Lexus GS Facelift debuts with new GS460

Lexus GS460

Lexus has updated its GS range with the new Lexus GS460, which launches with the luxury sedan line’s 2008 mid-life revision. The Lexus GS460 uses the LS460’s 4.6 litre V8, and features D-4S dual-port fuel injection which uses two injectors per cylinder – one on the intake port, the other in the combustion chamber itself – delivering the advantages of both direct and indirect injection to maximise power and torque throughout the revs.

The V8 also uses Dual VVT-iE, which uses a motor-driven valve timing system for the intake valves instead of the usual hydraulically controlled system. It produces 342 horsepower at 6,400rpm and 460Nm of torque at 4,100rpm. The engine is mated to the AA80E 8-speed automatic transmission also found on the LS460, which despite its larger amount of ratios, is actually more compact and lighter than the GS430’s 6-speed transmission. It is also quieter and fuel efficient. 0 to 100km/h takes 5.8 seconds, and fuel consumption is rated at 9 litres of fuel per 100km on a combined cycle.

As for the facelift’s styling updates which also apply to the rest of the GS range, there is now a chrome surround for the front grille, new door mirrors with integrated indicators and new-look door handles. The front and rear bumpers have also undergone a minor restyling exercise, with new-shape air intakes. New 17-inch (GS 300 and GS 300 SE) and 18-inch (GS 300 SE-L and GS 460) wheel designs have been introduced and the GS is available in two new colours now – Byzantine Silver and Namibian Gold.

On the inside, the steering wheel mounted audio and telephony controls have been updated, and the boot and fuel filler release buttons have been relocated outside the little pop-out module that Lexus employed to keep the dash design cleaner without too many exposed buttons.

More photos after the jump.

Lexus GS460

Lexus GS460

Lexus GS460

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 6:27 am

looks quite nice actually

• msmar_453 (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 9:11 am

Sorry, can’t afford it.
    better offer from new mazda6 hatchback

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 9:31 am

BTW Paul, The GS always had the side pod control unit since launch.

Those things you never forget….especially since making a fool of oneself spending a good considerable time finding the side mirror controls.

• longjaafar (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 11:10 am

In Malaysia, the road tax will deter many from buying this one. The fuel consumption, at 9 litres look exceptionally good for the kind of engine size and output. Lexus seems to have a huge gap in trems of engine size, ie the 3 litre or the 4.6. Nothing in between.

• mohdjiman (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 11:18 am

exclusive a.k.a expensive

• arcana (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 12:36 pm

road tax is a small figure to buyers of luxury vehicles……since the price paid is significantly higher than the GS 300….probably 600k+ region if 1 would to land here….but at that kind of figure, the LS460 would be the better option anyway.

• Paul Tan on Jan 14, 2008 at 4:30 pm

4G63T DSM: read closely, i said lexus has moved the boot and fuel lid buttons OUT of the control pod.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 7:50 pm

I dont understand,why do some people choose lexus rather than BMW
    price is quite the same in malaysia.

• szw (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 8:52 pm

so… whats the diff ?

• jaymashimaro (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 11:37 pm

lexus is a better car than bmw

• scudz (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 12:40 am

err.. still bland

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 1:22 am

BMW = better image,better handling,better looks

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 9:50 am

Lexus indeed rated as the best quality car in technical term (minimum faulty parts). Lexus is the flag carrier for Japs luxury car that can rival BMW and Mercs. In term of branding, Lexus still way behind BMW and Mercs.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 9:51 am

If I am filthy rich, my choice in ranking is Mercs,Lexus and BMW.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 12:26 pm

MisterBenjo, which is why bmw still outsells lexus in malaysia by a huge margin.

• legacy88 (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 7:04 pm

Personally, I’ll take BMW for its driving dynamics, and I’ll choose Lexus for sheer quality and quietness and also its reliability. Both are very good car indeed.

• king (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 2:48 am

jaymashimaro said,
    January 14, 2008 @ 11:37 pm

lexus is a better car than bmw

only for ppl that don’t know better about cars.

Lexus is only a toyota with an expensive badge

• king (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 3:32 am

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,
    January 15, 2008 @ 12:26 pm

MisterBenjo, which is why bmw still outsells lexus in malaysia by a huge margin.

If you do some research you will find BMW out-sell even merc worldwide recently. while merc sells more than double of lexus worldwide. lexus only sell well in the US where its easy to fool americans. look at how lousy are their muscle cars.

if you read out more you will know how much profit lexus make per car. Eg. u pay 600k for this car probably u get “400k worth” of car…the rest is profit.

where else for BMW u pay 500k u get 480k worth….since BMW spend back most of their profit back into R&D.

why is lexus more reliable/ lower maintenance? bcoz technology wise it is 5 yrs behind merc n 10 yrs behind BMW. isn’t an iswara more reliable than a ferrari? of course bcos there are so little parts that can fail only and they have been making the same car for over 20 yrs. a bicycle is the most reliable/ lowest maintenence.

10 yrs ago merc was like lexus today….their cars solid, simple and super reliable. what happen when they start upgrading their car’s overall tech? w220 s-class notorious for fragile airmatic suspension. w210 e-class face many electronic probs. they had to take a step back so that they can move forward. just like when merc 1st introduced the abs nearly 30 yrs ago.

lexus only play safe n let rivals experiment while they copy later on. what did lexus pioneer? optitron meter display? oscillating air cond vents? 8-speed gearbox? ( gosh even F1 car already optimum at 7 speed….do you need 8 speed? )

Buy a merc if you like comfort, prestige. Buy a Beemer if you enjoy driving & can appreciate the engineering excellence. Buy a lexus if u want good after sales service n lower maintenence cost….like that better just buy a camry.

Peace

• lamcy88 (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 3:10 pm

Germans out there, be careful!!! king has a crush on you.

& so ‘the king’ said:
    why is lexus more reliable/ lower maintenance? bcoz technology wise it is 5 yrs behind merc n 10 yrs behind BMW. isn’t an iswara more reliable than a ferrari?

Looks like someone has been ‘working with the Germans’ & how real is this fact???And comparing a bicycle to a car???Oh, man(Sigh…)

The reason why BMW & Mercs are selling more than Lexus is because Lexus is still a new company whereby the Germans has been around since God know’s when.You can’t expect a baby to run after a few months of birth.

Lexus is actually so good in its sales volume given it’s setbacks, it can be compared to a ‘baby jogging'(just adding a litlle metafore).

But a bicycle with a car and an Iswara with a Ferrari?…Hahahahahah.

U r a real funny chap, king.

Peace to u 2, man.

• king (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 3:52 pm

lamcy88 said,
    January 17, 2008 @ 3:10 pm

Germans out there, be careful!!! king has a crush on you.

______

such a lame joke. is that related to your name? just kidding…don’t take it personally.

if you want to know the facts just check out with with lexus insiders.

quite tired to elaborate more….don’t be lazy n do some research yourself, ok?

peace to you too

• king (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 4:05 pm

lamcy88 said,
    January 17, 2008 @ 1:37 pm

Just for king’s info, IS-F is a 5.0 liter V8 with 420 hp & 500Nm.Thats 100 Nm short of the M3’s
    ______

It is actually 416hp and 500Nm to be exact.

I’ll give you a hint why lexus is 10 yrs behind BMW…..think E39 M5 ( V8 5.0 Litre 400hp and 500Nm)….think again when was E39 M5 launched…

I don’t know about you but sounds like a lexus e39 M5 to me.

• lamcy88 (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 10:37 am

king said,
    January 17, 2008 @ 4:05 pm

lamcy88 said,
    January 17, 2008 @ 1:37 pm

Just for king’s info, IS-F is a 5.0 liter V8 with 420 hp & 500Nm.Thats 100 Nm short of the M3’s
    ______

It is actually 416hp and 500Nm to be exact.

I’ll give you a hint why lexus is 10 yrs behind BMW…..think E39 M5 ( V8 5.0 Litre 400hp and 500Nm)….think again when was E39 M5 launched…

I don’t know about you but sounds like a lexus e39 M5 to me.

—————————————————————-

When stating Lexus 420hp & 500Nm, it was a rounding off to the nearest hundredt. Didnt know king was fussy. More like a queen then.(cool bro, just joking)

Ok…Lets start with the real facts:
    Lexus: 417hp, 503Nm
    BMW:414hp, 400Nm

Next…How can u compare 2 cars with hp and Nm alone??? If this is the case,
    lets compare the Civic 2.0S with the 320i:
    320i:150 hp, 200Nm
    Civic:155 hp, 190Nm

Does this mean that the Civic is better than the BMW???Didnt think so.

Lets wait for the GS-F to compare with the BMW M5 then…

• king (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 1:30 pm

dun joke lar bro… car figures must be specific. not being fussy. if everything round up like that i can say m3 0-60 in 4 seconds. thats not right.

civic was never built to beat the 3 series n everyone knows that. but the IS-F was created to blow the E46 M3 away.

the power, torque, weight & engine config. of the IS-F is suspiciously too similar to the E39 M5.

no hard feeling mate, but thats how alot of ppl feel.

• lamcy88 (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 3:11 pm

king said,
    January 18, 2008 @ 1:30 pm

dun joke lar bro… car figures must be specific. not being fussy. if everything round up like that i can say m3 0-60 in 4 seconds. thats not right.

If u round up the 0-60 sprint time, obviously it makes a lot of difference, many car makers are so determined to be at least 0.1sec faster than their rivals.

For power output rounding off, 417hp & 420hp do not post a significant difference between them as that 3 extra hp will get u what??? 0.001 secs faster and 1km/h more to the top speed???

If the power band curve graph is observed, the power output is not exactly directly proportional to the velocity.

king said,
    January 18, 2008 @ 1:30 pm

no hard feeling mate, but thats how alot of ppl feel.
    —————————————————————-
    k, man. feelings understood. Good comments thoughout our discussion though. And for the comments on honda-accord-sedan-test-drive-at-tochigi-rd post,… chill bro. The guy must be an amateur.

• lamcy88 (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 3:44 pm

Not the honda accord, the corolla altis…my bet.