Daihatsu Sirion in Indonesia is a rebadged 2011 Myvi

Our Formula One man and video host Harvinder Singh spotted this truck load of Daihatsu-badged Perodua Myvi on the NKVE today, probably being transported to a port somewhere for shipment to Indonesia.

It looks like Perodua is already gearing up for the export of the locally produced second generation Perodua Myvi to Indonesia, where it is sold as the Daihatsu Sirion. Daihatsu Indonesia has decided to use our Perodua developed styling for the Sirion in Indonesia, instead of using the Boon design that is sold in Japan.

This has been the case since the last generation, where our first generation Myvi was also sold in Indonesia with a Daihatsu badge.

Other than the Daihatsu and Sirion badging you can see on the rear of these trailered cars, there’s also a VVT-i badge on the left of the hatch.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• droll on Jun 29, 2011 at 7:01 pm

additional market for Perodua.

• where is proton?????????

where is the savvy???? persona????? GEN 2????

• proton was way ahead of perodua in indonesia n other asean markets
        if perodua is so damn proud of their product, why naming it daihatsu not perodua?

• Sunny Jaafar on Jun 29, 2011 at 11:55 pm

different between proton and perodua

proton – full malaysian company
          perodua – Japanese Daihatsu (35%) & Mitsui & Co. Ltd (7%)

Perodua strongly link with daihatsu and toyota as ‘sister company’.

Protong – rebadge king

• if u still think proton as rebadge king..sorry but u r a low class minded person.

did perodua ever made their own car?NO just rebadge rebadge and then……..
            charge a whopping price for it. quality isnt that good either. my myvi and many other owners as well complained about the power windows not functioning. tapi takde pon org nak komplen2 sampai masuk surat khabar

but still……low class minded malaysian..susah nak ubah pemikiran

• Howbut Korean & Japanist?, their’re also not perfect but they proud of their products. As M’sian bila nak maju kutuk2 product sendiri at least contribute ideas, way to improve!

• Rakyat Biasa on Jun 30, 2011 at 11:38 am

haiya sunny boy.. u x sekolah ka?

• You heard Perodua said there are proud exporting their cars to Indo? Where did you hear that?

• hoooooyeah on Jun 29, 2011 at 9:56 pm

Dont be afraid, now there are more Geely, Chery or BYD than Proton.

• vvt-i badge?
        kesian indon kene scam..hihihihi

• rookie on Jun 30, 2011 at 8:21 am

but the engine does have vvt-i..
          just that they named it as dvvt for perodua (its originally daihatsu that uses the “dvvt” term)..

pls dun be that ignorant even if u hate perodua..
          thats why any perodua engines will have better fuel consumptions than any campro engines to date..

p/s: i just dont understand why the hate between p1 n p2..everything must compare between these two..no wonder malaysians will never progress..if anything u want to compare, pls compare to others that are more successful than u la..
          both still not up to par imho which makes it funny to see that (for example) anything p1 does will be retaliated with what p2 is lacking even more..
          so most of u guys (p1 fanboys & p2 bashers) sure love to compare with someone with lower level than u huh?
          everyone in paultan knows this blind hatred from p1 fanboys over p2..
          if u dun like p2, then just dont even bother right?
          unless, its u who’s being in denial cuz u cant afford a p2 that is..hahaha~

• lol..i have a myvi bro..and guess what,it sucks:(

go over 110kmh and it will be terhuyung hayang…very not stable.
            all power windows not functioning except for the driver side.
            and for what i can observe..p2 supporters are more hateful to p1 products.
            when inspira came out…bashing bashing bashing..tah pape la..

padahal p2 rebadge all their cars and still doesnt have good quality..takde pon org nak bising..bengang la jgk

• Conti Owner on Nov 03, 2011 at 8:52 pm

You get what you pay bro, mau laju2 sedap, beli BMW.
            Your comment consider not valid if you want to compare the quality with what you pay and people expectation towards our local car…loser

• DarkAvenger on Jun 30, 2011 at 3:05 pm

VVTI big freaking deal….Toyota bought this tech from Yamaha. Toyota don’t have nothing to compete with Mitsu MIVEC and Honda VTEC at that point. At least Proton developed CPS…ok maybe copy some old LOTUS engine a bit…

• Just me on Jun 30, 2011 at 4:09 pm

Malaysia mentality … Look at malaysia politic BN vs Oppsition, how they compete with each other. It is not that they compete by implementing policies that benefit the poeple, but fight each other by evil will. Same thing happen here with P1 & P2 supporter. Wake up & grow up fellow malaysia.

• agreed….

P1 & P2… both not yet achieved same par as even the BM or Audi? or wutever brand oversea….pastu sap sesame sendiri…helo proton fan boys and p2 bashers…. ckup2 la… better duk diam2 kat rumah mod your proton kaw2 withanything u like…. no one will disturb u.

• Is it P1 already announce that there will be no more savvy since the poor quality / performance???

• autojohndoe on Jun 30, 2011 at 9:45 am

savvy.. persona and gen 2 is in thailand…

• engdau on Jun 29, 2011 at 7:02 pm

Dun buy this Daihatsu. It’s imitation products from Boleh Land. Wondering why it is not shipped for Singapore’s market.

• Icecold on Jun 29, 2011 at 7:18 pm

Don’t be so negative ler… At least it can help boost our economoney what…

• Accentian on Jun 29, 2011 at 8:56 pm

hey schoolboy…please go and finish ur homework!.=P..org Indon mo pakai itu myvi lu bikin cerita katun..adoih..tiny brain!…

• jamal on Jun 30, 2011 at 6:56 am

because Malaysian (99% malay) import and watch sinetron from indonesia. so the priviledge goes to us. hahaha. if watch sinetron now can see rebadge myvi wooo. lagi best my asss

• engdau on Jun 30, 2011 at 10:55 am

If the car has no issue, then why it was not shipped to Indonesia market as Perodua Myvi. It is pitiful and eyesore for bearing “Daihatsu” instead once you are in Indonesia.

Same goes to Proton Gen2, which was exported to China as Youngman and not Proton. If you loves P1 & P2, we should use back our own brand and model.

• Muhammad Adib on Jun 29, 2011 at 7:05 pm

Please also see the pricing there. Then you will know what fools we Malaysian are for paying a bomb for a Malaysian made car.

By the way, Toyota is so famous in Jakarta. The price of an Altis is like RM50,000. Here we pay double and yet, we vote for the current government. That is heights of stupidity.

• autobot on Jun 29, 2011 at 8:44 pm

too cheap there.. wonder y Indonesians still wanna come to this ultra high car price country..

• Peterpj on Jun 29, 2011 at 9:20 pm

Can you check the facts before you post.

The cheapest Corolla Altis in Indonesia, which is the 1.8E MT is IDR334,500,000 or equivalent to RM117,861.03.

The same Corolla 1.8 in Malaysia is priced at RM112,990.00 (which is about RM5k cheaper in Malaysia)

Sources:
      http://www.toyota.astra.co.id/product/#
      http://www.toyota.com.my/altis/specs-and-price/price-list.dot

• But in Philippines most of their car are more cheaper than Indonesia and Thailand.

The high-spec Corolla just only RM80300.
        The low-spec Vios J just only RM41859.

Visit http://www.toyota.com.ph/pricelist.asp for more information.

What I can see right now India and Philippines are able to sustain their car price into reasonable price. Don’t assumed Thailand is the cheapest car price in SEA but please compared with Philippines also.

• from what i understand…taxes for cars in thailand are very high as well if its CBU..
          that’s why many car company set up their factory there..because thailand got high and many potential buyers..and cheap labours as well..malaysia?CKD pon mahal jgk

• CamPor on Jun 30, 2011 at 7:34 pm

that is because people in thailand can change the government anytime if they want…so government there are affraid of their poeple…but people in malaysia are so afraid if we talk about changing the government…so life must go on…

• autobot on Jul 01, 2011 at 6:40 pm

not afraid.. only opposition not good enuff ..may be they good 4 u, but not for others.. just wait 13th election.

• rickyll on Jun 30, 2011 at 7:49 am

I couldn’t agree more with Peterpj. The Indons are not getting their cars any cheaper than Malaysian. A check out at the Indonesian Daihatsu website, which still posted the old variant of Myvi(Sirion), there are four variants of Sirion with a price tags ranging from 157.9 million Rp. to 171.3 million Rp which literally convert to roughly RM56K to RM60K. The same thing should apply to other marques. So, we Malaysian are sharing the same fate with our Indonesian counterparts.

• not just indonesia but all other SEA country including thai (their cheap car mostly jap brand that built in thai) except brunei

• Kalo government lead by PKR, confirm ke harga kereta akan turun? I don’t think so….

• hoooooyeah on Jun 29, 2011 at 9:57 pm

kroni Anwar pun mau kaya-raya

• Jimmy on Jun 29, 2011 at 10:45 pm

I am a Chinese. I support DAP. But I also do not think harga kereta akan turun di bawah pemerintahan PKR.
        Humanlah, everybody want money(tax from car).

• lkf0512 on Jun 30, 2011 at 9:46 am

It is true everybody wants money but look at what is left for the rakyat under current G!?

Low income group…high car price…high(er) goods’ prices…bad public transportation…and later coming high(er) fuel price!

Recent visit to Thailand makes me think how come Thai people can get same or even lower goods’ prices with higher fuel prices than ours!?!?!?
          Do Thai people get more subsidy than us?

Rakyat should wake up by now…if current G is not doing any good then we the rakyat should take matters in hand…

• MoFaz on Jul 01, 2011 at 10:05 am

what’s cheaper in Thai?
            they steal our petrol and diesal.. cheaper here because of subsidy.
            they smuggle our sugar.. cheaper here because of subsidy.
            gov can use that billions of ringgit improving our road and public transport if they don’t have to subsidies everything here. and that’s what they should do. improve transportation system is long term solution, and subsidising fuel is just short term, infact they spent to much on subsidies already.

• I dont think so either.. They promise many things.. They need a lot of money.. The car taxes bring high income to gov..

• agree with you, if opposition really wanted to win the elections – they would announce abolishing car taxes

beware you opposition supporters, PR is just a change of clothes…..

• rookie on Jun 30, 2011 at 8:25 am

so true..
        all the same..
        its the rakyat jugak who will kena at the end :P

• BN=barang naik on Jun 30, 2011 at 8:57 am

it wont come down coz the market are sooooo used to it that any change will be detrimental to the economy..and who makes all these??..u know it already right??

• used car dealer menangis lah in case new car price going down… sapa mau beli 2nd hand car lagi if new car jadi murah? huhu…

• If this happens, the 2nd hand car price will also go down. And no one can trade in their car because the loan settlement will be far higher than the value of the car.. At that time only the first car buyer and the car owner that already settled the loan can buy the new car.

Many of existing 2nd hand car dealer will bungkus if the car price suddenly drop because the 2nd hand car value depreciated so fast..

• autobot on Jun 30, 2011 at 3:40 pm

if that so we have 2 use our car untill die..

• nationalist on Jun 29, 2011 at 10:05 pm

According to this website:
      http://www.e-hargamobil.com/2011/02/harga-mobil-baru-daihatsu-sirion.html
      the myvi is sold in indonesian for around rm 50-60k.

• kepala hotak kau altis kat indon rm50k, do research 1st la weh

p/s – Muhammad Adib got pawned by Peterpj

• The One You Only Trust Always on Jun 29, 2011 at 7:16 pm

Why we cant get VVT-i engine here?

• rasta on Jun 29, 2011 at 9:13 pm

same engine la brother

• lonelyobserve on Jun 29, 2011 at 9:29 pm

The reason is that current engine used in MyVi is Daihatsu own developed engine, K3-VE, thus the variable valve timing is called DVVT. Unless Perodua uses the same 1.3L engine as Daihatsu Boon and Toyota Passo, which is 1NR-FE, then we have VVT-i

DVVT and VVT-i is the same valve timing mechanism used in engine. Just the naming differs from car makers.

• BeemerFreak on Jun 29, 2011 at 9:45 pm

Because the DVVT we get here is the same as the VVT-i…… 2SZ-FE engines we get in the Perodua Myvi is vvt-i equiped

• black king on Jun 29, 2011 at 7:24 pm

In indonesia, Honda Jazz bersepah mcm myvi kat Malaysia..n Avanza bersepah mcm kancil kat sini.. they are soo lucky, coz they managed to get these high quality cars at the actual market price. we?the price of jazz alone is more than 100k =,=

• atan senget on Jun 29, 2011 at 8:21 pm

If the quality of P2 on par with original model, it could be no issue…the fact is, the quality is macam langit dan bumi…if you have driving original Passo/Boon, you’ll now what i mean….

• sukasuki on Jun 29, 2011 at 8:39 pm

yess, they are so lucky. they only can make car loan maximum 36 months. damn lucky!!

• Yes, in indonesia high interest rate 12% per annum, short tenure less than 4 years, downpayment 40%…you call that lucky? It is only good for those who have a lot of cash…you do the maths

• rebadge on Jun 29, 2011 at 9:43 pm

sana vios buat teksi je…

• Barkcrack on Jun 29, 2011 at 9:50 pm

sold it under Rp 140 juta and then maybe Sirion could beat Jazz

• ORLY? on Jun 29, 2011 at 9:59 pm

yeah Indonesia are lucky and million of them work oversea…

LOL

• If you were originally from there, you could not even buy motor kapchai.. Maybe you would come here to cari makan.. At that time you would say, ohh Malaysian people are very lucky.. A lot of jobs and all people can afford to own a car..

• seancorr on Jun 29, 2011 at 7:31 pm

One day we will see Perodua cars with Toyota badge for export. The Japanese can’t be bothered to design their cars anymore lol

• freeze on Jun 29, 2011 at 9:08 pm

Seen it!

My friend had a MyVi with Passo badge. The car was stolen awhile back. Probably exported to Indo the very same day.

• cynical on Jun 29, 2011 at 7:34 pm

Good job Perodua!

• insperut on Jun 29, 2011 at 8:03 pm

sure Sirion got better value than our ‘Lagi Best’… sighh

• confused on Jun 30, 2011 at 8:36 am

‘Semakin di Depan’

oh wait.. that’s yamaha.. ekekeke…

• mfahd_88 on Jun 29, 2011 at 8:04 pm

and i bet that they gonna ‘rebadge’ perodua tagline 2
    from ‘Lagi Bes!t’ to ‘Lagi Best Dong!”
    LOL

• 4561336 on Jun 29, 2011 at 8:25 pm

indonesian very anti product from malaysia ….

if they know the car design from perodua Malaysia they will anti

• patron on Jun 29, 2011 at 8:54 pm

here, we pay more for the same car model. while they pay less for diff quality standard. EXPORT QUALITY maa…. p1 & p2 alike -_-! sigh…

• alfred weinberg on Jun 29, 2011 at 8:54 pm

perodua rebadge daihatsu …then daihatsu rebadge back perodua ?? wat for ??

• freeze on Jun 29, 2011 at 9:02 pm

Daihatsu Sirion in Indo gets 5 speed auto, traction control, climate control, side airbags, 6 speaker + disc changer sound system with steering wheel audio controls, keyless entry, push start engine button, and paddle shifters.

Same price as Malaysia after conversion but you don’t get any of the stuff mentioned above in the MyVi.

• check your fact before you do the talking !!
      toyota has never put a 5 speed auto into b segment car,
      and daihatsu sirion in indonesia don’t even have an airbags, needless to say 6 !!! all the fact you claim are totally untrue !!
      you are such a liar

• sutheshkumar on Jun 29, 2011 at 11:07 pm

you sure on that? Look closely at the picture and you can see the car is not fitted with airbags, as noted with the small square sticker at the back window. This can be seen with our Peroduas too, to noted whether the car is fitted with airbags, immobliser and abs.

• Accentian on Jun 29, 2011 at 9:05 pm

Toyota = we did the Passo.
    Daihatsu = we did some changes and call it Boon.
    Perodua = we did some changes too and name it MyVi.
    Subaru = Hey Toyota, i want that too..and we call it Justy.

Indonesian – we think Malaysian rebadge Passo, Boon, Justy is the nicest and suitable for our rakyat…we will name it Sirion which is one from Daihatsu’s model that is not related to those Passo, Boon, Myvi n Justy model. =D

• Julian Lee on Jun 29, 2011 at 9:29 pm

Rebadge BMW better

• wtf?
    old dvvt for msia
    n vvti for export?
    wow perodua, why am i not shocked

• DVVT and VVTI is actually the same la bro.. DVVT trademark is used by Perodua and VVTI trademark is used by Daihatsu and Toyota. Have you ever heard Perodua Myvi and Toyota Avanza are sharing the same engine? Do you?

• rookie on Jun 30, 2011 at 8:58 am

err..
        actually DVVT is used by daihatsu as it is daihatsu variable valve timing..

• Where did you here that? DVVT stands for Dynamic Variable Valve Timing. If Daihatsu use DVVT name, why Perodua bother to change the DVVT logo to VVTI?

• x-vios on Jun 30, 2011 at 1:55 pm

proton pun ada…hehe… it’s called Campro…

anybody can call it whatever they want…

• Despite showing his ignorant here, this person still get thumbs up. Proton troopers, want to vote for thumbs up also be rational la.

• nate, you are embarassing yourself..stop it…

• Mask Ryder on Jun 29, 2011 at 9:49 pm

Salute Perodua !!
    Look like even parent company is confident of Perodua quality to put on Daihatsu badge on their car.

Unlike Naza Forte where owner have to replace their Naza badge with KIA, Naza oh Naza your customer r shame with yr worthless badge. Putui…

• MrDDR on Jun 29, 2011 at 11:15 pm

Unline Perodua Myvi where owner have to replace their Myvi name with Passo. Myvi oh Myvi your customer r shame with yr worthless name. Putui…

• Of coz you cannot find stupid people who change the expensive brand logo to cheap brand logo. you cannot find Mitsubishi Lancer owner change it to Proton Inspira. That is really stupid..

Come on, this is the reality dude.

• gtmaniac on Jun 30, 2011 at 4:19 pm

Not really.

Found an Evo 7 owner rebadge his car to Proton Waja – complete with the infamous beak on the grille!

• hoooooyeah on Jun 30, 2011 at 9:16 pm

I could rebadged my Bimmer to Proton and people will post my car picture in their blog / facebook / forum / newspaper like a celebrity yor

• itu photoshop la brader

• Out of Luck on Jun 29, 2011 at 11:34 pm

What’s wrong with that? Forte owners pay less RM10-20k because of Naza badge. Just need to fork out xtra RM100 to change the badge back to KIA. It’s a great deal!! On the other hand, we have to pay additional RM10-20k to Perodua for swapping the prestigious Daihatsu badge with the shameful Perodua badge. Shame on the way Malaysia car makers treating the Malaysians.

• autojohndoe on Jun 30, 2011 at 9:23 am

it is not that toyota/daihatsu confident with them… they confident at their brand… the japanese brand… coz daihatsu brand will sell…

previous myvi also exported to indo as sirion…

they are confident with perodua, they’ll let perodua export as perodua… not as daihatsu…

• Nabil on Jun 29, 2011 at 9:50 pm

Apa la semua bising2 psl harge kete kt msia n indon. Hehe

• Jimmy on Jun 29, 2011 at 10:40 pm

Cheating money, typical businessmen.

• Mozilla Chrome on Jun 29, 2011 at 11:13 pm

After this there will be some new myvi owners who will change Perodua badge to Daihatsu..

• Well like they say birds of a feather flock together …….

Perodua only good enough for Indon market coz they are both at the same level ….. backward country

• lkf0512 on Jun 30, 2011 at 9:56 am

Only people moving backward called Indo a backward country…

• The Indonesians will laugh at you la, bro. Most of the motorists there pay their ride 4-5 time more expensive than your monthly installment.

Their economy is good. Even if you go to SG many of them really made Singaporeans hurt with their spending power.

Indonesians study here also pay cash for their ride.

• indonesia? LOL :D

what do you mean by THEY? only A FEW indonesians are wealthy than most malaysians.

car is just a car, if you are pro and creative. you can do ANYTHING from zero to hero.
        if you are just a buyer, then you have plenty of options.

I bought hardwares from different brands and designed my own computer.
        I made my own bedroom with full of creativity.
        I can do anything as my adrenaline so damn fast like i want to have anything.
        CREATIVITY is the only way.

• national car lah, achievement lah…the truth is just a bloody rebadge..we live in the the world of BS in m’sia..

• PeYn0 Fanz on Jun 30, 2011 at 7:43 am

This car will FAILED in Indonesia…

The most important thing for Indonesian is spacious…repeat again spacious!!

Without a big boot space, how come they want to buy??? Just wait n see..

Myvee only can survive in malaysia..but lately p1 takeover myvee sales..

• Not all indonesian need big boot space.. There is a piece of cake of every types of car.. Indonesia is a big market.. Even savvy can be sold in Indonesia.. Don’t worry dude, the professional business minded person already made analysis before they decide to explore the market there..

• Mask Ryder on Jun 30, 2011 at 8:26 am

No wonder u call yr self Out of Luck, but i think Out of Mind sounds better.
    In US Forte start from $13.3k (RM 40K), here Forte with that putui.. Cheap badge start at RM 75K so we are paying RM 25K to have that putui.. cheap badge, worse still to replace it with KIA badge cost another 100.

• So you think which car in Malaysia can give you value for money?

• Out of Luck on Jun 30, 2011 at 9:00 pm

Wow! You really lack of understanding of local market don’t you? But you are right:

1) I call myself out of luck bcos I’m unlucky that our Govt decided to charge a large sum of tax on foreign cars and protect the local car industries so much so that the local car producers taking advantage of us Malaysians. I don’t live in US. So who’s fault is it that Forte in Malaysia is so expensive? It’s the taxes imposed by our Govt!! Not Naza’s fault. In fact, Naza helped to bring the car prices down by RM10-20k by making it CKD and rebadged it. Otherwise, Forte would easily costs >RM100k.

2) I will start calling myself out of mind if I start supporting the local car industries for ripping me off by changing to inferior badge, giving less safety features and yet charge extra $$$ for it. At least Daihatsu Sirion in Indon has full features even though price similar to Malaysia.

• TFazuin on Jul 01, 2011 at 1:02 pm

Vote me in as PM and I will lift the tax for the cars, but because you want to feel how the people in the US live, you need to pay between 36-35% income tax, contribute to medicare and still not get any of the service and get it removed once you are diagnosed with a critical illness or become and invalid.

You will also get your pension funds and major banks wiped out in the name of big business. Its all in the name of equality. Now that Citibank Umbrella logo also sudah kena jual already for USD100 million. Go ahead… ada berani? I will make all your American dream come true. And because we believe we are American wannabe we will start racial profiling and lock up people in our version of Guantanamo without trial. Malaysia’s ISA is nothing since they don’t employ snipers or commando raids to kidnap people and fly them half way round the world to be thrown into the jail without a key. Its a free country. but only for people who has the money to pay.

So vote me for PM I promise you I will get you there!

• before we go lucky this, lucky that consider the big picture please.

sure car price might be cheaper but petrol no subsidy. and all these other countries have no national car makers anyway. and judging that they can get hondas for cheap, they might never be any ever.

but thats just me la. i like the pride of driving something my countrymen designed and built. engines, chassis and all. sure its not as good, but without our support they can never have a shot at being better

• Expatriate VN on Jun 30, 2011 at 10:06 am

Rebadge here and there, that is wht P1 and P2 good at ……..

• Still waiting someone post the picture of Proton S16 in the truck load.

• Mask Ryder on Jun 30, 2011 at 11:33 am

This “freeze” is Total bullcrab.
    Daihatsu Sirion in indonesia cleary stated “Otomatis 4 kecepatan maju”

• erm.. isn’t perodua a rebadge of daihatsu? so now we start to see things differently huh..

• An651 on Jun 30, 2011 at 1:22 pm

Daihatsu rebadge perodua? My left brain say hmm…. right brain says Yeay!
      Mr Daihatsu & Encik Perodua now level. hahahaha!

• Rakyat Biasa on Jun 30, 2011 at 11:44 am

i just wanna say that.. i’m proud of P1 n P2.. they r still Malaysian.. nak kata rebadge? alaaa company lain pun rebadge.. nak kata quality? alaaaa yg lain pun ada gak problem.. bagi aku yg best adalah.. engine mivec 2.0 dgn segala tech yg ada, harga 90k something kira ok la.. TERBAEK LA !!!

• Goa On Wheels on Jun 30, 2011 at 12:07 pm

Wish they launched the Perodua Myvi instead of Etios in India

• pirate on Jun 30, 2011 at 12:16 pm

Inspira-tion for local Myvi Mk2 owners: Daihatsu oval logo, Sirion and VVT-i badges!!! Lol

• _xXx_ on Jun 30, 2011 at 12:41 pm

why need to buy there? It’s everywhere here. Just load one onto a bigger sampan, go and voila got free Sirion on the opposite shore

• x-vios on Jun 30, 2011 at 1:52 pm

this hentam, that hentam. if Daihatsu makes their cars in Indon, we kena hentam, say foreign companies don’t want to invest in Malaysia. Now exporting cars also kena hentam.

On the reverse, Merc assemble the cars in Malaysia instead of Thailand, touted to be the Detroit of South East Asia, I wonder whether the Thai got hentam their country or not…

• gen2 owner on Jun 30, 2011 at 2:46 pm

We are still waiting for the lifetime warranty
    powerwindows promised by DSZ.
    While others are progressing Proton still
    adressing its 25 year issue.
    Talk about going global !

• donanoni on Jun 30, 2011 at 5:02 pm

poor indon always get malaysian shit

• Mask Ryder on Jun 30, 2011 at 5:05 pm

Autojohndoe,
    FYI Perodua also asemble Daihatsu Copen, yes that cute looking roadster, do u think Daihatsu will allow inferior quality car with their Badge on it ?

For Hyundai & KIA u can put cap unta also they don’t mind as long as it sold in yr own country.

• nolan on Jun 30, 2011 at 9:55 pm

after this those Indon will claim we ciplak their car…..hahahahaa

• Annoynimal on Jun 30, 2011 at 10:11 pm

It would be nice to know which part of the car is actually designed and engineered by perodua engineers and which are done by toyota or daihatsu engineers.

• xavier lert on Jul 01, 2011 at 8:15 am

came here just to read the comment… :)

• Unforgiven on Jul 01, 2011 at 10:00 am

Wow, original Daihatsu badge, so far it’s still a dream for M’sian to own the original badge… funny!

• john jambul on Jul 01, 2011 at 12:01 pm

bila nak masuk dual vvti.. letih tul, asyik ketinggalan zaman jer..

• malaysian user on Jul 04, 2011 at 3:24 am

OmG!!!! why at Malaysia sell produa only? any daihatsu for malaysian???

• dyzen on Jul 04, 2011 at 11:04 pm

Daihatsu Indonesia started some teaser in youtube already http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TzbI7k_HNZU

• pacifictuna on Jul 12, 2011 at 12:14 pm

Dear Paul,

I believe the tag for this entry is mistakenly written as peugoet.

tuna

• kalo di jakarta dari pada beli sirion lebih baik beli nissan juke,,hsrga beda 25 juta,,malah di sini seharga jazz ,makanya sirion di sini tak laku,,

• cibainadi on Jul 28, 2013 at 12:45 am

Because all most malaysian can afford is the bloody stupid cars from Proton and Perodua. All because of government fault.