Daihatsu Sirion launched at IIMS – it’s a Perodua Myvi!

PT Astra Daihatsu Motor has launched its latest model at the Indonesian International Motor Show (IIMS) 2011 with with plenty of song and dance (not Bollywood, but Party Rock Anthem!). Readers of this website would have already known that the Sirion is a rebadged 2011 Perodua Myvi, and that the car is built in Malaysia and exported to Indonesia – we caught a trailer of Daihatsu badged Myvis heading to a port in June.

Now that we’ve seen and touched it in the metal, we can confirm that the Sirion is identical to the Myvi save for Daihatsu badges on the front, rear and steering wheel, which is a basic looking three-spoke unit (I prefer Perodua’s wheel). There’s also a “VVT-i” badge at the rear, which is DVVT for us, although the new Myvi doesn’t have badges for that.

Of the three variants we have in Malaysia (Standard, Premium, Elegance), PT Astra chose the mid-spec Premium, which has standard features such as Optitron MID, Bluetooth, USB and MP3 functions, power retractable wing mirrors and 14in alloys, among other kit.

According to Perodua MD Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh, who looked relax blending in with the crowd instead of being on stage, PT Astra is looking at importing the top spec Elegance model at a later stage. For now, it’s the Premium with a 4-speed automatic or a 5-speed manual. It was revealed that PT Astra is targeting sales of 500 units per month – not much, but still much more than the 100 units or so per month rate of the previous Sirion, which was also from Perodua. The majority seller will be the manual variant.

Priced at 139,500,000 to 150,500,000 rupiah (RM48,715 to RM52,556), the Sirion is costlier than basic versions of the Xenia, which is Daihatsu’s version of the 7-seat Toyota Avanza. This ties in with the relatively small 500 units per month and the more “premium positioning” of the Sirion in Indonesia.

The Sirion is also being launched in various locations throughout Indonesia today. Live gallery from IIMS after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2456]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Alan Wong on Jul 23, 2011 at 5:03 pm

low budget model standing next to the car??

• sagatron on Jul 23, 2011 at 6:00 pm

japanese is always smiling..it cost milions ringgit for perodua to build this car..the japanese simply take this car and put their logo on it..eventhough perodua owns by daihatsu and perodua also put a milions RM effort on it and yet the japanese is smiling……huahuahuahua…

• perodua built this car?hehhhhhhhhhhhh

• mfahd_88 on Jul 23, 2011 at 10:13 pm

of coz ma!
          they built this car!…..’s bumber,headlamp,rims,dashboard
          lol

• and most importantly, to export, P2 has to use daihatsu logo. defying the existence of P2 in every corners, proving that P2 is just one of daihatsu assembling arms in ASEAN other than indon. yet get national status but the profits fly to japan.

• Paul Tan on Jul 23, 2011 at 7:50 pm

Not completely accurate … It has perodua badge in the uk

• uk satu bulan ada jual 500 unit???

• not really, because sirion already in the UK market before myvi.

• lagi best dong!

• sutheshkumar on Jul 23, 2011 at 5:13 pm

Premium my ass! At least we got airbags and abs all. Thiers is so kosong.

• shawal on Jul 28, 2011 at 5:50 pm

their population number is very high, they dont need airbags…. (cruel joke)

• why the fuel consumption so high??

13.97km/liter = 7.16liter/100km
    persona can get average of 6.5liter/100km

• littlefire on Jul 24, 2011 at 7:16 am

Bro, how u drive & normally u drive highway or city?

If highway driving, persona will be more fuel efficient as longer gear ratio + 1.6cc, while city drive myvi score better as it is lighter & better pick-up.

• Another lies from Protong Gayboys. A pure blind supporter all the way from the fringe jungle of Tanjung Malim.

I owned a Persona IAFM and a Gen2 CPS, I would assure you that both cars will easily hit 8.0L/100km (sometimes 9.0L/100km) fuel consumption. Anything below that means you’re driving way below 60 km/hr.

Althought Perodua is not the best brand out there, at least its DVVT engine fuel consumption is way better than Protong’s CamTakPro engine.

Get your facts right boy, this is an automotive blog.

• Basikal aje on Jul 30, 2011 at 7:36 pm

kalau kecekapan minyak dipertikaikan aku rasa lihat cara pemanduan dulu baru cakap pasal save minyak….lagi kuat tekan pedal lagi banyak minyak telan…apa apa pun kalau memandu takat 90km secara mendatar dah tentu save minyak lah bro.

• Subzero on Jul 23, 2011 at 5:32 pm

I test drive one before, the ride is excellent!

• the steering is nice but dun have airbag

• isuzuki on Jul 23, 2011 at 6:01 pm

So who’s copying who? :) Daihatsu copied Perodua or the other way around?

• theanswer on Jul 23, 2011 at 7:44 pm

this is what we call tech sharing. save lots of money for r&d.

• umpgambang on Jul 23, 2011 at 10:05 pm

Change logo put Toyota Passo… the origin….. is not Perodua also.

• Wonder if the folks at indonesia will change the badge to perodua? :D
    In malaysia, myvi owners transform them to d/t badge. Afterall, the “original” is from malaysia’s P2.

• N-Way on Jul 23, 2011 at 6:11 pm

The steering wheel seems pretty tiny, not even frontairbags in a brand new car launched in 2011 is totally unacceptable.

Otherwise kind of a cute and functional car.

• Unforgiven on Jul 23, 2011 at 6:22 pm

Somehow this car got the original badge.
    It is so much nicer to look at as compare to the Perodua badge.

• albag on Jul 23, 2011 at 6:53 pm

i like the name… Perodua Sirion… sounds cool though…

• GARBAGE !!, drove one of these new MyVi, I would say a secondhand Vios is much more worth, Thankfully its my bro, Fuel Consumption AVG 13.0km/l at free way and drop to 10.9km/l at city , handling is very terrible , body roll is evident . refinement its not for its category either. The only thing is its roomy interior and that’s all. DVVT , nonsense its an old engine named Daihatsu variable valve timing and without an electronic lift control like vvt-i.. the 4 speed forces the engine to run at almost 2800rpm at 110kph. I’m not into Japanese car anymore sorry. Its time for Ford and Hyundai, which far more economical, more affordable more features and of cause its a CBU unit. Its better to get a Toyota Vios J auto or a Ford Fiesta Sedan. It may cost approx 25K + but at least its much more user friendly

• desmond on Jul 23, 2011 at 10:48 pm

the thing is that you dont get dual airbags in vios J. you need to go a lil’ bit higher to get 1.5E. And DVVT (It’s Dynamic Variable Valve timing) = VVT-i. electronic lift control i thought is Honda VTEC technology? The myvi you had test driven might not even run-in well. So 10.9 km/l can be expected. Secondhand vios u might have to think of its maintenance, loss of warranty and loss of new car feel. What more do you expect in a new 50k car?

• The 2011 Myvi doesn’t use the technology of vvt-i and its only a variable valve timing without any subsequent valve timing phasing with accurate control, you should check the component availability as compare to Toyota’s engine . Its 4 speeder does not even comes with shift control. The 10.9km/l is after a 1000km first serviced. Its even worst than a CR-V. I even found a well maintained 2008 Toyota Vios at mileage of less than 15000km that cost less than 60K. If I were you I wouldn’t even trust the maintenance service provided by Perodua and don’t even comment about their warranty. Perhaps MyVi without refinement, a boot space and lower build quality suits you more

• Celicazz on Jul 24, 2011 at 5:53 pm

Headlamp, hood, fender, taillamp, side member change oso complain ‘p2 juz change bumper n badge’.

Even say, vvt-i got valve-lift control.

Dey, schoolkid, vvt-i = variable valve timing – intelligent laaa. vvtl baru ada lift. Get ur facts rite la. Vios dont have.

Dont give stupid comment.

• Celicazz on Jul 25, 2011 at 12:14 am

vvt-i got valve lift control?

r u serious? or just too lazy?

dude, the thing that got valve lift in toyota is vvtl.

vvt-i is for variable valve timing – intelligent.

vios dont have that, vios also just got 4 E-AT auto…

• I wonder if the low tech oil leak defect will be exported as well!

• _xXx_ on Jul 23, 2011 at 8:40 pm

alamak, instrument claster mcm pickup punye…

• scoobylution on Jul 23, 2011 at 8:49 pm

They recycle the old avanza steering and slap it with Daihatsu badge! BTW the previous gen Sirion still can not compete with Jazz in term of sales eventhough its cheaper.

• laaaa, i thought perodua is malaysia 2nd national car…omg daihatsu copy kite punye design…perodua better take legal action for breaching their intelectual property..

• Kenny on Jul 23, 2011 at 9:06 pm

Not a car for comfort, looks ok but rides a little on the harsh side… Seats too high makes me feel like sitting in van… Thigh area lack support, too short, suspension sucks big time hard when slow but rolls like hell on medium speed corner… Dont even try high speed cornering…hate the dash tho,.. Tasteless headunit with inferior system… But headroom is roomy… Cant say its worth the dough…

• Jimmy on Jul 23, 2011 at 9:43 pm

Ha ha ha. Typical businessman.
    Cheating to gain hugh profit.

• sucre on Jul 23, 2011 at 9:46 pm

toyota + daihatsu + P2 = garbage

• Insp Sahab on Jul 25, 2011 at 4:15 am

Toyota + Daihatsu + Perodua = No 1 Car Brand in the world !!!
      No 1 Good Quality in the world

We LOVE PERODUA…..Very Good Car with luxury component …. cannot get from others PERODUA competitor…. trust me

• cerita sekarang siapa yang untung jepun jugak malaysia untuk sikit sahaja.ini macam ah itu daihatsu ah jadi kaya lo

• generation on Jul 23, 2011 at 10:07 pm

Daihatsu Xenia is cheaper than this cuz it’s made in Indonesia… Quite sad for the Indonesia to get imported model but nothing’s cooler at a higher price….If only the Daihatsu Indonesia can produce Toyota Passo in Indonesia, Sirion can be priced much cheaper.

• Expatriate VN on Jul 23, 2011 at 10:22 pm

At least MyVi quality is on par with Daihatsu/Toyota brand, that is why the Jap have the confident to rebadge it to Sirion. Unlike Proton, only Gen-2 is rebadge as Europstar in China which is equally crappy. Fair to say, only Proton will rebadge Inspira, don’t expect say Persona rebadge it to Lancer, dream on …………………..

• scoobylution on Jul 23, 2011 at 10:39 pm

How can the quality will not be on par when they just change the bumper, head lamp, dashboard and other minor things. Its a different story if they design and produce the complete car overall on their own then we will see the quality level.

• Expatriate VN on Jul 24, 2011 at 1:15 pm

Dream on dude! …… to design and produce the complete car overall on their own with world class quality. For the past 20 ++ years, P1 & P2 or more specifically, Bolehland do not have the expertise, technology or R & D culture to produce high quality car the like of VW, BMW, Nissan, Renaults, T, H, Hyundai or to a lesser extent Kia. Remembered Tengku Mahaleel crap on “BMW of Asia” when launched Waja!

For another 20++ years, fairly to say we still can dream on until the cow come home for P1 or P2 to produce quality car on their own (not rebadge or just assembler role). Look at BMW, their 2010 R & D allocation is Euro 2,773 million (RM 11,856 Billion) which employed 9,000 experts over 5 countries. For Proton, the R & D allocation (give by gov) is just a peanut RM 143.688 Million (1.21 % of BMW), how many they employed? Proton 2010 revenue is RM 8,226,859 Million, even less than BMW’s R & D cost.

Shame on you Jaguh Kampong! Be a world class player, don’t camouflage behind “national car” status and depend on NAP for survival.

• kingjoke on Jul 25, 2011 at 3:54 pm

yeah ur r rite, but looking at negative side wil not help either…

• Bob Vettel on Jul 27, 2011 at 9:39 pm

You know what typifies Jaguh Kampung mentality? Your rambling.

• raybrig on Jul 23, 2011 at 10:34 pm

Malaysia: “Lagi Best”

Indonesia: “Lagi Enak Dong”

• ko malu saje... on Jul 23, 2011 at 10:46 pm

waaaaaaaaaa…….. snores….

• jengong on Jul 24, 2011 at 12:02 am

the indons will ‘ganyang’ this model.. same fate with proton.

• How come Indonesia there get better looking 15″ rims???

• Who care about originality …
    to me as one of Perodua .. Proton .. Naza & all Malaysia Car Assembler vendor .
    we glad withour product & try give the best quality we can .

• TheInsider on Jul 24, 2011 at 4:26 pm

myvi rebadge passo
    sirion rebadge myvi
    and next is; myvi will rebadge sirion and call it ‘paling best’!

• Insp Sahab on Jul 25, 2011 at 4:16 am

PERODUA IS NO 1

• zainal abidin on Jul 27, 2011 at 9:06 am

If only the Indonesians know this is a MADE IN MALAYSIA car…..

• apalaa geng kutuk kereta malaysia sendiri…Proton ke, perodua ke semua geng kita buat….yelah Proton ada R&D lagi besar…still Perodua though under Daihatsu still contributes to the economy…but takpelah…bagi kutukan membina…tapi fuel consumption Polo lagi save….kalaulah Polo sama harga…