Toyota and Lexus recall 1.75mil vehicles worldwide

Toyota has announced three separate recalls involving a total of 1.75 million of its cars worldwide – including some from Lexus – to fix problems involving the braking and fuel systems.

The first issue affects 802,000 units of the Japanese-market Toyota Crown Majesta, Crown, Noah and Voxy models manufactured between June 2007 and June 2012 and concerns a rubber seal ring in the brake master cylinder that could cause brake fluid to leak, leading to a degradation in braking performance over time. If brake fluid has indeed leaked, the company will also replace the brake booster.

Toyota is also recalling 759,000 units of the previous-generation Lexus IS (including the IS F and the IS C convertible), GS and LS models as well as the Crown Majesta. These cars – built between January 2005 and September 2010 – are installed with a faulty fuel delivery pipe which may leak fuel, potentially causing a fire.

Toyota Noah

The third recall is limited to Japan and involves 190,000 units of the Toyota Corolla Rumion and the Auris built between October 2006 and October 2014. On these cars, the fuel suction plates may also leak fuel which can lead to a fire.

Overall, Toyota has said that it was “not aware” of any crashes, injuries or fatalities that have arisen from any of these three defects.

Out of the above, only the Lexus IS and LS are affected in Malaysia. Lexus Malaysia tells us that the affected number of cars is less than 250 units, and that it will contact owners directly for further action.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Alex (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 7:08 pm

malaysia mia toyota… mana boleh kena recall… superb quality assurance from UMW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • peyn0 on Oct 15, 2014 at 10:06 pm

umw the best… it has nothing yo do with JDM toyota n lexus

• Estima Owner on Oct 16, 2014 at 7:24 am

I own an Estima ACR30. The ABS brakes will vibrate and judder all by itself ! I have asked other Estima owners, they said NORMAL LAH.

The fuel consumption is CRAZY !!

That is TOYOTA for you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
        • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 16, 2014 at 8:09 am

Let Ah Beng comment for Same L0rrr:
          “Recall shows Toyota responsible and zero-tolerance attitude toward product weakness/defect.

No recall doesn’t mean the car is problem-free. You don’t do body checkup doesn’t mean you won’t get cancer.

It is much better Proton. They hardly have any recall means they have good build quality?? everyone laughed!”

Read more: http://paultan.org/2014/10/13/w205-mercedes-benz-c-class-recalled-steering-issue/#ixzz3GGIeUcKx

• Macai Logic on Oct 16, 2014 at 8:24 am

Power window failure no need for recall because it’s not a safety issue.

But for jaguh global owners, replacing power windows many times actually a danger to their wallet safety.

• shawal on Oct 15, 2014 at 7:09 pm

first it was the infamous accelerator pedal issue..
    now recall involves braking and fuel system….
    In June, it expanded a 2013 recall list involving a defective passenger-seat airbag

toyota makes the deadliest vehicles around….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 20
    • brain_issue on Oct 15, 2014 at 10:53 pm

Go check out GM’s recall this year then have another look at this. This is nothing compared to GM’s 71 recalls this year so far.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
      • BeemerFreak on Oct 16, 2014 at 7:34 am

Defend defend, however I don’t see Honda Nissan and Mazda do such recalls….hmmm even the kimchis don’t have.

No good means no good. Accept the fact, suck thumb and improve. No point crying over spoilt milk.

• kadajawi (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 11:42 pm

No wonder they don’t want to equip their cars with safety equipment in Malaysia… it wouldn’t work anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 16, 2014 at 1:04 am

to be fair the deadliest vehicles around are made by GM…

There has been rarely any cases which happened from a toyota car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 7:17 pm

good luck to the grey imports

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
  • sudonano (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 7:19 pm

Looking back at the Lexus IS, after the new one came, i feel that somehow Lexus lost the plot on the front in the new one, compared to the old one. The old one actually looked quite decent even after this long. It’s no Audi/MB/BMW, but compared to say the Acura equivalent, the Acura TL, the IS looks so much nicer. They just shouldn’t have done the LEDs split from the main headlight unit.

On a side note, I wonder if Lexus will collect the cars from the owners and do the recall fix, cause of the small numbers, and you know, the Lexus way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
  • DSG sucks on Oct 15, 2014 at 7:26 pm

Toyota is no longer the Toyota it once was … It rattles, high fuel consumption, poor cabin quality and above all it breaks down ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 11
  • zulhusni on Oct 15, 2014 at 7:42 pm

How about recon car that bought from other dealer?

• ProtonGSC on Oct 15, 2014 at 7:50 pm

Never going to believe what UMW says. Lies all the time.

Toyota = Moving Forward.
    UMW = Moving Forward with lies.
    UMW fooling Rakyat, sales drop fooling them self.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • das auto on Oct 15, 2014 at 8:50 pm

Nowadays we have:
      Proton vios, proton altis and proton camry. Equivalent to proton saga, proton preve and proton perdana but at more than double the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • alldisc on Oct 15, 2014 at 9:01 pm

UMW = Permodalan Nasional Berhad = The G @ BN = do i look like i care?

• BLT_Club on Oct 15, 2014 at 7:53 pm

Legendary Toyota Reliability?

• kington on Oct 15, 2014 at 8:53 pm

These days, you’d be thankful that automakers do recalls. Toyota, Honda and Nissan are doing it the responsible way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
      • BeemerFreak on Oct 16, 2014 at 7:37 am

Everyone are doing recalls, so the question is how often do you need to do it. Quite in terms of Toyota. So the actions accounts for the admission of shortfalls.

• thankful?? Responsible? give me plastic bag.. I’m gonna vommit

• kington on Oct 16, 2014 at 10:50 am

Back in the early 90s, recalls were taboo for automakers. Remember Mitsubishi? They were scared to announce the recall and tried to sweep everything underneath carpets. It backfired heavily on them.

For carmakers these days, even the sensible thing to do now is to recall because most of these parts don’t last forever, and hence, as it is subjected to wear and tear, it might cause problems. Remember, we no longer that cars that are built to last forever like the old W124 E class.

• Toyota King of Fake RV on Oct 15, 2014 at 8:06 pm

Toyota and Lexus are always full of problems. Even until now they still have not rectified the brake problems.

• Maserati(Official) on Oct 15, 2014 at 8:45 pm

This is what I call World Class Carmaker

When they know they have problem, they will recall even it might affect their reputation. Car safety is always more important than reputation, and this is how it should be. Nevermind Toyota has lesser gadgets, they emphasise a lot on safety and comfort, thats all that matters

would you see a recall coming from Kia/Hyundai? Never. They think by having a beautiful shell over an obsolete technology would convince buyers to purchase their cars, little did the buyers know their car is a walking timebomb, ready to disintegrate anytime by the road side, waiting for tow cars to pick them up again and again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 37
    • Toyota King of fake RV on Oct 16, 2014 at 1:42 am

Every year also got recall u can say good? Hahahah. What a loser. Ppl ain’t got time too keep on going to SC and rot there all the time. Even proton is better than toyota these days.

• recall car..shown their reliability standard of the car they produced.. I don’t see it called as World Class Carmaker. Mistake had been done

• kington on Oct 16, 2014 at 10:58 am

Dude, bear in mind these are old cars, and is most cases when these parts break down much later in your after warranty expires, it amounts to wear and tear and you’re chargeable for that. you 3 really need to read a bit more, JUST A LIL’ BIT.

• BLT_Club on Oct 16, 2014 at 11:40 am

“they emphasise a lot on safety and comfort, thats all that matters” – that’s right with no VSC and 2 airbag… emphasise safety konon

• This one, I have to pay a respect to Toyota…

802k (2007-2012) replace Oil Seal – this should be under wear & tear coz now already 2014

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • policeman on Oct 15, 2014 at 9:00 pm

Sam Loo, why are you telling us to buy these cars???

Cannot even make proper rubber seal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • other car makers never admit their mistakes except toyota…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
    • peyn0 on Oct 15, 2014 at 10:09 pm

sam lor ask to buy umw products.. vios, avanza, innova n unser

where got toyota noah, boxy, lexus in umw showroom?

• MugenRR on Oct 15, 2014 at 9:00 pm

Poor those recond Lexus IS..

• alldisc on Oct 15, 2014 at 9:03 pm

2005 production? 2006??

thats like 8-9 years old already. no more warranty. how come proton never do such thing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • THe rock on Oct 15, 2014 at 9:10 pm

Toyota will became next nokia .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • if toyota becomes nokia, honda & nissan will definitely to be alcatel & ericsson…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • qwerty on Oct 16, 2014 at 7:46 am

And you’re gonna say Hyundai and Kia are Apple and Samsung? lol

• Sam Looser on Oct 16, 2014 at 3:07 pm

Hyundai n Kia is Samsung. Apple is conti like ford,peugeot,renault etc.

• Atoy-ot on Oct 15, 2014 at 9:44 pm

Where Same LOrr?

• soon fei on Oct 15, 2014 at 10:08 pm

Toyota, Moving forward…even if you don’t want to.

I used to LOL to this few years back.

• autodriver (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 10:15 pm

If not mistaken none of the automaker has done such high cost sharing part like Toyota. Basically one component will use for many models in order to achieve “mass production” and result in cost saving. Toyota has long time attached with its quality.

But today Toyota is world no. 1 and the most vehicle sales across the world. If a single part found defect, it is affecting millions of vehicle and various models.

To avoid this large scale of recall, automaker has to reduce the part sharing but it will definitely increase cost. Pity Toyota has such high rate of recall recently.

• part sharing will able to achieve economy of scale and create better profitability. there will be always good and bad of doing something. One thing i respect about them is they able to detect such issue even after so many years, was it initiated by customer complain or the R&D fellas is still doing some life test or some sort of things?

• RicoT on Oct 16, 2014 at 1:10 am

Parts sharing is what most automotive manufacturer strive to achieve. They only need to look at one design instead of a dozen of different designs, and rectify that component. This way, they can iron out the bug in a short amount of time with less manpower.

• Toyota King of fake RV on Oct 16, 2014 at 1:49 am

They deserve it. Did you not see the arrogant ad they did. No manufacturer ever dare to claim that their car will never break down. Padan muka toyotahi and all their stupid fanboys/salesman maserati, sam loo, de la junk,motorhead and policeman all tengah kwai tai and hai lat at roadside and waiting for tow truck.

• Ah Lian on Oct 15, 2014 at 10:49 pm

If you study the amount of recalls made by car makers, Toyota tops the list with most recalls. This is because since the 1990’s, Toyota changed its strategy from making good quality cars, to making high volume cars. As a result, they started getting cheaper parts from China suppliers which has poor quality. Today every Toyota from a Vios to a Lexus uses almost the same parts manufactured in China which has a reputation for being “killers”. So today, Toyota should change its tagline to say, ” We are cheap as dirt” !

• das auto on Oct 16, 2014 at 2:26 pm

I agree. Even their airbags don’t work. Most of toyota’s defect are deadly since its the safety aspect.

Toyota is comparable to Geely, Chery and Great Wall for now. Same quality parts.

• guilt (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 11:01 pm

Didn’t see Same Lorr.

Is he also being recall?

• Matrix on Oct 15, 2014 at 11:11 pm

Get toyota for what?
    get honda city lah. problem free

• kadajawi (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 11:46 pm

Proton got problem: Rattle a bit, power window won’t work.

Toyota got problem: Power window switch starts fire, brakes don’t work, airbags don’t work…

Thanks, but I’ll take a Proton. Not as dangerous.

Though at least Toyota does fix the cars… then again, weren’t they forced to do so by governments? Didn’t they want to ignore their _deadly_ problems? VW tried to ignore and downplay the faults in their cars, but those are at most expensive. Broken gearbox? Expensive. But you won’t die. Unlike a failing brake system…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Atoy-ot on Oct 17, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Same LOrr said Proton killed than Toyota, in fact Toyota is more unsafe. Now Same LOrr disappeared, iziz his Toyota also face the same problem?

• policeman's father on Oct 16, 2014 at 1:37 am

Boy, you forgot to take your meds again? What is that joint doing in your mouth? Don’t make me whip you again.

• Boring on Oct 16, 2014 at 3:11 am

those who condemn on Toyota’s recall must be the one who can’t afford it…..I’ve been living in the States for 3 months now and the most common car seen on the road is Toyota~~~which seems like the previous recall issues has gain USA consumer faith on this responsible company who admit their technical imperfections….unlike those German and Korean car manufacturers who NEVER admit their faulty!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • Zee Zee on Oct 16, 2014 at 11:25 am

Toyota is cheap la, most people can afford at least one of their models. Who said they are expensive? Toyota is cheap and for cheapskates!

• eff same lor on Oct 16, 2014 at 7:16 am

Where the eff is same lor? I’m calling u out u eff

• Sam Looser on Oct 16, 2014 at 2:33 pm

Same L0rr is at roadside waiting for tow truck again. As his brakes leaked and failed .

• leonardo on Oct 16, 2014 at 12:55 pm

What happened to “The Toyota Way” and ‘Kansei Engineering’?
    Obviously it needs more “continous improvements”.
    My next car would be a Honda, even though it is not perfect.

• kadajawi (Member) on Oct 16, 2014 at 5:19 pm

Nah. Mazda. Continental feel, Japanese reliability.

• BeemerFreak on Oct 16, 2014 at 6:34 pm

What kansei engineering. Kanasai engineering is what Toyota has been doing since the last 2 decades. Where Porsche does not temper with the externals of the 911 through many generations, the tech update has been constant. Toyota, pui!!!!!

• Bataman on Oct 16, 2014 at 4:42 pm

PROTON power winodw spoilt wont die….Toyota…airbag spoilt, brake spoilt….YOU DIE.

Proton 1, SamLorr 0

• nixam on Oct 16, 2014 at 6:17 pm

fcuk japanese car..stupid

• dugongx on Oct 16, 2014 at 8:15 pm

“These cars – built between January 2005 and September 2010 – are installed with a faulty fuel delivery pipe which may leak fuel”

WTF? Another 3 months gonna scrap in Singapore d only wanna recall? Might as well they go to scrap yard and recall.