Lexus launch LS 460 Sport and latest LS 460L

Hours ago Lexus Malaysia launched the latest LS 460 range, which has just gone through a mid life minor model change. Two variants are available in Malaysia – the LS 460L and the new LS 460 Sport. The former is the long wheelbase variant of Lexus’ limo while the Sport is the short wheelbase version.

The LS 460L used to be offered in an ultra-luxurious four-seat configuration, but Lexus now only brings in the five-seater, which can also function as a four-seater if you fold down the thick rear centre armrest with plenty of buttons to control the entertainment system (9-inch LCD screen and DVD player) and air-con. As before, LS owners get to enjoy semi-aniline leather ottoman seats with lumbar support massager. Business-class style “butterfly” headrests are new.

The abovementioned goodies are not available in the Sport, but the cheaper short wheelbase car gets sport tuning for the air suspension, 19-inch forged aluminium rims with wider tyres (18-inch on LS 460L), Brembo brakes and exterior touches such as an aerokit and a grille with less chrome. The Sport is for the LS owner who self drives, so it comes with sports seats with more support and shift paddles for the eight-speed auto gearbox.

Whichever you choose, the LS is brilliantly refined and luxurious, from the 4.6-litre Dual-VVT-i V8 engine with 380 bhp/493 Nm to the Mark Levinson 7.1 audio system with 19 speakers and 15-channel amplifier. The LS 460L is priced at RM829,448 while the LS 460 Sport will cost you RM719,448. Should you still want a four-seat LS 460L, special orders can be placed.

Lexus Malaysia sold over 300 cars in 2009, 226 of them being the RX350. The brand has a new centre in Penang, with another one in Johor Bahru coming up later this year. Its Klang Valley 3S Centre is located in Mutiara Damansara, PJ.

More pictures of the changes after the jump. Note: the shiny wood trim belongs to the LS 460L while the matt finish wood with tan leather trim is from the Sport.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=753]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• nyawere on Jan 13, 2010 at 9:04 am

why suddenly it looks soo lame..! dah tak nampak lawa..! looks like a Hyundai..!!

On yaa…1st..!

• oadaisdoai on Jan 13, 2010 at 9:06 am

soo camry ish…

• mohamad on Jan 13, 2010 at 9:09 am

one word….soulless

• S.Roma on Jan 13, 2010 at 9:38 am

Dear All,

I thk it is very very beautiful ! So nice !

i mean the chick la ! haha…

• AndyL on Jan 13, 2010 at 10:14 am

We have a LS460L and besides the slight changes interior-wise (ours is cream coloured as opposed to the all-black now), I can't really see any big changes between the facelifted model and ours. Any changes engine-wise?

Cheers, AndyL

• WhiteFox on Jan 13, 2010 at 10:24 am

With that price… I think i chose BMW over these

• Five variants are av on Jan 13, 2010 at 10:26 am

why buy a luxury camry? that's why only RX model popular… sooner the korean can beat Toyota

• doesn't look grand, majestic or exclusive… …

• blurp on Jan 13, 2010 at 11:03 am

800k and it looks boring…

• Gajen on Jan 13, 2010 at 12:08 pm

i like the LS sport!

• tHe^CuLpRit on Jan 13, 2010 at 3:49 pm

very nice car, yet you gotta be a huuuge Lexus/Jap car lover to part your cash with it.

the engineering is definitely worth it no doubt, but simply no badge snub value. Looking a little like a pumped up Camry don't help one bit.

• mystvearn on Jan 13, 2010 at 3:55 pm

Hmmm, at that price, unless wants to be chauffered, I think those could afford would go BMW, Merc.

Looks wide, big, not grand.

• Lightning McQueen on Jan 13, 2010 at 3:59 pm

Like the model not the car…

• its a beautiful car only on the outside..

• Rx-ate on Jan 13, 2010 at 5:31 pm

This car is too Japanese. It hasn't got the prestige nor the identity of the European luxury cars. I also think Lexus Malaysia has overpriced their cars here(at RM800,000, I'd choose a 7 series any day). Perhaps that is the main reason they don't sell very well here in Malaysia.

• Pro-Doc on Jan 13, 2010 at 5:35 pm

Sport? Like anyone care. Why not create a LS-F ? Hahaha. Stupid car. You don't go fast with go-fast kit. A 750i will blow you on the straight on the corner, literally everywhere.

• Yup, need to do more in the wow factor.

The camry looks good for below 200k, at 3 times that value it has to be closer to S class or 7 series.

Obviously most of the sales were from the SUV.

• hmm… i wonder they accept trade-in? if they do.. later i bring my wife there!

:)

• SY0H (Member) on Jan 13, 2010 at 5:39 pm

Phew, the girl models sure look nice! One of them looks like my ex-girlfriend! Darn, shouldn't have left her in the first place!

• zaff1984 on Jan 13, 2010 at 5:40 pm

I think the cream/white leather looks more luxury… in picture maybe looks camry-ish, but in real flesh i think its not camry-ish.

• Once again screw the car go for tht hot girl…. Damn..

• Headache on Jan 13, 2010 at 6:15 pm

errrr, why it looks so close to Camry

• Ferruccio on Jan 13, 2010 at 6:32 pm

Have driven an LS460L. Nice ride and very comfy and quiet in the cabin but it just lacks soul and it's missing that extra interior 'class' you find in conti luxuries. And the wood trim…. typical Jap approach. Though the car itself is a great piece of engineering. Just soul-less

• boink on Jan 13, 2010 at 6:41 pm

Hawt!! drolling at the babe with the sport ver.

• Nice… If I had the money I definitely buy this over Merc or BMW for a simple fact. Well engineered premium luxury car which is reliable and built to last.

"You get what you paid for". Others you pay for the "badge" and not the car…… But wait a minute nothing wrong with Lexus badge….Sensible choice…for the money….

• peter32 (Member) on Jan 13, 2010 at 7:11 pm

The reason the car did not look good or grand is the photography. If you snap the latest Merc S class it will look the same, with grey seats etc..

Lexus has always carry its name very well in US, and it proves its worth thru ranks and files since mid 80's. Car at this rank will look boring, but it is deliberate.

While I am not a toyota fan, I will always look at lexus whenever the word luxury comes in. It is more subtle than a flashy merc or BMW, but ability wise, it surpasses if not equal to the German Marques.

If I have the money, this will be the car I will look out for.

Ppl used to think Lexus like to play catch up in this luxury business. Its actually the other way round.

• ec (Member) on Jan 13, 2010 at 7:12 pm

only for Lexus fans…

not in the list for 800k range of car…

• The interior is rather boring. Pretty boring even for unker drivers…

With such a big price tag, better buy conti cars….

Younger driver won't even be drawn in buying such cars…

I think Lexus would have problem selling their cars….unless sell cheap-cheap.

BTW, the design of the front grille is too busy. A bit Ah Beng-ish…

• paparazi (Member) on Jan 13, 2010 at 7:50 pm

if uncle rich would like to go for this, you're really uncle forever. I suggest get Nissan GTR and still a lot of cash in your wallet.

• Johan Bey on Jan 13, 2010 at 8:16 pm

Wonder how many of you have been driven in a Lexus LS, Merc S500 and the new 7 series? Strangely, thanks to my boss, I have and both of us agree Lexus is the best city drive. Merc is actually very similar with the old S-Class, and the new 7 series? Perhaps more suited for autobahn, definately not kesas or MRR2. Seriously guys, you can't say Megan is the best, when you have neither date both Ms Fox of Ms Chi-Ling (taiwan). Keep your views civilised.

• Coolguru on Jan 13, 2010 at 8:43 pm

seriously looks like Camry but pay like Lexus – line is getting more blur!

• tttuuuutttt on Jan 13, 2010 at 8:54 pm

plastik dashboard nampak buruk giler

• Eyesore on Jan 13, 2010 at 9:39 pm

the dashboard looks dull and boring…. hmmm…

• PUG LION-PUG LION-PU on Jan 13, 2010 at 10:02 pm

Toyota is loosing soul~~ giving few years down the road.. Toyota no longer will be the most selling car of the worlds..

• Mark Templin on Jan 13, 2010 at 10:03 pm

Good luck Lexus(Toyota)…

Hopefully can last till year-end…

• Leonardo on Jan 13, 2010 at 10:14 pm

She looks beautiful and elegant – the models, that is. Unfortunately not the car. If i want snob value, i will get an Aston Martin or a Jag.

• epal10 on Jan 13, 2010 at 10:22 pm

interior…just too ordinary…only luxury.

exterior…ordinary also…just huge body

dont know how many times this same model will launch again..i hope no more version.

• Rizal_shah on Jan 13, 2010 at 10:36 pm

nothing new.looks so much like an oversized camry

• wochomi on Jan 13, 2010 at 10:56 pm

Yes! The first girl is NICE! Nice bodykit and curves! The car… cheap interior.

• Ronaldo on Jan 13, 2010 at 10:59 pm

nice nice gals

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 14, 2010 at 12:58 am

yawnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn

• Sarjit LEXUS on Jan 14, 2010 at 1:46 am

Anyone interested to test drive can email me at [email protected].

• ktas09 on Jan 14, 2010 at 1:59 am

If u cannot diff between Camry and Lexus, u really dumb stupid. LOL!!

• looking gorgeous as usual… damn cun la…

• afkar (Member) on Jan 14, 2010 at 2:29 am

i like it,really..the sport one.

for an unknown reason,malaysians keen to compare any luxury car to camry.aquus,this lexus,even the caddy xts.owh,i think i get it.so many camrys on the roads,it's popular,huh?haha

• tricycle on Jan 14, 2010 at 3:15 am

lovely ladies!

• Speed12 on Jan 14, 2010 at 3:22 am

..very beautiful and curvey model!!

• apachev8 on Jan 14, 2010 at 4:01 am

800k?

If your reason for getting this rather than a beemer or a merc is you want something "exclusive" and "rare",

I MIGHT AS WELL GO FOR A JAGUAR…looks 10x better than this shit

• apachev8 on Jan 14, 2010 at 4:04 am

Jaguar XFR anytime than this piece of japanese junk

• what sport do you want from a huge and boring car ?

• toycar on Jan 14, 2010 at 5:35 am

still the very camry look, interior and exterior!

• Rhys Millen on Jan 14, 2010 at 6:44 am

Wow … look at all the comments ..

Looks like Malaysia is a tough market ….

So far tested it .. everything is good especially the sound system .. but suspension is a real big let down.

Full of gadgets no doubt ..

EXTREMELY HIGH DEPRECIATION never the less .. by the time the car is 6 year old it would have eroded 80% to 90% of its value …

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 14, 2010 at 7:52 am

i buy the recon one later

• WinMo6.5 on Jan 14, 2010 at 7:56 am

somehow really camry feel.

• JKucing on Jan 14, 2010 at 8:02 am

Buy proton chancellor better……. no one say so?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 14, 2010 at 8:25 am

JKucing said,

January 14, 2010 @ 12:02 am

Buy proton chancellor better……. no one say so?

————————-

lol the person better prepare for bashing

• Abzaja on Jan 14, 2010 at 8:36 am

booorrriinggggggggggg

• AndyL on Jan 14, 2010 at 11:52 am

It's interesting to see the above comparisons between a RM170k Toyota Camry and a RM800k Lexus LS460L. I guess most people would only be able to make judgements based on cars that they are familiar with, or seen daily; and the LS460L is so niche that many has not had the chance to feast their eyes on this luxurious piece of engineering marvel.

I used to drive the Camry and it is actually not a bad car, to say the least. Reliable, comfortable although somewhat lost in the crowd as you can see a Camry in any roads that you travel on. But I can calculate the no. of times I have seen a similiar LS460L as mine, on the road over the last 1.5 years having it.

Price-wise, you can easily afford the Merz S350 or Beemer 730i when compared to the LS460L- but engineering-wise, the LS460L tops the two. The interior exudes sporty luxuriousness and try switching between the Comfy vs Sport setup on the go (located at gear level) and you can see the car transformed from a sedate one to a beast raring to go.

No complaints on the car thus far; and you really need to ride it to appreciate it. After all, it's not everyone whom can appreciate an LV, especially when you can purchase copies at 10% of the original prices and some people would still be tricked into thinking that it's the real deal. But you yourself would know best.

• woo i saw a lambo!! on Jan 14, 2010 at 5:50 pm

simple minds see beemer, or merc. smarter ones look around a bit more and realise what else is out there………

soul?? now thats just figment of imagination.

remember…….idiots hate, smart people reason.

• pekan on Jan 14, 2010 at 7:47 pm

lexus… the better toyota..

• klx (Member) on Jan 14, 2010 at 7:48 pm

Yes, agreed with AndyL – you really need to ride it to appreciate it.

Last year, I was given a chance to drive the IS250 and my comment was "if you think the 3series is good, go try a IS250 first!"

• The reason Merc & BMW sell more cos :

1) Merc & BMW have alot more show rooms & service centre. Where Lexus has 1 showroom.

2) Merc & BMW have been in Malaysia for years. Where as Lexus has been in Malaysia officially 3 years.

3) Merc & BMW compete for market share…. so they register the car under their company name and sell of a preowned for lower price. Lexus does not believe in gaining market share through that way.

The profile of a Lexus buyer :

The people who buy Lexus are looking for "premium car" with qualitydurability echnologyengineering
    eliabilityafter sale service for their money. Car Image is not a very important to them cos Image is attached to the human not the car… They feel they dont have to prove anything anyone except enjoy the finer things in life.

What is attached to the car is perception. Think about it…….

And for those who is dont know the difference between Camry & LS460.

Dont know what to say……..ignorance is a bliss…..

• mamat puchong on Jan 14, 2010 at 10:00 pm

will choose BMW over this Lexus with almost 800K price tag

• For 800k Lexus LS460L?? No way, Nissan gtr (recond) sounds much better!!!

• Leonardo on Jan 15, 2010 at 12:35 am

The peoblem is M'sian likes to equate Toyota=Lexus, and vice versa.

• ktas09 on Jan 15, 2010 at 8:07 pm

Get BMW, Mercz and Lexus and take a rough ride/ long distance for 3 months. You will see which brand will face electronic problem first.

I think u have the answer.

That's why I go for LEXUS.

• KuSoMan101 on Jan 15, 2010 at 8:35 pm

If a person always says that when buying BMW or Merc, you're paying for the badge, it proves that he never sit in or drive a BMW or a Merc before. Not to argue, just the fact. Don't believe me?? Than take out some time and go check their specs and the goodies which come with the car.

• auto-junkie-but-not- on Jan 15, 2010 at 10:40 pm

Nice black/brown interior … luckily not faux carbon trim.

wonder if there is piano black wood inlays like 740Li

time for a test drive and see whatever this Sport is compared to a

740Li

• Tezza on Jan 24, 2010 at 7:52 pm

Well,It wil easily outclassed the merc and bimmer inside out..great lexus!! the badge of itself are exceddingly luxurious nowadays..