Nissan X-Trail – third-gen breaks cover in Frankfurt

nissan-x-trail-ff-49

The Nissan X-Trail (Rogue in the US) enters its third generation at the ongoing Frankfurt show. Looking more sophisticated than its largely right-angled predecessor, the new Nissan X-Trail derives its softer lines and urban crossover looks from existing models such as the Qashqai, Juke and Murano, as well as the 2012 Hi-Cross Concept, of which it certainly hasn’t strayed far from in terms of design.

Interesting aesthetic details include C-shaped tail lamps, LED DRLs and a stylish D-pillar kink. LED headlamps are offered on higher trims, and 19-inch alloys lend an imposing look. Underpinning the vehicle is the Common Module Family (CMF) platform.

The new cabin boasts chrome, geometric metallic and piano black finishes. Options include a cloth fabric covering and a full leather offering with contrasting stitch accents, and if five seats aren’t enough, you can specify two more.

nissan-x-trail-ff-18

The rear doors open to almost 90 degrees, and a longer wheelbase (Nissan hasn’t yet revealed by how much), plus more sculpted seat backs, give the middle row seats (which slide and recline) more knee room.

A five-inch colour TFT screen sits between the rev counter and speedometer, packing no fewer than 12 graphic displays to jog through. Information displayed includes average and actual speeds, navigation turn-by-turn instructions, audio content, traffic sign recognition, eco driving advice and torque distribution settings in 4WD mode.

Access the boot via a remote power tailgate and you’ll find a double load floor that divides the cargo area into upper and lower areas. This allows it to hold up to 10 kg of luggage in its topmost position and 75 kg in its bottom position.

nissan-x-trail-ff-101

On to tech – the new Nissan X-Trail gets the latest-gen NissanConnect seven-inch colour touchscreen in-car navigation and infotainment system, plus the Nissan Safety Shield suite of driving aids. NissanConnect now offers smartphone connectivity, in addition to a range of apps covering music, social networking, entertainment and travel.

Navigation relies on Google to provide information from weather forecasts to the location of fuel stations, hotels, restaurants and the like. The send-to-car function allows drivers to plan a trip at home and send it to their car at the push of a button. Needless to say, there’s Bluetooth audio streaming, USB and AUX compatibility.

The third-gen Nissan X-Trail also gets Active Ride Control, Active Engine Brake and Active Trace Control. Active Ride Control detects extreme road surface undulations and alters the damping to compensate. Active Engine Brake tells the Xtronic CVT to add a degree of engine braking when cornering or coming to a stop. Active Trace Control (previously only found on the Infiniti M) brakes individual wheels during hard cornering to cut understeer.

The electronic four-wheel drive system, Nissan’s ALL MODE 4x4i, offers 2WD, Auto or Lock modes, selectable through a centre console-mounted dial. Uphill Start Support and Advance Hill Descent Control are also on the menu.

Although the new Nissan X-Trail has a larger surface area than the outgoing car, Nissan says weight has been reduced wherever possible. A mostly plastic tailgate saves 7 kg, for instance. Aerodynamics have also benefited from carefully shaped door mirrors as well as a spoiler that covers the exhaust box and rear panel.

Nissan will release powertrain and trim details closer to the start of European sales next July.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Serius LAWA..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 1
    • gorgeous! Nissan M’sia pls don’t waste ur time anymore! just bring it here so i can be ur first customer! u know i’m very standard ppl, not any car is my cup of tea!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • i nissan crazy…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Humble Mumble on Sep 11, 2013 at 12:32 pm

Wow, this is a looker… way better than the current ongoing model

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 1
  • Drive Your Way on Sep 11, 2013 at 12:32 pm

It looks good and trending.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • wow … i think this is the best looking SUV in its class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 5
  • JustWannaSay on Sep 11, 2013 at 12:36 pm

Front Headlamp Accord . . . .Rear lamp Harrier. . Just Saying. . =)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 59
  • nissan harrier ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 34
  • Tan Chong will take the news with a big grin on his face, “Aah, now there’s a new model. But I’m a clever businessman. Just ignore the public cry to replace the current X-Trail. Now I can buy the junk X-Trail from my principal Nissan at a much cheaper cost and sell it at current selling price. Oh my, I love doing car business in Malaysia”.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 3
  • Nissan has done the homework this time…i hope the 2.0 litre version bound for malaysia will hv the new 2 litre engine in the serena s hybrid which generates a good 210Nm of torque..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • OMG…so nice and a bit of harrier feels… much more nicer than the current 1…Good job Nissan.

• Hmm, totally different from previous squarely X-Trail.

Seen like it means the replacement for the Murano as well?

• harrier tail lamp, audi interior..wth? nissan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 29
    • Kepunden Parang Skeper on Sep 11, 2013 at 4:47 pm

OMG! And it stands on 4 wheels, just like a Kancil! And it runs on petrol, just like a Modenas Kriss! *sarcasm*

• JustWannaSay on Sep 11, 2013 at 6:02 pm

hahahaha…i hoped to see this type of comment when Proton out with new car…but no body tend to do so…mehhh

• kakit Tan on Sep 11, 2013 at 1:19 pm

All they need now is the Nismo edition, I will buy immediately!

surprise me NISSAN!

• frenzyaustin on Sep 11, 2013 at 1:20 pm

Simple, elegance and no drama, this is the car exactly what the buyer wanted.

• McQueenFan on Sep 11, 2013 at 1:23 pm

Lets hope Tan Chong will bring in a well-spec model with decent pricing.

• seriously Nissan’s naming of its models is really confusing. i never knew Rogue is the US version of Xtrail. i always think Rogue (in UK is called Qashqai and Singapore calls it Dualis) and Xtrail are not same….
    Previously when the Sentra is still in prodcution, Singapore calls it Sunny and Almeera is suppose to be the replacement. Then some market they use Sylphy instead. So confusing….!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • in fact qashqai /dualis is not (has not been) the same as x trail/rogue…..different platform…
      if not mistaken they dony hv xtrail/rogue in the UK….

• Ryan.C on Sep 11, 2013 at 1:45 pm

the rear looks like mazda 2 sedan version.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 18
  • smells of hard plastic inside d cabin

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 31
  • fastd on Sep 11, 2013 at 1:56 pm

Looks tempting!
    Uncle Tan, when can u bring this?

• this is what the gtr design language was supposed to be translated into… not like the cheapbox almera…~~

• This looks very good. But does anyone else think the rear looks like the current kuga?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
  • Keris Jawa on Sep 11, 2013 at 2:36 pm

Semua nak jadi CX-5…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
  • Denaihati on Sep 11, 2013 at 3:07 pm

more beautiful than the present model, also very attractive with dark green color.

• drMpower on Sep 11, 2013 at 3:25 pm

i am in the market for an SUV. price this 140k and below, ETCM can get my deposit

• Murano’s bro! nice looking

• Jilbaber on Sep 11, 2013 at 3:29 pm

Oh no, I about to go for Sportage, now I have to wait for this…but i think tan chong gonna take forever to bring it in…

• Fahmi on Sep 11, 2013 at 3:35 pm

Please, Nissan Malaysia bring this on… Quick… This car looks way better than outgoing model..

• taknakHonda on Sep 11, 2013 at 3:37 pm

Knowning TC, this will probably arrive in KL around 2020 and sold tin kosong version at premium price.

• PauKaya on Sep 11, 2013 at 3:43 pm

i just know tan chong is gonna screw this up

• time to appear in Malaysia…???
    Another 2 / 3yrs…according the existing dealer style…

• Ton Chang on Sep 11, 2013 at 4:01 pm

Well done, Nissan! A big (and very much welcome) departure from its predecessor’s boxy design. So what if the tail light clusters look curiously like those on the Lexus RX. The handsome new X-Trail wears it well.

Let us see if Tan Chong is smart enough to bring this to our shores soon. With a decent level of equipment, that is.

• albag on Sep 11, 2013 at 4:10 pm

Somehow the front reminds me of Saab

• totti on Sep 11, 2013 at 4:25 pm

Nice look but lack of versatility with 2 row of seats.

Why want to head on with Mazda CX5, Honda CRV, Hunydai, Kia sportage?

You should provide something different with 3 row seats to beat your competitor.

• Guess when TC is going to bring it here??? Another 2 years i guess…

• Athene on Sep 11, 2013 at 9:40 pm

Gonna look good with my road bicycles on it!

• tikus on Sep 11, 2013 at 9:55 pm

Everyone forgot about it….new slyphy also no where to be seen.TomYam land got it long ago…we habuk pu tak rak nampak.

• should hold my CRV booking, is it worth to wait for this model?

• Keris Jawa on Sep 12, 2013 at 3:01 pm

Sapa ada perasan kalau komen yang negatif sume kena thumbdowned? TC ada cyber troopers ke? :-)

• samson on Sep 14, 2013 at 2:13 pm

TC cakap habiskan stock x-trail lama, kendian baru masuk itu x-trail baru… 2020 lah..

• Alex C on Dec 08, 2013 at 8:59 pm

hopefully this new X trail to be launched beginning next year.

• mylungi on Jan 22, 2014 at 7:34 am

This is my candidate family mover. Rather well balanced styling & versatility.

• Rizal Abdullah on Jan 22, 2014 at 2:02 pm

Anybody from Nissan Malaysia can confirm its appearance on our shores? Will the new X-Trail come in 2014 or 2015? If 2014, when exactly? Appreciate if anyone can share such info – thx guys!!!

• MitchelJ on Jul 05, 2014 at 8:26 pm

Well I went to TCM today to test drive the new Teana, then I asked one of the staff what happened to the old X-Trail model.He said already EOP (End of Production) already and said the new version of the X-Trail should released during Q4 of 2014 and he said that the new models have arrived at the local factory.

Sorry if this is not a reassuring source but I heard it from one of their staff.

• someguyonthenet on Jun 08, 2014 at 7:46 pm

so no longer an SUV, now a CUV?

• Raysuri on Dec 26, 2014 at 5:18 pm

The car is nice, but I still can’t accept why we have to pay more as compared to Thailand.1.17m THB=119k rm approximately for based model X TRAIL.1.10M THB MANUAL 1.20M thb auto BASED model for Toyota Fortuner in Thailand. I have no intention to spoil your mood, but I am just sad and wish to have better car with better price in this country.