SPIED: Next-generation BMW 7 Series spotted testing

Spotted in this video undergoing winter testing is the next-generation G11 BMW 7 Series, which is set to replace the current F01/F02 model (pictured below) sometime next year.

The video reveals a car that’s more an evolution of the previous-generation model, rather than a revolution. The new 7er looks to be much the same proportionally, although it cuts a sleeker profile with a more steeply-raked greenhouse and a low nose reminiscent of the F30 3 Series.

Of more interest is under the skin, where it will reportedly ditch the F01’s traditional steel monocoque for a brand new construction that uses a blend of steel, aluminium and carbon-fibre. This technology, gained from BMW’s futuristic i3 and i8 models, will be part of a new modular rear-wheel drive architecture that will underpin everything from the next 2 Series to the X5 and X6.

All this tech will bring about a significant reduction of weight, shaving off as much as 200 kg. This will mean that the base 740i will drop from its current weight of 1,900 kg to somewhere around 1,700 kg, which is about the same as a base-model F10 5 Series. A new dual-camera pedestrian detection system, as well as laser headlights that will make their production debut on the BMW i8 sports car, are also expected to be included.

bmw-7-series-facelift-26-e1338111270514

Engines offered will be the usual range of BMW six-, eight- and twelve-cylinder engines, all of them turbocharged. One particularly notable addition to the range is likely to be a twin-turbocharged 4.0 litre V8 that is rumoured to see service in an M770i xDrive, developing 475 hp and 650 Nm. The on-again-off-again full-blown M7 variant is now reported to stay “off”.

Another variant that may have been seen tested in the video is a plug-in hybrid version. One of the cars shown sports what looks like a flap on the front fender that could be covering a socket in much the same way as on the Concept X5 eDrive and 3 Series eDrive prototype. If true, it will likely feature the powertrain from the X5 eDrive – a turbocharged four-cylinder engine connected to a 95 hp electric motor.

As previously reported, Mercedes-Benz’s aim to push its S-Class upmarket to fill in the void left by its Maybach brand will see BMW following suit with an extended-wheelbase 7 Series variant of its own in addition to its usual regular and long-wheelbase models, which will sit just below the Rolls-Royce Ghost in the BMW Group lineup. The G11 BMW 7 Series is expected to bow at the Frankfurt Motor Show next year.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Usin Kangkong on Feb 17, 2014 at 1:18 pm

Who need that many power and torque??

• 7 series is a big failure in Malaysia. nobody buys it. All buy S class, far better. The 7 series on the road are always bought for gomen conference and to take world leaders here and there for 2 days when they come to Malaysia. Then they sell the car half price after 1 or 2 months later.

That is why 7 series, you can buy for half price and got no RV. All the towkay know this and just buy S class.

Besides gomen conference, half of 7 series you see on the road are Sime Darby (owner of BMW Malaysia) director cars.

• AutoFrenz on Feb 17, 2014 at 1:33 pm

7 series has lost its appeal and glitters…people tend to go for Lexus LS for its relentless pursuit of excellence which is second to none and has become a benchmark for the new Merz S class in terms of its quietness and superb handling as proven by JD Powers…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 17
    • kington on Feb 17, 2014 at 1:55 pm

I agree to the extent that the LS is very quiet and comfortable. So much as that it overshadows the S-Class.

Handling however, you really cannot BMW that crown. No one makes a car as big as a 7 handles like a 3. The LS460 Sport is quite a keen handler, but that’s because of the huge grip offered by its tyres. Push it hard and it still rolls more than a 7. I must admit, having tested the LS460 Sport, i really do like it.

• qwerty on Feb 17, 2014 at 2:15 pm

The current gen LS, as well as the previous one that it is based on, has been over engineered to provide an unmatched level of comfort and quietness, especially in its hybrid trim.

Strangely though, despite being soft enough to provide monstrous level of comfort, it has been now engineered to handle well too in its F-Sport trim.

Given the current gen of new Lexus models are doing well in handling and comfort, I expect the next gen of LS to beat the Audi and BMW when it comes to true handling.

• kington on Feb 18, 2014 at 9:20 am

Yes, i hope so too. Seeing how LExus started in the mid 80s to where they are today, i secretly hope they do well.

The new corporate look which spawned the “spindle grill” takes a while to like but i honestly do. There’s an RX350 F Sport opposite my house and it looks remotely cool, especially with those dark gun smoke metal rims.

• Eventhou I like BMW, but I don’t think they have the right formula for a true luxury saloon. They need to work harder and breakthrough a lot coz the S class already move up the game so much.

• Datuk on Feb 17, 2014 at 2:28 pm

2 years warranty for rm700k++ car?

• Mamakboy on Feb 17, 2014 at 3:30 pm

Lexus can only overtake BMW if Bmw remains stagnant, which will never be the case. Besides, Lexus/ Toyota which primarily uses Yamaha engines will never beat BMW engines.

At the end of the day Lexus is just a high class Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
    • kington on Feb 18, 2014 at 9:23 am

You do realize they are beginning to collaborate with each other. Toyota taking diesel engines from BMW and tech transfer for sport chassis and development for sports cars from TOyota or sorts. It’s hard to jusify whether the Yamaha tuned engines are weaker than BMWs, but most tuners would do wonders with these engines than BMWs.

• The new S Class is in a class of its own. Nothing comes close. Have to say that the new lineup from Mercedes seems to trump the competition. BMW of late has been dissapointing…both in terms of design and tech. Mercedes is now right on top of the stable with beautiful designs, high tech features and top notch quality. They are back where they belong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
  • I just hope the new 7 series can beat Mercedes S class…i like Mercedes too peace ;)

• Annihilated on Feb 18, 2014 at 10:50 am

at 0:47 on the video, it seems that they turned the DSC off to allow the tail to be happy. it slides and handles well on the snow / ice track where they supposed to test the DSC.

that is one of a better drivers in a better handling cars.

• NurburgringDriver (Member) on Mar 21, 2014 at 6:02 pm

The current 740i/Li is so heavy!! I hope they really reduced the weight of the G11/G12