KLIMS13 fun family activities – Tamiya RC race, American classic car showcase, F1 simulator

f1-simulator

The Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) and Interexpo, organiser and show manager respectively, have firmed up showcases and activities for Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show 2013 (KLIMS13). Our home motor show will be held from November 15-24 at the Putra World Trade Centre.

Confirmed show attractions include the Malaysia International Auto Salon, The Tamiya Remote Control (RC) Car Race, the American Classic Cars Showcase and F1 simulators.

The Tamiya RC race will take up the entire deck at the mezzanine floor of Hall 1. There will be four categories – RC Race, Drift Race, RC Mini Z Race and the Mini 4WD Race. Open practice sessions will be conducted from November 15-22, the qualifying session will take place on the 23rd, with the finals happening on the last day of the show.

tamiya-rc

A collaboration between the organisers of KLIMS13 and Tom’s Stickers, the Malaysia International Auto Salon will focus on the aftermarket scene and modified cars, of which more than 30 rides will be displayed at KLIMS13. Prizes go to the best body kit, interior, paint and stickers. Visitors can vote for their favourite car in two categories, Open Standard and Open Extreme.

If old American muscle is more your kind of thing, check out the American Classic Cars Showcase, where 25 big and shiny rides wearing Pontiac, Dodge, Ford and Chevrolet badges will be on display. Want to get hands on? Take part in the Formula 1 simulator challenge for adults, ladies and children.

There will also be a KLIMS13 Celebrities Day featuring Fizo Omar, Jehan Miskin, Thanuja Ananthan, Nadine Ann Thomas, Safee Sali and Altimet, among others. The local stars will make their appearance on November 18, from 2.30pm to 4.30pm, and on November 21, 6.00pm to 8.30pm.

Dodge-Charger

Ticket prices will remain as with previous shows, at RM15 for weekdays and RM20 for weekends. Kids under 12 will enjoy a concessionary ticket rate of RM5 for all days. There’s also a family package for parents with children under the age of five, at RM30 for the whole family on weekdays and RM40 on weekends. Tickets can be bought online at www.klims.com.my and www.airasiaredtix.com, as well as at PWTC on show dates.

Lucky visitors stand to drive away with a Toyota Prius 1.8L Luxury or the Honda CR-Z. In addition, Maybank customers have a chance to win a Volkswagen Beetle 2.0L TSI at KLIMS13.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Jaybond on Nov 07, 2013 at 10:06 am

Whoa! Is that a Malaysian registered classic Dodge Charger R/T? So far I’ve seen a classic Malaysian reg. Chervolet Camaro SS, on photos.Nice muscle cars..

• ss427 on Nov 07, 2013 at 11:17 am

yup yup. I wonder who’s the owners.. all these muscle cars looks and sound far more interesting than those F1 cars..

Sigh… too bad I’m in SG… and its too late for me to book any hotel in KL now la…

25 muscle cars on display… its a good thing gasoline is cheap in Bolehland. The owner will need to sell the house to pay for the gas and road taxes if he register his Dodge charger in SG… :(

Wonder if these 25 cars can make a trip to SG soon?

• yatta on Nov 07, 2013 at 12:29 pm

yeah..bolehland gasoline cheap..roadtax cheap..salary super cheap meh..=P

but yup,agree with u..those muscle car will be star of that day..watching those fast & furious cars live in front of your eye,well who needs those F1 anymore..ahaks =P

• ss427 on Nov 07, 2013 at 3:20 pm

Well… true la shouldn’t have used SGD$ to compare with the cost of living in Bolehland..

Can’t really see from the pic, but if it is a real Charger R/T, the engine options would be either 440ci (7.3L) OHV V8 or the fabled 426ci (7L) Hemi OHV V8. The 440 offers much better drive (more linear torque o/p) as compared to the more famous (and expensive) Hemi.

Hope the owner found a unit with aircon.. cos back then, car aircons were expensive options and few pple would want to fork out the money for it. Eg pay USD$500+ for aircon setup when the whole car cost ard < US$5000?

Muscle cars motor sports are for everyday folks like you and me. F1 are for the snobbish European Elites who thought they owned the world. Simple drivetrain that makes alot of power.

• KLIMS is a JOKE on Nov 08, 2013 at 10:19 am

KLIMS is one big joke. I have travelled all over the world and seen International Car shows. Our KLIMs is the ONLY one that has no new launches, no prototypes, nothing educational and its full of marketing companies trying to sell
        1) Car Shampoo
        2) Motor Lubricant
        3) Car rims
        4) Car tyres.

Go and learn from the Birmingham International show how to do an International Car show. Then they keep all cars locked up. Like dogs we see the car from outside.Like that, better I go to Naza Automall ont he Federal highway on a weekday and look at the cars there. Free and no need to waste my money buying tickets.

Instead of coming out with remote control car toys for people to play with, better for KLIMS to ask the government where is the 30% reduction in car prices promised by Najib before the election. 30% is supposed to be given gradually over the period of 5 years. By now, we should be seeing at least a 5% reduction in car prices. But we see car prices going up pulak. VW and Toyota increased the prices of ALL their cars recently, for example.

The public want to know where is the 30% reduction as promised by Najib. We are waiting for that. To most people, car prices are the sole and ONLY important factor when cars are concerned. They are not interested in anything else like networking, shampoos, car tyres and all other nonsense.

Most International cars shows are to exhibit latest cars and technology to the public. But our car show it seems is for remote control cars. KLIMS should give all those visiting ita show an answer as to when car prices are going down as promised by our PM prior to our election. Tak payah cerita banyak banyak.

Lets face it, though we are all car enthusiast who love Paul Tan, car prices supercede all other issues. Car prices are more important than all this remote control car joke.

• ajo haterzs on Nov 09, 2013 at 1:07 pm

I think before you say KLIMS is a joke, you must learn first the motive of each motorshow la…IIMS and Bangkok usually for sales maaa..same goes for Korea…and other big show like detroit and Paris is mainly for design concept car…

• politikus usang on Nov 10, 2013 at 4:53 am

Adoi semua benda hendak kena cakap politik. Typical Malaysian…

• kiddd on Nov 07, 2013 at 10:16 am

Definitely, i will be there..

• Don’t name it as KL International Motor Show, please name it KL Domestic Motor Show or KL Motor Accessories Show!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
    • Lol oni p2 is local…..other frm other maker..p1 already back out…how to call domestic autoshow? it normal for autoshow to include side show..even indo autoshow include accessories show..oni u frog under tong drum don know

• oh racing simulator, youll have one kid playing it and his parents will be standing beside him, along with his 40 siblings and that single person will be using it until the show ends at night.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • frenzyaustin on Nov 07, 2013 at 12:32 pm

Tamiya wor, best event there I think.

• Yeah, will be there just for that.

• frenzyaustin on Nov 07, 2013 at 6:09 pm

You play Mini 4WD? I thinking picking up the hobby once again.

• I am more incline towards their scale models, I collect WW2 weaponary models(majority tanks) and hotwheel cars. Had one Tamiya Ferrai F40 once in 1:16 scale, until my mom accidentally drop it rendering very damaged front end. I don’t play RC cars as I believe is a very expensive hobby, but I do enjoy looking at the detail on the models and the driving skills of the pros.

• AutoFrenz on Nov 07, 2013 at 12:34 pm

Im sure my friend Tamiya Tan will be there. He will be accompanied by close friends and neighbours as well like Accord Ang, Camry Chong, Passat Phua and Teana Tay. Simply amazing and marvellous…have fun guys!

• Aerro on Nov 07, 2013 at 1:07 pm

Without Proton at KLIMS of course it is far more fun and joy!!!

• MAI Apprentice on Nov 07, 2013 at 1:37 pm

classics??? awesome.. definitely will be there

• Mr.427 on Nov 08, 2013 at 9:13 am

I wanna see 1970 Pontiac Firebird 400ci & 1964 Ford Fairlane Thunderbolt 427ci. both are pure muscle

• Ahjib kor on Nov 08, 2013 at 10:27 am

Junk car show. With the new implementation of scrap car policy, all this stupid classic junk can sell by weight at balakong scrap dealer.

They should call this Kuala Lumpur Junk Car show.

• any chance of seeing koenigsegg over there???