JPJ introduces 1JPJ Skuad Muda programme – looking to recruit 300,000 volunteers by next year

jpj logoAccording to Bernama, the Road Transport Department (JPJ) is hoping to recruit around 300,000 young volunteers for its recently-formed 1JPJ Skuad Muda programme by next year. Aside from learning about traffic regulations and road safety aspects, the young squad volunteers will also actively participate in helping the agency on certain fronts.

JPJ director-general Datuk Ismail Ahmad said these activities will include assisting JPJ enforcement officers during operations, as well as being the eyes for the JPJ on the road.

The volunteers will help monitor road users and report motorists who violate traffic regulations to the JPJ. They will however not have the authority to detain or arrest motorists. Presumably, some form of visual evidence will be necessary to ensure that the reporting is all done fairly and without prejudice; you can imagine the consternation otherwise.

Closer to now, the department said it will be roping in volunteers to assist it in monitoring road traffic during the upcoming Hari Raya festive season. Ismail said that the volunteers will mainly comprise members of non-governmental organisations, automotive associations and motoring clubs.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• how about no?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 10
    • BetaTegap on Aug 05, 2013 at 4:09 pm

For the people, they are only looking for volunteers, not payment. For their friends, they gave a projects worth millions of ringgit…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 8
    • driver on Aug 06, 2013 at 3:34 pm

Then shut up and go away! I can’t think of myself to be one of them, but even more than that I can’t stand “all are bad” way of thinking either. Be professional, be 1st-class minded then you deserve to be treated as one.

Good effort has to be supported.. and one way to support them is to remain silent when you know it’s right but you personally don’t want it.

Stop fuelling any program with any form of extrinsic motivation. Very bad for sustainability, and that spoils the very nature (fitrah) of human kindness, especially our youths. And this goes to both rakyat and gomen! Sigh!

• wiralution on Aug 05, 2013 at 2:48 pm

Seems like another AES but on human capacity using manual flash light camera?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 6
    • WajaLotion on Aug 05, 2013 at 2:58 pm

Gave you a like just because of your nickname..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 2
    • flat_tire on Aug 05, 2013 at 8:10 pm

more like cheapskate mobile AES that they don’t have to pay a dime for..

• RedCRZ on Aug 05, 2013 at 3:02 pm

Ain’t got time for that!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • bangla on Aug 05, 2013 at 3:04 pm

Just another reason to solicit funding in the tune of millions and millions just for this program and only to be forgotten 2 years down the road.
    Rakan Muda, does it some familiar to anybody? By the way, What happened to Rakan Muda?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 8
    • Sudah jadi IM4U, more money to fund their program

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Skyfire on Aug 05, 2013 at 3:48 pm

Rakan Muda members are now become Rakan Tua already, it was like 15-20 years ago programme?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • flat_tire on Aug 05, 2013 at 8:15 pm

wahh.. almost forgot about it.. dulu seronok tgk iklan Rakan Muda kat tv..

• Jason on Aug 05, 2013 at 3:24 pm

Chinese should join. Instead of always complaining.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 27
    • Prejudice.. that’s equivalent to telling a certain race to stop rempiting. Be ashamed of yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 24
      • Jason on Aug 05, 2013 at 4:08 pm

oh, need not to worry. Have you seen chinese in government with low grade? they always give us the ‘boss’ grade. so what to be ashamed of?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
        • It’s what one feels that it’s morally right. You are however welcomed to have your own opinions about it. And I apologize for telling you to be ashamed of yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
  • Noname on Aug 05, 2013 at 3:39 pm

Why not spend the time/money on strengthening the police force and reduce the crime rate like gun-shots, robberies, rapes and many many more? instead of trying to milk more monies from the rakyat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
    • Jason on Aug 05, 2013 at 4:15 pm

ya lo. More race should join the police force rather that that ‘typical face’. So police will become stronger.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
  • volunteers huhh??

• johnny perjalanan kaki on Aug 05, 2013 at 4:02 pm

eh guys remember last time one champion politician who suggested that “Mat Rempits” should become the “Eyes and Ears” of the Malaysian Police Force. i guess they finally decided make it official. muahahaha

• rather than being naysayer, better keep it silent. for those who want to join, go ahead. The only reason some people pessimist because they want to discourage people to join in due to mentality of BN paranoid instead of thinking in contribution for solution frame. sigh. shame on you.

• pok mang on Aug 05, 2013 at 4:44 pm

volunteer that is not so voluntary…elaun mesti kena ade meh!

• clutch_plate on Aug 05, 2013 at 4:49 pm

enough its enough..!this just another ridiculous way to dump a rakyat money into deep hole after failure of implementing the AES… Better use that money to upgrading road especially in rural area..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Carnut on Aug 05, 2013 at 4:54 pm

I believe it was in Taiwan where they have a program me where if u bring evidence of traffic offenders to the police, you get paid. There are people there who do this professionally.

I am not sure if volunteer mentality will work in Msia, probably some form of reward will be better. Too many red light beaters and crazy drivers on the road these days. Something should be done.

• bangla on Aug 05, 2013 at 5:22 pm

300000 mat rempit should do the trick, give each of them a JPJ vest, JPJ badge, JPJ cert,
    Now everybody can rempit legally

• Sorchai on Aug 05, 2013 at 6:13 pm

Any classes to teach how to solicit grease payments?

• They can collect so much money on tender number, AES saman and all rules of regulation defeat citizen. And now they call for free worker for them? what theirs mind thinking? hire bangladesh better la..

• Maserati on Aug 05, 2013 at 7:11 pm

I can imagine a bunch of matrempits in this 1JPJ volunteers.

More mayhem and problems. Whose brilliant idea was this? Cant they come up with something better?

• Just A Nobody on Aug 05, 2013 at 7:56 pm

and the motoring club guys be like, ”IT’S A TRAP..!!!”, lol, just kidding. It’ll be great though, as long as they kept it in the name of true volunteering spirit, NO REWARDS involved a.k.a wasting money, and also for abang J to be slacking off waiting for infos baru mau turun padang :]

• hamzali on Aug 05, 2013 at 7:57 pm

Dear Bros and gals,
    Let’s look at this issue on micro level. You want to say that govt should fix the rural roads; I agree. You want to say that AES should not be implemented; I agree. You want to say that rakan muda should be rejuvenated; I agree. But here we get people driving like lunatics, using handphones while driving, beating red lights etc. Don’t u just want to kick them? JPJ is giving us an avenue to report these offenders. and I believe that this is right. I suggestion though. Reporters should be able to see the progres of theirs reports. Just to ensure the police is really working hard.

• MadRampEat on Aug 06, 2013 at 12:20 am

I agree with enforcement of law to ensure irresponsible drivers be repremanded. But to get volunteers to do it, it will be similar to vigilante justice.

On another note, isnt the scope of jpj limited to vehicle? Jurisdiction for traffic offences should always be under polis trafik. So who made JPJ a Polis Trafik Bantuan?

• What about the existing staffs. What are they doing?. This again will cause tax payers money. Can we stop this and get the existing staff to do this function instead.

• Chen Kheng Seng on Aug 05, 2013 at 11:36 pm

I want to join Skuad Muda 1 JPJ. Because i am is one salaeman truck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Henry on Aug 06, 2013 at 8:17 am

For “outsourcing” their responsibility, there should be a corresponding decrease in pay for the JPJ personnels.

• A n E ye S ore on Aug 06, 2013 at 9:18 am

“said these activities will include assisting JPJ enforcement officers during operations, as well as being the eyes for the JPJ on the road”

It’s dangerous and utterly foolish letting young ones to assist JPJ enforcement officers during operations as anything can happen on the highway.

• I see serious abusing already.

• JPJ, gimme a free HD CAR CAMERA and I can be your volunteer sending you videos if these road assholes.

• Copying Hitlr’s youth program

• thebosssedangbercakap on Aug 06, 2013 at 8:22 pm

lol, less jobs for the guys in jpj so that they can lepak more.

• diamjer on Aug 12, 2013 at 9:30 am

excellence!
    no need to pay, i’ll do it for free.

just prepare, for those who like to double park especially at SS2 PJ and pandan indah, or those who like to park in front of Medan Mara and pertama, those who misuse the cab & bus lane, oh.. do not to mention yellow box stopping.

and if i’m motivated enough, i’ll even send picture of those who are not wearing seat belt.. and yeah that including those on the back seat as well.

and i’ll even ask all my friend to join “ronda ronda carik salah orang”, that will be fun!

Ah, i’m all excited, it’s like wet dream come true!

• SHANTHI PALANISAMY on Aug 26, 2013 at 6:18 am

I WOULD LIKE TO JOIN THE SKUAD MUDA VOLUNTEERS SEEMS I AM IN THE RELA VOLUNTEERS FORCE RIGHT NOW