IIMS 2014: Daihatsu Sirion – modded Indonesian Myvis

IIMS 2014 Sirion Grey 1

As mentioned in a previous story, the Daihatsu stand at the 2014 Indonesia International Motor Show is pretty relevant for Malaysians, with Daihatsu and our local market leader Perodua being sisters. The Daihatsu Sirion sold in the archipelago is the best example – launched at IIMS 2011, it is a Daihatsu-badged Perodua Myvi that is made in Rawang, Malaysia.

The Sirion isn’t as popular in Indonesia as the the Myvi is here, but it hasn’t escaped the tuning and customisation scene. Seen here are two winning cars that participated in the local Sirion Dress-Up Challenge. They have been worked on extensively, inside and out. The grey car is done up in a sporty “street racing” way, while the one in army camouflage follows an “adventure” theme.

The latter is more interesting to us, with a roof rack, front and side metal bars, a tow bar and off-road tyres for the full 4X4 effect. The interior has a jungle theme too, with a leafy pattern on the seats, door cards and dashboard. Pretty creative, no?

The sporty, wide-bodied one is fronted by a bold bumper with curves outlined in orange, looking very aggressive as a result. There’s also a previous-gen Honda City-style louvered grille and big 17-inch wheels with giant Brembo calipers holding small stock discs. At the back, the big bumper accomodates large “air intakes”, a diffuser and twin pipes. This writer nearly suffered from retinal burn photorgaphing the interior.

Like the Daihatsu Ayla GT2 Concept for future Axia owners, this Sirion duo could inspire some Myvi owners looking to stand out. Daihatsu also showed the UFC-3 and CUV-2 concepts in Jakarta, which could be previews of the next Alza and a new Kembara, respectively.

Daihatsu Sirion “Adventure Concept”

Daihatsu Sirion “Street Racing”

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Jinyiwei22 on Sep 29, 2014 at 10:45 am

Alamak.. That is Honda City front grill on Street Racing. Fugly lar..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • Iriz Active Concept wannabe> Fugly. Suits Indon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 25
      • Adrian on Sep 29, 2014 at 11:51 am

I’m sorry but when you say “suits indoNs” What do you mean by that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
        • ferrori on Sep 29, 2014 at 5:41 pm

Wowwowow look like Ferrari 458 Speciale A Spider!!!!!!!!!!!

• Julian Lee on Sep 29, 2014 at 9:03 pm

means suitable for Indon people lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
          • Adrian on Oct 01, 2014 at 9:37 am

I do agree that the car is tasteless, and it is unbelievably ugly. Only minorities(less fortunate) drive these rubbish, both the Sirion and the MyVi. Please, do have respect. The word “indon” is derogatory term.

PS :- I doubt you know what derogatory means so here you go, you chink. :) http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/derogatory

• setsunaf on Sep 29, 2014 at 1:07 pm

Same orange lining but this so ugly

• ProtonGSC on Sep 29, 2014 at 11:36 am

Surprise, even Daihatsu approved copyright from P2.
      Malaysia design being acknowledge by Daihatsu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
    • trololo on Sep 30, 2014 at 3:42 am

a type of car that you want, lala beng

• well..they forget to change the myvi emblem…lol..http://paultan.org/2014/09/29/iims-2014-daihatsu-sirion-modded/iims-2014-sirion-grey-16/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
    • EnergyAnalyst on Sep 30, 2014 at 9:46 pm

Sharp eyes u got there. Thumbs up.

As for daihatsu. What a sloppy piece of work.

• DonkeyKong on Sep 29, 2014 at 11:06 am

LOL at the “Brembo caliper” that’s obviously one of those covers that accessories shops sell.

It was a tough act to achieve but they managed to make variants that are uglier than Perodua’s Buddyz crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Really on Sep 29, 2014 at 3:37 pm

Don’ t be surprised to find myvi owners copying these two ‘designs’. I have seen some bad and tasteless modded myvis on the road. Let’s hope the owners doesn’t take the ‘Street Racing’ moniker literally.

• KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 29, 2014 at 11:13 am

Better than iriz. But Axia > ALL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 71
  • overly ah beng, after see this i feel our beng-ified myvi is not bad at all

• After modify is urgly than original MYVI is Indonesian fault or Daihatsu marketing doesn’t have creative to modify the car? the car like modify by Ah Beng workshop…..

• Àlahai (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 11:24 am

YAWN…. bash in 1 2 3

• Dua Roda Sahaja on Sep 29, 2014 at 11:32 am

I dare them show us the engine bay… bet its the same toy Perodua engine – all exterior cosmetic show only. If this car goes into desert dakar rally, it will never come out from the desert.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • roxas on Sep 29, 2014 at 12:00 pm

yuck ! sick !

• Front bumper design similar to Mitsubishi PHEV concept

• fainted on Sep 29, 2014 at 1:08 pm

almost fainted!

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 1:12 pm

This time iriz concept is much much better. Kudos proton. Make the iriz concept into production. I’m sure we malaysian will buy it.

• nabill (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 1:27 pm

This is a horror show….

• kuriang on Sep 29, 2014 at 1:33 pm

hodoh

• mizzuddin on Sep 29, 2014 at 3:18 pm

this is truly ketuanan bumper

• Drachen on Sep 29, 2014 at 5:11 pm

simply ugly.. nothing but ugly..

• ben yap on Sep 29, 2014 at 6:40 pm

new inspiration for those ah beng Myvi’s that will still daihatsu logo.

• yushu on Sep 30, 2014 at 8:29 am

after seeing this.. I accidently vomit.. Pardon me..