Volkswagen Golf GTI Wolfsburg Edition, Driver’s Edition announced in Chicago – Mk6 limited editions

Isn’t the Volkswagen Golf Mk7 already out? In Europe, yes, but the new boy has not yet gone on sale on the other side of the Atlantic. As such, VW is giving the Golf Mk6 a last hurrah in the US with two special limited edition GTIs – the Wolfsburg Edition and the Driver’s Edition.

Set to go on sale this quarter, the Wolfsburg Edition is limited to 2,000 units, with the six-speed manual version going for US$25,095 (RM77,800) and the six-speed DSG version for US$26,195 (RM81,200). This one gets 18-inch Laguna wheels, red stitching on the carpets and a retro golf ball gear knob.

The Driver’s Edition (pictured) is comparatively less exclusive, with 3,000 units available. US$29,695 (RM92,000) is asked for the manual and US$30,795 (RM95,400) for the DSG. Specified with the Sunroof and Navigation package, the car gets the same goodies as the Wolfsburg Edition, plus partial leather seat coverings. It also comes with a bundle comprising a Certificate of Authenticity, hat, parking sign and keychain.

Both come with five doors and a choice of Deep Black, Carbon Steel Gray or Candy White exterior shades. The US-market Golf Mk7 is set to go into production in the first quarter of next year in Puebla, Mexico – click here to read all about the newest Golf and here for a 360-walkaround video of the car.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Roger Tan on Feb 08, 2013 at 3:38 pm

“parking sign and keychain” – seriously?

• Wakawaka on Feb 08, 2013 at 3:58 pm

Rm80k can buy a golf in US. In malaysia buy preve only… See the different?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 2
  • sigh.. rm95400 for a top spec GTI in the USA, while we who get third world $$ pays rm210k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • Have you ever been in an US hospital without cash money, insurance or credit card? ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
  • BolehLand on Feb 08, 2013 at 4:52 pm

Try eliminate BN this coming PRU13.. and we will see either new PR government will reduce the car tax as promised… if yes at least we can enjoy free on excise or some import duty. Let try 1st.. why not rite ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 16
  • Dollar to dollar, it’s like buying a car cheaper than Viva 660cc, yet the spec is sooooo much better.

• Everytime you buy a car in malaysia, u are actually buying two..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • unforgiven on Feb 11, 2013 at 2:10 am

Actually more like paying for 3 cars or more, especially when the car price is on the higher side.

• Well guys…… In euro & us do you know how much u need to pay for your own income tax? And what will happend if you not pay?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
    • staticx on Feb 09, 2013 at 4:14 am

well at least u pay income tax, ur children got free education till uni + next time u jobless/retired gov still support u.. here u pay tax but you get NOTHING!! see the diff?

• yup, over there u see the diff with the higher taxes u are paying..free education, retrenchment/jobless benefits, ..etc..etc…

• littlefire on Feb 09, 2013 at 8:21 am

How about those living in oil producing country like us? Compare apple with apple, i dont see Brunei, Middle east country ppl pay tax so much and their cars also so cheap?

Still the old same trick.. LOL.. Why these troopers always keep posting old comments?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Rakyat on Feb 09, 2013 at 6:09 am

Now you know why the G is a penipu rakyat. Let this car sell at original price then i will vote for you!

• its proton maaa…who is going to buy a preve if its the same price as a vw gti!

• its a knwn fact that when they started proton, the method is to tax other cars beyond the reach of the average ppl. Thats the only way that proton can succeed, its a well known fact they even publish an article in nst few years ago

• amirad on Feb 09, 2013 at 9:11 pm

It always boggle my mind when I see car prices at other parts of the world so cheap. Vice versa, it always baffled me when I see car prices here so expensive to the point of beng ridiculed. But whenever I see those people driving half a mil cars, I said to myself, if they can do it, I can do it too. There must be a way.

• Allesandro matri on Feb 10, 2013 at 3:07 pm

Guys, if you guys compare the taxes, Finland has 60pct tax yet the citizens are happy lot. Why? Free education, no tolls, cheap cars, free medicals. Over here, the corrupt government ruined the system. To compare apple to apple, calculate the take home pay. People in uk earn gbp3k and can buy brand new car around gbp10k where’s over here earning rm3k but have to fork out rm30k for brand new car? Doubt it even viva. So cyber troopers etc please be rational, low income and all clerks etc are tightening their belt to buy cars that are of low quality and substandard specs, yet all this vendors living in luxury by increasing their margin. Who are they? Mostly the cronies. Now you know why government is so protected of proton….

• Hmmm………. I dont remember seen any statement made by any PR leader officialy mention for free education, free toll, free medical & cheap car…..

• Allesandro matri on Feb 11, 2013 at 10:44 am

That’s in Finland you stupid amir. I didn’t say pr will promise all those…what I said is the comparison and why our take home pay is squeeze to the max!!!!