SPIED: Toyota Camry facelift in Msia, launching soon?

camry-hybrid-spy-white

Last week, an ad of the Toyota Camry Hybrid appeared on oto.my, and the car featured was in facelift form. Now, these pics from reader Chong show a facelifted Camry racking up miles on the KESAS Highway, strengthening belief that the promised Camry Hybrid will make its Malaysian debut with a new face. Alongside the facelifted regular car, possibly.

UPDATE: The white car above, with LED headlamps and taped-up badges on the front wing, is most probably a Camry Hybrid, although this is the first time we’re seeing this intricate grille pattern. The JDM car has standard horizontal slats.

If the launch happens soon, it could even be an unlikely ASEAN debut, as this facelifted XV50 Camry is not yet available in Thailand and Indonesia, two large markets that are traditionally first in line for new products.

Previously previewed at KLIMS 2013 and spotted last year – first at JPJ Putrajaya, then again out on the open road – the Camry Hybrid is expected to be CKD locally-assembled to take advantage of the duty exemptions offered by the government. Unlike the previous tax breaks for CBU hybrids (which ended in 2013), there is no 2.0L limit now, meaning that the 2.5 litre Camry will be eligible.

Powering the Camry Hybrid is a 160 PS/213 Nm 2AR-FXE 2.5 litre Atkinson-cycle VVTi four-cylinder petrol engine mated to a 143 PS/270 Nm electric motor and an eCVT – the same combo as on the Lexus ES 300h. Combined power output is 205 PS, resulting in a 0-100 km/h sprint time of 8.6 seconds, 1.1 seconds faster than a Camry 2.5V. Claimed fuel economy is 19.6 km/l.

The oto.my ad quoted a price of RM199,990, meaning that previous indications by UMW Toyota – that the car would be priced slightly higher than the top-spec RM181k Camry 2.5V – could be pretty much spot on.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Painter on Jan 26, 2015 at 11:45 am

I checked out their commercial ads filming of Camry Hybrid in Putrajaya few weeks back. No more an uncle’s car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 53
    • pooruncle on Jan 26, 2015 at 1:18 pm

Still uncle’s car

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 20
      • Everyone will become uncle and aunty eventually. But not every one will become syok sendiri. This is why Proton is not selling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 29
        • Ah Beng Kia on Jan 26, 2015 at 2:50 pm

Much better than stupid kimchi cars. In fact, any sushi car is better than that garbage Hyundai. Malaysians already know its a stupid car. That’s why in 2014, the number of units of Hyundai sold tak nampak pun in the annual report.. Sushi dominating.

Another thing, I keep hearing stupid Hyundai ads on the radio. Mr. Chong, I remapped your ECU. Mr. Ramli, I’ve changed your engine block. What kind of stupid car brand advertises a car based on workshop visits. Maybe it is their CSR to the public. P.S. – all the 14 year old pimpled face keyboard warriors who doesn’t know what CSR is, Google it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 43
          • Same L0rrr on Jan 26, 2015 at 6:00 pm

EVERY boy here will become uncle one day, guaranteed.

But not every uncle can afford the Camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 13
          • Ah Beng hailat on Jan 26, 2015 at 9:10 pm

I keep hearing toyota ads only wor. “You can’t go wrong with a toyota bla bla bla” bullshit la. Everything is wrong from the moment you walk into UMW showroom. And till now have not seen any new Altis on the road. Many more k3 and elantras are on the road. Toyota sales figure is high only bcoz alot of uneducated bangla and indon buy hilux to go to site only. Overall Honda is gonna beat the hell out of toyota this year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 29
          • Annoynimouse on Jan 27, 2015 at 9:40 am

No need to bring up and talk bad about Indons/Banglas/Vietnamese etc. la. The majority of them are honest people trying to make a living here and we should help make their stay pleasant. We’re all human beings and you wouldn’t want to go abroad and be called uneducated would you?

As for the Camry, I still prefer the design of the previous model (2007 was it?), especially the Malaysian version which looks more neat compared to the current model from the exterior view. This facelift version is even worse than the one it replaces… that front bumper grill?!!

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 27, 2015 at 3:14 pm

When you come to build quality, Honda still miles away from Toyota. That’s why people like to call Toyota as uncles’ car. Those uncles who had been driving for decades know that the best is stick with Toyota.

When your City turning into 6 years old, you will know what I meant. City beats Vios sales? I am just laughing…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
          • UMW are such BIG LIARS on Jan 27, 2015 at 3:25 pm

UMW are such big liars. The Camry CBU Hybrid in the US is sold for US$25k. That is about RM80k. This is AFTER Toyota of the US has made their margins and after the US Government has collected taxes from Toyota.

If this car has no tax coming into Malaysia, how come in the US it is sold for RM80k and in Malaysia, it is sold for RM200k? Who is clearly making a cool clean profit of RM120k?

To make matters worse, UMW Malaysia will get this car cheaper from their pricipal directly from Japan. So, if the price in the US$25k, UMW will get this car direct from Japan for about US$20k being the official country distributor.

And CKD format, the car goes even lower than that. Maybe right down to US$15k (about RM50k)

So, you mean UMW Malaysia is making buta buta RM150,000 each car sold?? (bear in mind the car is tax free)

• Where did u get all this figures? How did u know that use will get the car for only usd20k? How do u know it’s tax free in Malaysia?

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on Jan 26, 2015 at 2:56 pm

Proton not need u because Proton are Global brand and DrM will bring Proton to others region.

Coming IRIZ sv will kick this shit camry…

DrM saviour of Bolehland and not cronies Father !!! He give u car to drive kampung boy ioma… so just SHUT UP !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 50
          • Kanah Honda on Jan 26, 2015 at 5:17 pm

You see Proton supporter still syok sendiri shout here and there say Iriz will beat every car.
            But how many you see on road???
            Iriz is another failure.
            Enough of Proton on the road.

Honda City 2014 owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
          • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Jan 26, 2015 at 5:59 pm

@Kanah

Proton no need you to support, Proton as Global will make impact at others region.

Lousy honda city dealer like shit… car like shit.

You should just SHUT UP TOO !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
          • Same L0rrr on Jan 26, 2015 at 6:03 pm

Yes, you are right. To find an Iriz on the road, it is as hard as getting a snowing day in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
          • Bas Sekolah on Jan 27, 2015 at 9:48 am

The guy is so proud to be a 2014 Honda City owner that he made it his tagline… Seriously dude?

2020 Bas Sekolah Driver

• Euro Five on Jan 26, 2015 at 7:46 pm

Those who bought the new 2.0 Camry will know the car is a fuel guzzler.

The car averages less than 8km per litre !

Avoid the 2.0

• Ugly piece of shit, i though camry suppose to be executive sedan + affordable but it not look executive at all. Teana or Accord looks much better and way better

• wheelspin on Jan 26, 2015 at 11:01 pm

Agreed…my boz drove 2.5 fuel like hell, said even his 5 series do better..

• lexus fans on Jan 26, 2015 at 2:36 pm

i m uncle

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • Uncle have more money ma! Also, Camry design for uncle, Vios design for youngster. If Camry also stylist then what car uncle that Toyota supporter drive?

• Kanah Honda on Jan 26, 2015 at 5:18 pm

Vios or City,is still better than Potong global junks!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
          • terey on Jan 27, 2015 at 3:32 am

Both cannot beat p1 ride and handling

• Both also cannot beat P1 breakdown, poor quality and low RV.

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 27, 2015 at 3:19 pm

Want the best ride and handling? Get a kawasaki then? it is way CHEAPER than the Proton junk.

• Ah Beng Vios Turbo TRD godcar on Jan 26, 2015 at 9:13 pm

Uncle that drive camry no money one. Mostly use EPF at 55 to buy. Rich ppl drive Vios TRD like me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • I would say a younger Uncle will be more appropriate.

• No one bother to buy Toyota already la…facelift here facelift there still like a shit

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 30
    • Boleh! on Jan 26, 2015 at 4:19 pm

Either ur brain or eyes have problem. So many Toyota cars on the roads, nobody buying?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 17
      • Kanah Honda on Jan 26, 2015 at 5:10 pm

Vios is the second best selling car after Honda City.
        Until now still can see new registered Vios on the road,but not as many as new City.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • Kanah Honda on Jan 26, 2015 at 5:13 pm

Not like a so called global car laa game changer laa,want to fight Vios or City but end up failure!!!
        hint:C-class car with B-class Japan car price.
        That one nobody buy those junks.

• Really Ah! on Jan 26, 2015 at 5:33 pm

People: Wahh.. camry so ugly now!!

Toyota: Really ahh?? then we should add more fake wooden panel inside!! and also kasi nganga lebih the mouth in front!!

5 banana’s later..

Toyota: taaddaaa.. Camry facelift!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • kington on Jan 26, 2015 at 11:49 am

At least they fixed the horrid front design. I do have a liking for UGLY cars but the XV50 was just too much. I couldn’t accept it.

But is spec kit the same, sure kena hentam kao kao here…. Sign this UMW….really taking advantage of our local market’s protection. Probably if everyone start buying Korean and boycott Honda and Toyota… they’d become humble again…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
  • applegreen on Jan 26, 2015 at 11:57 am

more airbags mean more expensive?

• protong fan on Jan 26, 2015 at 1:05 pm

more airbang mean more tak laku mcm protong iriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 27
      • youcrappy on Jan 26, 2015 at 1:46 pm

Why drag p1 in here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
        • Because P1 wasting our country resources.
          “TOR SHUI KA”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
          • toyolo on Jan 26, 2015 at 4:29 pm

p1 under DRB, not gomen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
          • Bas Sekolah on Jan 27, 2015 at 9:50 am

So are you…

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 27, 2015 at 6:24 pm

DRB always under gormen, don’t be naive.

Why Malaysians have to pay so much for cars? Thanks to Proton and its protection.

Proton should free packs of condom for new buyers coz PROTECTION DA BEST!!

• Accordana on Jan 26, 2015 at 12:01 pm

According to Sam Loo, successful towkay all buy Camry for his driver and amah pergi beli sayur at wet market

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • Megane on Jan 26, 2015 at 1:05 pm

No wonder the current fees to get an amah have gone up to 12k now lol

• Got VSC or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • panjang on Jan 26, 2015 at 12:14 pm

Something new for the Camry here.

19km/l claimed.I really think we need a local independant body to test fc of cars and publish the figure for public reference.That way the local consumer can actually see the most accurate figure when the product is used here in Malaysia.

• i prefer 508..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
  • whatever lah..UNCLE’s Car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
  • ProtonGSC on Jan 26, 2015 at 12:37 pm

Another too proud and arrogant to be by UMW?

Or will finally listen to Rakyat and customer’s??

• Same Lorrr’s Dream car is here.

• The interior is still the same ugly sh*t, a f*cking kia picanto has a better looking interior than that hideous fake wood trim.
    The only way you can facelift this car is to push it off a cliff.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
  • Its good car,reliable,only concern is Make fr us v v expensive to have one,CKD hybrid n price Rm200k+- .what’s going on? So much profit taking by umw.so I boycott first I wouldn’t buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • VSC and 6airbags please come as standard across the range.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • dr.terror on Jan 26, 2015 at 1:00 pm

too rush myb UMW TOYOTA? or because of loosing grip against Accord and Teana?

• protong fan on Jan 26, 2015 at 1:04 pm

tahun ni tak keluar kereta baru agaknya syarikat proton kebanggaan seluruh rakyat malaysia tu…. dah nak masuk bulan dua dah sekarang ni… mana semua mimpi2 protong tu… belum bangun tidur agaknya protong ni…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
  • Megane on Jan 26, 2015 at 1:07 pm

Hoi UMW, u better skip the face-lift and introduce an all new Camry.. This gen is a gone case haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • shawal on Jan 26, 2015 at 1:24 pm

Slash d price by 100k
    Den it will make sense

• UrMoneyWasted on Jan 26, 2015 at 1:27 pm

Dual airbags, ah beng body kit and legendary aisin 4’E’-AT gearbox..typical UMW and p2 facelift…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • A car with duty exemption is more expensive than one without it. I don’t get it.

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 26, 2015 at 1:41 pm

No wait… 200k? this is CKD right? Then why so expensive considering the tax breaks. If this price was for the CBU, then who on earth will buy this when Toyota has plans for the CKD.

A top shelf Camry Hybrid in the US goes for around 30K. With less taxes why is this still so expensive here?

What gives?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • wayangkulit on Jan 27, 2015 at 6:05 pm

Heard of economy of scale before?

According to MAI, UMW Malaysia sold 102k TOTAL vehicles in 2014
      http://paultan.org/2015/01/22/maa-releases-2014-tiv-figures/

According to online wsj Toyota USA sold 428606 units of CAMRY alone
      http://online.wsj.com/mdc/public/page/2_3022-autosales.html

The Camry sales figure in the USA alone is 4 times the sales figure of TOTAL number of vehicles UMW Malaysia sold in a year.

If you dont have the volume, you have to pay more.
      Thats how things goes
      Please compare apples with apples

Try go to any manufacturer tell them to quote you the price of 1 container vs 100 container and see how much price difference you can get?

Total car sold in Malaysia for year 2014 is only 588,341 and in the USA which u all so like to quote is 16.4 million units
      Prices can be cheaper when manufacturer can achieve economy of scale.

I’m sure UMW Malaysia is willing to sell you the equivalent price you pay for a Camry in USA if you can guarantee them 428606 units of Camry in a year

• cendol (Member) on Jan 26, 2015 at 1:55 pm

I thought with tax incentive it should be cheaper than regular Camry.
    Tax incentive went to where?

• huhuhu on Jan 26, 2015 at 3:40 pm

the tax incentive rebate obviously belong to the car manufacturers instead to rakyat..

• lancelot on Jan 27, 2015 at 1:22 am

Tax incentive doesnt mean car need to reduce price.

The calculation is like this
      Example:
      Normal camry : 120k + 50k tax=170k
      Camry Hybrid : 190k without tax. Meaning price at Thailand/Japan almost same with Malaysia

Hybrid is expensive due to technology inside the system.
      it has big n bulky battery inside + the inverter + new type of braking + and a lot tech.

Lets wait what UMW prepare for Malaysia market. Hope the spec same as outside

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
      • Afraid on Jan 27, 2015 at 10:37 am

In that case how come CKD S 400 L hybrid and E 300 Bluetec Hybrid priced even cheaper than S 300 and E 200 plus more kit and spec is given with hybrid tech???

• lancelot on Jan 27, 2015 at 10:57 pm

Then please read first different of hybrid system by toyota n other manufacturer..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
          • dugongx on Jan 28, 2015 at 5:38 pm

What lancelot is trying to say is toyota uses space age hybrid systems that is very de powderful one! It cost more than 100k a car but mercedes and audi use pariah hybrid system costing 5k or less. Hence the car can be cheaper while toyota can be more expensive lo.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 26, 2015 at 2:29 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
    • Kanah Honda on Jan 26, 2015 at 5:22 pm

and as long as is not Proton and Perodua,i will not call you low class and sohai.
      I will always happy if u get Honda City or Toyota Vios,best choice for compact sedan.
      At least you are smart.

• akula on Jan 26, 2015 at 5:26 pm

umw should fired sam loo ASAP.. he is the only one who create bad name and low sale of toyota car.. he traits prospective customer like stupid fella.. like know nothing about car specs and rv

• I was so pissed off when looking at your rv crap theory previously.

But now, you know what, I should have thanked you for spreading your shit around. So that when one day your wish come true, I can get my 2nd hand 1 year old Santa fe at RM 80,000.

until now, still no luck on my hunting quest. If you manage to find 1, please let me know by leaving reply below

• Kushboo Devi Panikar on Jan 26, 2015 at 3:07 pm

Ooo new face ah. I dun like. lucky my Bf booked the Honda acoord 2.4 already. I dun like camry. my bf is not uncle. sam loo I dun like u. u cannot come for rides. bye

• Haji Norman Danial on Jan 26, 2015 at 3:08 pm

Syukur kita dapat camri facelift. Negara lain masih mundur. kita dah dapat facelift. terima kasihlah anda semua kepada Toyota. syukur

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Chee Chong Fun on Jan 26, 2015 at 3:10 pm

Wah liao. facbook oledi ah this camly. I no buy la coz I no support Toyota. I buy Volvo la coz of geely. I like liao. can take gf in Volvo. ppl also lookoing at me like rich apek. camlri who see one.

• Afraid on Jan 26, 2015 at 3:18 pm

UMW taking us for fools and pocketing all the incentives for themselves i guess. If you look at the Mercedes CKD hybrids as comparison, more kit given but its cheaper than even the entry level model for both the S 400 L hybrid and E 300 Bluetec Hybrid. So technically this Camry hybrid should be cheaper than Camry 2.0G at 150k!! That’s a difference of 50k!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • niterunner99 on Jan 26, 2015 at 3:21 pm

The numbers are indeed odd…205HP 0-100km at 8.6s?!
    mind you it’s a 2.5L + electric motor! shouldn’t it be quicker? Batteries too heavy?
    Current 2L Proton car can do 8.6s right?
    If the performance is correct…then I’m surprised Lexus ES 300h is having the same performance as a Camry! Who wants a Lexus ES then!!

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 26, 2015 at 4:20 pm

Not everyone just looks at performance. The Lexus has its USP, being based on the larger Avalon platform.

Which proton car does 8.6 to 100? Only the GTI and Putra can hit those times…and thats because they are light.

Lets face it, the cars we have here are quite underpowered. Most cars take over 10s to the century. You’d be lucky to see a N/A 2.4 or 2.5 D segment dip into the 9s.

• dugongx on Jan 27, 2015 at 12:10 am

Lexus ES is a Camry la duhh. Same engine and gearbox what you expect? Ferrari performance?

• dugongx on Jan 27, 2015 at 2:13 am

What proton 2L can do 8.6 seconds? The old perdana takes 13 seconds while inspira 2.0 takes 10.5 seconds. Even a E90 320i take 9.8 seconds 0-100.

• Sam Loo,

I want to book this new camry. Got rebate or not? I oso want free tinting, fuel voucher, umbrella.

• alamak on Jan 26, 2015 at 3:46 pm

this camry hybrid cost more than 2.5V?
    It’s NO NO.
    Toyota hybrid CKD after tax incentive, price should be cheaper than 2.5.

UMW worry cheaper than 2.5 then 2.5 can not sell.
    So price it above 2.5?
    It not only can keep 2.5 V but also make HUGE profit!!

Stop cheating customer,
    World funniest spec ! camry no VSC!
    twin bags!

You want customer go to hell?

UMW will go to hell soon!
    Most brand got 6 bags!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Is the 2.0 variant still comes with the rubbish 4 speed box?

• 2.0 with new engine vvti-W, same as russian spec. 6 speed auto. Sadly, the 2.0 will only comes with 2 air bag again.

• Contender on Jan 26, 2015 at 5:11 pm

Well something to look forward to that Camry facelift is finally good looking but knowing UMW Toyota the price & spec however is not gonna be nice looking at all !!
    Anyway we shall see true or not ….

• Jimmy on Jan 26, 2015 at 5:33 pm

203 888 = 318
    Eyes wide shut.

• Samad Jain on Jan 26, 2015 at 6:34 pm

Even uncle wont buy this Camry car…
    Uncle buy merc nowadayss..

Sorry toyota, you cant even bluff uncle anymore….

• Premnath Agamuthu on Jan 26, 2015 at 7:03 pm

Worst D-segment car. I wouldn’t even buy it for 80k.

• dugongx on Jan 27, 2015 at 12:06 am

I wouldn’t even buy it for RM1. Heck you got to pay me 80k just to be seen driving this fugly shit. Imagine the damage it can do to my reputation to be seen in this fugly shit. I got to explain for hours to all my friends and family every time i see them.

• Hope UMW comes out with a revised 2.0G X model with dark rims, bodykit, better specs and lower price with 6 – speeder auto.

or would that be a pipe dream?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 26, 2015 at 11:09 pm

this car…no problem with security guard

• still ugly

• horrayooi on Jan 27, 2015 at 9:27 am

At least they have proper temperature gauge unlike Vios and City which don’t have temperature gauges, only green and red idiot lights which is not very helpful. Do they want your car to overheat? How much can the manufacturer save for one miserable temperature gauge?

• kumar on Jan 27, 2015 at 12:01 pm

T needs a new design team!

• Thomas Tan on Jan 27, 2015 at 3:11 pm

Remind me of MITSUBISHI LANCER EVO 10 then Proton Inspira. The design like Audi tapi Koyak sikit ke kanan kiri. Vomit….

• blaster88 on Jan 28, 2015 at 12:57 pm

Seriously! 200K for a Camry with minimal specs? Tot CKD hv massive rebates? I know its a different segment, if you can afford RM200k, wouldn’t you be at least tempted to look at the 316i, 320i (during promos), VW (Passat), Volvo etc. or give the new Mondeo a test drive before deciding?

• arkay928 on Jan 29, 2015 at 8:35 am

Different people, different tastes and different preference on what car they want. From the sales figure, it show that Toyota is doing well world wide. So why worry with handful owner in Malaysia? At the end, not many of Malaysia can afford D-segment cars.

Check the price of Toyota cars with our neighbourhood countries… I see not much different. In Thailand, cheapest 2.5HV camry start at RM170,000.

Honda CRZ price in Malaysia is RM183,000…

• needboobies on Feb 17, 2015 at 9:15 pm

Honda accord for succesful towkay, this camry for ah soh. Towkay need fun to drive superior engine to do business everyday. This camry can cater ah soh and amah daily need going pasar n play mahjong at friends house.

• sudonano (Member) on Feb 25, 2015 at 5:45 pm

Toyota lost a whopping 38% of market share year on year. Go see yesterday’s NST.

Well lets hope they woke up.

• Ali Karim on Mar 17, 2015 at 10:28 pm

It looks as ugly as the current piece of shit. Asia seems to be a dumping ground for their rejects and recycled cars. The U.S. version Camry looks much better.