Ford Ecosport SUV and Fiesta 1.0L Ecoboost to make debut at KLIMS13, where order books open

Ford-EcoSport

Ford is preparing a big show at the Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show 2013 (KLIMS13), which starts next week (Nov 15) at the Putra World Trade Centre. Themed “Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow” Ford’s display will feature cars from yesteryear, as well as current models and upcoming ones.

For the latter, the Ford EcoSport compact SUV and Fiesta 1.0L EcoBoost variant will make their Malaysian debuts at the show. The EcoSport is likely to launch with a 1.5 litre Ti-VCT engine, as per the facelifted Fiesta that was launched here in September. The SUV is available with a 1.0L Ecoboost elsewhere, so perhaps that might come in some day as a range-topper.

2013 fiesta facelift 01

The turbocharged three-cylinder 1.0L Ecoboost engine in the Fiesta is of course the reigning International Engine of the Year, having retained the title it won in 2012. Ford says that the 120 PS/170 Nm mill delivers up to 20% improvement in fuel economy and 15% reduction in CO2 emissions compared to larger displacement engines. The 1.5 Ti-VCT in the Fiesta facelift does 112 PS and 140 Nm.

Both cars will be open for bookings at KLIMS13. Customers who put their name down for a new Ford along with a deposit of RM500 will receive a special gift, while stocks last. Those interested in the Focus Sport+ and Titanium+ and Kuga SUV have additional Big Deal incentives.

Also on display, but not for sale, are the 1928 Ford Model A pick-up (original condition with minor restoration), the 662 hp Ford Mustang Shelby GT500 and the Ford Fusion Hybrid. The latter is also known as the new Ford Mondeo, so it can be considered a preview of the D-segment sedan that will be coming in the future.

Mustang-GT500

We hear that the Fiesta ST hot hatch and Everest Concept (SUV based on the Ranger T6) might also turn up at PWTC, so there’s plenty to see at Ford, for sure.

Ford’s KLIMS guests will also have the chance to win prizes in contests and trivia challenges, as well as enjoy various live performances. In addition, YouTube sensation and hitz.fm Morning Crew DJ Jinny Boy will be signing autographs on Sunday, November 17. On that day, a limited number of Ford-only parking lots will be available at a discounted rate, offered on a first-come, first-served basis.

We have a review of the Ford Ecosport SUV from India, where it was launched earlier this year – click here to read the story and view the gallery.

Learn more: ,

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• sudonano on Nov 08, 2013 at 1:31 pm

Best news of the day! Finally the EcoSport is coming.

But bring in the 1.0EcoBoost w/ 6 speed PowerShift Ford! I hope the specs all be similar like the old Fiesta, ESP, 7 airbags as standard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 23
    • i heard 1 local maker has equip their latest sedan with 6 airbag without increase price

• Ahlee bin ahtan on Nov 08, 2013 at 6:18 pm

It must be Toyolah?

• Tamingsari on Nov 09, 2013 at 7:26 pm

Ford cars are problematic. Buy one if you want to experience continuous breakdowns.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
      • sudonano on Nov 08, 2013 at 6:29 pm

Yes! 6 airbags, ESP all standard features on that *****.

Hint, model name ends with a stylised E.

• Ford ah? Ok be prepared for very very poor resale value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 15, 2013 at 1:54 pm

Ford treats Malaysians like idiots. Where is the 1.0 Ecoboost for Focus? Focus 1.0 Ecoboost is the NO 1 best seller in Europe. But here, pariah Ford, wants you to pay more in road tax and fuel. Ford is Sime Darby GLC. And government wants the rakyat to pay more in road tax and fuel.

Ford, pls have some telur and bring in the 1.0 Ecoboost. The Focus 1.0 Ecoboost has better fuel efficiency than the 2.0 TDCI diesel. But government refuse to bring this engine in.

• hassani on Nov 08, 2013 at 8:46 pm

Its a Ford. Therefore, the quality is so, so only …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
      • sudonano on Nov 09, 2013 at 1:58 pm

Actually no. You have not been in a Ford, that is why you think that the quality is not there. But I can say, based on recent Fords, it can meet (and exceed in terms of refinement) the Japanese and Korean standards.

Plus, this is built in Thailand. Not India. Speaking of India, what’s wrong with Indian built cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 15
    • Sudan dan nonoquq on Nov 08, 2013 at 10:22 pm

Whats so great, its just another made in India car! Quality questionable, style … awful! Who places spare tyres at the back anymore, thats so 1980’s!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 13
  • nows a day still have the spare tyre hanging at the back of the car ? i think without hanging the spare tyre will looks much better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
    • honest on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:45 pm

Yup look cheap la ada tyre bergayut kat blkg tu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • amirad on Nov 08, 2013 at 3:27 pm

The hanging spare tyre can always double as the rear impact attenuator in the case of rear collision. There must be a reason for it.

• 4g63T DSM on Nov 09, 2013 at 1:26 pm

Hahah.. That’s what you think.

Anyone driving a car with the spare hanging outside will tell you that even in a minor bump would result in extensive damage to the rear hatch/door. Bumpers are meant to be bumped..not spares.

Besides, the biggest problem I can see is that this car was primarily designed for LHD markets. We RHD’ers will have the rear door opening at the wrong direction. We stop and parallel park at the left side of the road, the hatch blocks access from the curb.

• If I may ask, the SUV itself, is it as big as the Toyota Rush/ perodua Nautica. 1.0 turbo sounds awesome as its HP is almost par with a 1.5 n/a engine, but higher torque. What price range are we looking at? Estimate

• Henry Ford The XII on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:05 pm

If aint mistaken there is going to be a standalone Mazda Motorshow in OU between 13 and 17 Nov, and they are going to intro 2 brand new models (M3 perhaps?)
    Anyone with more details on this?

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:05 pm

Wow, this is so much better than the Tucson and Sportage

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
  • Fiesta ST! Finally, been waiting for this for too long. Hurry up and launch the damn thing already. Anyone have info on the price?

• honest on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:47 pm

Fiesta too small

• Edward Carnby on Nov 08, 2013 at 6:21 pm

Yep..too small….very crampy for big size people like me….

• james on Nov 10, 2013 at 8:01 pm

Edward Carnby : yeah same with the A class. the seats at the back very crampy for a big size ppl like me..

• A class is only for richfags regardless is cabin space.

• leonardo austin on Nov 08, 2013 at 8:40 pm

Honda Jazz is bigger than fiesta.I own both of them.Its up to the customer’s preference on which car to purchase.Never buy a stupid myvi.i recently sold my sister’s useless myvi extreme 1.5.thats a Crap car.

• as far as i know, it will be slightly less than 208 gti so im guessing probably around 135-40k, but if its my money ill spend more and get the 208 gti as the interior for the fiesta is quite dated and lots of hard plastic but obviously that is just my personal preference.

• Ayecaramba on Nov 10, 2013 at 12:17 pm

So true when you state it is about personal preference because for me, I’d go for the fiesta. It was voted one of the best hot hatches ahead of the 208Gti by EVO, topgear, autocar and the sort. It may not be as ergonomically sound inside but it is a more entertaining drive, easier to chug around, playful and alive. All in all, it is a more intuitive car to own. But that’s just me and if I were to aim for a hot hatch, I’d go for a more playful car than a more beautiful interior. :) cheers bro.

• Fiesta 1L ecoboost must be price between preve and ss since rio 1.4L cbu full spec inside those price bracket..higher than rio price kinda odd coz it has 1L engine oni, thai made no import tax rio korea cbu, spec might be less than rio

• Ayecaramba on Nov 10, 2013 at 12:28 pm

How is that possible? The fiesta ecoboost is more powerful than the current fiesta with a lower tax bracket but priced lower? Stop dreaming bro. This is not paradise. In this world, when things seem too good to be true, it isn’t true. And remember it’s the engine of the year. Unless Ford reevaluates their current fiesta price, don’t expect the ecoboost variant to be cheaper.

• Y cannot? Rio can price in those price region bigger engine n has high spec summore..y can’t 1L engine cannot do the same..please don say MITI don allow

• D.I.Y on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:45 pm

don’t just keep on mention how good is the eco-boost 1.0 engine.. just bring in to Malaysia. Just talk never action how to know how good it is..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Actually Ecoboost won best engine for 1 litre category only. For 1.4 litre above,was won by the VW TSI engine for the last 6 or 7 years!

• ..and the most nightmare ownership is car equipped with 1.4tsi + dsg7.

• Blaze on Nov 09, 2013 at 12:23 pm

Actually the 1.0 Ecoboost also won the “Engine of The Year” award.

• i want ecosport but not that 1.5 liter engine..
    need to wait for 1 liter ecoboast.. hope not to longggggggggggggggg :(

• mr_em on Nov 08, 2013 at 4:31 pm

Ecosport – reminds me of the Kembara/Nautica class… soon the it will be joined by the likes of Honda(SUV version of the new Jazz), Peugeot (the 2008), Nissan (Juke?)….

Fiesta ST coming? Yes pls… and do priced it below the 208 GTi…

• apamau on Nov 08, 2013 at 5:15 pm

Wow, at least ford is sincere to show some good cars, not treated this as a car sales fair alone. Good job ford, keep it up, though I do not own any ford now, but we hear it.

• apparently ford insider says the ecosport will be 100k. I think it will sell like hotcakes, no manufacturer has been able to replicate the sucess of Kembara..this might be the new hot seller for Ford. hopefully it will start new trend, and nissan will bring in Juke, etc

• malaysia has the 2nd highest car prices in the world on Nov 08, 2013 at 5:48 pm

everywhere else in the world where they have 208 gti and fiesta st, the fiesta st is cheaper due to the plastics and dated dashboard. but in bolehland, sime darby is good at overpricing their cars!!!

if fiesta st is below 128k sign me up! after that pls reduce your focus st price also. thx

• Wow!! That Ford Mustang Shelby GT500 is hawt!!

• Heskey on Nov 08, 2013 at 6:08 pm

Wow… it can fit a washing machine!

• Ecoboost 1.0 with 3 cylinders suppose to be a low-cost and efficient engine, why we are branding it into range-topper?

• xiper on Nov 08, 2013 at 6:56 pm

new ecoboost FiesThor is here finally!

• donnyck on Nov 08, 2013 at 9:48 pm

just saw people drive fiesta with new face,light blue

he sure butthurted kao kao

• Henry Ford the XII on Nov 09, 2013 at 8:50 am

Malaysians thrive on other people’s misery eh?

No wonder photos of accident/murder victims here were circulated fast in the internet.

Am proud to have donnyck as fellow Malaysian…