Volkswagen Golf 4MOTION – Mk7 gets an AWD variant

Mk7 Golf 4Motion-05

Volkswagen has added a new variant to the Mk7 Golf range, the expected 4Motion all-wheel drive model. We don’t need such a car here, but it snows in Europe, and VW has made Golfs with four driven wheels since 1986.

VW says that the new Golf’s permanent 4WD system is one of the most modern and efficient of its kind, featuring the enhanced, fifth-generation Haldex coupling. The 4Motion drive weighs 1.4 kg less than the previous system, requires no pressure accumulator and reacts “extremely quickly to every conceivable influence exerted on it.”

Mk7 Golf 4Motion-03

VW is offering the new Golf 4Motion in three trim levels (Trendline, Comfortline, Highline) and with two turbodiesel engines. The 105 PS and 150 PS TDIs consume just 4.5 and 4.7 litres of fuel respectively per 100 km. Compared to the Mk6 140 PS 4Motion, the 2013 car consumes 0.8 litres (15%) less diesel despite being more powerful.

Like the front-wheel drive Golf, Stop/Start and battery regeneration come standard. Also included as standard even on the base version are features such as the four-wheel EDS (electronic differential locks on both axles), XDS front and rear axle transverse lock, ESP, Automatic Post-Collision Braking System, seven airbags and DRLs. To have 4Motion with their Golf, Germans need to add €1,800 (RM7,471).

Click here to read all about the Mk7 Golf and here for a 360 walkaround video of the car.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• rumorslogy on Jan 30, 2013 at 9:27 am

perh..smart..

• smart? 7th gen but still like its preceds
      in other word, boring

• ben yap on Jan 30, 2013 at 9:30 am

it will not be cheap here in m’sia anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • I don’t think that a four wheel drive Golf make much sense in Malaysia.

Cars like this are very popular in countries with mountains and snow like Switzerland and Austria. There, RM7,471 for four wheel drive is not that much.

• When is the VW mk 7 coming to our shore la…….danny any clue ??

• Clean, simple and smart design. But I can’t help to feel that the Mk VI design is better than this, more handsome, and it’s still clean, simple and smart.

• PauKaya on Jan 30, 2013 at 10:35 am

same thing as usual

• 4 wheel drive but consuming only 4.5liter/100km (about 22km/l)…hybrid like fuel consumption wtout the need of a battery and its 4 wheels drive too!..thanks to our lousy diesel, we are missing a lot on good & frugal cars.

• faizal on Jan 30, 2013 at 11:20 am

no supercharge. I still love my MK 6 with supercharger

• rabbit71 on Jan 30, 2013 at 12:03 pm

GTI versions usually only comes after the TSI version are launch:)

• rabbit71 on Jan 30, 2013 at 12:05 pm

simple design longer lasting. eg MK V and MK VI still look relevant even when MK VII pic is out.

• GoodnBad on Jan 30, 2013 at 2:31 pm

honestly the first picture at a glance.. i tot its some VW poster from the early 90s..

• GreenWave on Jan 30, 2013 at 3:07 pm

Same design.. boring..

• henry on Feb 01, 2013 at 11:37 pm

the stupidest thing I notice cars in Malaysia Is that they don’t come with Manual together with the all the Premium spec, Only bloody auto cars summarize as High-end spec. To me it is such a dope! Not having the pleasure of driving manual without all the high spec in it! Highly classified as WTF! nothing but your Typical Nasi lemak!.

• Boring but best seller world wide. If I am VW I will stick to the same design for Mk 8.