Ford Mustang Shelby GT500 shown at KLIMS13

Ford Mustang Shelby GT500 KLIMS 4

The star of the Ford display at KLIMS13 has undoubtedly been the LHD fifth-gen Ford Mustang Shelby GT500. Great to look at, the highest-spec S197 ‘tang, equipped with a 662 hp and 855 Nm 5.8 litre supercharged V8 and a Tremec six-speed manual, but it might as well be an alien craft to most.

The next Mustang, however, is set to be a more familiar face to Malaysians. Yes, the word is that the Blue Oval is planning to introduce the RHD version of the S550 here when the upcoming sixth-gen enters the market. The UK is already confirmed as a market for the variant, as is Australia, the latter set to get the car in 2016.

It’s too early to see how things will shape up here exactly – we’re told that the smallest current engine choice, the 305 hp 3.7 litre Ti-VCT V6, is a strong contender, but there’s a more sensible option to be had in the form of a 2.3 litre EcoBoost four-cylinder turbo that’s being planned for select markets. Certainly, that one sounds like an easier proposition to digest.

The sixth-generation Mustang will debut at the 2014 New York Auto Show next April, coinciding with the Mustang’s 50th anniversary, but chances are, the earliest we’ll see the new pony car in these parts of the woods will be nearly three years from now, when Australia begins bringing it in.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• PauKaya on Nov 19, 2013 at 10:02 am

i’d buy the car to look at the signal lamps all day long

• Which signal lamp? The front or the rear?
      The rear one uses sequential flow of red lights, no orange light cluster. (search it in Youtube)
      Because if you’re referring at the orange light at the front bumper, it’s not signal light. It’s the sidemarker which turned on together with front headlights.

• sam69 on Nov 19, 2013 at 10:02 am

wow…the girl from which planet?

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Nov 19, 2013 at 10:04 am

LONG LIVE MUSTANG!!! Love this car since introduction. Now Western finally understand the important of “Globalization” Market. Japan once too “keep” goodies for their countrymen, now they sell every nice/sport car around the world.

• Legendary Mustang!!

• kuhan on Nov 19, 2013 at 10:14 am

How much.. i guess rm450k.. can get 5 biji ford fiesta…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Jinggo on Nov 19, 2013 at 10:15 am

Camaro better than this..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • junaidi on Nov 19, 2013 at 10:25 am

I still dont understand why you need female models for these events. They’re basically saying they dont have enough confidence that people will be interested in the car, so maybe people will look at the girl.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
    • Imagine 1 female Auntie stand beside the car. :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Maybe you’re GAY man!
      All materials (Watch, Cars, Furniture, etc) showcase 98% are female models. Not referring girls as “SEX” symbol but as a “status”. Even girls/women will praise their same sex as ‘Professional”.
      Unlike pervert/gay mens feeling DISGUST/fantasy whenever seeing female models.
      Cheer up Bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
  • 4G63T DSM on Nov 19, 2013 at 11:00 am

Ok… a 2.3L Ecoboost just sounds wrong.

I know why they do it but its not in the spirit of a american muscle car. There just something special with a V8 engine. It may not be the most powerful, most efficient nor most sophisticated powerplant, but by golly, does it sound amazing with a proper set of pipes.

• lonelyobserve on Nov 19, 2013 at 12:29 pm

Agree with that. Ford Mustang is well known as pony and muscle car. So 3.7L V6 engine is minimum in US standard. Even in UK, people there still prefer the 3.7L V6 and 5.0L V8 engines for Mustang.

• masonteh on Nov 19, 2013 at 11:22 am

wow..knight rider…just looking at it i droping saliva…

• blackbox on Nov 19, 2013 at 12:23 pm

Manual transmission….the right transmission for a car enthusiast. 2.3L Ecoboost might lost the muscle car spirit but that is the only way to make it more affordable in our boleh land which duty and road tax based on engine capacity.

• AUSNSW on Nov 19, 2013 at 12:24 pm

This car’s road tax sure like land cruiser 200

• If you think like this, clearly you are not the their targeted cunstomer. Roadtax shouldnt be mentioned when it comes to muscle cars. if you want to save tax, might as well get cheap and frugal Conti with 4-cyl.

• AUSNSW on Nov 19, 2013 at 7:43 pm

Will this car come to Malaysia? This car can easily get 200mph…But Malaysia have such road?

• Toy Yoda on Nov 19, 2013 at 1:33 pm

Bring in RHD Chevy Camaro & Dodge Charger / Challenger too. Together with the Ford Mustang they’ll brighten up the car scene here with more choice.

• ss427 on Nov 19, 2013 at 5:33 pm

Actually tech both GM and Chrysler corp can do the conversion. The Camaro is afterall built off the Holden Commodore platform. So the chassis is a RHD from day one.
      The Challenger can be done too… although it will need more work than the Camaro for a safe, street legal, OEM quality conversion.
      The Challenger is built off the Chrysler 300C platform… and if you come to SG, you can see the officially imported 300C being used as taxis as well as private cars here. So it can be done..
      But there’s always economic of scale. RHD countries are FAR LESSER than LHD countries. In fact, most RHD countries were ex British colonies.
      Doing localization for Camaro, Mustangs and Challengers for Europe market is easy and doesn’t cost much for the manufacturer.. but making RHD models of the same car will be expensive if it can’t be sold in large numbers.

Rem, even in Jap where’s its RHD, its very common to see LHD imported vehicles over there. Its perfectly legal to own a LHD vehicle in Jap. So much so that you can walk into a Ford or GM showroom in Jap and you can buy a LHD Mustang or Camaro straight off the dealer lot, complete with warranties and aftersales support etc..

So there’s not much incentive to convert these muscle cars to RHD just for the tiny SE Asian markets

• muscle kar on Nov 19, 2013 at 3:58 pm

the only engine that belongs to a muscle car is a huge V8 motor. Not a V6, not a 2.3 liter EcoBoost.

• oomph on Nov 19, 2013 at 6:28 pm

ok i admit, i clicked the link to see the girl.

• RoKie on Nov 19, 2013 at 10:20 pm

God … Mustang … Shelby … GT500 … God … What would I give to have a go in it…

• kl fella on Dec 04, 2013 at 9:56 am

there’s a mustang running around ss2 and pj section 17 with number plate 4848.. not sure if it’s still around..

• Non of Malaysian people buy a Ford Mustang GT500 with stick shift, coz most Malaysia doesn’t know how to drive a stick shift and doesn’t even know how fun it is to drive a sports car with a stick shift.