions of units and spanned many generations…..same applies to the mini cooper, beetle, the various porshes….you get the drift. Doubt there would be designer that would dare to radically mess with tried and tested designed. Thank god for that….
Superb daily sports car.
awesome…and superb….
rear look like KIA Coupe…
Who cares how it looks. Most other drivers will only see its back and taste it’s dust anyway.