New BMW 2 Series Coupe and M235i unveiled in full

bmw-m235i-coupe-001

The Two is upon us. As promised, BMW has unveiled the full 2 Series Coupe lineup as a replacement to the outgoing 1 Series Coupe, following the format set by the 4 Series earlier. It claims to raise the bar in the premium compact segment in terms of dynamic ability, aesthetic appeal and emotional allure. Let’s take a look, shall we?

Unique in its segment, the BMW 2 Series Coupe features a classic three-box design that’s typical of BMW coupes, four seats, rear-wheel drive and a set of engines and chassis setup focused on dynamic ability. And of the name, BMW claims that the new 2er calls upon the sporting heritage of the BMW 02 range from the ‘60s and ‘70s, even though that itself was the precursor to the 3 Series Coupe (now the 4 Series).

The most famous model of the 02 range was undoubtedly the BMW 2002 turbo. The performance hero of its time, it was the first European model to have a turbocharger. How apt, then, that the new 2 Series Coupe has an all turbocharged engine lineup. Five variants are on offer at launch, which we’ll get to below.

bmw-m235i-coupe-018

It gets enough of a visual differentiation to distance itself from the 1 Series hatchback it’s based on, at least on the outside. The entire face is bespoke to the coupe, replacing the hatch’s droopy set of eyes and oversized grille with a much sharper looking front end. It’s been a while since BMW managed to make a car this small look this good.

Various surface lines and angles point forward towards the protruding, three-dimensional kidney grille to give the 2 Series Coupe a forward-surging static appearance. The slim headlights taper down at their inner extremes, drawing focus towards the wide grille for increased road presence.

Three intake openings on the lower valance are each angled precisely to match the light clusters and grille above them. Small slits at the corners of the front bumper channel onrushing air to hang over the front wheels like a curtain – which explains the Air Curtains designation – to cut turbulence and aid aerodynamics.

bmw-2-series-coupe-005

The back end is a little less cohesive. It’s wide, especially with the classic BMW L-shaped lights that stretch to the outermost edges of the boot, but still the lamps appear too large over the small 2 Series frame. Nevertheless, the boot aperture is wider here than it was on the 1 Series Coupe, and the horizontal cues down low visually emphasize the car’s sporting intentions.

A muscular silhouette is achieved by having a short rear deck, swooping roofline and an obvious front-biased wedge shape. A prominent slanted swage line runs across the sides and over the flared wheelarches that form the widest part of the coupe – primed as a visual reminder of its rear-wheel drive layout. As is customary on a BMW coupe, the doors have frameless windows.

Though not immediately apparent in pictures, the new two-door is 72 mm longer than the old 1 Series Coupe. It’s also 32 mm wider, 5 mm lower, and sits on a 30 mm-longer wheelbase with front and rear tracks that have grown in excess of 40 mm each. It measures 108 mm more than the five-door F20 1 Series hatchback, at 4,432 mm long.

bmw-2-series-interior-007

The interior will be familiar to current 1 Series owners, as the dashboard appears to be identical to the one fitted to the more humble hatchback. Only the optional touch-sensitive iDrive controller sets it apart, at least until the 1 Series gets that upgrade. Long doors and an Easy Entry function enhance access to the rear seats.

As the car has grown bigger, so has the cabin. The rear seats now have 21 mm more legroom than the outgoing 1er Coupe, while headroom for front occupants have increased by the same margin too. There’s an extra 20 litres of usable space in the boot too, which now measures in at 390 litres.

As is the norm for all BMW models now, the 2 Series Coupe is available in standard trim, as well as with the usual BMW Sport Line and Modern Line. Also available from launch is the M Sport package. Each one features distinctive and coordinated exterior and interior designs.

The M Sport package in particular includes unique suspension tuning (10 mm-lower than standard), 17-inch M wheels, a full set of aerodynamically optimised M bodykit and an exhaust finisher in high-gloss chrome. Also packaged in are aluminium door sills, sports seats, Aluminium Hexagon interior trim with Estoril Blue accent strip, and M instrument cluster.

Five variants are available internationally at launch: the 218d, 220d, 225d, 220i and M235i. The three diesel models are powered by the same 2.0 litre engine, each with its own tuning state of 143 hp/320 Nm, 184 hp/380 Nm and 218 hp/450 Nm respectively. Zero to 100 km/h times for the turbodiesels range from 8.6 to 6.3 seconds, with average fuel economy as low as 4.2 litres per 100 km (23.8 km/L).

The base petrol variant get the familiar 2.0 litre BMW TwinPower Turbo engine with 184 hp and 270 Nm that’s good for a 0-100 km/h time of 7.0 seconds and a 230 km/h top speed. It does 5.7 litres per 100 km (17.5 km/L). All models are available with either a six-speed manual gearbox or an eight-speed automatic transmission. Figures quoted here are for the (faster) automatic models with the optional Launch Control.

bmw-m235i-coupe-011

A wealth of different options allows the handling characteristics of the standard BMW 2 Series Coupe to be tailored to individual needs. Among them are variable sport steering, M Sport and M Performance braking systems, and a choice of Adaptive M suspension, stiff M Sport dampers and the BMW M Performance sports suspension (20 mm lower to the ground).

Topping the range is an M Performance model, the BMW M235i. A turbocharged inline-six engine sits under the long hood, making 326 hp and 450 Nm of torque. It gets to 100 km/h in just 4.8 seconds (5.0 seconds with a manual ‘box), on to a limited top speed of 250 km/h. Average fuel consumption is claimed at 7.6 litres per 100 km (13.2 km/L).

Just like the three-door M135i, this one features a bespoke chassis setup (unique spring and damper settings), upgraded braking system as well as model-specific aerodynamic balance. Lightweight 18-inch M wheels are fitted as standard, which can be upgraded to 19-inch BMW M Performance items. Exclusive to the M235i is the option for a BMW M Performance limited-slip differential.

BMW 2 Series Coupe

BMW 2 Series Coupe interior

BMW M235i Coupe

BMW 2 Series Coupe sketches

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Vios is ah beng on Oct 25, 2013 at 12:20 pm

Still cannot beat the mighty Toyota 86.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 52
    • Chris on Oct 25, 2013 at 1:09 pm

Wait until we get the official price list. Two doors, FR layout, will be interesting to see if the BMW have something to offer at around 240k.

• Sam Loo on Oct 25, 2013 at 1:26 pm

BMW is so stupid. they are doing like Samsung. Come with so many models. Waste money in R&D. At the end of the day, all will fail. Only the 3, 5 and 7 will forever be everlasting. Like Samsung, all their models also fail big time. Only just 2 or 3 models do well in a year. Now BMW becoming like Ford, just hantam and come out with so many models. I am quite happy because my yard will be filled full of BMW models. Now already got so many Z4 and X3. Nobody wants as they are big failures. All traded in for 50% original price. Traded in for Toyota Camry. Btw, BMW RV stinks. 2012 520i or 520d selling for RM230,000 and 250,000. Brand new price is RM360,000. BMW can lose RM100,000 just like that!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 44
      • yada yada yada yada…ur hilux still the best right?

• hazelnuts23 on Oct 25, 2013 at 2:34 pm

For the first time, I agree with you.

• Syhh..be careful..a lot of Sam Loo’s impersonate now…

• Sam Loo on Oct 25, 2013 at 3:46 pm

May I have your attention please? May I have your attention please? Will the real Sam Loo please stand up? I repeat, will the real Sam Loo please stand up?

We’re gonna have a problem here…

• kadajawi on Oct 26, 2013 at 11:51 am

They are just giving models that were a part of their line up a new name. There has been a 1 series coupe for a while now, and a 3 series coupe forever. All that has changed is that they aren’t 1 or 3 series cars anymore, they are 2 and 4 series cars.

• Shanan on Oct 25, 2013 at 1:43 pm

U crazy vios ah beng!! Ur toyota 86 doesnt come near to this 2 series kay. Go clean toyota cars. Chu chu!!
      Talking rubbish!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
      • kadajawi on Oct 26, 2013 at 11:55 am

Not really. In terms of driving pleasure I’m fairly certain the BMW can’t even get close to the GT86. Not even the Porsche Cayman, which is pretty much perfect can. But the BMW is a much better daily driver. A car you can actually live with. With 4 seats. And depending on the version it will also be faster (probably several versions will be (much) faster.

• policeman on Oct 25, 2013 at 12:35 pm

To me, overall it looks better than the current 3 series or 4 Series. Good looking fella. Just like me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Love this one, feels a little DNA of the Latest m6 in this series

• laluan sehala on Oct 25, 2013 at 1:23 pm

wonder if they will make the 218d available for malaysia.

• hanssen on Oct 25, 2013 at 1:55 pm

designwise…boring look. brain drain

• Paul Tan 2 on Oct 25, 2013 at 1:57 pm

Dear Hafriz

Would you know if this new 2 series has any relation to the current 1 series?

And that the subsequent 1 series facelift would likely look like this instead of the current frog face and better outlook eventually?

• bmw malaysia plizz bring this hottie here n sell it cheaper than overpriced 86..

• wee teck on Oct 25, 2013 at 2:32 pm

Another 400k rubbish. Just like the 135i.
    Yes, it is fast. But why not spend another 50k to buy a proper sport car like new porsche cayman.

• Ok, one more series to go.. 9 series. Save the best for last..lol

• Anti BN dan Inspira on Oct 25, 2013 at 4:03 pm

Halo,Germany!! Why so much series unveils lately?And why all car sell so expensive yet only 2 door opnening? Thought 6 and 4 series has enuf choice for 2 doors lover oled,yet came out an odd 2 series here?Variant which is too close to each other make consumer think more when buying lah,and end up not buying BMW and consumer may buy new dugong vios orhh.In near future, could it be 1.5 series,2.75 series,3.66 those odd series unveil?Come on, stick to 3,5,7, or 9 enuf lah,dude!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • so according to your logic, a customer walks into a bmw showroom, sees a lot of options, then immediately leave for toyota showroom

maybe one day you can read books on critical thinking, rather than spending too much time on red bean army’s website

if i were pm everyone who has low IQ will be summarily executed. who’s with me?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Josh Ling on Oct 25, 2013 at 4:43 pm

can’t wait for the Gran Coupe!!!

• seancorr on Oct 25, 2013 at 5:35 pm

Just came back from Paradigm mall where they have a 116i on display there and in the flesh the 1 Series does not look all that bad if you compare with pictures only but the A class does look better haha.

Anyhow looking at BMW Malaysia’s trend…I guess we can only see the 235i coming here…maybe the 220i too but not the diesel models. Hopefully we can see the 220i selling way below the RM300k mark.

Funny…I thought I saw a 228i model too maybe slated for launch in 2014.

• helli on Oct 25, 2013 at 10:42 pm

Good job BMW. After this I hope they make 1.5, 2.5, 3.5, 4.5, 5.5, 6.5, 7.5 series

• Very handsome. I guess the saloon version will come later to challenge the CLA Benz soon. Or will it just use the 316i? Will 216i be available?? After tax in CBU form, I guess the 220i will be below rm280k??? Or near the FT86 price with a 1.6turbo from 316i?? Interesting and looks good…. Keep it up bimmer

• Shawal on Oct 26, 2013 at 3:37 am

M235i…
    You don’t really need a cramp 4 seater sub-5 sec coupe..
    wont stop you from wanting one…

• Bee Em Dabeliew on Oct 26, 2013 at 10:00 am

The base 220i if and when it comes to Malaysia will be the model to look out for. 0-100km/h circa 7.0 secs plus all-necessary Blue propeller badge on the bonnet would be a serious contender if priced around RM250,000 – 280,000 mark.

Let’s hope BMW msia don’t place some ridiculous sticker price on this model. Lovely thing indeed. Malaysians deserve to enjoy this remarkable thing with their hard earned cash and not feel cheated with exorbitant price tags.

• kadajawi on Oct 26, 2013 at 11:58 am

Big improvement over the 1 series. Though that isn’t difficult. The 3 series is better looking, and the CLA is much better looking. Inside out (except for that stupid aftermarket screen they fitted). The only advantage BMW has is being RWD.

• Asian people loves BMW, Mercs cause when it comes to car they are well lets say “dumb” just because they are most rich and high-class people in Asia beside Japanese, other Asian like us we chosen Toyota, Honda and Proton its because Cheap and Easy Maintenance, parts are easy to install and you can DO IT yourself.

• with english like that, no bmw sales agent could understand you anyway

i wan tree siris! wat u mean kip my voice down wan??